DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/21/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. GR20210100548 filed on 08/11/2021.
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 10, 12, 13, 24, 25, 29, and 30 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument(s) filed on 04/10/2026 with respect to the rejection of claims under rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10-15, 24-25, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (US 20230082017 A1), hereinafter Hong in view of Wu (US20230397233A1), hereinafter Wu.
Regarding to claim 1,
Hong teaches An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, which are configured, individually or in any combination, to: (fig. 16 and [0375-0376]) ...
receive, from the network, a response to the session establishment request ([0342] receiver 1630 for receiving an RRC message including a PDU session modification command message from the base station and receiving MBS data through a radio bearer mapped based on the PDU session modification command message).
Hong does not explicitly teaches transmit, to a network, a session establishment request that includes at least one indication associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session, wherein the session establishment request includes a data network name (DNN) associated with the MBS session;
Wu teaches transmit, to a network, a session establishment request that includes at least one indication associated with a multicast broadcast service (MBS) session, wherein the session establishment request includes a data network name (DNN) associated with the MBS session; and (([0066] FIG. 3A, the UE 102 initially transmits 302A a first PDU Session Establishment Request message for establishing a first PDU Session for MBS to the base station (BS) 104. To indicate that the UE 102 is requesting a DRB for receiving MBS information, the UE 102 may include a flag or other indication in the PDU Session Establishment Request. For example, the flag may be a data network name (DNN) field set to “MBS” or corresponding to an MBS service. In some implementations, the UE 102 initially operates in an idle state or an inactive state (e.g., RRC_IDLE state, RRC_INACTIVE state), or more generally in a state in which there is no active radio connection between the UE 102 and the base station 104. Alternatively, the UE 102 initially operates in a connected state (e.g., RRC_CONNECTED state), or more generally in a state in which there is an active radio connection between the UE 102 and the base station 104.))
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Wu to the teaching of Hong. The motivation for such an addition would be to enabling setup and/or modification of radio resources for transmission and/or reception of one or more multicast and/or broadcast services (MBS).([0001] Wu )
Regarding to claim 2,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong further teaches wherein the session establishment request comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment request ([0342] a UE 1600 receiving multicast/broadcast service (MBS) data may include a transmitter 1620 for transmitting a PDU session modification request message including MBS session identification information to a core network entity through a base station).
Regarding to claim 3,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong further teaches wherein the at least one indication includes a request to join the MBS session ([0345] UE may transmit a PDU session setup/modification request message to join the MBS multicast group and receive data for the corresponding MBS session).
Regarding to claim 10,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong further teaches wherein the network comprises a session management function (SMF), the request is transmitted to the SMF, and the response is received from the SMF ([0160], association between the PDU session and the MBS session may be performed by the core network entity. For example, it may be performed by a session management function (SMF) performing session management, such as session setup/modification/release, or an MB-SMF performing MBS session management).
Regarding to claim 11,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong further teaches wherein the session establishment request includes an indication whether a protocol data unit (PDU) session is only intended for multicast sessions ([0209] the MBS session start request message may include ... information for indicating the type of MBS session. This allows the base station to perform appropriate MBS transmission in the wireless network by considering/differentiating the MBS session type. [0345] UE may transmit a PDU session setup/modification request message to join the MBS multicast group and receive data for the corresponding MBS session).
Regarding to claim 12,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 11,
Hong further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine whether the PDU session is only intended for multicast sessions, wherein the indication included in the session establishment request is based on the determination ([0209] MBS session start request message may include information for differentiating the type of MBS session ..for differentiating multicast/broadcast/unicast ... . This allows the base station to perform appropriate MBS transmission in the wireless network by considering/differentiating the MBS session type. ...[0210] considering/differentiating the MBS session type. For example, the MBS session may be transmitted in association with an MBS (point-to-multipoint) radio bearer. Alternatively, the MBS session may be transmitted in association with a unicast (point-to-point) radio bearer (DRB).....core network entity (e.g., one of AMF, SMF, UPF, and MBS Function) may count information on the number of terminals that requested to join/receive/have interest in the corresponding MBS session. [0345] UE may transmit a PDU session setup/modification request message to join the MBS multicast group and receive data for the corresponding MBS session).
Claim(s) [13-15, and 24] (apparatus at a network node), [25] (method at a UE), and [30] (method at a network node) is/are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [1-3, and 10] (apparatus at a UE), where Hong teaches both device and method at network node and UE ([0375]).
Claims 4-7, 9, 16-18, 20-23, 26-27, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and Wu in view of Dao (US20210105196A1), hereinafter Dao .
Regarding to claim 4,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the at least one indication comprises an identity associated with the MBS session.
Dao teaches wherein the at least one indication comprises an identity associated with the MBS session ([0460] The N1 SM message may include one or more of information: an indication of whether the UE request to join an MB Session is accepted or rejected, MB Session ID, TMGI, UE Group ID, Packet filter(s) of DL MB data flow, IP Multicast address of DL MB data flow. If the UE request to join the MB Session is accepted).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Regarding to claim 5,
Hong and Wu and Dao teach the apparatus of claim 4,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the identity associated with the MBS session includes a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) associated with the MBS session, an Internet protocol (IP) address associated with a source of the MBS session, or a combination thereof.
