DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023 and 01/23/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0110381 filed on 08/20/2021.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 07/30/2025 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-15have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 03/16/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive
Applicant’s arguments:
As Yun does not teach or suggest "receiving a synchronization signal associated with a first cell ID from a first satellite forming a cell in which the terminal is located; and receiving, from a second satellite, a synchronization signal associated with a second cell ID,"
As Tao does not teach or suggest "receiving, from the first satellite, a message indicating a change of a satellite forming the cell," it follows that Tao also fails to teach or suggest "performing uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite, in response to the message, wherein in case that in case that the uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite are completed, transmitting a message indicating completion of satellite change to the second satellite: and receiving. from the second satellite. a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID,"
The Examiner’s Response
Applicant asserts “Yun does not teach or suggest "receiving a synchronization signal associated with a first cell ID from a first satellite forming a cell in which the terminal is located; and receiving, from a second satellite, a synchronization signal associated with a second cell ID,"”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner used fig. 2 and p 62-64 Yun for teaching "receiving satellite information by a terminal" . As disclosed in Yun fig. 2 , the UE does receiving cell ID (e.g "satellite identification information" , "a unique number of the satellite", "identification information predefined", ...). P 62 does mention the first cell ID including "satellite identification information associated with a cell that is currently serviced". P55-57 explains in detail “methods of delivering satellite information ... to a terminal in an NTN” and “One of the methods of distinguishing the type of satellite is to set a physical cell ID”. In P 141-142 this receiving identification method further explained using for purpose of handover "The terminal may perform handover setup procedures for the target base stations (i.e., satellite base stations #2 and #3) according to the satellite orbit information with the satellite base station #1"” and “ terminal may receive information (e.g., PCID ...)”.
Applicant is reminded that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See in re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR international Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Applicant asserts “...Tao also fails to teach or suggest "performing uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite, in response to the message, wherein in case that where the message includes information about a timing advance (TA), the uplink synchronization is performed based on the TA, and the downlink synchronization is performed based on the synchronization signal associated with the second cell ID: in case that the uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite are completed, transmitting a message indicating completion of satellite change to the second satellite: and receiving. from the second satellite. a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID,".
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The examiner notes that figs. 15 and 19-22 and paragraphs 116, 200-201, 143 and 196 teaches the argued limitation.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show non-obviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 recite “a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID“ in line 17-18 , claim 1. Based on the language on the language of claim(s) 1 and 9 it is unclear to the Examiner what the “a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID ” in line 17-18 , claim 1 correspond to . For example, is “ a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID“ same as “ a synchronization signal” in line 3, claim 1 ? or is “a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID “ is a new “a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID” ?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-10, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yun (US 20200178135A1), hereinafter Yun and further in view of Tao (US 20220345961 A1), hereinafter Tao.
Regarding to claim 1,
Yun teaches a method of a terminal in a non-terrestrial network (NTN), the method comprising: receiving a synchronization signal associated with a first cell identifier (ID) from a first satellite forming a cell in which the terminal is located; r (Fig. 2, [0062-0064] base station may broadcast satellite identification information associated with a cell ... The satellite identification information may have a mapping relationship with satellite ephemeris information (e.g., satellite number, date of manufacture, orbit information )... the terminal may receive in advance a satellite information ... mapped to the satellite identification information ... ),
receiving, from a second satellite, a synchronization signal associated with a second cell ID; (fig. 9, S970 "broadcast information", Referring to FIG. 2, in an exemplary embodiment, the base station may broadcast satellite identification information associated with a cell that is currently serviced through system information (SI) for 5G satellites (S210)).
Yun does not explicitly teach receiving, from the first satellite, a message indicating a change of a satellite forming the cell; performing uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite, in response to the message, wherein in case that the message includes information about a timing advance (TA), the uplink synchronization is performed based on the TA, and the downlink synchronization is performed based on the synchronization signal associated with the second cell ID;
in case that the uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite are completed, transmitting a message indicating completion of satellite change to the second satellite: and receiving, from the second satellite, a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID.
