DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 16-35 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 16-33, in the reply filed on 05/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 34-35 are withdrawn as being directed to a non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-21, 24-25 and 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (US 20200345959 A1) in view of Hon (US 20220218042 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ding teaches a heater assembly for an aerosol-generating device (flue-curing device; [0052]), comprising:
a heating chamber (heating pipe 4; [0052]) configured to heat an aerosol-forming substrate (cigarette); and
a heater casing (thermal insulating barrels 62; [0023], [0057]) arranged around the heating chamber (Fig. 1), wherein the heater casing is arranged radially distanced from the heating chamber ([0058]), wherein the heater casing comprises an air-tight space (first and second insulated space 63, 64; [0058]), and wherein the air-tight space comprises an insulating material (insulating barrel 61; [0057]).
Ding does not explicitly teach that the insulating material is microporous.
Hon, directed to a heater assembly for an aerosol generating device (combustion device 11; [0051]) comprising a heating chamber (combustion chamber 114, 514; [0051], [0070]) configured to heat an aerosol generating substrate (tobacco 1211, 5211; [0054], [0057], [0071]) and a heater casing (housing 10, 50; [0047], [0066]) arranged radially distanced from the heating chamber (Figs. 1, 10), wherein the heater casing comprises an air-tight space, and wherein the air-tight space comprises an insulating material (insulating later 13, 53; [0048], [0068]), teaches that an insulating material may be microporous ceramic ([0048]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding by using a microporous ceramic as the insulating material as taught by Hon because both Ding and Hon are directed to heater assemblies comprising porous insulation material, Hon teaches that microporous ceramic is an art-recognized insulation material, and this involves substituting one alternative insulation material for another to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, Ding teaches a first connecting wall (fixing bracket 71; [0057]) connecting the heating chamber and the heater casing, and a second connecting wall (fixing bracket 72; [0057]) connecting the heating chamber and the heater casing, wherein the air-tight space 64 is defined between the heating chamber, the heater casing, and the first and the second connecting walls (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 18, Ding teaches that the air-tight space 63, 64 is at least partly filled with the microporous insulating material 61 (Fig. 1 depicts that insulating material 61 is disposed within the air-tight spaces 63, 64. Thus, the air-tight space is at least partially filled with the insulating material).
Regarding claim 19, Ding teaches that the air-tight space 63, 64 is only least partly filled with the microporous insulating material 61 (Fig. 1 depicts that insulating material 61 is disposed within the air-tight spaces 63, 64 but does not fill the entire space. Thus, the air-tight space is only least partially filled with the insulating material).
Regarding claim 20, Ding teaches that the air-tight space further comprises at least one air gap (second insulated space 64).
Regarding claim 21, Ding teaches that the microporous insulating material 61 is sandwiched in a radial direction between two air gaps (first and second insulated spaces 63, 64; [0058]; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Ding teaches that the microporous insulating material has an elongate extension (Fig. 1 depicts that microporous insulating material 61 extends along the heating chamber as an elongate extension).
Regarding claim 25, Ding teaches that the microporous insulating material extends parallel to a longitudinal axis of the heating chamber (Fig. 1 depicts that microporous insulating material 61 extends along and parallel to the elongate heating chamber longitudinal axis).
Regarding claim 28, Ding teaches a heating element (heat generating assembly 5; [0052]).
Regarding claim 29, Ding teaches that the heating element 5 is arranged at least partly around the heating chamber ([0052], Fig. 1), and wherein the microporous insulating material has a longitudinal extension that is the same or larger than a longitudinal extension of the heating element (Fig. 1).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding and Hon as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Hupkes et al. (US 20230165309 A1).
Regarding claim 22, Ding does not teach that the microporous insulating material is formed from at least a first insulating element comprising at least one first connection element and a second insulating element comprising at least one second connection element, and wherein the first and the second connection elements are configured as matching connection elements.
Hupkes, directed to a heater assembly (heater arrangement 1; [0039]) for an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating device 100; [0039]), comprising a heating chamber (tubular heating chamber 10; [0039]), a heater casing (rigid surround 40; [0039], [0045]) comprising an air-tight space, teaches that a heater casing component may be provided as a first insulating element (casing part 41; Figs. 1A, 3C) comprising at least one first connection element (connection features 43; Figs. 5C-5E, 6E) and a second insulating element (casing part 42) comprising at least one second connection element (connection features 43), and wherein the first and the second connection elements are configured as matching connection elements (Figs. 5C-5E, 6E; [0049], [0062]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding by providing the heater casing, including the microporous insulating material as two elements, each comprising a matching connection element as taught by Hupkes because both Ding and Hupkes are directed to heater assemblies comprising insulative casings, Hupkes teaches that a casing around a tubular chamber may be provided as two matching parts, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that this would allow for easier device assembly, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 23, Hupkes teaches that the first and the second connection elements are configured as male and female connection elements (Fig. 6E).
