Detailed Office Action
1. Claims 1 and 3-15 are pending. Claim 1 is independent.
2. The finality of the Office Action dated June 3, 2026 is withdrawn. The indicated allowability of claims 1 and 3-15 are withdrawn. Rejections follow.
The objection to the drawings is withdrawn.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
3. Claims 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recite “wherein the sizes of the printing points of the color channel patterns can assume a limited number of discrete printing point size values, wherein the number is limited by the digital printer”. The word "can" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the sizes actually assumes a limited number of discrete printing point size values or just “can” assume a limited number …… but does not actually assume.
Claims 6-8 are rejected as being dependent on rejected claim 4.
Claim 8, lines 3-4 recite “for example a Floyd-Steinberg algorithm.” The phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10, lines 1-2 recite “wherein the density map was created from the color channel pattern of the color-separate digital image, wherein ……” The basis for the term “the density” that “was created from the color channel pattern of the color-separated digital image” has not been set forth.
Non-statutory Double Patenting Rejection
5. Claims 1 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of copending Application No. 18/573,174 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claim 1, the claim limitations correspond to the claim limitations of claim 12/1 of the copending application, where claim 12/1 is understood to mean all the limitations of claims 12 and 1.
Specifically,
the claim 1 limitations lines 1-7 of the claim, i.e.,
“A method for color correcting a digital print, wherein, in a first step, a specified digital image is provided to a digital printer as a color-separate digital image with at least one color channel pattern, wherein each color channel pattern is associated with a print color channel of the digital printer and has information relating to a printing position and size of printing points to be placed by the printer of a corresponding print color channel, and a printing point is defined by a printing position and size thereof”
correspond to
the copending claim 1 limitations lines 1-7, i.e.,
“A method for color correcting a digital printer for printing decorations over an entire printing width of the digital printer, wherein the digital printer is provided for outputting a specified digital image, wherein the method comprises the steps of: a) providing the specified digital image, wherein the digital image comprises at least one color channel pattern, wherein each color channel pattern is associated with a print color channel of the digital printer”;
the claim 1 limitations in part a), i.e.,
“a) providing correction data for the digital print, wherein the correction data at
least comprises a correction value for at least one color channel pattern,”
correspond to
the copending claim 1 limitations in parts e) and f), i.e.,
“e) detecting the color values of the printed test pattern as a function of their position in the direction of the printing width by use of an optical color measuring device;
f) creating correction data for the digital printer based on relative deviations of the detected color values along the printing width for each test stripe”;
the claim 1 limitations in part b), i.e.,
“b) using the correction data on the color-separate digital image, wherein a color-
corrected color-separate digital image is obtained’
correspond to
the copending claim 1 limitations in part g), i.e.,
“g) applying the correction data to the digital printer and/or the specified digital image”;
and the claim 1 limitations in part c), i.e.,
“c) printing the color-corrected color-separate digital image using the digital printer, wherein the correction value is used on the printing points intended for the color channel pattern by adjusting the printing point sizes of at least a part of the printing points of the color channel pattern depending on the correction value”
correspond to
the copending claim 12/1 limitations, i.e.,
“wherein in step g) the correction data are applied to the specified digital image, wherein the correction is made by adjusting print dots of the color channel patterns of the specified digital image”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the method of claim 1 based on the method of copending claim 12/1.
Regarding claim 15/1, the claim limitations “wherein color correcting is
for the printing of decors with low color diversity, wooden decors and/or stone decors” are found in and correspond to the copending claim 1 limitations of lines 1-3 and parts f) and g), i.e.,
“A method for color correcting a digital printer for printing decorations over an entire printing width of the digital printer, wherein the digital printer is provided for outputting a specified digital image”;
“f) creating correction data for the digital printer based on relative deviations of the detected color values along the printing width for each test stripe”; and
“g) applying the correction data to the digital printer and/or the specified digital image”.
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. §102
7. Claims 1, 4, 5, 8-9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN107009770A (herein after referred to as CN’770) (see the 8-page English translation filed 08/17/2026 (receipt date)).
Regarding claim 1, CN’770 discloses a method for changing the value of ink density in a point-based printing system by means of a control computer (see the specification of English translation, the para under “Technical field”, and Fig. 1).
