DETAILED ACTION
General Remarks
This communication is considered fully responsive to Applicant’s response filed 04/27/2026.
Application filed: 12/21/2023
Applicant’s PgPUB: 2024/0288984
Claims:
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-17, 27 and 28 are pending.
Claims 1, 17, 27 and 28 are independent.
Claims 2, 3, 10 and 18-26 are canceled.
Claims 1 and 17 are amended.
IDS:
Previous IDS:
IDS filed 04/17/2024 has been considered.
Continuity/Priority Data:
This Application claims priority to Chinese Application No. CN202110929328.1 filed 08/13/2021.
This Application is the 371 National Entry of International Application No. PCT/CN2022/111959 filed 08/12/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s response, filed 04/27/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 11-17, 27 and 28 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive to overcome the prior rejection. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”).
Examiner Note: regarding the amendment presented by Applicant. Applicant’s amendment discusses usage of a “More” or “Drop-Down” option in a “title bar area”. The term “title bar area” is relatively general term. Further, aside from the teachings of Williams (see below), this type of technology is also well-known in web technologies, like Bootstrap, that uses dropdowns within a navigation bar that also includes and can include a title bar area.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-9, 11-17, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 1, it claims in part, “an object addition control located at a top of the message display area in the session interface is displayed in the title bar area…”. This is indefinite and confusing because the claim describes the session interface as having a title bar area and a message display area (i.e., two separate and distinct areas). This language indicates that the “object addition control” is located in both the message area (i.e., located at a top of the message display area) and displayed in the title bar area.
Further, the claim states “… wherein the label of the first object is displayed in the title bar area and located at a top of the message display area after adding the first object”. This indefinite and confusing for the same reasons stated above.
Examiner will interpret this language to mean that the title bar area is located above the message display area and the “object addition control” and/or “first object” is located within the title bar area. Amendment and clarification are required to avoid future confusion.
As to claim 17, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 27, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 28, similar rejection as to claim 1.
Claims 4-9 and 11-16 are rejected due to their dependencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6-9, 16, 17, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0412535 to Wang (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0342785 A1 to Mann et al. (“Mann”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0168154 to Skyrm et al. (“Skyrm”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0050092 to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses:
an interaction method, comprising:
receiving an object adding operation triggered by a first user in a session interface, wherein the session interface is an interface where the first user has a conversation with one or more second users (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 2B-A, Fig. 9; ¶0084, ¶0117, ¶0118, ¶0141 - Wang teaches a user selecting (+) in order to include one of several objects (i.e., picture, camera, etc) to a chat); and
adding a first object in the session interface according to the object adding operation, wherein the first object is used to be accessed by the one or more second users (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 2B-A, Fig. 9; ¶0084, ¶0117, ¶0118, ¶0141 - Wang teaches a user selecting (+) in order to include one of several objects (i.e., picture, camera, etc) to a chat).
Mann discloses what Wang does not expressly disclosed.
Mann discloses:
the session interface comprises a title bar area and a message display area, and the title bar area is configured to display a session corresponding to a session (Fig. 3, Fig. 36, Figs. 126-130 – Mann teaches chat session that includes a title and a board (i.e. title area))
wherein the adding a first object in the session interface according to the object adding operation (Fig. 3, Fig. 36, Figs. 126-130 – Mann teaches chat session that includes a title and a board (i.e. title area) and adding a new task (i.e., object) to the board), comprises:
adding a label of the first object in the title bar area of the session interface according to the object adding operation (Fig. 3, Fig. 36, Figs. 126-130 – Mann teaches chat session that includes a title and a board (i.e. title area) and adding a new task (i.e., object) to the board where each task has an included label (i.e., added object label)),
wherein the first object is opened when the label of the first object is triggered, and the label is displayed in the title bar area (Fig. 3, Fig. 36, Figs. 126-130 – Mann teaches chat session that includes a title and a board (i.e. title area) and adding a new task (i.e., object) to the board where each task has an included label (i.e., added object label) and when the task bubble (i.e., label) is selected, the task is opened).
