DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/31/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, and 21-25 are pending in this Office Action.
Claims 1-2, 5, 11-12, 14, 17-18, and 21 are amended.
Claims 4, 10, 13, 16, and 20 are cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 11, and 12 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, 11, 12, and 22 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, at lines 31 and 35, “edition operation” should be replaced with “editing operation” to correct a typographical error. The corresponding lines in claims 11 and 12 should also be corrected. Appropriate correction is required.
In each of claims 6 and 22, lines 3-4, “first” should be added before “sub-unit row” and it appears that “corresponding to the first video fragment description information” should be deleted to keep consistent with claims 5 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, and 21-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 12 each recite the limitation "the second sub-unit row" in the second-to-last line of the respective claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims.
Claims 2-3, 5-9, 14-15, 17-19, and 21-25 are rejected as being dependent on indefinite claims 1, 11, and 12.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, and 21-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11, 13-14, and 16-22 of copending Application No. 18/573246 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-3, 5-9, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, and 21-25 are an obvious variation of the copending claims. The reasons set forth below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
U.S. Application #18/573263
U.S. Application #18/573246
1. A template updating method, comprising:
displaying a target video editing template on
a video template editing page in response to a trigger operation for a target video editing template, wherein the target video editing template comprises a set of storyboard descriptions comprising shooting indication information of at least one storyboard scene, the shooting indication information is used configured for indicating at least one of a shooting mode or shooting content characteristics of the storyboard scene, a sequential relation between the at least one storyboard scene is indicated in the set of storyboard descriptions, and the shooting mode of the storyboard scene comprises a camera movement manner; and
updating, in response to an editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template to obtain an updated video editing template, wherein an updated set of storyboard descriptions in the updated video editing template and the set of storyboard descriptions in the target video editing template comprise at least one of incompletely identical storyboard scenes or incompletely identical shooting indication information, and
the updated video editing template is configured to generate a target result video that comprises at least one initial video material, the at least
one initial video material being set respectively for at least one storyboard scene in the updated video editing template,
wherein the target video editing template further comprises at least one content catalog and video fragment description information,
the target video editing template is stored in a first table, a unit row in the first table has a corresponding relation with one content catalog and is configured to store the content catalog, the video fragment description information corresponding to the content catalog and the shooting indication information of the storyboard scene corresponding to the video fragment description information,
a sub-unit row in the unit row has a corresponding relation with a piece of the video fragment description information, and a first unit row for storing a first content catalog comprises a plurality of sub-unit rows for storing a plurality of pieces of the video fragment description information,
the updating, in response to an editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template comprises at least one of in response to an edition operation for deleting first video fragment description information of the first content catalog, deleting a first sub-unit row for storing the first video fragment description of the first unit row and retaining other sub-unit rows of the first unit row; or in response to an edition operation for adding third video fragment description information adjacent to second video fragment description information, adding a third sub-unit row for storing the third video fragment description adjacent to the second sub-unit row for storing the second video fragment description information in a corresponding unit row.
1. A method for generating a video editing template, the method comprising:
displaying
a template editing page in response to a trigger operation for a preset template creation control;
generating a set of storyboard
descriptions in response to an addition operation for at least one of storyboard scenes or shooting indication information on the template editing page; wherein the set of storyboard descriptions comprises at least one storyboard scene with a sequential relation, and the at least one storyboard scene comprises respective shooting indication information used for indicating at least one of a shooting manner or features of shot content of the storyboard scene; and
4. … updating the set of storyboard descriptions in response to an editing operation for at least one of storyboard scenes in the set of storyboard descriptions or shooting indication information …
1. generating a target video editing template based on the set of storyboard descriptions; wherein
the target video editing template is
configured to generate a target result video, wherein the target result video comprises at least one initial video material, and the at least one initial video material is respectively set for at least one storyboard scene in the target video editing template.
5. … generating a target video editing template based on the set of storyboard descriptions and the video clip description information.
