DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GR20210100412 filed on 06/22/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments/amendments with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 USC § 103 have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments:
a. Chandhoke does not teach "obtaining an industrial field level communication requirement for configuring a wireless communication topology for at least one time sensitive communication application."
b. Mong ... does not teach "mapping the industrial field level communication requirement to a plurality of network requirements corresponding to the at least
one configured wireless communication link of the determined wireless communication
topology."
The Examiner’s Response
Applicant asserts “Chandhoke does not teach "obtaining an industrial field level communication requirement for configuring a wireless communication topology for at least one time sensitive communication application.” However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. p106 Chandhoke teaches this is an time-sensitive application (“real-time systems”) “real time system ... include ... centralized configuration device, coupled to the plurality of master device”. In p107, the processor (“schedule generator”) obtain ( “receive”) systems applications requirements . Further, in fig. 11 and p147 , the processor is configuring a network communication (“path computation”. ) based on ““received information, as well as the network topology and performance metrics” . look in to this path of fig. 11 for more detail
Applicant asserts “Mong ... does not teach "mapping the industrial field level communication requirement to a plurality of network requirements corresponding to the at least one configured wireless communication link of the determined wireless communication topology.". However, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Mong p107 teaches “time sensitive network (TSN) ... methods map a configuration of QoS requirements of the data distribution service to TSN ... A mapping between TSN/TTE network parameters and parameters of the data distribution service allows the TSN/TTE network to provide the QoS required by the data distribution service”. The “mapping“ further explained in p127 “control system 818 can determine the QoS parameters 828 for the various devices 802, 804, 808, 814, 818, determine which devices 802, 804, 808, 814, 818 and nodes 902“ . and “determined wireless communication topology” further explained in p231 “the scheduler 1511 may also receive as input ... and a network topology description and path or link requirements 1806” .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8,13-16 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandhoke(US 20160359978 A1), hereinafter Chandhoke in view of Mong (US 20180237040 A1), hereinafter Mong.
Regarding to claim 1,
Chandhoke teaches a method, the method comprising:
obtaining an industrial field level communication requirement for configuring a wireless communication topology for at least one time sensitive communication application (fig. 11 .... [0106] real time system ... include ... centralized configuration device, coupled to the plurality of master device ...[107] schedule generator may also be configured to receive system application requirements, as well as network constraints and network topology information. The respective schedule for each master device may be generated based further on the system application requirements, and the network constraints and network topology information. ... [0147] “path computation” based on “received information, as well as the network topology and performance metrics");
determining the wireless communication topology for the at least one time sensitive communication application based on the industrial field level communication requirement, wherein the wireless communication topology comprises a master device, at least one field device, at least one network device, and at least one wireless communication link (fig. 11, and [0078] Measurement Device—includes ... smart sensors, and any of various types of devices that are configured to acquire and/or store data. .... [0079] the measurement device may send a control signal to an external system, such as a motion control system or to a sensor, in response to particular data. ... [0095] Network Topology—refers to or specifies the connectivity of components of a network, e.g., the bridges/switches connecting one master device to another.... [0096] Physical I/O—refers to input and output signals for monitoring/controlling a physical system, process, or environment .... physical output is a physical signal used to change the state of an actuator or a motor drive with the intention of causing a change to the environment or system connected to the actuator or motor drive).
Chandhoke does not explicitly teach a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: ... mapping the industrial field level communication requirement to a plurality of network requirements corresponding to the at least one configured wireless communication link of the determined wireless communication topology; determining at least one communication parameter for the at least one configured wireless communication link based on the plurality of network requirements, the determined wireless communication topology, or a combination thereof; and transmitting the at least one communication parameter to at least one device.