Wang and Mann are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Mann to the system/method of Wang in order to demonstrate how media or objects can be displayed to users of the chat (Mann, ¶0947).
Skyrm discloses what Wang and Mann do not expressly disclose.
Skyrm discloses:
and the first object comprises a cloud file or a local file (¶0082 of Skyrm (i.e., directory on a device)),
Wang, Mann and Skyrm are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Skyrm to the system/method of Wang and Mann in order to demonstrate how media or objects can be setup for a user to be able to select something to be added to a conversation.
Williams discloses what Wang, Mann and Skyrm do not expressly disclose.
Williams discloses:
labels of a plurality of objects comprising the first object are displayed in the title bar area, the title bar area comprises a first display control for displaying more labels (Fig. 4 – Williams teaches use of a drop down within a title bar area to link to other information/destinations), and the method further comprises:
in response to triggering an area where the first display control is located, displaying a first display interface in the session interface, wherein the first display interface is configured to display the more labels and the more labels are labels of remaining objects except the objects displayed in the title bar area (Fig. 4 – Williams teaches use of a drop down within a title bar area to link to other information/destinations).
Wang, Mann, Skyrm and Williams are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Williams to the system/method of Wang, Mann and Skyrm in order to demonstrate how media or objects can be setup for a user to be able to select something to be added to a conversation.
McCue discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm and Williams do not expressly disclose.
McCue discloses:
an object addition control located at a top of the message display area (Fig. 5B, 216-222) in the session interface is displayed in the title bar area (Fig. 5B, 224), and the received object adding operation comprises: an operation triggered by the object addition control (Fig. 5B, 228, 500, Fig. 6A, ¶0120-¶0122 – McCue teaches a user can select a + to add subscriptions and access associated objects); and
wherein the label of the first object is displayed in the title bar area and located at a top of the message display area after adding the first object (Fig. 5B, 228, 500, Fig. 6A, ¶0120-¶0122 – McCue teaches a user can select a + to add subscriptions and access associated objects),
the first display interface further comprises an object management control, wherein the object management control is configured to manage at least one added object, and the object management control is configured to trigger a management interface display operation (Fig. 5B, 228, 500, Fig. 6A, ¶0120-¶0122 – McCue teaches a user can select a + to add subscriptions and access associated objects).
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate object association as discussed in McCue with GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of McCue to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm and Williams in order to demonstrate objects can be associated with channels and more efficiently accessed (McCue, ¶0004).
As to claim 4, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Skyrm discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue does not expressly disclose.
Skyrm discloses:
wherein the adding a first object in the session interface according to the object adding operation, comprises:
displaying at least one candidate object according to the object adding operation, wherein the at least one candidate object includes the first object (Fig. 8 of Skyrm); and
adding the first object in the session interface, in response to receiving a selection operation to the first object by the first user (Fig. 13 of Skyrm).
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Skyrm to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue in order to demonstrate how media or objects can be setup for a user to be able to select something to be added to a conversation.
As to claim 6, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
Wang discloses:
further comprising:
receiving an access operation by the first user of a label of a second object in the session interface, wherein the second object is an object which is added in the session interface by the second users (¶0050 – Wang teaches that in response to an operation performed by the user on a second message in the N messages, the electronic device opens a file associated with the second message, where the file associated with the second message is one of a voice, a video, an audio and video, a document, a picture, a location, and a link. In this way, the user can preview, in the combination and forwarding box, a file associated with a message.); and
displaying the second object according to the access operation (¶0050 – Wang teaches that in response to an operation performed by the user on a second message in the N messages, the electronic device opens a file associated with the second message, where the file associated with the second message is one of a voice, a video, an audio and video, a document, a picture, a location, and a link. In this way, the user can preview, in the combination and forwarding box, a file associated with a message.).
