DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final communication is in response to Application No. 18/573,383 filed 12/21/2023 which claims priority from PCT/CN2022/115830 filed 8/30/2022 and CN202111182857.6 filed 10/11/2021. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The Request for Continued Examination and Amendment presented on 8/4/2026 which provides amendment to claims 1, 5, 11, 13, and 14, is hereby acknowledged. Claims 1-11, 13-15, and 17-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections – Withdrawn
The previous 35 U.S.C § 102 rejection of claims 1-3, 10, 11, and 13-15 has been withdrawn as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1, 13, and 14 have been considered, however, the amendment(s) to the claims necessitated a new consideration and search resulting in new prior art cited below.
The Examiner additionally notes that several arguments of the Applicant pertaining to Van Os are not persuasive. Applicant states no other participants are permitted to modify the participants in a session, however, several add-person/participant affordances are present in ongoing sessions in at least Figures 6H, 6I, 6J, 6O, 6P, 6Q, 8AK, 12E, 12G, 12H, and 12I. There is nothing in the claims that would exclude a session embodiment from reading on the claims. Applicant contends that the participant indicators are not obtained through pre-subscription, however, the claims do not define when subscription occurs or by whom for that matter. Finally, Applicant contends that the conference participants do not publish media content and are not media sources, however, there is nothing in the claims describing “publish[ing]” and a user’s live feed in a group session is most certainly a media source in the broadest reasonable interpretation. Nevertheless, new prior art is cited to address the amendments. See the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 11, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Os et al. (US 10,284,812 B1, hereinafter “Van Os”), and further in view of Liao (US 2020/0366963 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Van Os teaches a media display method for an electronic device comprising a display, comprising:
providing a media display page by displaying on the display of the electronic device, wherein the media display page comprises a media source display region and a media display region; More specifically, at least Figures 8C, 8D, 8Q-8AJ, and 8AR-8BK depict a live video stream chat session, construed as a “media display page”, with an overflow region 822, construed as a “media source display region”, and a region of the actual live streams of the participants 810 construed as the “media display region” (Van Os, Figures 8C-8BK, col 63, line 34 – col 65, line 4).
obtaining, by the electronic device, respective identification information of currently available media sources …and displaying, by the electronic device, the identification information of the currently available media sources in the media source display region. More specifically, the overflow region 822, construed as a “media source display region”, becomes populated with selectable representations of users as they join the live session, construed as “currently available media sources” (Van Os, Figures 8C-8BK, col 63, line 34 – col 65, line 4). The representations in the overflow region continuously update to provide a user the state of the source (Van Os, col 71, line 46 - col 72, line 11).
[displaying] a media content of one media source selected from the currently available media sources is displayed in the media display area, wherein the currently available media sources are transmitted to the electronic device via an electronic signal. More specifically, an embodiment maintains selectable representations in the overflow region (“media source display region”) even if they are currently in the streaming region (“a media content of one media source selected from the currently available media sources is displayed in the media display area”) (Van Os, at least Figures 8AW-8BB, 8BD, and 8BF-8BK depict media 810 and media sources 822 in the same display, col 58, line15-21, col 71, lines 23-27). Figures 10N-10O depict the selection of a participant in the overflow region (media source) which causes one of the live streams (media content) to be replaced by the selection (Van Os, col 87, lines 57-67).
in response to a first operation instruction for the media display page implemented by an interactive event for the media display page, changing a display manner of the media source display region on the display. More specifically, at least Figures 8AG-8AH and 8BJ-8BK depict receiving an input (“interactive event”) that scrolls the overflow region to show representations of users that were hidden from display, construed as “changing the display manner of the media source display region” (Van Os, col 58, lines 49-55; col 67, line 61 – col 68, line 14). Alternatively, users joining the session could be an interactive event that automatically causes the overflow region to move and add representations of joined users, construable as “changing a display manner of the media source display region on the display” (Van Os, col 63, line 34 – col 65, line 4, at least Figures 8Q-8T).
However, Van Os may not explicitly teach every aspect of
[the currently available media sources are] of one or more media sources that are subscribed.
Liao discloses video access methods comprising: receiving entrance presentation data of a video-updated user, wherein the video-updated user includes a user who has a video updated among followed (subscribed) users; displaying an entrance presentation bar (media source display region) on the current terminal interface, and presenting at least one video access entrance (identification information of currently available media sources) in the entrance presentation bar based on the entrance presentation data; and displaying, responsive to a client user's preset operation on any video access entrance in the entrance presentation bar, a video play page (media content) corresponding to the preset operation (Liao, abstract). Figure 2b depicts presentation bar 201 that includes video access entrances 202 (profile picture circles) of users that the current user follows/is subscribed to. The circles of followed users currently making a live broadcast are differentiated with, different colors, different markings, or solid vs dotted outlines; the solid lines indicating which of the subscribed users are currently making a live broadcast. The presentation bar can be invoked as a drop down over the current interface (Liao, [0067]-[0069]). The user can slide through the presentation bar to view profile pictures of more video-updated users (Liao, [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Van Os and Liao that a method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that displays currently available media sources and requires manipulation to view all available media sources would include [the currently available media sources are] of one or more media sources that are subscribed. With Van Os and Liao disclosing a media display page with a media source display region that displays currently available media sources that can be manipulated to display more available media sources, and with Liao additionally disclosing that the media source display region can be directed toward users a current user follows/is subscribed to, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that displays currently available media sources and requires manipulation to view all available media sources would include [the currently available media sources are] of one or more media sources that are subscribed in order to allow a current user to specify the users to monitor for availability rather than another source or user. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that displays currently available media sources.