Mong teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising ([0012] The controller is configured to direct a first set of the vehicle devices to communicate using time sensitive communications, a different, second set of the vehicle devices to communicate using best effort communications, and a different, third set of the vehicle devices to communicate using rate constrained communications. ... [0016] a method includes determining quality of service (QoS) parameters of devices communicating data with each other in an Ethernet network configured as a time sensitive network (TSN))...
mapping the industrial field level communication requirement to a plurality of network requirements corresponding to the at least one configured wireless communication link of the determined wireless communication topology ([0107] mapping between TSN/TTE network parameters and parameters of the data distribution service allows the TSN/TTE network to provide the QoS required by the data distribution service ... by mapping configuration parameters of the data distribution service to the configuration parameters of TSN, a scheduler of TSN can create schedules that support QoS requirements of the data distribution service for time-critical control applications); determining at least one communication parameter for the at least one configured wireless communication link based on the plurality of network requirements, the determined wireless communication topology, or a combination thereof [[0198] scheduler 1511 may also receive a network topology description and path or link requirements 1806 (e.g., an indication of time sensitive paths...) from an application...[0209] the QoS parameters 1532 of the devices ... may represent requirements for data communication between or among the devices ]
transmitting the at least one communication parameter to at least one device ([0209] communication system 1506 may use the network 1528 to communicate data between or among the devices 1504, 1518, 1520, 1524, 1526.... p214 In one or more embodiments, the QoS parameters 1532 may then be used by the scheduler 1511 to determine data transmission schedules 1710 within the TSN).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Mong to the teaching of Chandhoke. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve and/or computerized technique and system for dynamically configuring a network driver and a network switch to control a path of time-sensitive data and non-time-sensitive data through a network ([0024] Mong).
Regarding to claim 2,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1,
Chandhoke further teaches wherein obtaining the industrial field level communication requirement comprises receiving the industrial field level communication requirement from a controller, the master device, a centralized network controller, a time sensitive network system, an application server, an application function, or some a combination thereof (fig. 2-3, [0107] schedule generator may also be configured to receive system application requirements, as well as network constraints and network topology information... [0108] the at least one centralized configuration device may be configured to couple to a plurality of master devices, where each master device has a plurality of slave devices connected to the master device).
Regarding to claim 3,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1,
Chandhoke further teaches wherein the industrial field level communication requirement comprises an industrial field topology for the at least one time sensitive communication application (fig. 11 “latency requirement”).
Regarding to claim 4,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1,
Chandhoke does not explicitly teach wherein the industrial field level communication requirement comprises an application (QOS) requirement, a field level communication protocol requirement, a port management policy requirement, a (QoE) requirement, device to datagram mapping information, a field device configuration, or a combination thereof
Mong teaches wherein the industrial field level communication requirement comprises an application (QOS) requirement, a field level communication protocol requirement, a port management policy requirement, a (QoE) requirement, device to datagram mapping information, a field device configuration, or a combination thereof ([0214] In one or more embodiments, the QoS parameters 1532 may then be used by the scheduler 1511 to determine data transmission schedules 1710 within the TSN).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Mong to the teaching of Chandhoke. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve and/or computerized technique and system for dynamically configuring a network driver and a network switch to control a path of time-sensitive data and non-time-sensitive data through a network ([0024] Mong).
Regarding to claim 6,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1,
Chandhoke does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one communication parameter comprises a radio interface, a transmission mode, a (QOS) parameter, an application transmission schedule, or a combination thereof.
Mong teaches wherein the at least one communication parameter comprises a radio interface, a transmission mode, a (QOS) parameter, an application transmission schedule, or a combination thereof ([0214] the QoS parameters 1532 may then be used by the scheduler 1511 to determine data transmission schedules 1710 within the TSN).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Mong to the teaching of Chandhoke. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve and/or computerized technique and system for dynamically configuring a network driver and a network switch to control a path of time-sensitive data and non-time-sensitive data through a network ([0024] Mong).
Regarding to claim 7,
Claim 7 is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 6, where it further limits unselected option
Regarding to claim 8 ,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1,
Chandhoke does not explicitly teach wherein transmitting the at least one communication parameter to the at least one device comprises transmitting the at least one communication parameter to the at least one device via a user plane or a control plane
Mong teaches wherein transmitting the at least one communication parameter to the at least one device comprises transmitting the at least one communication parameter to the at least one device via a user plane or a control plane ([0163] The controller 1402 may include the control plane of the device 1400, which determines where different data packets are to be forwarded toward).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Mong to the teaching of Chandhoke. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve and/or computerized technique and system for dynamically configuring a network driver and a network switch to control a path of time-sensitive data and non-time-sensitive data through a network ([0024] Mong).