7. … the target video editing template is generated based on a first table, a unit row in the first table having a corresponding relationship with the video clip description information, the unit row being configured to store the video clip description information and shooting indication information of at least one storyboard scene corresponding to the video clip description information …
9. … wherein the unit row in the first table comprises at least one subunit row, the subunit row having a corresponding relationship with a storyboard scene, the subunit row being configured to store at least one of shooting indication information of the storyboard scene …
the method further comprises: …
deleting the subunit row and at least one of the shooting indication information of the storyboard scene or the material uploading window stored in the subunit row in response to a trigger operation for a deletion option on the editing floating window.
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the video fragment description information is configured for indicating a shooting content outline of a video fragment corresponding to the at least one storyboard scene, the method further comprising: updating the target video editing template in response to an editing operation for the video fragment description information in the target video editing template.
5. … wherein
the video clip description information is
used for indicating a shooting content
outline of
the at least one storyboard scene …
receiving video clip description information added on the template editing page for at least one storyboard scene in the set of storyboard descriptions …
3. The method according to claim 2, wherein the content catalog corresponds to at least one video fragment, the method further comprising: updating the target video editing template in response to an editing operation for the content catalog in the target video editing template.
5. …
generating a target video editing template based on the set of storyboard descriptions comprises: generating a target video editing template based on the set of storyboard descriptions and the video clip description information.
5. The method according to claim 2, wherein the updating the target video editing template in response to the editing operation for the video fragment description information in the target video editing template further comprises: displaying, in response to a preset select operation for the first video fragment description information in the target video editing template, an editing floating window for the first sub-unit row, wherein a delete option is comprised in the editing floating window; and deleting the first sub-unit row as well as the first video fragment description information and shooting indication information of the storyboard scene stored in the first sub-unit row in response to a trigger operation for the delete option in the editing floating window.
7. …
the method further comprises: displaying an editing floating window for a unit row corresponding to first video clip description information in response to a preset selection operation for the first video clip description information in the first table; wherein the editing floating window comprises a deletion option; and in response to a trigger operation for the deletion option on the editing floating window, deleting the unit row and video clip description information and shooting indication information of the storyboard scene stored in the unit row.
9. … displaying the editing floating window for a subunit row corresponding to a first storyboard scene in response to a preset selection operation for the first storyboard scene in the first table; and deleting the subunit row and at least one of the shooting indication information of the storyboard scene or the material uploading window stored in the subunit row in response to a trigger operation for a deletion option on the editing floating window.
6. The method according to claim 5, wherein after the displaying, in response to a preset select operation for the first video fragment description information in the target video editing template, the editing floating window for the sub-unit row corresponding to the first video fragment description information, the method further comprises: adding at least one sub-unit row to the unit row corresponding to the sub-unit row based on a position where the sub-unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for an add option in the editing floating window.
10. The method according to claim 9, wherein the method further comprises, after the displaying the editing floating window for a subunit row corresponding to a first storyboard scene in response to a preset selection operation for the first storyboard scene in the first table: adding at least one subunit row in the unit row to which the subunit row belongs based on a position of the subunit row in response to a trigger operation for an addition option on the editing floating window.
7. The method according to claim 3, wherein the updating the target video editing template in response to the editing operation for the content catalog in the target video editing template comprises: displaying, in response to a preset select operation for a first content catalog in the target video editing template, an editing floating window for the unit row corresponding to the first content catalog, wherein a delete option is comprised in the editing floating window; and deleting the unit row as well as the content catalog, video fragment description information and shooting indication information of storyboard scene stored in the unit row in response to a trigger operation for the delete option in the editing floating window.
7. The method according to claim 5, wherein the target video editing template is generated … the method further comprises: displaying an editing floating window for a unit row corresponding to first video clip description information in response to a preset selection operation for the first video clip description information in the first table; wherein the editing floating window comprises a deletion option; and in response to a trigger operation for the deletion option on the editing floating window, deleting the unit row and video clip description information and shooting indication information of the storyboard scene stored in the unit row.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein after the displaying, in response to the preset select operation for the first content catalog in the target video editing template, the editing floating window for the unit row corresponding to the first content catalog, the method further comprises: adding at least one unit row to the first table based on a position where the unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for an add option in the editing floating window.
