DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
In response to the amendment received on 10/12/2026:
• Claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 12-15 are currently pending. Claims 2, 7, and 9-11 are canceled. Claims 14-15 are withdrawn for being directed to a non-elected invention(s). The objection to claim 1 is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims. The rejection of claims 1, 3-6, 8, and 12-13 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) is withdrawn in light of the amendments to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US-20180105710-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Hong”) in view of Blease et al. (US-20220153047-A1) (hereinafter referred to as “Blease”), with evidence from ElephChem (“Physical Properties of Polyvinyl Alcohol.” Physical Properties of Polyvinyl Alcohol, www.elephchem.com/physical-properties-of-polyvinyl-alcohol) (hereinafter referred to as “ElephChem”) as to the rejection of claims 1, 3-5, 8, and 12 only.
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches a digital ink composition formulated for inkjet printing on fabrics (see Hong at para. 0006-0010 and 0093), comprising:
• a dispersed pigment; a binder/adhesion promoting agent; a crosslinking agent comprising a blocked isocyanate; an aqueous carrier (see Hong at para. 0049 and 0056, teaching the ink may contain a pigment that may be dispersed with a dispersant; also see Hong at para. 0010 and 0044, teaching the ink may contain a crosslinking agent, such as a blocked isocyanate; also see Hong at para. 0064, teaching the ink may contain a water-based fluid carrier; also see Hong at para. 0023, teaching the ink as containing a water-dispersible polyurethane polymer having a backbone with pendant hydroxyl groups and pendant neutralized carboxyl groups; also see Hong at para. 0070, teaching the polyurethane polymer undergoes a crosslinking reaction with the crosslinking agent upon printing, drying, and heating of the ink; accordingly, it necessarily follows that the “polyurethane” polymer of Hong corresponds to the claimed “binder/adhesion promoting agent,” given that upon crosslinking, the polyurethane necessarily hardens into a more durable, and thus more adhesive, coating; alternatively, see Hong at para. 0071, teaching the ink may contain other polymers to enhance rub fastness (i.e., to enhance adhesion));
• 0.4-10 wt.% of a non-volatile organic compound being a thickener, a rheology modifier and/or a humectant, having a boiling point higher than 250 °C, wherein said VOC substitute is a polymeric compound that functions to provide viscosity adjustment and/or moisture retention in the composition and is polyvinyl alcohol (see Hong at para. 0077, teaching the ink may include a viscosity modifier; also see Hong at para. 0077, teaching polyvinyl alcohol as a suitable viscosity modifier; since polyvinyl alcohol is claimed as a suitable VOC substitute, it necessarily follows it meets the claimed boiling point range; products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, see MPEP § 2112.01(II); further, polyvinyl alcohol is known to have a boiling point at 340°C, as evidence by ElephChem; also see Hong at para. 0077, teaching the viscosity modifier may be present in the ink in an amount of 0.5 to 10 wt%, which falls completely within the claimed range); and
• 10-15 wt% of a volatile organic compound having a boiling point of less than 250 °C (see Hong at para. 0079, teaching the ink may contain a penetrating agent, such as ethanol, which has a boiling point of 78 °C; also see Hong at para. 0079, teaching the content of the penetrant (i.e., the ethanol) may range from 1 to 20 wt%; this range overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05);
• the composition has a total amount of solids ranging 10-30 wt.% of the total weight of the composition (see Hong at para. 0047, teaching the ink may contain a polyurethane polymer in an amount ranging from 0.1 to 20 wt%; also see Hong at para. 0057, teaching the ink may contain a colorant in an amount ranging from 0.1 to 10 wt%; also see Hong at para. 0069, teaching the crosslinking agent to range from 0 to 8 wt%; also see Hong at para. 0077, teaching the content of the viscosity modifier to range from 0.5 to 10 wt%; also see Hong at para. 0080, teaching the additional polymers to range from 0.1 to 20 wt%; accordingly, Hong necessarily teaches embodiments where the total solids content ranges from 0.8 to 68 wt% (0.1 + 0.1 + 0 + 0.5 + 0.1 = 0.8 wt% minimum; 20 + 10 + 8 + 10 + 20 = 68 wt% maximum); this range of 0.8 to 68 wt% overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05).
While Hong teaches the composition outlined above, Hong fails to explicitly teach the composition as having a viscosity ranging from 10 to 15 cP.
However, Blease teaches an ink having a pigment, a water dispersible anionic polymeric resin, a water soluble zero volatile organic compound solvent with a boiling point of 250 °C or greater, a crosslinking agent, and water (see Blease at para. 0053 and Abstract). Blease further teaches their ink may include an adhesion promoter (see Blease at para. 0115). Moreover, Blease teaches that most inkjet printers require inks with viscosities in the range of 2-20 cps (see Blease at para. 0014).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the viscosity of the inkjet ink of Hong to range from 2-20 cps. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order for the ink to suitably be used in an inkjet printer (see Blease at para. 0058).