Regarding claim 2, Van Os and Liao teach the media display method according to claim 1, wherein the changing the display manner of the media source display region comprises: changing a display manner of the identification information of the currently available media sources. More specifically, at least Figures 8AG-8AH and 8BJ-8BK depict receiving an input that scrolls the overflow region to show representations of users (construed as “identification information”) that were hidden from display, construed as “changing a display manner of the identification information of the currently available media sources” (Van Os, col 67, line 61 – col 68, line 14).
Regarding claim 3, Van Os and Liao teach the media display mokethod according to claim 1, wherein the display manner comprises at least one of a display position, a display size, and a display form. More specifically, at least Figures 8AG-8AH and 8BJ-8BK depict receiving an input that scrolls the overflow region to show representations of users that were hidden from display, (construed as “display position” or “display form”) (Van Os, col 67, line 61 – col 68, line 14).
Regarding claim 10, Van Os and Liao teach the media display method according to claim 1, wherein a media content is shown in the media display page, and the media content comprises pictures of a plurality of objects corresponding to the media content; and the method further comprises: displaying the pictures of the plurality of objects involved in the currently available media sources during live streaming in such a manner that the pictures are stacked; and in response to a second operation instruction for the media display page, changing a picture of an object shown on the top of the stacked pictures. More specifically, at least Figures 8K-8AJ and 8AR-8AV depict pictures of media sources as part of the live session in a stacked manner. At least Figures 8M-8N, 8AC-8AD, and 8BD-8BE depict the input that changes the picture on top (Van Os, col 63, line 15-24; col 67, line 1-11).
Regarding claim 11, Van Os and Liao teach the media display method according to claim 1, further comprising:
obtaining respective state information of the one or more media sources that are subscribed, and determining the currently available media sources. More specifically, data indicating which users are currently active in the live communication session is obtained (Van Os, col 41, lines 20-38; col 42, lines 49-55; col 43, lines 35-39, col 50, lines 26-53). Additionally, the entrance presentation data includes indications of whether any users that are followed/subscribed to by the current user are currently live broadcasting (Liao, [0051]).
Regarding claim 13, this claim recites the media display apparatus that performs the steps of the media display method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 14, this claim recites the storage medium, storing, in a non-transitory manner, computer- readable instructions which, when executed by a computer, cause performing the media display method of claim 1, therefore, the same rationale of rejection is applicable.
Regarding claim 15, Van Os and Liao teach the media display method according to claim 2, wherein the display manner comprises at least one of a display position, a display size, and a display form. More specifically, at least Figures 8AG-8AH and 8BJ-8BK depict receiving an input that scrolls the overflow region to show representations of users that were hidden from display, (construed as “display position” or “display form”) (Van Os, col 67, line 61 – col 68, line 14).
Claim(s) 4-9 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Os and Liao, and further in view of Zeng et al. (US 2017/0185254 A1, hereinafter “Zeng”).
Regarding claim 4, Van Os and Liao teach the media display method according to claim 2, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the displaying the identification information of the currently available media sources in the media source display region comprises:
displaying identification information of a first number of currently available media sources of the currently available media sources in parallel in the media source display region; and
the changing the display manner of the identification information of the currently available media sources comprises:
displaying identification information of a second number of currently available media sources of the currently available media sources, wherein the second number is less than the first number.
Zeng discloses systems and methods for providing content presentations to users of a content presentation system (Zeng, abstract). Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Van Os and Liao with Zeng that a method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that displays currently available media sources including manipulation to view all available media sources would include a display state where a first number of media sources can be displayed in the region with an indication of the number of sources that are available but not viewable, wherein a manipulation to increase the size of the region increases the number of displayed media sources but also decreases the number of available but not viewable sources accordingly. With Van Os, Liao, and Zeng disclosing a media display page with a media source display region that includes manipulation to view all available media sources, and with Zeng additionally disclosing display state where a first number of media sources can be displayed in the region with an indication of the number of sources that are available but not viewable, wherein a manipulation to increase the size of the region increases the number of displayed media sources but also decreases the number of available but not viewable sources accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method of method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that requires manipulation to view all available media sources would include a display state where a first number of media sources can be displayed in the region with an indication of the number of sources that are available but not viewable, wherein a manipulation to increase the size of the region increases the number of displayed media sources but also decreases the number of available but not viewable sources accordingly in order to allow a user to adjust how many media sources they can see at once to have a better idea of what/who the media sources are. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that requires manipulation to view all available media sources.
