DETAILED ACTION
Application, submitted on 12/21/2023, has been received, entered, and made of record. Currently, claims 1-5,7-11,13-20,22 and 25 remain pending in the application. Claims 6, 12, 21, and 23-24 have been canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-5, 7-8, 14-16, 18-19, 22, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US 2022/0286950 A1, hereinafter referred to as Kumar).
Referring to claim 1, Kumar discloses a processing method for restoring paging (figs.4A-B), performed by a network device (figs.4A-B, second SIM network), comprising:
receiving first information for a first subscriber identity module SIM (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: in response to the paging message, the second SIM network receives information (NAS message) for SIM-2);
determining time for re-paging the first SIM in response to the first information indicating that the first SIM rejects paging (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: the second SIM network will cease to send further paging to the multi-SIM UE 100 until the provided timer is expired in response to NAS message indicating the multi-SIM UE does not want to respond to incoming paging on SIM-2. That is, the second SIM network pages the SIM-2 when it determines that the provided timer is expired).
Referring to claim 2, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein, the first information comprises a first service request signaling containing a paging rejection indication, wherein the paging rejection indication indicates that the first SIM rejects paging (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: in the NAS message sent over the N3GPP access, the multi-SIM UE 100 can include reject cause value (paging rejection indication), and list of services for which the multi-SIM UE 100 wants to receive paging (over 3GPPA) or notification (over non-3GPP access)).
Referring to claim 4, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein, the first service request signaling further comprises auxiliary information, and determining the time for re-paging the first SIM in response to the first information indicating that the first SIM rejects paging comprises: determining the time for re-paging the first SIM based on the auxiliary information in response to the paging rejection indication (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: the NAS message further includes a timer value and list of paging cause/services for which the multi-SIM UE 100 does not want to receive paging (over 3GPPA) or notification (over non-3GPPA). Thus, the second SIM network determines when to page the SIM-2 based on the timer value and list of paging cause/services for which the multi-SIM UE 100 does not want to receive paging).
Referring to claim 5, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the auxiliary information comprises at least one of the following: time information for indicating an interval duration for re-paging the first SIM; or service information for indicating a service of a second SIM that causes the first SIM to reject paging ([0078]) (Note: timer value (time information for indicating an interval duration for re-paging the SIM-2).
Referring to claim 7, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the network device comprises a core network device (fig.5, AMF 200) ([0141]), and determining the time for re-paging the first SIM in response to the first information indicating that the first SIM rejects paging comprises: determining the time for re-paging the first SIM based on the first information (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: the second SIM network will cease to send further paging to the multi-SIM UE 100 until the provided timer is expired in response to NAS message indicating the multi-SIM UE does not want to respond to incoming paging on SIM-2. That is, the second SIM network pages the SIM-2 when it determines that the provided timer is expired).
Referring to claim 8, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein receiving the first information for the first subscriber identity module SIM comprises: receiving the first information for the first SIM sent by a UE; or receiving the first information for the first SIM sent by a base station (fig.4B) (Note: receiving the information for SIM-2 sent by a multi-SIM UE 100).
Referring to claim 14, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: stopping paging the first SIM at any time after receiving the first information and before the time for re-paging the first SIM ([0078]) (Note: the second SIM network will cease to send further paging to the multi-SIM UE 100 until the provided timer is expired).
Referring to claim 15, Kumar discloses a processing method for restoring paging (figs.4A-B), performed by user equipment UE with multiple subscriber identity modules SIMs (fig.4B, multi-SIM UE 100), comprising:
sending, in response to determining to reject to respond to a paging message for a first SIM (fig.4B, SIM-2) in an idle state among the multiple SIMs, first information (fig.4B, NAS message) to a first network (fig.4B, second SIM network) that sends the paging message (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: in response to the paging message, the second SIM network receives information (NAS message) to reject a paging message for SIM-2),
wherein the first information indicates that the first SIM rejects paging, and the first information is at least used for the first network to determine time for re-paging the first SIM (fig.4B and [0078]) (Note: the second SIM network will cease to send further paging to the multi-SIM UE 100 until the provided timer is expired in response to NAS message indicating the multi-SIM UE does not want to respond to incoming paging on SIM-2. That is, the second SIM network pages the SIM-2 when it determines that the provided timer is expired).
Referring to claim 16, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 2 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 18, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 4 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 19, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 5 is applicable herein.
Referring to claim 22, Kumar discloses he method according to claim 15, wherein sending the first information to the first network that sends the paging message comprises: sending the first information to a core network device or a base station of the first network that sends the paging message, wherein the first information indicating that the first SIM rejects paging (fig.4B and [0078]).
Referring to claim 25, the same ground of rejection provided for claim 1 is applicable herein. Kumar further discloses a communication device (fig.8, base station 800), wherein the communication device comprises: a processor (fig.8, processor 810);
a memory (fig.8, memory 830) for storing processor executable instructions ([0131]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 9-11, 13, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOUSTAPHA DIABY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683