8. The method according to claim 7, wherein the editing floating window further comprises an addition option, and the method further comprises, after the displaying an editing floating window for a unit row corresponding to first video clip description information in response to a preset trigger operation for the first video clip description information in the first table: adding at least one unit row in the first table based on a position at which the unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for the addition option on the editing floating window.
9. The method according to claim 1, wherein after the updating, in response to the editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template to obtain the updated video editing template, the method further comprises: publishing the updated video editing template.
11. The method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises, after the generating a target video editing template based on the set of storyboard descriptions: releasing the target video editing template.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 11-12, 14-15, 17-19, 21, and 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112866796) in view of Dewitt (US 2020/0133419).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 12, Li teaches: A template updating method, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, and a device [(abstract)], comprising:
displaying a target video editing template on a video template editing page in response to a trigger operation for a target video editing template [S102, in response to the first trigger operation, displaying the target template main page of the target template, and displaying the scene description information of each target scene of the target template in the target template main page. The user can modify the template, such as by adding scene video (page 5-6)],
wherein the target video editing template comprises a set of storyboard descriptions comprising shooting indication information of at least one storyboard scene, the shooting indication information is configured for indicating at least one of a shooting mode or shooting content characteristics of the storyboard scene, and a sequential relation between the at least one storyboard scene is indicated in the set of storyboard descriptions, and the shooting mode of the storyboard scene comprises a camera movement manner [the target template includes a plurality of scene display areas corresponding to the target scene of the target template 40, each scene display area can display scene description information of a target scene, guide information for shooting the target scene, and a sequence number. Each scene can be arranged according to a scene order (page 5-6, Fig. 4). Each scene is part of a story plot (page 9)] and
updating, in response to an editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template to obtain an updated video editing template [The user can modify the template by editing, such as by adding or deleting a scene and scene description information (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5)],
wherein an updated set of storyboard descriptions in the updated video editing template and the set of storyboard descriptions in the target video editing template comprise at least one of incompletely identical storyboard scenes or incompletely identical shooting indication information [scene description information is added for a new scene and where each scene has different scene description information, such as information for identifying each target scene, such as scene name and/or scene sequence number of the target scene and so on (page 7, Fig. 4-6)], and
the updated video editing template is configured to generate a target result video that comprises at least one initial video material, the at least one initial video material being set respectively for at least one storyboard scene in the updated video editing template [After modifying the template (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5), at S103 the user can shoot or upload video for a scene (page 8, Fig. 1). Each scene is part of the story plot. Then at S105, according to the order of each target scene in the target template main page, the scene video of each target scene is synthesized into the target video (page 9, Fig. 1)]
wherein the target video editing template further comprises at least one content catalog and video fragment description information, the target video editing template is stored in a first table, a unit row in the first table has a corresponding relation with one content catalog and is configured to store the content catalog, the video fragment description information corresponding to the content catalog and the shooting indication information of the storyboard scene corresponding to the video fragment description information, a sub-unit row in the unit row has a corresponding relation with a piece of the video fragment description information [Fig. 4 illustrates that the template is arranged in the form of a table, including rows 40 each including a scene display area corresponding to a target scene and further including a scene description information of a scene video of the corresponding target scene (page 6). Information including “the type of video needs to shoot”, “shooting the target scene of the scene video of the guide information (such as scene video of the shot content information and so on)”, and “the user clearly needs to upload or shoot the video content of the scene video in the corresponding target scene through the scene description information, that is, the user can add the video meeting the requirement of the corresponding target scene” (pages 5-6). Fig. 4 further illustrates that each row 40 includes several sub-rows, which correspond to the scene description information included in the row 40 (page 6)].
Li does not explicitly disclose: a first unit row for storing a first content catalog comprises a plurality of sub-unit rows for storing a plurality of pieces of the video fragment description information, the updating, in response to an editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template comprises at least one of in response to an edition operation for deleting first video fragment description information of the first content catalog, deleting a first sub-unit row for storing the first video fragment description of the first unit row and retaining other sub-unit rows of the first unit row; or in response to an edition operation for adding third video fragment description information adjacent to second video fragment description information, adding a third sub-unit row for storing the third video fragment description adjacent to the second sub-unit row for storing the second video fragment description information in a corresponding unit row.
