DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 16-32, in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims33-35 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 23 and 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 which recites the melting temperature that is “around 250 C” renders the scope of the claim vague and unclear since there are no clear metes and bounds for such recitation.
Claim 23 recites for “an active layer” and “a passive layer”, but it is unclear how one layer is distinguished from the other layer. For purposes of examining, the active layer is interpreted as a layer having a higher coefficient of thermal expansion than the passive layer (as disclosed in lines 9-11 on page 3 of the specification).
Claim 25 recites for “normal” which a relative term of degree that renders the claim indefinite and vague since there is no clear claim scope as to what would constitute “normal” as opposed to abnormal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-20, 23-27, 31 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyazawa et al (US 5,770,993).
Miyazawa discloses the heating assembly claimed including a first soldered spot (13’), a second soldered spot (13), a thermal fuse element including a connection strip (11) that electrically connects the first solder spot and the second solder spot wherein one of the first solder spot and the second solder spot is configured as a soft solder having a melting temperature about 238º C (column 6, lines 12-13) which is encompassed within the claimed range of 225º C to 275º C wherein the connection strip is a bimetal strip (shown by two layers including a first layer 11 and a second layer 12).
With respect to claim 17, Miyazawa discloses the melting temperature of the soft solder that is 238º C which is around 250º C.
With respect to claim 18, Miyazawa discloses the connection strip that is arranged freely spanning between the first solder spot and the second solder spot as the connection strip is arranged to freely extend between the first solder spot and the second solder spot.
With respect to claims 19 , 20, 31 and 32, Miyazawa discloses the connection strip that is configured to disconnect from the soft solder by bending away from the soft solder spot (see Figure 2) as the soft solder spot reaches a melting temperature above 238º C wherein the soft solder spot would also melt when the temperature of the connection strip also exceeds 250º C or 275º C which is higher than the temperature at which the soft solder spot melts.
With respect to claim 23 and 24, Miyazawa discloses the bimetal strip comprising an active layer (as disclosed having higher coefficient of thermal expansion; see page 3, line 9-11 of the Applicant’s specification) and a passive layer (which would have a lower coefficient of thermal expansion than the active layer) as Miyazawa shows the active layer (11) including copper Cu having a higher expansion of coefficient (17.8 x 10^-6 / ºC) than the passive layer (12) which includes Fe-Ni (which is shown to have a lower coefficient of thermal expansion 4.4 x 10^-6 / ºC). Also, see page 5, lines 44-61.
With respect to claims 25-27, Miyazawa discloses the bimetal strip that does not change its shape during a normal operating temperature (see Figure 2) wherein the normal operation temperature would be a temperature lower than the melting temperature of the soft solder spot 238º C or less which overlaps that of the claimed range. Also, see column 6, lines 4-13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21, 22, 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa et al (US 5,770,993) in view of Nelson et al (US 4,933,530).
With respect to claims 21 and 22, Miyazawa discloses the first solder spot and the second solder spot wherein one of the solder spot (13’) is not a soft solder (i.e., it does not melt as that of the soft solder spot 13), but Miyazawa does not disclose that the one of the solder spot not being a soft solder spot has a melting temperature between 600º C to 900º C.
Nelson shows it is known to provide a solder for soldering or boding metal parts that has a melting temperature in the range of 1150º F to 1375º F (which is equivalent to 621º C to 746º C) which overlaps the claimed range, and Nelson further discloses that the non-soft solder spot is made of silver.
In view of Nelson, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Miyazawa with the solder spot that is not a soft solder spot wherein the non-soft solder spot has a melting temperature that is higher than the soft solder spot so that the non-soft solder spot can continue to maintain the positioning of the connection strip while one end of the connection strip becomes free due to the melting of the soft solder spot to make the electrical disconnect in the event of overheating of the heating assembly.
With respect to claims 29 and 30, Nelson discloses that the non-soft solder spot is made of silver (column 1, lines 31-33).
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyazawa et al (US 5,770,993) in view of Bromley et al (US 2003/0048170).
Miyazawa discloses the soft solder spot (13) that includes tin (Sn) but does not show lead (Pb) as claimed.
Bromley shows it is known to provide a soft solder spot that comprises tin (Sn) and lead (Pb) having a melting temperature of 250º C (para 0023) which is encompassed with the soft solder spot having the melting temperature between 225º C to 275º C.
In view of Bromley, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt Miyazawa with the soft solder spot including lead (Pb) which would control a melting temperature of the soft solder spot so that the different or other desired overheating temperature can predictably achieved or designed as desired by the user of the heating assembly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pachla et al (US 2006/0273876), Matthiesen et al (US 2010/0245027), and Yang (US 8,143,991) disclose for a soft solder spot for electric disconnection when heated over its predetermined melting temperature.
/SANG Y PAIK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761