DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. KR10-2021-0145354, filed on 10/28/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023 was filed after the mailing date of the instant application on12/21/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
In the preliminary amendment, the claims were amended.
These amendments are hereby entered.
Claims 1-11 were originally filed.
Claim 7 is instantly amended.
Claims 1-11 are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (KR 2020/0131929 A, using the provided translation for references).
With respect to claims 1 and 3-5, Miyake discloses compound G134 (page 412 of the original document), which is pictured below.
Compound G134 is derived from Miyake chemical formula 8 (page 282 of the original document), which is pictured below.
In general formula 8, Miyake also teaches that the fluorenyl group at Ar2 is a substituted fluorenyl group (paragraph 0104 and 0106, see also compounds A35, A39, B36, etc. for further support).
Such a modification would produce a compound that meets the requirements of instant Chemica Formula 1 wherein l, m, n, and k are 1 and L1, L2, and L4 are a direct bond and L3 is an aryl group having 6 carbon atoms (phenylene), Ar1 is a deuterated C6 aryl (phenyl) group, Ar2 is an unsubstituted heteroaryl group having 12 carbon atoms (dibenzofuranyl), R1 and R2 are each an unsubstituted alkyl having 1 carbon atom (methyl), a is 6, b is 0, c is 0, and X1 is deuterium. This compound would have 20 hydrogen atoms and 15 deuterium atoms (42% deuteration).
Miyake includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Miyake being a lack of the aforementioned methyl substituents being explicitly used in that combination. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from the finite list of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a monoamine compound with a phenylnaphthyl group which reduces the symmetry of the molecule, inhibits crystallization, improves film quality, and contributes to high efficiency (paragraph 0295), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claim 2, Miyake teaches the compound of claim 1, and Structure A is deuterated, as discussed above.
With respect to claim 6, Miyake teaches the compound of claim 1, as discussed above.
Miyake also teaches that m is 1 (paragraph 0086), and R1 is a phenyl group (paragraph 0083). Examiner also notes that Miyake is not limiting with respect to the bonding position of the fluorenyl and dibenzofuranyl group on the amine core.
Such a modification produces instant compound 179.
Miyake includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Miyake being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly used. Absent a showing of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent or bonding pattern from the finite list of possible substituents to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable result of a monoamine compound with a phenylnaphthyl group which reduces the symmetry of the molecule, inhibits crystallization, improves film quality, and contributes to high efficiency (paragraph 0295), commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
With respect to claims 7-11, Miyake teaches the compound of claim 1, and Miyake also teaches an organic light emitting device comprising a first electrode (an anode, paragraph 0298), a second electrode (a cathode, paragraph 0333), an organic material layer comprising a hole transport region, and the hole transport region includes a hole transport layer and a hole auxiliary layer (a hole buffer layer) (paragraph 0300), and the hole transport region may comprise the monoamine compound (paragraph 0305), a light emitting layer (paragraph 0314) and the light emitting layer may comprise the monoamine compound (paragraph 0296), and an electron transport layer.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound as a material in the hole transport layer, the hole auxiliary layer, or the light emitting layer of an organic light emitting device with the claimed structure, as taught by Miyake.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang et al. (CN 112979478 A) – teaches the importance of an ortho bonding pattern in relevant compounds.
Li et al. (US 2002/0076576 A1) – teaches the effect of deuterating optoelectronic materials.
/RACHEL SIMBANA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786