As to claim 7, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
Wang discloses:
wherein after the receiving an object adding operation triggered by a first user in a session interface, the method further comprises:
sending the first object to the one or more second users through the session interface (Fig. 2A-B, Fig. 2B-A, Fig. 9; ¶0084, ¶0117, ¶0118, ¶0141 - Wang teaches a user selecting (+) in order to include one of several objects (i.e., picture, camera, etc) to a chat).
As to claim 8, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 7, and
Wang discloses:
further comprising:
receiving a withdrawal operation by the first user against the first object that has been sent (Fig. 14A of Wang); and
deleting the first object added in the session interface according to the withdrawal operation (Fig. 14A of Wang).
As to claim 9, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
Wang discloses:
further comprising:
receiving a triggering operation by the first user to a deletion control of the first object, wherein the deletion control is used for deleting the first object (Fig. 14A of Wang); and
deleting the first object according to the triggering operation (Fig. 14A of Wang).
As to claim 16, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1, and
Skyrm discloses:
wherein the label of the first object includes a title of the cloud file or local file (¶0082 of Skyrm (i.e., directory on a device)). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 4.
As to claim 17, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 27, similar rejection as to claim 1.
As to claim 28, similar rejection as to claim 1.
Claims 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0412535 to Wang (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0342785 A1 to Mann et al. (“Mann”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0168154 to Skyrm et al. (“Skyrm”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0050092 to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0086109 to Ramirez et al. (“Ramirez”).
As to claim 5, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Ramirez discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue does not expressly disclose.
Ramirez discloses:
wherein the adding a first object in the session interface according to the object adding operation, comprises:
obtaining information about the first object input by the first user, according to the object adding operation (Fig. 6 (i.e., Menu.pdf) of Ramirez); and
obtaining the first object according to the information about the first object, and adding the first object in the session interface, wherein the information about the first object comprises (Fig. 6 (i.e., Menu.pdf) of Ramirez) one or more selected from the group consisting of:
a name for the first object (Fig. 6 (i.e., Menu.pdf) of Ramirez),
a link to the first object, and
a name for an owner of the first object.
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Ramirez are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate file display as discussed in Ramirez with GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Ramirez to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue in order to demonstrate how a file or object would be displayed (i.e., shows files name) to a group within a chat.
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0412535 to Wang (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0342785 A1 to Mann et al. (“Mann”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0168154 to Skyrm et al. (“Skyrm”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0050092 to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0005707 to Teodosiu et al. (“Teodosiu”).
As to claim 11, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Teodosiu discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue does not expressly disclose.
Teodosiu discloses:
wherein before the adding a first object in the session interface according to the object adding operation, the method further comprises:
receiving a management interface display operation triggered by the first user; and
displaying an object management interface according to the management interface display operation, wherein the object management interface includes a plurality of objects that have been added and exclude the first object; or
after the adding a first object in the session interface according to the object adding operation, the method further comprises:
receiving a management interface display operation triggered by the first user; and
displaying an object management interface according to the management interface display operation, wherein the object management interface includes a plurality of objects that have been added and include the first object.
(¶0048 – Teodosiu teaches folders may also be provided for collaboration between two users. For example, the "Adam/Bob" folder 310, 320 may represent data shared between Adam 104(1) and Bob 104(n) (e.g., a group of two) for collaboration such that either client may add, modify, delete and otherwise change data contained in these folders; Examiner note: that files not added to the shared folder (i.e., before added) are excluded from the shared folder and cannot be viewed and filed added to the shared folder (i.e., after added) and can be viewed).
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate shared folders as discussed in Teodosiu with GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Teodosiu to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue in order to allow users to have consistent access to information amongst multiple users (Teodosiu, ¶0002).
As to claim 15, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Teodosiu discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue does not expressly disclose.
Teodosiu discloses:
further comprising:
receiving a modification operation by the first user to an access permission for the first object; and
determining the access permission for the first object according to the modification operation, wherein the access permission is a permission for the second user to access the first object.