Dewitt teaches: a first unit row for storing a first content catalog comprises a plurality of sub-unit rows for storing a plurality of pieces of the video fragment description information, the updating, in response to an editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template comprises at least one of in response to an edition operation for deleting first video fragment description information of the first content catalog, deleting a first sub-unit row for storing the first video fragment description of the first unit row and retaining other sub-unit rows of the first unit row; or in response to an edition operation for adding third video fragment description information adjacent to second video fragment description information, adding a third sub-unit row for storing the third video fragment description adjacent to the second sub-unit row for storing the second video fragment description information in a corresponding unit row [a storyboard editor containing rows and subrows including information of storyboard scenes or acts and the user can edit the table by deleting or adding a row from the table (par. 90-97, Fig. 14 and 15)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Li and Dewitt before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li by incorporating the teaching of Dewitt method for deleting or adding a sub-unit row. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the user to make additions, deletions, and changes to scenes in the storyboard table (Dewitt – par. 95, Fig. 15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Li and Dewitt to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claims 2, 14, and 18, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 1; Li further teaches: the video fragment description information is configured for indicating a shooting content outline of a video fragment corresponding to the at least one storyboard scene [the scene description information includes an outline for shooting different portions of the video’s scene, such as a field introduction, a food introduction, and a food manufacturing portion (page 5-6, Fig. 4)],
the method further comprising: updating the target video editing template in response to an editing operation for the video fragment description information in the target video editing template [modifying the target template, including adding scene description information for a scene (page 6-7, Fig. 4-6)].
Regarding claims 3, 15, and 19, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 2; Li further teaches: the content catalog corresponds to at least one video fragment [the target template includes a sequence of videos for the scene (page 7-9, Fig. 4 and 10)],
the method further comprising: updating the target video editing template in response to an editing operation for the content catalog in the target video editing template [the user can add or delete videos to the sequence of the template or can change the order of videos in the sequence (page 7-9, Fig. 6-7 and 10)].
Regarding claims 5, 17, and 21, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 2; Li and Dewitt further teach: the updating the target video editing template in response to the editing operation for the video fragment description information in the target video editing template further comprises: displaying, in response to a preset select operation for the first video fragment description information in the target video editing template, an editing floating window for the first sub-unit row, wherein a delete option is comprised in the editing floating window; and deleting the first sub-unit row as well as the first video fragment description information and shooting indication information of the storyboard scene stored in the first sub-unit row in response to a trigger operation for the delete option in the editing floating window [Li - The user can modify the template by editing, such as by adding or deleting a scene and scene description information. In response to a long-press operation on a certain scene display area, such as a scene description, a pop-up window is displayed, prompting the user to delete the selected scene. If the user confirms to delete the scene, the selected scene, along with scene description information is deleted from the target template (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5). Dewitt – displaying a delete option to delete a row (Fig. 15)].
Regarding claim 7, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 3; Li and Dewitt further teach: the updating the target video editing template in response to the editing operation for the content catalog in the target video editing template comprises: displaying, in response to a preset select operation for a first content catalog in the target video editing template, an editing floating window for the unit row corresponding to the first content catalog, wherein a delete option is comprised in the editing floating window; and deleting the unit row as well as the content catalog, video fragment description information and shooting indication information of storyboard scene stored in the unit row in response to a trigger operation for the delete option in the editing floating window [Li - The user can modify the template by editing, such as by adding or deleting a scene and scene description information. In response to a long-press operation on a certain scene display area, such as a scene description, a pop-up window is displayed, prompting the user to delete the selected scene. If the user confirms to delete the scene, the selected scene, along with scene description information is deleted from the target template (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5). Dewitt – displaying a delete option to delete a row (Fig. 15)].