Regarding claim 5, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 4, wherein the displaying the identification information of the second number of currently available media sources of the currently available media sources comprises: alternately displaying the identification information of the currently available media sources with the second number of pieces of identification information as a set. More specifically, Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 6, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 4, further comprising: in response to the first operation instruction for the media display page, displaying a total number of the currently available media sources in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed. More specifically, Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 7, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 6, further comprising: updating and displaying the total number of the currently available media sources according to an increase or a decrease of the currently available media sources. More specifically, Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 8, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 6, further comprising: in response to a new media source becoming available and thereby becoming one of the currently available media sources, displaying identification information of the new media source in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed. More specifically, at least Figures 8Q-8T depict a live video chat session, construed as a “media display page”, with an overflow region 822, construed as a “media source display region” that becomes populated with selectable representations of users as new users join the live session, construed as “currently available media sources” (Van Os, Figures 8C-8BK, col 63, line 34 – col 65, line 4).
Regarding claim 9, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 8, wherein the displaying identification information of the new media source in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed comprises: displaying the identification information of the new media source in a different display manner from the identification information of the first number of media sources in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed. More specifically, the combination of Van Os adding representations of new users to the overflow region as they become available in the live session with Zeng displaying a region of user representations during a session with a number representations of users not fitting in the region that gets updated as the region is resized by user input (Van Os, Figures 8C-8BK, col 63, line 34 – col 65, line 4; Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 17, Van Os and Liao teach the media display method according to claim 3, however, may not explicitly teach every aspect of wherein the displaying the identification information of the currently available media sources in the media source display region comprises:
displaying identification information of a first number of currently available media sources of the currently available media sources in parallel in the media source display region; and
the changing the display manner of the media source display region comprises:
changing a display manner of the identification information of the currently available media sources, and
the changing the display manner of the identification information of the currently available media sources comprises:
displaying identification information of a second number of currently available media sources of the currently available media sources, wherein the second number is less than the first number.
Zeng discloses systems and methods for providing content presentations to users of a content presentation system (Zeng, abstract). Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention given the teachings of Van Os and Liao with Zeng that a method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that requires manipulation to view all available media sources would include a display state where a first number of media sources can be displayed in the region with an indication of the number of sources that are available but not viewable, wherein a manipulation to increase the size of the region increases the number of displayed media sources but also decreases the number of available but not viewable sources accordingly. With Van Os, Liao, and Zeng disclosing a media display page with a media source display region that includes manipulation to view all available media sources, and with Zeng additionally disclosing display state where a first number of media sources can be displayed in the region with an indication of the number of sources that are available but not viewable, wherein a manipulation to increase the size of the region increases the number of displayed media sources but also decreases the number of available but not viewable sources accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art of implementing a method of method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that requires manipulation to view all available media sources would include a display state where a first number of media sources can be displayed in the region with an indication of the number of sources that are available but not viewable, wherein a manipulation to increase the size of the region increases the number of displayed media sources but also decreases the number of available but not viewable sources accordingly in order to allow a user to adjust how many media sources they can see at once to have a better idea of what/who the media sources are. One would therefore be motivated to combine these teachings as in doing so would create this method for displaying a media display page with a media source display region that requires manipulation to view all available media sources.
Regarding claim 18, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 5, further comprising: in response to the first operation instruction for the media display page, displaying a total number of the currently available media sources in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed. More specifically, Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 19, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 7, further comprising: in response to a new media source becoming available and thereby becoming one of the currently available media sources, displaying identification information of the new media source in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed. More specifically, Figures 11A and 11B depict a media presentation screen and user representations 328 in area 306a. A user can enlarge area 306a with a swipe down gesture so that the display of the area changes from (1) a display of a certain number of users plus an actual number of additional users that are not fitting in area 306a, to (2) an enlarged area 306a showing more representations of users combined with a smaller number of additional users still not fitting in the enlarged area (Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Regarding claim 20, Van Os and Liao with Zeng teach the media display method according to claim 19, wherein the displaying identification information of the new media source in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed comprises: displaying the identification information of the new media source in a different display manner from the identification information of the first number of media sources in the media source display region of which the display manner has been changed. More specifically, the combination of Van Os adding representations of new users to the overflow region as they become available in the live session with Zeng displaying a region of user representations during a session with a number representations of users not fitting in the region that gets updated as the region is resized by user input (Van Os, Figures 8C-8BK, col 63, line 34 – col 65, line 4; Zeng, [0186]-[0189]).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record on form PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111(c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action.
Zhang (US 2022/0303605 A1) – providing a mechanism for switching the currently viewed live stream.
Ichihashi (US 2017/0048286 A1) – providing indications of additional live broadcasts for selection.
Rathod (US 2022/0006661 A1) – providing indications of additional live broadcasts for selection.
Sarkar (US 11,057,444 B1) – providing indications of additional live broadcasts for selection.
Conclusion
/PATRICK F RIEGLER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2171