(Fig. 2, ¶0040 – Teodosiu teaches "share with particular client(s)" folder 224 may be provided for each contact included in the list of contacts 218(1)-218(N) of the respective clients 104(1)-104(N). This folder may be utilized for collaboration with other contacts, such as by permitting changes to be made to data items in this folder by each user having access to the folder). The suggestion/motivation and obviousness rejection is the same as in claim 11.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0412535 to Wang (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0342785 A1 to Mann et al. (“Mann”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0168154 to Skyrm et al. (“Skyrm”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0050092 to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0005707 to Teodosiu et al. (“Teodosiu”) in further view of U.S. Patent No.10,659,415 B1 to Ledet (“Ledet”).
As to claim 12, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu discloses:
method according to claim 11,
Ledet discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu does not expressly disclose.
Ledet discloses:
further comprising:
receiving a sequencing operation of the plurality of objects triggered by the first user (Fig. 2, Fig. 3B of Ledet); and
sequencing the plurality of objects according to the sequencing operation (Fig. 2, Fig. 3B; col. 4 ll. 35-51 of Ledet).
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue, Teodosiu and Ledet are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate chat object sequence as discussed in Ledet with shared folders as discussed in Teodosiu with GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Ledet to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu in order to implement a business communication interaction (Ledet, col. 1 ll. 42-55).
Claims 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0412535 to Wang (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0342785 A1 to Mann et al. (“Mann”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0168154 to Skyrm et al. (“Skyrm”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0050092 to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2007/0005707 to Teodosiu et al. (“Teodosiu”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No.2014/0359085 A1 to Chen (“Chen”).
As to claim 13, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu discloses:
method according to claim 11,
Chen discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu does not expressly disclose.
Chen discloses:
wherein the plurality of objects include a third object, and the method further comprises:
in response to the third object being deleted by the second user,
receiving an access operation of the third object by the first user; and
displaying the third object according to the access operation.
(¶0071 – Chen teaches that user B can delete a file and then a user A can restore that file; ¶0060 – Chen teaches that users can open shared content.)
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue, Teodosiu and Chen are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate user interactions with shared files as discussed in Chen with shared folders as discussed in Teodosiu with GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Chen to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Teodosiu in order to allow users to interact with shared files and rectify or change actions performed by other users (Chen, ¶0071)
Claims 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0412535 to Wang (“Wang”) in view of U.S. Patent Application No. 2021/0342785 A1 to Mann et al. (“Mann”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0168154 to Skyrm et al. (“Skyrm”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0050092 to Williams et al. (“Williams”) in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0244817 A1 to McCue et al. (“McCue”) in further view of U.S. Patent No. 10,904,193 B1 to Al Majid et al. (“Majid”).
As to claim 14, Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue discloses:
method according to claim 1,
Majid discloses what Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue does not expressly disclose.
Majid discloses:
further comprising:
generating a notification message and send the notification message to the session interface, wherein the notification message is used to remind the first user and/or the second user that the first object has been added in the session interface (Abstract of Majid).
Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams, McCue and Majid are analogous arts because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to client messaging.
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate chat notifications as discussed in Majid with GUI setup as discussed in Williams with user object selection as discussed in Skyrm with object creation as discussed in Mann with chat system as discussed in Wang by adding the functionality of Majid to the system/method of Wang, Mann, Skyrm, Williams and McCue in order to notify a user of a new chat message (Majid, Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
PgPUB 2016/0139750 to Barrus: discusses and shows tab usage within a browser and displays a “more” option drop down for additional information.
PgPUB 20130055113 to Chazin: discusses and shows a title bar area within a browser and displays a “+” option drop down for additional title bar area information.
PgPUB 2023/0179562 to Khosrowshahi: discusses an object interface for quick access to object(s) of a communication platform is described. Server(s) of the communication platform can receive, in association with a user interface of the communication platform, a request to associate an object with an object interface associated with a virtual space of the communication platform.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TAYLOR A ELFERVIG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445