Claims [13-16] (apparatus, UE ), and claim [21] (apparatus , processor) are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [1-2, 4, and 6] (method , UE), where Mong teaches both device and method ([0012-0016]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandhoke and Mong and further in view of Ansah (WO2019170687A1), hereinafter Ansah
Regarding to claim 5,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1,
Chandhoke and Mong do not explicitly teach wherein the plurality of network requirements comprises at least one (QoS) requirement.
Ansah teaches wherein the plurality of network requirements comprises at least one (QoS) requirement ((page 4 , col 2 row 5-10) mapping the communication relations onto a topology graph based on the determined topology class .... (page 7 , col 5 row 1-15) the possible communication paths between the first and second application can be determined by use of an algorithm which is described further below. The predefined quality of service “QoS” requirement of the automation function can be a predetermined indication on the resources needed for the execution of the automation function, in particular for the data exchange between the first and the second application. The predefined quality of service requirement may be considered as a boundary condition for the selection of the optimized communication path. In particular, the optimized communication path is the optimal communication path for the exchange of data between the first and the second application under consideration of the quality of service requirement. The quality of service requirement of an automation function can be a measure of the resources that are really needed for said automation function).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ansah to the teaching of Chandhoke and Mong. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the determination of optimized communication paths between a first and a second or more applications of an automation system (page 3, column 1, row 20-25, Ansah).
Claims 9-12 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chandhoke and Mong and further in view of Ding (US20200178198A1), hereinafter Ding.
Regarding to claim 9,
Chandhoke and Mong teach the method of claim 1 ,
Chandhoke and Mong do not explicitly teach obtaining a trigger event report.
Ding teaches obtaining a trigger event report (fig. 9-11, [0092] Process 900 begins at operation 905 where the ANE receives a configuration indicating one or more application rules for MSP Server reselection and one or more event triggers ...Each of the application rules indicate how the ANE is to select an appropriate MSP Server based on a corresponding event trigger indicated by the configuration. The application rules may also indicate specific vUEs 221 (e.g., using an ID assigned to the vUE 221 by the access network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ding to the teaching of Chandhoke and Mong. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve mobility experiences ([0102] Ding).
Regarding to claim 10,
Chandhoke and Mong and Ding teach the method of claim 9 ,
Chandhoke and Mong do not explicitly teach wherein the trigger event report comprises a user equipment (UE) identifier (ID), a service (ID), a group (ID), an application session (ID), time sensitive network service (ID), an attribute change indication, a (UE) location change indication, a (UE) mobility change indication, a (UE) location reporting, a group of (UE) location reporting, a predicted attribute change indication, a service profile (ID), an updated topology requirement, an updated protocol requirement, an indication of an addition of a field device, an indication of a removal of a field device, an updated application (QOS) requirement, an application relocation requirement, or a combination thereof.
Ding teaches wherein the trigger event report comprises a user equipment (UE) identifier (ID), a service (ID), a group (ID), an application session (ID), time sensitive network service (ID), an attribute change indication, a (UE) location change indication, a (UE) mobility change indication, a (UE) location reporting, a group of (UE) location reporting, a predicted attribute change indication, a service profile (ID), an updated topology requirement, an updated protocol requirement, an indication of an addition of a field device, an indication of a removal of a field device, an updated application (QoS) requirement, an application relocation requirement, or a combination thereof (fig. 9-11, [0092] Process 900 begins at operation 905 where the ANE receives a configuration indicating one or more application rules for MSP Server reselection and one or more event triggers ...Each of the application rules indicate how the ANE is to select an appropriate MSP Server based on a corresponding event trigger indicated by the configuration. The application rules may also indicate specific vUEs 221 (e.g., using an ID assigned to the vUE 221 by the access network).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ding to the teaching of Chandhoke and Mong. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve mobility experiences ([0102] Ding).
Regarding to claim 11 and 12,
Claim 11 and 12 are rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 6, where it further limits unselected option.
Claims [17-19] (apparatus, UE) are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [9-11] (method, UE) , Where Mong teaches both device and method ([0012-0016]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/YEE F LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465