Specifically, CN’770 discloses the following technical features (see specification and Fig. 1, especially the paras of the specification noted below):
The 3rd para under “Content of the Invention”: The method according to the invention for changing the ink density value in a point-based printing system by means of a control computer is mainly suitable for changing the ink density value in an ink jet printer. However, the method can also be applied to other point-based printing systems. In the method according to the invention, the control computer is supplied with a digital printing manuscript. In addition, the desired changes in ink density values in the control computer are introduced into the printed image. In this case, the desired change of the ink density value, which is predefined by the operator, can be involved. However, as a general rule, the result of changing the ink density values will be to equalize out the undesired fluctuations in ink density values caused by the type of construction to avoid differences in brightness in the printed image. According to the invention, it is now provided that the ink density value is changed after the printed image has been screened and that the number or size of printing dots to be applied to the printing material is changed in order to achieve a predetermined nominal ink density value. By changing the ink density value after screening, the time-consuming and slow screening process for correcting the ink density value can be eliminated. Therefore, in the present invention, the screened image data is applied to the respective color separations at the time of changing the ink density value in the control computer without the need to newly screen. According to the invention, it is also provided that the number of print spots or the size to be applied to the printing material is changed. By changing the number or size of printing dots to be applied to the printing material, the density of the ink is changed so that the brightness of the printing material is changed. This makes it possible, in particular, to easily and quickly correct unwanted fluctuations in the density of the ink so that a difference in brightness transverse to the printing direction on the printed image does not occur. In this way, it is also possible to use print heads that release droplet volumes of different sizes for manufacturing reasons. The elimination of the re-screening process has greatly accelerated the printing process, which significantly increases the acceptance of the inkjet printer in the marketplace because most machines on the market require long setup and calibration times prior to printing.
The 2nd para under “detailed description”: In addition, the printing system 1 has digital graphic cards 4a, 4b, 4c, one for each ink channel. The digital graphics cards 4a, 4b, 4c generate a time-on signal for each nozzle of the print head 6 from the existing color-separated screened half-tone image. The digital graphics cards 4a, 4b, 4c are in turn connected to a control computer 2, which in addition also distributes dichroic, screened binary image data on the digital graphics cards 4a, 4b, 4c (i.e., in a first step, a specified digital image is provided to a digital printer as a color-separate digital image with at least one color channel pattern, wherein each color channel pattern is associated with a print color channel of the digital printer and has information relating to a printing dot to be placed by the printer of a corresponding print color channel, as claimed in claim 1, lines 1-5 (see texts in bold in the discussion below regarding the specific claim limitation “printing position and size”).
The 4th para under “Content of the Invention”: In a first embodiment of the invention, it is provided that the point-based printing system is an ink-jet printer and that the ink-jet printer has at least one digital graphics card and that by means of a change of the ink-jet printing press to be released Droplet size, the at least one digital graphics card changes the size of the printing spot to be applied to the printing material. The ink density on the printing material can be changed by changing the droplet size. For this purpose, the nominal density is preferably determined and all nozzles are set to this nominal density. As a result, all nozzles achieve a given nominal density. The adaptation of the ink density is then achieved in the screened print image by expanding or shrinking the droplets. This means that outlets stay in place, and the number and position of drops does not change (i.e., and the printed points are defined by their printed position and size, and that the information relating to a printing point(s) is information relating to a printing position and size of a printing point, as claimed in claim 1, lines 3-7).
The 3rd para under “detailed description”: In addition, an image monitoring system 3 is connected to the control computer 2, which detects and digitizes the printed substrate either inside or outside of the ink jet printer 1. In this way, the actual ink value of the printing material can be detected inside or outside the ink jet printer 1 and used for quality control. The digitized ink actual values of the image monitoring system 3 are directed into the control computer 2 of the inkjet printer 1 and the actual ink values can be used to manipulate the ink density values. Through this manipulation, the difference in density can be equilibrated in a conditional manner by the difference in droplet volume.
The 6th para under “detailed description”: The control computer 2 can analyze and process the image of the image monitoring system 3 and can thereby calculate the compensation intensity for compensating fluctuations in ink density. This compensation intensity is transmitted by the control computer 2 to the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b assigned to the respective printing ink. Here, the compensation intensity of each nozzle (or image column) is preferably transmitted. In this way and method, the output of the droplets is manipulated directly on the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b without the need to create a new color separation in the image screening processor in the control computer 2. The main idea of the present invention is to manipulate the data on the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b in order to achieve random increase or decrease in ink density (i.e., to provide correction data for the digital print, wherein the correction data at least comprises a correction value for at least one color channel pattern, as claimed in claim 1 a), and to use the correction data on the color-separated digital image, wherein a color-corrected color-separate digital image is obtained, as claimed in claim 1, b)).