Dao teaches wherein the identity associated with the MBS session includes a temporary mobile group identity (TMGI) associated with the MBS session, an Internet protocol (IP) address associated with a source of the MBS session, or a combination thereof. ([0460] The N1 SM message may include one or more of information: an indication of whether the UE request to join an MB Session is accepted or rejected, MB Session ID, TMGI, UE Group ID, Packet filter(s) of DL MB data flow, IP Multicast address of DL MB data flow. If the UE request to join the MB Session is accepted)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Regarding to claim 6,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the response comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment reject.
Dao teaches wherein the response comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment reject ([0350] SMF 700 may, based on local configuration, decide whether to accept or reject the PDU Session request based on the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. ... reject a PDU Session if the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate has a very low value).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Regarding to claim 7,
Hong and Wu teaches the apparatus of claim 1,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the response comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment accept.
Dao teaches wherein the response comprises a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment accept ([0350] SMF 700 may, based on local configuration, decide whether to accept or reject the PDU Session request based on the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. ... reject a PDU Session if the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate has a very low value).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Regarding to claim 9,
Hong and Wu and Dao teach the apparatus of claim 7,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the response indicates acceptance of a request for establishment of a PDU session and acceptance of a request to join the MBS session.
Dao teaches wherein the response indicates acceptance of a request for establishment of a PDU session and acceptance of a request to join the MBS session ([0454] SMF 700 may decide whether to accept or reject the UE request to join MB Session(s)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Claim(s) [16-18 ,20, and 23] (apparatus at a network node), and [26-27 and 29] (method at a UE) are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [4-7 and 9] (apparatus at a UE), where Hong Teaches both device and method at network node and UE ([0375]).
Regarding to claim 21,
Hong and Wu and Dao teach the apparatus of claim 20,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine to provide establishment of the PDU session with rejection of the request to join the MBS session.
Dao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to determine to provide establishment of the PDU session with rejection of the request to join the MBS session ([0350] SMF 700 may, based on local configuration, decide whether to accept or reject the PDU Session request based on the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. ... reject a PDU Session if the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate has a very low value and [0454] SMF 700 may decide whether to accept or reject the UE request to join MB Session(s)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Regarding to claim 22,
Hong and Wu and Dao teach the apparatus of claim 21,
Hong further teaches wherein the session establishment request includes an indication whether the PDU session is only intended for multicast sessions, wherein the determination is based on the indication ([0209] the MBS session start request message may include ... information for indicating the type of MBS session. This allows the base station to perform appropriate MBS transmission in the wireless network by considering/differentiating the MBS session type).
Claims 8, 19, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong and Wu in view of Dao and further in view of RÖNNEKE (US 20230309189 A1), hereinafter Ronneke.
Regarding to claim 8,
Hong and Wu and Dao teach the apparatus of claim 7,
Hong and Wu does not explicitly teach wherein the response indicates acceptance of a request to establish a PDU session and includes a cause value associated with rejection of a request to join the MBS session.
Dao teaches wherein the response indicates acceptance of a request to establish a PDU session and includes a cause value associated with rejection of a request to join the MBS session ([0350] SMF 700 may, based on local configuration, decide whether to accept or reject the PDU Session request based on the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate. ... reject a PDU Session if the UE Integrity Protection Maximum Data Rate has a very low value).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Dao to the teaching of Hong and Wu. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the use of the network resource (Dao [0009]).
Hong and Wu and Dao does not explicitly teaches wherein the cause value is associated with why a session management function (SMF) could not fulfill the request to join the MBS session.
Ronneke teaches wherein the cause value is associated with why a session management function (SMF) could not fulfill the request to join the MBS session.( [0068] ...as a result of a request from a user equipment, UE, to join a multicast/broadcast, MB, session, sending a MB session response, the MB session response including one of a rejection to the request to join and an acceptance of the request to join based on the RAN capability indication and further based on at least one of a disable individual delivery parameter related to a multicast broadcast service, MBS, and a policy. ... [0070] In some embodiments of this aspect, the MB session response includes a cause code indicating at least one of information about the RAN capability and information about individual multicast broadcast service, MBS, traffic delivery. In some embodiments of this aspect, the core network node is a Session Management Function, SMF.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ronneke to the teaching of Hong and Wu and Dao. The motivation for such an addition would be to enable the AMF or other core network node to accept the join request, or initiate the “5MBS Individual Delivery” method, or reject the join request, depending on if 5MBS is supported in the NG-RAN node or not and/or depending on AF indication, network preferences and/or policies. (Ronneke [0097]).
Claim(s) [19] (apparatus at a network node), and [28] (method at a UE) are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) [8] (apparatus at a UE), where Hong Teaches both device and method at network node and UE ([0375]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/YEE F LAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465