Regarding claim 26, Ding does not explicitly teach a distance between the heating chamber and the heater casing.
Hupkes, directed to a heater assembly (heater arrangement 1; [0039]) for an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating device 100; [0039]), comprising a heating chamber (tubular heating chamber 10; [0039]), a heater casing (rigid surround 40; [0039], [0045]) comprising an air-tight space, teaches that a distance between the heating chamber and the heater casing is between 1.5 millimeters and 7 millimeters ([0045] teaches a distance of 2-4mm, which anticipates the claimed range).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Ding by applying the spacing of elements such that the distance between the heating chamber and the heater casing is between 1.5 millimeters and 7 millimeters as taught by Hupkes because both Ding and Hupkes are directed to heater assemblies comprising heater casings, Ding is silent to the precise spacing between the casing and the heating chamber and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable spacing arrangement, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Furthermore, the rearrangement of parts, such as adjusting the spacing between elements, is considered prima facie obvious when the operation of the device is not modified.
Regarding claim 26, Hupkes teaches that a distance between the heating chamber and the heater casing is about 3.1 millimeters ([0045] teaches a range of 2-4mm. The claimed range overlaps with the range taught by the prior art and is therefore prima facie obvious.
Claims 30-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding and Hon as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Lyubomirskiy et al. (US 20150181934 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Hon does not explicitly teach that the microporous insulating material has a thermal conductivity of below 0.05 W/m-K at a temperature of 280 degrees Celsius.
Lyubomirskiy, directed to a heater assembly for an aerosol generating device (apparatus 1; [0051]), comprising a heating chamber (heating chamber 4; [0053]) and a heater casing (thermal insulation 11; [0059]) comprising an air-tight space (internal region 13; [0060]) comprising a porous insulating material ([0060]), teaches that the thermal conductivity of a porous insulating material is below 0.05 W/mK ([0060] teaches a range of 0.004-0.005 W/mK, which anticipates the claimed range. While Lyubomirskiy does not specify that this thermal conductivity is at 280C, it would be expected that the thermal conductivity would apply for any operating temperature of the device, and thus would be expected to be relevant at 280C).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the insulating material of Hon, and thus modified Ding, to have a thermal conductivity below 0.05 W/mK as taught by Lyubomirskiy because both Hon and Lyubomirskiy are directed to heater assemblies comprising insulating heater casings, Hon is silent to a thermal conductivity of the porous insulating material and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable porous insulation conductivity, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 31, Lyubomirskiy teaches that the thermal conductivity of an insulating material is 0.004-0.005 W/mK ([0060]). While Lyubomirskiy does not explicitly teach that the thermal conductivity of the microporous insulating material increases by a maximum of 40 percent at a temperature of 280 degrees Celsius compared to a thermal conductivity of the microporous insulating material at 20 degrees Celsius, one having ordinary skill in the art would expect that the thermal conductivity range would apply to all stages of the devices operation, including during heating. Thus, one having ordinary skill would expect that the microporous insulating material increases by a maximum of 0.001 W/mK, which is 40 percent at a temperature of 280 degrees Celsius compared to a thermal conductivity of the microporous insulating material at 20 degrees Celsius.
Claims 32-33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding and Hon as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Cashmore et al. (US 20090038632 A1) and Davis et al. (US 20170188626 A1).
Regarding claim 32, Hon does not explicitly teach that the microporous insulating material has a pore size of below 100 nanometers.
Cashmore, directed to smoking articles ([0001]), states that within the art, micropores are known to have a pore size of less than 2nm.
Davis, directed to a heater assembly (atomizer 20; [0110]) for an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating device 100; [0038], [0069]), teaches that the use of porous ceramic having pore size of below 100nm is known in the art ([0098]).
Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the microporous insulation material of Hon, and thus modified Ding, would similarly have a pore size of below 2 nanometers as taught by Cashmore and further evidenced by Davis, and would thus anticipate the claimed range of below 100nm.
Regarding claim 32, Hon does not explicitly teach that the microporous insulating material has a pore size of below 2 nanometers.
Cashmore, directed to smoking articles ([0001]), states that within the art, micropores are known to have a pore size of less than 2nm.
Davis, directed to a heater assembly (atomizer 20; [0110]) for an aerosol generating device (aerosol generating device 100; [0038], [0069]), teaches that the use of porous ceramic having pore size of below 2nm is known in the art ([0098]).
Thus, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the microporous insulation material of Hon, and thus modified Ding, would similarly have a pore size of below 2 nanometers as taught by Cashmore and further evidenced by Davis.
Conclusion
/C.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755