DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tobey et al. (US 2021/0104843) hereafter Tobey.
Regarding claim 1, Tobey, discloses a security connector 100, comprising: a free connector housing exactly two contacts that conduct data and/or power, the free connector 100 having a front face defining a main outer perimeter and including at least one recess 602extending inwardly from the main outer perimeter and including at least one keying extension (chamfer) 602 extending outwardly from the main outer perimeter (see paragraphs [0072]-[0073] and figs. 2A-3,6,14].
Regarding claim 8, Tobey, discloses a security connector 100 comprising: a forward connector body 1402, housing exactly two electrical contacts that transmit data, power, or both data and power, the forward connector body including a forward portion and a rearward portion, the forward portion having a forward face with a main outer perimeter and at least one keying extension extending outward from the main outer perimeter (See paragraphs [0072], [0073], [0[0082]-[0083] and figs. 2A-3, 6, 14); a rear connector body 1452a,1452b (to receive first and second conductors 12, 14, that electrically interfaces with the electrical contacts (see paragraphs [0091] and figs. 14, 18; and a metal frame 1404 having a rearward portion and forward portion, the rearward portion of the metal frame 1404 positioned about the rear connector body and a rearward portion of the forward connector body 1402, the forward portion of the metal frame1404 positioned about the forward portion of the forward connector body 1402 (see paragraphs [0082]]- [0088] and figs 14, 15).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Tobey, discloses up to three different keying extensions protuberance 602, chamfer 604 extend outward from the main outer perimeter (connector body 1402) and the panel 606.
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Tobey, discloses the up to three different keying extensions comprise at least one of a downward extension (354, see fig. 4A) and a side extension 602 (fig. 6).
Regarding claims 6and 13, Tobey, discloses the up to three different keying extensions consist of a first downward extension 354, a second downward extension, and a side extension 602 (fig. 6).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Tobey, discloses a stabilizing feature 9a latch) 138 (see para [0052], figs. 2A, 14) located within the main outer perimeter 1402 (as retaining feature).
Regarding claim 14, Tobey, discloses, the at least one keying extension extends downward from the forward face and has a depth that extends to a forward edge of the metal frame.
Regarding claim 15, Tobey discloses, the exactly two electrical contacts 1000 each have first ends that comprise a tuning fork contact and each have second ends that comprise insulation displacement contacts (IDCs), see fig 16.
Regarding claims 17 and 19, Tobey discloses, a coupler (multi-way coupler) comprising: a dual-ended coupler body housing a contact sub-assembly having exactly two electrical contacts that transmit both power and data, at least one end of the dual-ended coupler body including at least one keying recess corresponding to the at least one keying extension of the security connector of claim 1, enabling the security connector to interface with the dual-ended coupler body ((see paragraphs [0068]-[0072], [0113], [0114], claims 70-774 and figs. 2A6; a fixed connector 300 including keying features and a recess for receiving a free connector 100 having two dual ended contacts and key features (chamfer), enabling the free connector 100 to interface with the fixed connector 300).
Regarding claim 18, Tobey discloses, two electrical contacts that transmit both power and data, the connector body including an opening for receiving the security connector of claim 1, the opening of the connector body including at least one keying recess (panel) 606 corresponding to the at least one keying extension (a chamfer) 606 of the security connector.
Regarding claim 20, Tobey discloses a security connector 100, comprising: a free connector housing exactly two contacts that conduct data and/or power, the free connector having a front face defining a main outer perimeter and including at least one recess extending inwardly from the main outer perimeter and including at least one keying extension extending outwardly from the main outer perimeter, (as discussed above) and wherein the main outer perimeter is defined by International Electrochemical Committee Standard IEC 63171-1 (see paragraphs [0049].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tobey in view of Martin et al. (US 2016/0141790) hereafter Martin
Regarding claims 3 and 4, 10, 11, Tobey discloses all the claimed limitations except for at least seven different keying combinations and includes a color-coded security feature, and the forward connector body additionally includes a color-coded security feature.
Martin et al. (US 2016/0141790) discloses (see fig. paragraphs [0020]-[0022] and figs. 1-3), vertical positions of the keying features (116, 118) on sides of a housing 102 are varied to define different interfaces; an electrical connector 100 different types of the front housing 104, having different arrangements of keying features 116 and define different mating interface , such as for mating with different types of mating connectors, and a rear housing 106 accepts the different types of front housing 104. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have at least seven different keying combinations and includes a color-coded security feature, and the forward connector body additionally includes a color-coded security feature, as taught by Martin, in order to connect the connector in different orientations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO 892.
/HARSHAD C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831