Regarding claims 23, 24, and 25, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 1; Li and Dewitt further teach: content in the target video editing template is displayed in a table form on the video template editing page [Li - Fig. 4 illustrates content in the template displayed in the form of a table (page 6). Dewitt – displaying the content in a table form (Fig. 14 and 15)], and
the edit operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions is based on basic operations of a table [Li - deleting a scene, along with its scene description information in the target template main page corresponds to a table operation of deleting a row 40 (page 6, Fig. 5), adding a new scene, along with new scene description information in the target template main page corresponds to a table operation of adding a row 40 (page 7, Fig. 6). Dewitt – deleting and adding rows are common tasks of a table (par. 95, Fig. 15)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 8, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112866796) in view of Dewitt (US 2020/0133419) and further in view of Newhard et al. (US 2014/0114617).
Regarding claims 6 and 22, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 5; Li further teaches: in response to a preset select operation for the first video fragment description information in the target video editing template, the editing floating window for the sub-unit row corresponding to the first video fragment description information [The user can modify the template by editing, such as by adding or deleting a scene and scene description information. In response to a long-press operation on a certain scene display area, such as a scene description, a pop-up window is displayed, prompting the user to delete the selected scene (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5)],
Li and Dewitt do not explicitly disclose: after the displaying, the method further comprises: adding at least one sub-unit row to the unit row corresponding to the sub-unit row based on a position where the sub-unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for an add option in the editing floating window.
Newhard teaches: after the displaying, the method further comprises: adding at least one sub-unit row to the unit row corresponding to the sub-unit row based on a position where the sub-unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for an add option in the editing floating window [a row may be added or deleted in the template by displaying a dropdown box having an option to cut or delete the selected row and an option to paste or add a row after or before the selected row (par. 49, Fig. 16)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Li, Dewitt, and Newhard before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and Dewitt by incorporating Newhard’s method of adding at least one sub-unit row to the unit row. The motivation for doing so would have been to modify the template by allowing the user to control whether to delete the row, add a row before, or add a row after (Newhard – par. 49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Li and Dewitt with Newhard to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Regarding claim 8, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 7; Li further teaches: in response to the preset select operation for the first content catalog in the target video editing template, the editing floating window for the unit row corresponding to the first content catalog [The user can modify the template by editing, such as by adding or deleting a scene and scene description information. In response to a long-press operation on a certain scene display area, such as a scene description, a pop-up window is displayed, prompting the user to delete the selected scene (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5)].
Li and Dewitt do not explicitly disclose: after the displaying, the method further comprises: adding at least one unit row to the first table based on a position where the unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for an add option in the editing floating window.
Newhard teaches: after the displaying, the method further comprises: adding at least one unit row to the first table based on a position where the unit row is located in response to a trigger operation for an add option in the editing floating window [a row may be added or deleted in the table by displaying a dropdown box having an option to cut or delete the selected row and an option to paste or add a row after or before the selected row (par. 49, Fig. 16)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Li, Dewitt, and Newhard before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and Dewitt by incorporating Newhard’s method of adding at least one unit row to the first table. The motivation for doing so would have been to modify the table by allowing the user to control whether to delete the row, add a row before, or add a row after (Newhard – par. 49). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Li and Dewitt with Newhard to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (CN 112866796) in view of Dewitt (US 2020/0133419) and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2010/0114691).
Regarding claim 9, Li and Dewitt teach the method of claim 1; Li further teaches: in response to the editing operation for at least one of the storyboard scene or the shooting indication information in the set of storyboard descriptions, the target video editing template to obtain the updated video editing template [The user can modify the template by editing, such as by adding or deleting a scene and scene description information (page 5-7, Fig. 4-5)],
Li and Dewitt do not explicitly disclose: after the updating, the method further comprises: publishing the updated video editing template.
Wu teaches: after the updating, the method further comprises: publishing the updated video editing template [an edited template can be uploaded to a server for publishing (par. 5, 29, 40, 48-49, and 53].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Li, Dewitt, and Wu before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Li and Dewitt by incorporating Wu’s method of publishing. The motivation for doing so would have been to allow sharing of the template within an enterprise, company, organization, or other group (Wu – par. 26). Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Li and Dewitt with Wu to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER BOYD/Examiner, Art Unit 2424