DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communications filed on 12/21/2023.
The Examiner notes claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined; claim(s) 17 is/are canceled withdrawn by Response to Election/Restriction, see below, claim(s) 1-17 is/are currently amended, and claim(s) 18-20 is/are newly added; all other claims are original or previously presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, 7, 8, & 20
The claims recite the term "substantially". The term "substantially" is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term "substantially" is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examining purposes, "substantially" is interpreted to have is broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claims 2-6, 9-16, & 18-19 are rejected as depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
And/or
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9-12 14-16, & 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG et al. (CN207803091 U), hereinafter Yang.
Regarding claim 1. (Each claim status is listed above in the Status of Claims section) Yang discloses a system for removing manure from a floor in a barn for animals [Fig 1; the system is for removing manure from animals and can be in a barn], the system comprising:
an autonomous manure removing vehicle [Fig 3; hereinafter AMRV], comprising:
a drive system for driving the manure removing vehicle, the drive system being provided with at least one electrical drive motor [Fig 3; ¶43 of the translation; the drive system is comprised of two electric motors (6), their associated drive wheels (7), and a universal wheel (15)];
an electronic control system connected to the drive system for control thereof [¶65 of the translation; the main control module operates all the other modules and components of the AMRV];
a battery system for storing electrical energy, the battery system being connected to the drive system and the control system [Fig 3; ¶41, ¶48 & ¶67 of the translation; the battery management and battery pack for a battery system for storing electrical energy and connects to all the AMRV components that need electrical power]; and
a manure bounding device [Fig 3; 13] which comprises comprising a manure slider [Fig 3; the plate of 13 that extends from the front edge to the back wall is the slider], wherein the manure slider is configured to move manure over the floor while the manure removing vehicle travels across the floor [Fig 1 & 3; ¶44 of the translation; 13 slides over the floor when the AMRV travels], and wherein the manure bounding device is configured to at least partially bound the manure present on the floor in front of the manure slider [Fig 3; ¶44 of the translation]; and
a charging station [Fig 2; ¶8, ¶33, & ¶35 of the translation; 2 in Fig 1 and structure shown in Fig 2 is the charging station] for charging the battery system of the manure removing vehicle when the manure removing vehicle is in the charging station in a charging position [¶35 of the translation],
wherein the charging station comprises a manure blocking device configured to define, together with the manure bounding device, in the charging position of the manure removing vehicle, a holding space substantially closed off for manure [Fig 2; ¶35 of the translation; 2-2 and 2-5 form a manure blocking device that with 13 define a holding space closed off for manure when the AMRV is in the charging position on 2-8].
Regarding claim 7. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1,wherein the charging station comprises a substantially solid floor [Fig 1-2; the floor of the charging station is solid there are not liquid or gas portions of the floor]
Regarding claim 9. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the charging station, in the charging position of the manure removing vehicle, is situated adjacent to a front side of the manure removing vehicle [Fig 2; part of the charging station is always adjacent to a front side of the AMRV when charging], and wherein the control system is configured to control the drive system of the manure removing vehicle in such a way that the manure removing vehicle rotates to leave the charging station after the battery system has been charged [Fig 2; the AMRV enters the charging station via 2-5 and can rotate to exit].
Regarding claim 10. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 9, wherein the manure bounding device of the manure removing vehicle comprises at least one front end which, in the charging position of the manure removing vehicle, lies near or against the manure blocking device [Fig 2-3; The front of 13 when the AMRV is in the charging station lies near the walls of the charging station (i.e. manure blocking device], and wherein the control system is configured to control the drive system of the manure removing vehicle in such a way that, during the rotation to leave the charging station, said at least one front end moves along and/or in contact with at least a portion of the manure blocking device [Fig 2-3; when the AMRV rotates inside of the charging station at least one front end of 13 would move along or be in close proximity to a wall of the charging station during the rotation].
Regarding claim 11. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 10, wherein the charging station has an exit side [Fig 2; the side of the charging station with 2-5 is the exit side] via which the manure removing vehicle leaves the charging station in a lateral direction [Fig 2], wherein the manure blocking device comprises an outer end situated on the exit side of the charging station [Fig 2; the outer end is the opening of 2-5], wherein said front end which lies near or against the manure blocking device in the charging position of the manure removing vehicle is situated at a distance from the exit side in said charging position [Fig 2-3; the front end of 13 lies near the manure blocking device and would also be situated at a distance from the exit side of the charging station], and wherein, during the rotation of the manure removing vehicle to leave the charging station, said front end moves along and/or in contact with the manure blocking device up to the outer end [Fig 2-3; the front end of 13 would move along the manure blocking device up to the opening of 2-5 when it rotates to exit the charging station].
Regarding claim 12. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the charging station comprises a transmitting body comprising a primary coil [Fig 2; ¶35, ¶40, ¶66, & ¶70 of the translation; the charging station has 2-8 which comprises a coil], and the manure removing vehicle comprises a receiving body comprising a secondary coil [Fig 2-3; ¶35, ¶40, ¶66, & ¶70 of the translation; the AMRV has a complimentary wireless charger to engage with the transmitting body], and wherein the manure removing vehicle is maneuverable with respect to the transmitting body of the charging station in such a way that the primary coil of the transmitting body and the secondary coil of the receiving body are mutually aligned in order to wirelessly transfer electrical energy from the primary coil to the secondary coil for wireless charging of the battery system of the manure removing vehicle [Fig 2-3; ¶35, ¶40, ¶66, & ¶70 of the translation].
