DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Rejections:
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed on 06/18/2026 are acknowledged and have been fully considered. The Examiner has re-weighed all the evidence of record. Any rejection and/or objection not specifically addressed below is herein withdrawn.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set of rejections and/or objections presently being applied to the instant application.
Claims 1-15 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/22/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US20190255502).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Wu et al. teaches a process for the preparation of formaldehyde-free organic-inorganic microcapsules, comprising a hydrophobic active ingredient-based core, preferably a perfume or a flavour, and a shell comprising inorganic particles consisting of non-chemically surface modified inorganic particles. Microcapsules obtained by said process are also an object of the invention. Consumer products comprising said capsules, in particular perfumed consumer products in the form of home care or personal care products, are also part of the invention (abstract). A first object of the present invention consists of a process for the preparation of a formaldehyde-free organic-inorganic microcapsule slurry comprising the steps of: 1) suspending in water inorganic particles consisting of non-chemically surface modified inorganic particles to form a water phase; 2) admixing at least one polyisocyanate with a hydrophobic active ingredient-containing oil to form an oil phase; 3) adding the oil phase to the water phase and mixing them to form an oil-in-water Pickering emulsion under conditions allowing the formation of an inorganic-organic microcapsule slurry by interfacial polymerization,
said process being characterized in that the water phase is essentially free from formaldehyde ([0020]). Preferably, the at least one polyisocyanate is present in an amount comprised between 0.1 wt % and 40 wt % of the oil phase, preferably from 0.5 to 15 wt %, even more preferably from 1 to 12 wt % of the oil phase ([0044]). The perfuming ingredients may be dissolved in a solvent of current use in the perfume industry. Most preferably, the perfume is essentially free of solvent ([0055]). According to an embodiment, the hydrophobic active ingredient represents between 20 to 50% by weight relative to the total weight of the dispersion as obtained after step 3) ([0056]). By “non-chemically surface modified inorganic particles”, it is meant that the surface of the particles has not been chemically modified so as to have reactive functional groups ([0065]). The inorganic particles according to the invention can be synthetized or natural ([0069]). According to an embodiment, the non-chemically surface modified inorganic particles are chosen in the group consisting of calcium phosphate, silica, silicates, titanium dioxide, aluminium oxide, zinc oxide, iron oxide, mica, kaolin, montmorillonite, laponite, bentonite, perlite, dolomite, diatomite, vermiculite, hectorite, gibbsite, illite, kaolinite, aluminosilicates, gypsum, bauxite, magnesite, talc, magnesium carbonate, calcium carbonate, diatomaceous earth and mixtures thereof ([0071]). According to an embodiment, the non-chemically surface modified inorganic particles have a particle size comprised between 10 nm and 20 μm ([0076]). Preferably, the total amount of inorganic particles present in the aqueous phase is comprised between 0.1 and 20 wt %, preferably between 0.2 and 10 wt % ([0079]). According to particular embodiment, the surface of the microcapsules obtained by the process of the invention can be modified with an additional step. Monomers or polymers suitable for surface modification are selected from compounds which can form chemical bond between the monomer or polymer and the microcapsules and which can improve the compatibility between the microcapsules and a target substrate. Thus, according to a particular embodiment of the invention, during or at the end of step 3) of the process, one may also add to the invention's slurry a polymer selected from the group consisting of a non-ionic polysaccharide, a cationic polymer and mixtures thereof to form an outer coating to the microcapsule ([0080-0081]). Cationic polymers are also well known to a person skilled in the art. Preferred cationic polymers have cationic charge densities of at least 0.5 meq/g, more preferably at least about 1.5 meq/g, but also preferably less than about 7 meq/g, more preferably less than about 6.2 meq/g ([0083]). According to a particular embodiment, one will use cationic polymers based on acrylamide, methacrylamide, N-vinylpyrrolidone, quaternized N,N-dimethylaminomethacryl ate, diallyldimethylammonium chloride, quaternized vinylimidazole (3-methyl-1-vinyl-1H-imidazol-3-ium chloride), vinylpyrrolidone, acrylamidopropyltrimonium chloride, cassia hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether, starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride and cellulose hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride. Preferably copolymers shall be selected from the group consisting of polyquaternium-5, polyquaternium-6, polyquaternium-7, polyquaternium10, polyquaternium-11, polyquaternium-16, polyquaternium-22, polyquaternium-28, polyquaternium-43, polyquaternium-44, polyquaternium-46, cassia hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride, guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether, starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride and cellulose hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride ([0084]). According to any one of the above embodiments of the invention, there is added an amount of polymer described above comprised between about 0% and 5% w/w, or even between about 0.1% and 2% w/w, percentage being expressed on a w/w basis relative to the total weight of the slurry as obtained after step 3). It is clearly understood by a person skilled in the art that only part of said added polymers will be incorporated into/deposited on the microcapsule shell ([0086]). Preferably, the perfuming composition according to the invention comprises between 0.05 to 30%, preferably between 0.1 and 30% by weight of microcapsules as defined above ([0107]). The obtained microcapsules comprising perfume oil are in the form of a slurry (suspension in water) ([0140, 0146]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Wu et al. is that Wu et al. is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9 and 13-14, Wu et al. teaches an aqueous suspension (dispersion) comprising microcapsule comprising silica or silicate as shell and perfume oil as core inside the shell; a cationic polymer such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic guar gum) or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether (cationic galactomannan), starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic starch).
Regarding the content (B) to component (A) and claims 5-6 and 11, Wu et al. teaches cationic polymer at about 0% and 5% w/w ( about 0.1% and 2% w/w) in aqueous suspension, microcapsule component hydrophobic active ingredient perfume oil at 20 to 50% in aqueous suspension, silica or silicate particle 0.1 and 20 wt % in aqueous suspension, and the at least one polyisocyanate amount comprised between 0.1 wt % and 40 wt % of the oil phase, which is about 0.1%x20% to 40%x20% =0.02% to 8% when perfume oil is 20% in the aqueous suspension. Thus, when the cationic polymer (component (B)) is 0.1% of aqueous suspension, component (A) is perfume oil 20% + silica or silicate particle 10%+ polyisocyanate 3.33%=33.33% of aqueous suspension, per 100 parts of component (A), component (B) is 0.1%x (100/33.33) = 0.3 parts.
Regarding claim 2, Wu et al. teaches Preferred cationic polymers have cationic charge densities of at least 0.5 meq/g and less than about 6.2 meq/g.
Regarding claim 10, to make an aqueous suspension comprising component (A) and (B), always including a step of mixing (A) and (B).
Regarding claim 12, Wu et al. is silent about silica formed through sol-gel reaction using an alkoxysilane as a shell precursor, which is regarded as product by process.
With respect to the USC 103 rejection above, please note that in product-by-process claims, “once a product appearing to be substantially identical is found and a 35 U.S.C. 102/103 rejection [is] made, the burden shifts to the applicant to show an unobvious difference.” MPEP 2113. This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102/103 is proper because the “patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production.” In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith.” In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Please note that the Patent and Trademark Office is not equipped to conduct experimentation in order to determine whether Applicants’ hydrated (vitrified matrix) collagen gel differs and, if so, to what extent, from that of the discussed reference. Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the Applicants.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 8 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al. (US20190255502), as applied in the above 103 rejection for claims 1-7 and 9-14, in view of Galeone et al. (US20110104221).
In arguendo that Wu et al.’s silica is different from the silica formed from the process in claim 12, claim 12 is still obvious according to the following discussion.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Wu et al. teaching has already been discussed in the above 103 rejection and is incorporated herein by reference.
