DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on April 30, 2026 has been entered and considered and an action on the merits follows.
Drawings
The cancellation of claim 5 sufficiently overcomes the drawing objections noted in the previous Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes (WO 2020/025975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hughes discloses a re-bale feeder comprising an open-topped box frame (fig. 1) into which material (11) is placed, the open-topped box frame forming a chamber (50), a conveyor (12) within the chamber (fig. 6) operative in use to urge the material (11) in a longitudinal direction (A; see fig. 6) towards an exit end (see fig. 1), the exit end being open during urging of the material (see page 12, the last two lines to page 13, the first two lines, which discloses the bale (11) is then urges towards the spreader head (exit end) by the moving conveyor (12) to force the bale through the spreader head; therefore, the exit end is opened during urging of the material (11).
As to the feeder is a re-bale feeder as recited in the preamble, said recitation is used to describe an intended use of the feeder. Recitations of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art teaches the structures of the claimed invention, then the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitation. See In Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2111.02 and 2114(11).
Regarding claim 2, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses wherein the open topped box frame at least partially defines an internal volume (50) into which separated material and/or one or more large bales (11) are received the internal volume defined by a pair of upstanding side walls (21a, 21c), rear wall (21b), and a base (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses a base wall that is substantially defined by the conveyor in the form of an endless belt conveyor (see "conveyor belt 12" on page 12, last line of the specification and fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses wherein an exit end of the chamber (frame 22 forms an exit end of the chamber, it is noted that the claim does not require this exit end is the same exit end as claimed in claim 1) is mounted for pivotal movement up and down (see figs. 3-4, which show the frame 22 pivoted up and down).
Regarding claim 8, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses further comprising at least one tine assembly (29) extending into the chamber (see figs. 6 and 3, in which fig. 6 shows the right tines extended onto the chamber) to shape the material on the conveyor.
Regarding claim 9, the feeder as claimed in claim 1 further comprising a drive motor (51) provided on the feeder mounted relative to a side wall (21a) (see fig. 1 and 3) of the box frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of KR 20190003801 U (hereinafter "KR '801").
Regarding claim 10, Hughes discloses a chassis/frame includes a pair of spaced apart, elongate side rails (15, 16) (fig. 12) and two lateral struts (17b, 17c) positioned at center of the feeder (fig. 12) and extending between the side rails (fig. 12). Hughes does not expressly disclose the lateral struts (17b, 17c) are hollow members to receive tines of lifting apparatus to allow movement of the feeder. KR '801 discloses a container comprising an open-topped box frame (fig. 1) having two lateral struts (120) positioned at center of the frame (fig. 1), wherein the struts are hollow members (fig. 1) configured to receive tines (20) of lifting apparatus (fig. 1) to allow movement of the container (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the struts of Hughes, into hollow members, as taught by KR '801, in order to receive tines of lifting apparatus to ease transporting of the feeder.
Response to Arguments
In Applicant's arguments filed on April 30, 2026, Applicant argued that because the spreader head of Hughes (WO 2020/025975 A1) is moveable between a raised position (i.e. an open position) and a lowered position (i.e. a closed position), an exit end of the feeder is not opened during the urging of the material toward the exit end because the spreader head is in the lowered position. With respect to Applicant’s assertion, this argument is not found persuasive because Hughes discloses when the spreader head is in a lowered position, the bale (11) is then urges towards the spreader head by the moving conveyor (12) to force the bale through the spreader head (page 12, the last three lines to page 13, the first two lines), therefore, the left exit end of the box frame is always opened in both of the raised and lowered positions of the spreader head. If it is not opened, the bale would not be able to go through the exit end. Even if the spreader head is being applied as an exit end, there is still an opening inside the frame (22) of the spreader head when the spreader head is in a lowered position in order to urge the material through the spreader head. Accordingly, Hughes still discloses the subject matter as claimed in the amended claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725