DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-2 and 4-10) in the reply filed on January 15, 2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the drawing of “a fixed, substantially solid base wall is provided with one or more bale chain drives with one or more engagement teeth extending upwardly from the chain drive within the feeder with an elongate opening for each of the bale chain drives so that the engagement teeth extend above a level of the base wall over a working length during rotation of the chain drive so that the engagement teeth of the chain drive engage bale material and drive the bale material toward the exit end (claim 5)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract should avoid using the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,”. Therefore, the phrases, “comprising (lines 1-2)” in the abstract should be changed to “including”.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
On page 19, line 12, “i59 s” should be changed to -- 59 is --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3, after “received”, a comma should be added for clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, line 1, there is no antecedent basis for the limitation, “the base wall” in the claim.
Regarding claim 4, line 2, the limitation, “an endless belt conveyor” lacks clear antecedent basis because it is unclear whether this conveyor is referring to a conveyor as claim in claim 1 or to a different conveyor. It is noted that there is only one conveyor is disclosed in the specification.
Regarding claim 5, line 2, the term "substantially solid” is relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially solid" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. As “substantially” is a broad term, it is unclear of the metes and bounds of “solid” in the claim and whether “substantially solid” is intended to be further limiting than "substantially."
Regarding claim 7, line 2, there is no antecedent basis for each of the limitations, “the floor” and “the chamber” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hughes (WO 2020/025975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hughes discloses a feeder comprising an open-topped box frame (fig. 1) into which material (11) is placed, a conveyor (12) within the box frame operative to urge the material in a longitudinal direction (see A in fig. 6) towards an exit end (see left side of fig. 6).
As to the feeder is a re-bale feeder as recited in the preamble, said recitation is used to describe an intended use of the feeder. Recitations of intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art teaches the structures of the claimed invention, then the prior art is capable of performing the intended use, therefore, the prior art meets the claimed limitation. See In Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). See MPEP 2111.02 and 2114(11).
Regarding claim 2, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses wherein the open-topped box frame at least partially defines an internal volume into which separated material and/or one or more large bales (11) are received the internal volume defined by a pair of upstanding side walls (21a, 21c), rear wall (21b), and a base (fig. 4), with an open exit end (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 4, as best understood, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses wherein a base of the feeder is substantially defined by the conveyor (see “conveyor belt 12” on page 12, last line of the specification).
Regarding claim 5, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses wherein a fixed, substantially solid base wall (figs. 13-14) is provided with one or more bale chain drives (31) with one or more engagement teeth (32) extending upwardly from the chain drive within the feeder (fig. 13) with an elongate opening for each of the bale chain drives so that the engagement teeth (fig. 13) extend above a level of the base wall over a working length during rotation of the chain drive so that the engagement teeth of the chain drive engage bale material and drive the bale material toward the exit end (fig. 13 and page 13 of the specification).
Regarding claim 6, the feeder as claimed in claim 5, Hughes discloses wherein each of the bale chain drives and/or the conveyor can be driven in a forward and a reverse direction, as chosen by an operator (see claim 23 and page 7, lines 14-15).
Regarding claim 7, as best understood, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses wherein an exit end of a floor (25) of a chamber (i.e. a chamber of a spreader head 13 in fig. 1, 3-4 that has rotors (14) positioned therein) is mounted for pivotal movement up and down (see figs. 3-4, which show the spreader head 13 pivoted up and down).
Regarding claim 8, the feeder as claimed in claim 1, Hughes discloses further comprising at least one tine assembly (29) extending onto the chamber (see figs. 6 and 3, in which fig. 6 shows the right tines extended onto the chamber) to shape the material on the conveyor.
Regarding claim 9, the re-bale feeder as claimed in claim 1 further comprising a drive motor (51) provided on the feeder mounted relative to a side wall (21a) (see fig. 1 and 3) of the box frame.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10, as applied to claim 1 above, is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hughes in view of KR 20190003801 U (hereinafter “KR ‘801”).
Regarding claim 10, Hughes discloses a chassis/frame includes a pair of spaced apart, elongate side rails (15, 16) (fig. 12) and two lateral struts (17b, 17c) positioned at center of the feeder (fig. 12) and extending between the side rails (fig. 12).
Hughes does not expressly disclose the lateral struts (17b, 17c) are hollow members to receive tines of lifting apparatus to allow movement of the feeder.
KR ‘801 discloses a container comprising an open-topped box frame (fig. 1) having two lateral struts (120) positioned at center of the frame (fig. 1), wherein the struts are hollow members (fig. 1) configured to receive tines (20) of lifting apparatus (fig. 1) to allow movement of the container (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the struts of Hughes, into hollow members, as taught by KR ‘801, in order to receive tines of lifting apparatus to ease transporting of the feeder.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed on the attached PTO 892 are cited to show:
US 2018/0139904A1, US 2016/0050848A1, US 2006/0086849 A1, US 5,573,190 disclose bale processors having a conveyor to urge material toward an exit end.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725