DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Figge (US 2020/0400173) in view of Yamada et al. (JP 201133164).
Regarding claim 1, Figge discloses a device Fig. 10 for fastening to a component having a base body 62 and a compensating element 20, wherein the compensating element is connected to the base body via a thread, and wherein the compensating element has a passage with a driver device 40 for a screw 80, wherein at least one centering element 10 for aligning the screw is formed in the passage, however, Figge fails to explicitly discloses wherein the at least one centering element is a centering rib. Yamada et al., a device for fastening to a component Fig. 3, discloses the use of centering rib 15 Fig. 3 which extends in a radial direction into the passage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide Figge with centering ribs as taught by Yamada et al. in order to help guide a screw during insertion, whereby the alignment can be adjusted very precisely. (Para. 0015 of English translation of Yamada et al.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination discloses wherein a plurality of centering ribs (15 of Yamada et al.) is arranged in a circumferential direction of the passage. Regarding claim 4, the combination discloses wherein the at least one centering element (15 of Yamada et al.) is formed integrally with the compensating element (13 of Yamada et al.). Regarding claim 5, the combination discloses wherein a free end of the at least one centering element 10 has a bevel Fig. 10 as an insertion aid for the screw 80. Regarding claim 6, the combination discloses wherein the driver device 40 is a spring element or spring clamp (Para. 0025).
Regarding claim 7, the combination discloses wherein the driver device 40 is connected in a form fit to the compensating element 20.
Regarding claim 8, the combination discloses wherein at least one fastening element (at 20 Fig. 8) projects into the passage in a radial direction in order to connect the driver device 40 to the compensating element 20 in a form fit. Regarding claim 9, the combination discloses wherein the at least one fastening element (at 20 Fig. 8) is a fastening rib.
Regarding claim 10, the combination discloses wherein the base body (2 of Yamada et al.) has a base element and a retaining ring (1 of Yamada et al.) connected to the base element in a form fit. Regarding claim 11, the combination discloses wherein the retaining ring (1 of Yamada et al.) has at least one groove (groove having 20 of Yamada et al.), and the base element has at least one rib (20 of Yamada et al.) which is complementary with the groove in order to achieve a form fit.
Regarding claim 12, the combination discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the retaining ring has at least two grooves having a different shape. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) Regarding claim 13, the combination discloses the invention as claimed above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the base element has at least two ribs having a different shape. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention since it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960)
Regarding claim 14, the combination discloses wherein the plurality of centering ribs (15 of Yamada et al.) in each case is equidistant from the nearest centering rib (Fig. 4 of Yamada et al.).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the Figge nor the Yamada reference teach or suggest wherein the at least one centering element is a centering rib which extends in a radial direction into the passage. This is not persuasive, Yamada reference does in fact teach a projection 15 (centering ribs according to the Examiner) which extends in a radial direction into the passage capable of aligning the screw formed in the passage ensuring that the screw is inserted correctly into the device to carry out further functions. Moreover, a recitation with respect to the manner in which an apparatus is intended to be employed does not impose any structural limitation upon the claimed apparatus which differentiates it from a prior art reference disclosing the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2111.02.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EUGENE G BYRD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675