DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 7/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. Specifically, the Applicant argues that the Celloxide 2021P of Muro does not satisfy the requirements of the claimed invention where the number of aliphatic derived CH groups is less than 0.054. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Katsurada 20200019060 and Zhang, et al., (Improving transparency of incompatible polymer blends by reactive compatibilization, Materials Letters, Volume 92, 1 February 2013, Pages 68-70).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsurada US 20200019060 as evidenced by Isonaka US10947403 in view of Zhang, et al., (Improving transparency of incompatible polymer blends by reactive compatibilization, Materials Letters, Volume 92, 1 February 2013, Pages 68-70).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Katsurada teaches a composition comprising an epoxy resin (Paragraph [0065-0068]). Katsurada teaches the epoxy resin can be VG3101M80 (Paragraph [0068]). Katsurada also teaches the epoxy resin EPOX MK R1710 (Paragraph [0068]). Katsurada also teaches two or more epoxy resins can be used (Paragraph [0068]). The instant specification teaches the ACH number of VG3101M80 and EPOX MK R1710 falls within the claimed range of claim 1 (Paragraph [0056-0057]). The instant specification also teaches also teaches EPOX MK R1710 is a liquid epoxy resin. Katsurada also teaches the composition comprises a photoinitiator (Paragraph [0070]). This reads on the claimed “curing agent.” This reads on the limitations of claim 1. VG3101M80 is a trifunctional epoxy resin (Isonaka, Col. 23 Lines 44-45). This reads on the limitations of claim 4. It would have been obvious to select VG310M80 and EPOX MK R1710 because it is primarily obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
However, Katsurada does not teach the difference between the refractive index of the liquid epoxy resin and resin composition. Zhang teaches that minimizing the difference in the refractive index of polymer blends results in a polymer with a higher degree of transparency (Page 68). Katsurada specifically teaches that it would be desirable for the resin composition to achieve improved transmittance (Paragraph [0078]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to optimize the refractive index of the product by routine experimentation in order to achieve the desired result of transparency taught by Zhang corresponding to the claimed ranges. Optimization would carry with it a reasonable expectation of success given Zhang teaches the refractive index of polymer blends can be optimized to improve transparency. See MPEP 2144.05(II). Therefore, Katsurada in view of Zhang reads on the limitations of claim 1.
Katsurada is silent on the resin composition being “for an optical waveguide.”
The claimed intended use limitations do not require steps to be performed or limit the claims to a particular structure. Therefore, these limitations do not limit the scope of the instant claims and need not be taught by prior art in order to anticipate the claims. See MPEP 2111.02.
Regarding claim 5, VG3101M80 has no pendant OH groups and EPOX MK R1710 has no pendant OH groups. This reads on the limitation of claim 5 where the number of OH groups is less than 0.01 X Avogadro’s number or less.
Regarding claim 9, Katsurada teaches the resulting cured product is cured to form a film which is comprised of the cured product attached to a support film (Paragraph [0090-0091]). This reads on the limitations of claim 9.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 3, 7, 8, and 10-11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 2-3, Katsurada does not teach bisphenol A, bisphenol AF, or bisphenol F epoxy resins with an aliphatic CH value that falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 7, Katsurada does not teach a brominated epoxy resin.
Regarding claim 8, Katsurada does not teach a composition comprising a composition comprising a liquid and solid brominated epoxy resin that falls within the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claims 10-11 Katsurada does not teach an optical wave guide,
Relevant Prior Art
Kawabe 20070129502 teaches a resin composition can comprise BROC. (Paragraph [0264]) The instant specification teaches the ACH number of BROC falls within the claimed range of claim 1 (Paragraph [0057]). Kawabe also teaches the composition comprises a crosslinking agent (Paragraph [0085]). This reads on the claimed curing agent. Kawabe teaches the crosslinking agent can be a borate (Paragraph [0088]).
It would have been obvious to select a borate crosslinking agent as the crosslinking agent because it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for its intended use. See MPEP 2144.07.
Kawabe also teaches the composition comprises an epoxy resin. Kawabe teaches suitable epoxy resins include YD-128 (Paragraph [0252]) which has an aliphatic CH value of 16 and a molecular weight of 340.2 and a specific gravity of 1.17. This corresponds to an ACH number per unit volume of 0.055XAvogadro’s number (/cm^3). This reads on the limitations of 0.055 or less. However, this epoxy resin is a liquid epoxy resin as is ZX-1627, YD-8170, and ZX-1658. Therefore, this does not read on the claimed “solid epoxy resin.
Saeki 20170309844A1 teaches a composition for a liquid crystal display. Saeki teaches film A comprises a thermally cross-linkable compound (Paragraph [0068]). Saeki teaches the epoxy resin can be VG3101M80 (Paragraph [0068]). Saeki also teaches the epoxy resin EPOX MK R1710 (Paragraph [0068]). The instant specification teaches the ACH number of VG3101M80 and EPOX MK R1710 falls within the claimed range of claim 1 (Paragraph [0056-0057]). However, Saeki is silent on the composition of film A comprising a curing agent. Therefore, Saeki does not read on the limitations of amended claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LILY K SLOAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762