Further, in the 3rd para under “Content of the Invention”: According to the invention, it is also provided that the number of changing print spots or the size to be applied to the printing material is changed. By the number or size of printing dots to be applied to the printing material, the density of the ink is changed so that the brightness of the printing material is changed; and in claim 3 of CN’770: “The point-based printing system is an inkjet printer (1) and the point-based printing system has at least one digital graphics card (4a, 4b, 4c) and said at least one digital graphics card (4a, 4b, 4c) changing the size of the print sport to be applied to the printing material by changing the size of the drop to be released by said ink jet printer (1)” (i.e., printing the color-corrected color-separate digital image using the digital printer, wherein the correction value is used on the printing points intended for the color channel pattern by adjusting the printing point sizes of at least a part of the printing points of the color channel pattern depending on the correction value, as claimed in claim 1, c)).
Regarding claim 4/1, if the 112(b) issue is corrected, it would still be rejected. In this Office Action, claim 4 is rejected as if claim 4 is corrected by deleting “can”.
The method of CN’770 is discussed for claim 1 above.
In the 5th para under “Content of the Invention”, CN’770 further discloses the following technical features: In a preferred embodiment of the invention, it is provided that the size of the inkjet droplets is output in four different sizes. Here, the droplet size to be output is the following size: Null [meaning no drops], S (small), M (medium), or L (large) (i.e., the sizes of the printing points of the color channel patterns assume a limited number of discrete printing point size values, wherein the number is limited by the digital printer, as claimed in claim 4).
Regarding claim 5/1, the method of CN’770 is discussed for claim 1 above. CN’770 further discloses the following technical features:
The 9th para under “Content of the Invention”: In a further embodiment of the invention it is provided that when changing the ink density value of the printing spot to be applied to the printing material, correction functions for minimizing quantization noise, in particular Sigma-Delta modulation [are applied]. Printed image data on the print head control electronics card has a very small resolution in the network because the droplet size can only vary in four levels Null, S, M and L. Due to this small resolution, high quantization noise is produced. In order to minimize the noise density within the useful spectral range of the image data, a correction function is used according to the present invention. This correction suppresses noise. Sigma-Delta modulation is preferably used, wherein the change of the image data is Sigma-Delta modulated. This means that a constant percentage of the density change is achieved by measuring the deviation from the ink density setpoint for each pixel in the image data so far and, if the threshold value is reached, the pixel value in the correct direction discretely upwards or downwards to minimize misdirected errors (i.e., the correction value is used in such a way that the correction value is distributed over the printing points intended for the color channel pattern, wherein the distribution of the correction value is performed such that the color difference achieved over all of the printing points in total corresponds to the correction value, as claimed in claim 5).
Regarding claim 8/4, if the 112(b) issue is corrected, it would still be rejected (i.e., even if the phrase “for example a Floyd-Steinberg algorithm” or just the phrase “for example” is deleted from the claim). In this Office Action, claim 4 is rejected as if claim 4 is corrected by deleting the language from “for example a Floyd-Steinberg algorithm.”
CN’770 discussed for claim 4 above further discloses the following technical features:
The 10th para under “Content of the Invention”: In another embodiment of the invention, it is provided that the printing dots to be applied to the printing material are arranged in rows and columns; the correction method is Sigma-Delta Modulation; when Sigma-Delta modulation is applied, the Sigma-Delta Modulation is initialized with random values for each image column. The screened image data is divided into rows and columns so that each image point has a row and column address. There is a risk of generating a Moire-Effekte [Moiré Effect] when changing pixel values by sigma-delta modulation, since the pixel values that have been changed change direction according to the halftone dot. To avoid this moiré effect, Sigma-Delta modulation is initialized with random values for each image column. The regular [moiré] structure is broken by these random values so that the observer does not notice the moiré effect on the image (i.e., an error distribution algorithm (dithering) is used when changing the printing point size value of the printing points of the color channel pattern while using the correction data, as claimed in claim 8).
Regarding claim 9/1, CN’770 is discussed for claim 1 above. CN’770 further discloses the following technical features:
The 3rd para under “detailed description”: In addition, an image monitoring system 3 is connected to the control computer 2, which detects and digitizes the printed substrate either inside or outside of the ink jet printer 1. In this way, the actual ink value of the printing material can be detected inside or outside the ink jet printer 1 and used for quality control. The digitized ink actual values of the image monitoring system 3 are directed into the control computer 2 of the inkjet printer 1 and the actual ink values can be used to manipulate the ink density values. Through this manipulation, the difference in density can be equilibrated in a conditional manner by the difference in droplet volume (i.e., the use of the correction data on the color-separate digital image is performed depending on a density map generated from at least one color channel pattern, wherein the density map includes information relating to the color density of the color channel pattern depending on the printing position, as claimed in claim 9).
