DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The replacement drawings were received on 12 March 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Iuchi et al (20210301424).
In regards to Claim 1, Iuchi teaches a method of processing fibrous solids in liquid comprising the steps of:
adding liquid (Paragraph 30) to a processing tank (Detail 120);
optionally adding one or more reagents to the processing tank (Paragraph 54: Na2CO3);
providing at least one screened cage (Detail 150) containing fibrous solids (Abstract: silk cocoons);
adding the at least one screened cage to the processing tank, wherein the liquid freely flows through the at least one screened cage (Figure 4);
agitating the liquid in the processing tank such that the liquid uniformly flows through the at least one screened cage; wherein the fibrous solids rotate freely within the at least one screened cage (Paragraph 35).
In regards to Claim 2, Iuchi teaches the fibrous solids are dissolved to release one or more components of the fibrous solids (Abstract: fibroin).
In regards to Claim 3, Iuchi teaches the one or more components are retained within the screened cage (Paragraph 35).
In regards to Claim 4, Iuchi teaches the one or more retained components are subjected to an agitation flow path that prevents packing of the one or more retained components within the screened cage (Paragraph 35).
In regards to Claim 5, Iuchi teaches the at least one screened cage comprises mesh having an opening sufficient to allow for fluid agitation flow within the at least one screened cage, wherein the opening is sized to contain the retained components, and prevent the fibrous materials from clogging or wrapping around the mesh (taught as being porous, no clogging is taught as occurring).
In regards to Claim 6, Iuchi teaches adding the at least one screened cage to the processing tank manually or automatically positions the screened cage to a desired position in a repeatable manner (Detail 160).
In regards to Claim 7, Iuchi teaches adding the at least one screened cage to the processing tank in a desired position additionally comprises securing the at least one screened cage such that rotation and/or deflection of the at least one screened cage from the desired position is prevented (Figure 4).
In regards to Claim 8, Iuchi teaches the one or more reagents comprises a solvent or a salt (Paragraph 54: Na2CO3).
In regards to Claim 9, Iuchi teaches the steps of:
removing the one or more screened cages from the tank; and
drying the retained components and/or fibrous materials (Paragraph 59).
In regards to Claim 10, Iuchi teaches the step of removing the one or more screened cages from the tank results in the draining of liquid from the one or more screened cages (Paragraph 22: drain).
In regards to Claim 12, Iuchi teaches performing additional processing on the retained material with the at least one screened cage (Paragraph 57: rinse).
In regards to Claim 13, Iuchi teaches the additional processing comprises one or more of dissolving or a chemical reaction (Paragraph 57: rinse would dissolve residual Na2CO3).
In regards to Claim 14, Iuchi teaches the fibrous solids are selected from the group consisting of silk cocoons, cellulose, and animal fibers (Abstract: silk cocoons).
In regards to Claim 15, Iuchi teaches the salt is sodium carbonate (Paragraph 54: Na2CO3).
In regards to Claim 16, Iuchi teaches the retained component is fibroin (Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 March 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s lone argument against the prior art of record is that Iuchi is not fully enclosed, and as such, cannot teach a screened cage. Respectfully, there is no claim requirement that the screened cage must be fully enclosed. The term “cage” does not absolutely require a top; there are many examples of cages without tops. It is Examiner’s position that Applicant is reading limitations into the claims which are not present.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAUN R HURLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732