This range of 2-20 cps overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05.
Regarding claim 3, Hong does not necessitate any of the claimed components in their ink; accordingly, Hong necessarily reads on the claims.
Regarding claim 4, Hong does not necessitate the presence of toluene in their ink; accordingly, Hong necessarily reads on the claims.
Regarding claim 5, see Hong at para. 0089, teaching the ink may be used as an inkjet ink in an inkjet printing process; accordingly, it necessarily follows that the ink meets at least one of the limitations as claimed.
Regarding claim 8, with respect to the oscillation test values, such is notably a property of the resulting composition. Regarding product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. The Courts have held that it is well settled that where there is a reason to believe that a functional characteristic would be inherent in the prior art, the burden of proof then shifts to the applicant to provide objective evidence to the contrary. See In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1478, 44 USPQ2d at 1432 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (see MPEP § 2112.01). In other words, burden of proof is shifted to Applicants to show the ink of modified Hong as not meeting the oscillation test value properties as claimed.
Regarding claim 12, see Hong at para. 0044, teaching the polyurethane may be neutralized with an alkali metal hydroxide, such as sodium hydroxide; sodium hydroxide is necessarily an alkali-soluble agent.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Blease, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ogawa et al. (JP-2009215506-A), with reference to the previously included machine translation (hereinafter referred to as “Ogawa”).
Regarding claim 6, while modified Hong teaches the composition according to claim 1 outlined above, modified Hong fails to explicitly teach the composition as having a surface tension ranging from 24 to 35 mN/m.
However, Ogawa teaches an ink for textile printing containing a pigment, a water-dispersible resin, a crosslinking agent, and water (see Ogawa at para. 0009-0010). Ogawa further teaches the surface tension of the ink to range from 30 to 50 mN/m, and that when the surface tension is less than 30 mN/m, the penetration speed of the ink is increased, and the ink film cannot be sufficiently formed on the surface of the fabric, and that when the surface tension of the ink is more than 50 mN/m, the discharge property from the inkjet nozzle is not preferable (see Ogawa at para. 0040).
Hong teaches their ink may be used on a textile/fabric (see Hong at para. 0093 and claim 33).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the surface tension of the ink of modified Hong to range from 30 to 50 mN/m. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so in order to allow for the ink film to sufficiently form on the surface of a fabric and to improve the discharge property of the inkjet nozzle (see Ogawa at para. 0040).
This range of 30 to 50 mN/m overlaps the claimed range, establishing a prima facie case of obviousness, see MPEP § 2144.05.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong in view of Blease, as applied to claim 1 above, or in the alternative, further in view of Zhu (US-5889083-A) (hereinafter referred to as “Zhu”), with evidence from Yamashita et al. (WO-2014126034-A1), with reference to the included machine translation (hereinafter referred to as “Yamashita”), as to the rejection of claim 13 only.
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches the composition according to claim 12 outlined above, wherein the binder/adhesion promoting agent is said alkali-soluble agent (see Hong at para. 0087, teaching the carboxyl groups of the polyurethane can be neutralized to form carboxylate salts; also see Hong at para. 0031, teaching the polyurethane polymer can have a carboxyl number of 0 to 500; a carboxyl number of 500 is extraordinarily high, signifying a very large number of carboxyl groups within the polymer; accordingly, Hong necessarily teaches embodiments where the polyurethane polymer has an extraordinarily high number of carboxylate salts, all of which would render the polymer “alkali-soluble.”
However, in the alternative, Joncryl 67 is a well-known and preferred styrene-acrylic acid copolymer suitable for use as a binder in an aqueous ink composition (see Zhu at col. 5, lines 44-51).
Hong teaches their ink may contain additional polymer for improving rub fastness, including styrene/acrylic acid copolymers (see Hong at para. 0080).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Joncryl 67 as an additional polymer in the ink of Hong, because such a polymer is a preferred styrene acrylic acid binder in the art for aqueous inks (see Zhu at col. 5, lines 44-51). The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960), Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), and MPEP § 2144.07.
Joncryl 67 is an alkali-soluble resin, as evidenced by Yamashita at pg. 52, para. 4.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner agrees that Applicants’ amendments overcome the previous grounds of rejection over Loccufier; however, a new grounds of rejection over Hong is applied, see above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEFFREY EUGENE BARZACH/Examiner, Art Unit 1731
/AMBER R ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731