Regarding claim 13/1, CN’770 discloses the following technical features:
The 3rd para under “detailed description”: In addition, an image monitoring system 3 is connected to the control computer 2, which detects and digitizes the printed substrate either inside or outside of the ink jet printer 1. In this way, the actual ink value of the printing material can be detected inside or outside the ink jet printer 1 and used for quality control. The digitized ink actual values of the image monitoring system 3 are directed into the control computer 2 of the inkjet printer 1 and the actual ink values can be used to manipulate the ink density values. Through this manipulation, the difference in density can be equilibrated in a conditional manner by the difference in droplet volume.
The 6th para under “detailed description”: The control computer 2 can analyze and process the image of the image monitoring system 3 and can thereby calculate the compensation intensity for compensating fluctuations in ink density. This compensation intensity is transmitted by the control computer 2 to the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b assigned to the respective printing ink. Here, the compensation intensity of each nozzle (or image column) is preferably transmitted. In this way and method, the output of the droplets is manipulated directly on the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b without the need to create a new color separation in the image screening processor in the control computer 2. The main idea of the present invention is to manipulate the data on the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b in order to achieve random increase or decrease in ink density (i.e., providing the correction data for the digital print in step a) includes printing the color-separate digital image and/or a digital test image using the digital printer and acquiring color values of the printed color-separate digital image and/or digital test image using an optical color measuring apparatus, wherein the correction values are created based on deviations of the color value measured for a printing position from the color value expected for the specified digital image and/or the digital test image at this printing position, as claimed in claim 13).
Regarding claim 14/1, a device is claimed, the device comprising a data storage, a computing unit, a digital printer for outputting a specified digital image, and optionally an optical color measuring apparatus, wherein the device is configured to perform the method according to claim 1. See discussion of CN’770 for claim 1 above. In addition, CN’770 also discloses the following technical features:
The 1st para under “detailed description”: The figure shows an ink jet printer 1, which operates with a sheet-wide printing strip. In this case, the printing strip has three printing heads 6, which include printing nozzles. In the figures, these print heads 6 each have ten print nozzles, each of which imparts printing ink to the printing material. In this case, each print head 6 is controlled by two printhead control electronics cards in the form of Inkjet- Converters 5a, 5b. The task of the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b is to convert the time-on signal of the individual nozzles into a control signal for controlling the print head 6. For reasons of computing power, two inkjet conversion cards 5a, 5b are provided for each print head 6 in the figures.
The 3rd para under “detailed description”: In addition, an image monitoring system 3, which detects and digitizes the printed substrate either inside or outside of the ink jet printer 1, is connected to the control computer 2. In this way, the actual ink value of the printing material can be detected inside or outside the ink jet printer 1 and used for quality control. The digitized ink actual values of the image monitoring system 3 are directed into the control computer 2 of the inkjet printer 1 and the actual ink values can be used to manipulate the ink density values. Through this manipulation, the difference in density can be equilibrated in a conditional manner by the difference in droplet volume (i.e., a device comprising a data storage, a computing unit, a digital printer for outputting a specified digital image, and optionally an optical color measuring apparatus, wherein the device is configured to perform the method according to claim 1, as claimed in claim 14).
Claim Rejection – 35 U.S.C. §103
9. Claims 3, 6-7, and 11-12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107009770A (hereinafter referred to as CN’770) (see the 8-page English translation with receipt date 08/17/2026).
Regarding claim 3/1, the method of CN’770 is discussed for claim 1 above. CN’770 is silent on whether the correction value is used or not on the size of the printing points, whose size is 0. However, on the basis of the disclosure of CN’770, it is easy for a person skill in the art to make corrections only for locations where ink dots (points) are present in order to improve correction efficiency, which is that the correction value is not used for the printed dot (point) having a size 0. In conclusion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the above common general knowledge on the basis of CN’770 in order to arrive at the solution that the correction value is not used on the size of printing points, whose size is 0, to improve correction efficiency.
Regarding claims 6/4 and 7/4, the obvious method of CN’770 and the method of CN’770 are discussed for claims 4 and 1 above, respectively.