Regarding claim 14. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the manure bounding device comprises sliding supports arranged in front of the manure slider and on either side thereof [Fig 3; the sides of 13 are supports that slide along the floor], and wherein the sliding supports are configured to rest on the floor while the manure removing vehicle is travelling across the floor [Fig 3], and wherein the sliding supports each comprise a front end which lies near or against the manure blocking device of the charging station in the charging position of the manure removing vehicle [Fig 2-3; the front end of each side of 13 lie near the manure blocking device of the charging station when the AMRV is in the charging position].
Regarding claim 15. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the system comprises a water system for applying water to the floor of the charging station [Fig 2; ¶35-¶37 of the translation].
Regarding claim 16. Yang discloses in combination, a barn for keeping animals, and the system as claimed in claim 1 [Fig 1; the system is for removing manure from animals and can be in a barn].
Regarding claim 18. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the charging station, in the charging position of the manure removing vehicle, is situated adjacent to a front side of the manure removing vehicle, and wherein the control system is configured to control the drive system of the manure removing vehicle in such a way that the manure removing vehicle rotates to leave the charging station after the battery system has been charged, after the manure removing vehicle has first reversed over a distance [Fig 2-3; ¶35, ¶40, ¶66, & ¶70 of the translation; a front side of the AMRV when in the charging position is situated adjacent to the charging station and AMRV can reverse first over some distance before rotating to leave the charging station].
Regarding claim 19. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 3, wherein the system comprises at least one dump situated at a distance from the charging station [Fig 1; 1-2 is a dump situated a distance from the charging station].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6, 13, & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Van Den Beukel et al. (US 20170042115), hereinafter Van.
Regarding claim 2. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, wherein the manure slider is configured to collect an amount of manure in front of the manure slider while the manure removing vehicle travels across the floor [Fig 3; ¶35 of the translation; the slider collects an amount of manure while the AMRV travels], but may not explicitly disclose and wherein the manure removing vehicle is provided with a manure storage container, and a manure feed device for introducing manure collected in front of the manure slider while the manure removing vehicle is travelling and for moving said introduced manure to the manure storage container.
However Van teaches a AMRV [1] and wherein the manure removing vehicle is provided with a manure storage container [5], and a manure feed device for introducing manure collected in front of the manure slider [Fig 3; ¶64; 6 & 7 form a manure feed device] while the manure removing vehicle is travelling and for moving said introduced manure to the manure storage container [Fig 3; ¶64-¶65]
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the AMVR as disclosed by Yang to have a manure storage container, and a manure feed device for introducing manure collected in front of the manure slider while the manure removing vehicle is travelling and for moving said introduced manure to the manure storage container as taught by Van for the purpose of holding more manure before going to dump the manure which allows the AMVR to clean longer and more area before having to stop to dump.
Regarding claim 3. Yang as modified teaches the system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the manure removing vehicle comprises a manure discharge opening for discharging manure from the manure storage container [Van: Fig 3; ¶73; 6 is both an inlet and a discharge opening].
Regarding claim 4. Yang as modified teaches the system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the system comprises at least one dump situated at a distance from the charging station [Yang: Fig 1; 1-2 is a dump situated a distance from the charging station].
Regarding claim 5. Yang as modified teaches the system as claimed in claim 4, wherein the dump is provided with a dumping opening in the floor for dumping manure from the manure discharge opening of the manure storage container through the dumping opening into a manure reservoir extending under the floor [Yang: Fig 1; ¶34 of the translation; the dump has a on opening in the floor to dump manure from the discharge opening taught by Van as the discharge opening of the AMRV can be positioned over the dumping opening; the dump extends under the floor to a recycling pool (i.e. manure reservoir)].
Regarding claim 6. Yang as modified teaches the system as claimed in claim 4, wherein the dump is configured for dumping manure from the manure discharge opening of the manure storage container into an open-air manure reservoir [Yang: Fig 1; ¶34 of the translation].
Regarding claim 13. Yang discloses the system as claimed in claim 1, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the manure slider comprises a flexible bottom edge configured to move and/or scrape manure over the floor.
However Van further teaches wherein the manure slider [Fig 1; 9] comprises a flexible bottom edge configured to move and/or scrape manure over the floor [Fig 3; ¶66; 11].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the slider as taught by Yang to have the manure slider comprises a flexible bottom edge configured to move and/or scrape manure over the floor as taught by Van for the purpose of a flexible floor scraping element to contact the floor and scrape [Van: ¶66].
Regarding claim 20. Yang as modified teaches the system as claimed in claim 2, wherein the charging station comprises a substantially solid floor [Claim 20 has the same or similar limitations as claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons as claim 7].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but appears to be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The Examiner notes that claim 8 depends from claim 9 though it does not appear to require any of the limitations of 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited, PTO form 892.
/AARON R MCCONNELL/ Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/BRIAN D KELLER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723