Tao teaches receiving, from the first satellite, a message indicating a change of a satellite forming the cell (figs. 21-22, [0200] the source base station then proceeds with the handover by transmitting a handover command message to the UE and the UE switching its connection to the target cell. ... [0201] when the handover command message includes one or more of the UL grant and the common TA value); and
performing uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite, in response to the message, wherein in case where the message includes information about timing advance (TA), the uplink synchronization is performed based on the TA, and the downlink synchronization is performed based on the synchronization signal associated with the second cell ID. (fig. 15 and figs. 19-21, [0116] A mobile terminal can be scheduled for uplink transmission, if its uplink transmission is time synchronized. .... Once a user equipment has achieved uplink synchronization, the base station can schedule uplink transmission resources for it. ... [0143] UE acquires the synchronization signals (e.g., Primary Synchronization Signal, PSS, and Secondary Synchronization Signal, SSS) typically used to obtain the cell identity and frame timing of the target cell, thereby achieving time and frequency synchronization)
in case that the uplink synchronization and downlink synchronization with the second satellite are completed, transmitting a message indicating completion of satellite change to the second satellite; (figs. 21-22 and [0196] transmitted from the UE to the target base station can be considered as a handover confirm message that indicates to the target base station that the establishment of the connection of the UE to the target base station is complete);and receiving, from the second satellite, a synchronization signal associated with the first cell ID. ([0143] The handover is then prepared (preparation phase) between the two involved base stations, source and target base station, by the source gNB transmitting a handover request message to the target base station and the target gNB responding with a Handover request acknowledgement message. In the execution phase, the UE is then instructed through a handover command message (RRCReconfiguration message) to switch from the source cell to the target cell ... UE accordingly performs the reconfiguration and attaches to the new target base station, which comprises a synchronization and performing ... random access procedure ... UE acquires the synchronization signals ... typically used to obtain the cell identity and frame timing of the target cell).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Tao to the teaching of Yun. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve a handover procedure ([0005] Tao).
Regarding to claim 2,
Yun and Tao teach the method of claim 1,
Yun further teaches wherein in case where the message does not include the information about the TA, the uplink synchronization is performed based on the TA obtained according to location information associated with at least one of the terminal, the first satellite, and the second satellite (figs. 9-11, [0060-0064] When the terminal knows its location, the terminal may calculate the elevation angle with the satellite and infer the distance from the satellite by using the orbit information of the satellite. Also, it may be helpful for adjusting a signal delay (i.e., timing advance) and a beam direction ... [0130] When information (e.g., PCID or satellite identification information included in system information) of the target base station received at the new connection activation time is the same as the preconfigured target base station information, the terminal may be handed over to the satellite base station #2 without an additional control signaling procedure, and may exchange traffic with the satellite base station #2 (S980).)
Regarding to claim 3,
Yun and Tao teach the method of claim 1,
Yun further teaches wherein whether the message includes the information about the TA is determined based on information about an altitude angle of the first satellite or second satellite ([0060] The ‘satellite information’ may include not only the type of satellite but also a satellite number (i.e., catalog number) and an orbit (altitude/longitude/latitude) over time ... [0064] terminal knows its location, the terminal may calculate the elevation angle with the satellite and infer the distance from the satellite by using the orbit information of the satellite. Also, it may be helpful for adjusting a signal delay (i.e., timing advance)).
Claims [5-6] (method of first satellite), claim [7] (method of second satellite), claims [9-10] (apparatus of UE), claims [12-13] (apparatus of first satellite), and claim [14] (apparatus of second satellite) are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [1-2] (method of UE), where Tao teaches both apparatus and method of UE, first device and second device ([0274 – 0281]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance of dependent Claim(s) 8 and 15:
Regarding to claim 8,
Yun and Tao teach the method of claim 7,
Tao further teaches wherein the uplink synchronization is performed based on a first timing advance (TA) included in a message indicating a change of a satellite forming the cell or a second TA obtained according to location information associated with at least one of the terminal, the first satellite, or the second satellite, wherein the downlink synchronization is performed based on a synchronization signal associated with the second cell ID, wherein in case that the message indicating the change of the satellite forming the cell includes information about the first TA, the uplink synchronization is performed based on the first TA , and (fig. 15 and figs. 19-21, and [0200] the source base station then proceeds with the handover by transmitting a handover command message to the UE and the UE switching its connection to the target cell. ... [0201] when the handover command message includes one or more of the UL grant and the common TA value) and ([0116] A mobile terminal can be scheduled for uplink transmission, if its uplink transmission is time synchronized. .... Once a user equipment has achieved uplink synchronization, the base station can schedule uplink transmission resources for it. ... [0143] UE acquires the synchronization signals (e.g., Primary Synchronization Signal, PSS, and Secondary Synchronization Signal, SSS) typically used to obtain the cell identity and frame timing of the target cell, thereby achieving time and frequency synchronization).
None of the prior art teach or fairly suggest “Where in case that the message indicating the change of the satellite forming the cell does not include the information about the first TA, the uplink synchronization is performed based on the second TA; and whether the information about the first TA is included in the message indicating the change of the satellite forming the cell is determined based on information about an altitude angle of the first satellite or the second satellite”, in combination with the other limitation of Claim(s) 8 and 15. Although the other limitations are used in the art, none of the prior art of record teach or provide motivation to combine to reach a similar result.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465 /AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465