In the 5th para under “Content of the Invention”, CN’770 further discloses the following technical features: In a preferred embodiment of the invention, it is provided that the size of the inkjet droplets is output in four different sizes. Here, the droplet size to be output is the following size: Null [meaning no drops], S (small), M (medium), or L (large). Thus, CN’770 implicitly discloses that the print point size value of the print points should become smaller than the minimum possible print dot (point) size value when using the correction data, the print point size is set to 0; in the event that a printed point size value of the printed points should become larger than a maximum possible printed point size value when using the correction data, the printed point size is set to the maximum possible printed point size value. Therefore, based on the disclosure of and the implicit teaching of CN’770, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the size of the printing point set to 0 in a case that the printing point size value of a printing point should become smaller than the smallest possible printing point size value when using the correction data, as claimed in claim 6, and to have the size of the printing point set to the maximum or largest possible printed point size value in a case that the printing point size value of a printing point should become larger than the maximum or largest possible printing point size value when using the correction data, as claimed in claim 7.
Regarding claim 11/9, CN’770 is discussed for claim 9 above. CN’770 does not disclose that the correction data is used on the color channel pattern of the color-separate digital image depending on a gradation curve. However, use of the correction data on the color channel pattern of the color-separated digital image depending on a gradation curve is readily conceivable to a person of ordinary skill in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the control in CN’770 such that the use of the correction data depends on a gradation curve.
Regarding claim 12/1, CN’770 is discussed for claim 1 above. CN’770 discloses the following technical features:
In the 1st para under “Background technique”: In particular in printing presses and printers using ink jet technology, there is always a fluctuation in the density of the ink at the time of printing which results in a difference in brightness across the printing material transverse to the printing direction. This type of density fluctuation is created by the fact that in a printhead, nozzles typically discharge droplets of different sizes for manufacturing reasons.
The 6th para under “detailed description”: The control computer 2 can analyze and process the image of the image monitoring system 3 and can thereby calculate the compensation intensity for compensating fluctuations in ink density. This compensation intensity is transmitted by the control computer 2 to the ink jet conversion cards 5a, 5b assigned to the respective printing ink. Here, the compensation intensity of each nozzle (or image column) is preferably transmitted (implicitly disclosing that the correction value depends on the printing width of the digital printing press).
Thus, CN’770 implicitly disclose that the correction value depends on the printing width of the digital printer.
Based on the disclosure of and the implicit teaching of CN’770, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify CN’770 such that correction value is a function of or dependent on the printing width of the digital printer (1) in order to improve correction efficiency according to the digital printer.
10. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107009770A in view of well-known art. CN107009770A hereinafter is referred to as CN’770 (see the 8-page English translation with receipt date 08/17/2026).
Regarding claim 10/9/1, the method of CN’770 is discussed for claims 9 and 1 above. CN’770 does not disclose the claim 10 limitations “wherein the density map was created from the color channel pattern of the color-separate digital image, wherein the color density depending on the printing position of the color channel pattern is preferably obtained using a blurring tool.”
The technical problem solved by claim 10 compared to CN’770 is how to obtain a density map. The examiner took Official Notice of the fact that creating a density map from a color channel pattern of a color separated digital image and using a blurring tool to obtain the color density depending on the printing position of the color channel pattern are well-known conventional techniques in the art. In conclusion, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the well-known techniques on the color channel pattern of the color separated digital image of CN’770 in order to arrive at the solution in claim 10/9.
11. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN107009770A in view of Kalwa et al. (US 2015/0097970 A1). CN107009770A hereinafter is referred to as CN’770 (see the 8-page English translation with receipt date 08/17/2026). Kalwa et al. is hereinafter referred to as Kalwa.
Regarding claim 15/1, the method of CN’770 is discussed for claim 1 above. CN’770 does not disclose the claim 15 limitation “wherein color correcting is
for the printing of decors with low color diversity, wooden decors and/or stone decors”.
Kalwa teaches a method for adapting décor prints and a device for conducting the method (digital printing, inkjet printer), wherein even the smallest color variations of substrate material are detected and corrected, and color correcting for color variations is for printing of wood decors to achieve optimized color values (end of para 0133) (see abstract, para 0133 and 0024).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kalwa and CN’770 in order to provide color correcting for printing wood (wooden) decors with optimized color values (see end of para 0133 of Kalwa).
Pertinent Prior Art
12. The prior art or art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Klemm et al. (US 2024/0297950 A1)
Conclusion
/CHEUKFAN LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682