Galeone et al. teaches the fragrance composition is encapsulated within a shell comprising a silicon-containing material and the shell has a mean diameter size which is lower than 30 micrometer (abstract, claim 1). The term “silicate shell” refers to a shell material obtained from a silicon-containing material, preferably a silicon-containing material obtained from the hydrolysis and condensation of alkoxysilanes ([0016]). Preferably, the microcapsules have a mean diameter size lower than 30 micrometer, preferably lower than 20 micrometer, for example in the range of 0.5 to 20 micrometer, more preferably in the range between 1 and 10 micrometer, for example in the range of 1.5 to 7 micrometer ([0028]). Preferably, the particle size distribution is small ([0037]). The particle size of the microcapsules produced generally corresponds to the particle size of the starting emulsion and can for example be in the range 0.1 to 30 micrometer ([0058]). A Sol-Gel Process of preparing microcapsule comprising silica particle from tetraethoxysilane (TEOS) ([0135]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Wu et al. is that Wu et al. do not expressly teach particle size of microcapsule and sol-gel process. This deficiency in Wu et al. is cured by the teachings of Galeone et al.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wu et al., as suggested by Galeone et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have particle size of microcapsule from 0.1um to 30um because this is optimization under prior art condition or through routing experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. Under guidance from Galeone et al. teaching microcapsule comprising silicate particle and fragrance having particle size of 0.1 um to 30um, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have particle size of microcapsule from 0.1um to 30um and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare silica particle for microcapsule encapsulating fragrance formed through sol-gel process using an alkoxysilane as a shell precursor because this is known process for preparing silica particle for microcapsule encapsulating fragrance formed through sol-gel process using tetraethoxysilane (an alkoxysilane) as a shell precursor as suggested by Galeone et al. Thus, it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare silica particle for microcapsule encapsulating fragrance formed through sol-gel process using an alkoxysilane as a shell precursor and produce instant claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, since prior art teaches particle size of microcapsule from 0.1 um to 30um, the median particle size is inside the range of 0.1 um to 30 um.
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki (US20160303531).
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art
(MPEP 2141.01)
Yamazaki teaches a process for producing microcapsules capable of retaining an organic compound as an active ingredient such as fragrance materials therein over a long period of time. The present invention relates to process for producing microcapsules, which includes step (1) of emulsifying an organic phase including at least one organic compound and a tetraalkoxysilane such that a content of the tetraalkoxysilane in the organic phase is not less than 10% by mass and not more than 60% by mass on the basis of the organic compound, in a water phase inducing a surfactant, and subjecting the resulting emulsion to a sol-gel reaction under acidic conditions to form capsules each including the core and the first shell; and step (2) of further adding a tetraalkoxysilane to a water dispersion containing the capsules obtained in the step (1), and subjecting the obtained mixture to a sol-gel reaction while maintaining an initial pH value in the sol-gel reaction of the step (2) below an initial pH value in the sol-gel reaction of the step (1) to form the capsules each including the second shell encapsulating the first shell (abstract). That is, the present invention relates to the following aspects [1] and [2]. [1] A process for producing microcapsules each containing a first shell and a second shell which include silica as a constitutional component thereof, and a core including at least one organic compound which is encapsulated within the first shell, said process including the following steps (1) and (2): step (1): emulsifying an organic phase including the at least one organic compound and a tetraalkoxysilane such that a content of the tetraalkoxysilane in the organic phase is not less than 10% by mass and not more than 60% by mass on the basis of the organic compound, in a water phase including a surfactant, and subjecting the resulting emulsion to sol-gel reaction under acidic conditions to form capsules each including the core and the first shell; and step (2): further adding a tetraalkoxysilane to a water dispersion containing the capsules obtained in the step (1), and subjecting the obtained mixture to sol-gel reaction while maintaining an initial pH value in the sol-gel reaction of the step (2) below an initial pH value in the sol-gel reaction of the step (1) to form the capsules each including the second shell encapsulating the first shell. Microcapsules each containing a core including at least one organic compound, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, in which the first shell encapsulating the core includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 5 to 20 nm; the second shell encapsulating the first shell includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 10 to 100 nm; and the microcapsules have an average particle size of 0.5 to 50 μm ([0013-0015]). In the process for producing the microcapsules according to the present invention, the total amount of the tetraalkoxysilane used therein is preferably not less than 20% by mass, and more preferably not less than 30% by mass, and is also preferably not more than 60% by mass, and more preferably not more than 50% by mass on the basis of the organic compound. When controlling the total amount of the tetraalkoxysilane used in the production process to the above specific range, it is possible to retain the organic compound in the core over a long period of time ([0045]). Step (1-1): prior to the step (2), adding a cationic polymer compound to the water dispersion containing the capsules obtained in the step (1) ([0049]). The equivalent amount of the cationic group in the cationic polymer compound is preferably not less than 1 meq/g, more preferably not less than 3 meq/g, and even more preferably not less than 4.5 meq/g, from the viewpoints of attaining good dispersibility of the capsules and suppressing formation of coarse particles, and enhancing retentivity of the materials to be encapsulated in the capsules. Also, from the same viewpoints, the equivalent amount of the cationic group in the cationic polymer compound is preferably not more than 10 meq/g, and more preferably not more than 8 meq/g ([0052]). Specific examples of the cationic polymer compound include polydiallyldimethylammonium chlorides and copolymers thereof such as poly(diallyldimethylammonium chloride), poly(acrylic acid-co-diallyldimethylammonium chloride), poly(acrylamide-co-diallyldimethylammonium chloride) and poly(acrylamide-co-acrylic acid-co-diallyldimethylammonium chloride), poly(2-(methacryloyloxy)ethyltrimethylammonium chloride), polyethyleneimine, polyallylamine, cationized cellulose, cationized guar gum, cationized tara gum, cationized fenugreek gum and cationized locust bean gum. Of these cationic polymer compounds, preferred are polydiallyldimethylammonium chlorides and copolymers thereof, more preferred is at least one compound selected from the group consisting of poly(diallyldimethylammonium chloride), poly(acrylic acid-co-diallyldimethylammonium chloride) and poly(acrylamide-co-acrylic acid-co-diallyldimethylammonium chloride), and even more preferred is poly(diallyldimethylammonium chloride) ([0053]). The amount of the cationic polymer compound added is preferably not less than 0.05% by mass, more preferably not less than 0.1% by mass, and even more preferably not less than 0.2% by mass, and is also preferably not more than 5% by mass, more preferably not more than 3% by mass, and even more preferably not more than 1% by mass, on the basis of the organic compound to be encapsulated in the capsules ([0054]). Wherein the organic compound contained in the core is preferably at least one material selected from the group consisting of a fragrance material, a fragrance precursor, an oil, an antioxidant, a cooling agent, a dye, a pigment, a silicone, a solvent and an oil-soluble polymer, more preferably at least one material selected from the group consisting of a fragrance material, a fragrance precursor, an oil, an antioxidant and a solvent, even more preferably at least one material selected from the group consisting of a fragrance material and a fragrance precursor, and further even more preferably a fragrance precursor ([0089]. Production of Microcapsules Including First Shell and Second Shell Step (1). An aqueous solution was prepared by diluting 3.48 g of “QUARTAMIN 60W” (tradename; cetyltrimethylammonium chloride; active ingredient; 30% by mass) available from Kao Corporation with 196.52 g of ion-exchanged water. The thus prepared aqueous solution was mixed with an oil phase prepared by mixing 80 g of a model fragrance material A and 20 g of tetraethoxysilane (TEOS), and the resulting mixed solution was emulsified using a homomixer whose rotating speed was set to 9000 rpm. At this time, the average particle size of emulsified droplets in the resulting emulsion was 2.2 μm. After adjusting a pH value of the emulsion to 3.7 using a 1 N sodium hydroxide aqueous solution, the emulsion was transferred into a separable flask equipped with an agitation blade and a condenser, and stirred therein at 160 rpm for 18 h while maintaining the liquid temperature at 30° C. Step (2). Next, 130 g of the resulting suspension was transferred into an additional vessel, and while maintaining the liquid temperature at 30° C., 5.1 g of TEOS was added dropwise into the suspension having a pH value of 2.9 over 100 min. After completion of the dropwise addition, the suspension was further continuously stirred for 20 h and then cooled, thereby obtaining a suspension containing microcapsules having an average particle size of 2.3 μm in which the model fragrance material A was encapsulated. The encapsulation rates of hexyl acetate, tetrahydrolinalol and hexylcinnamyl aldehyde among the fragrance components contained in the model fragrance material A were 98%, 100% and 100%, respectively. Next, 2 g of the resulting suspension containing the microcapsules was dispersed in 0.5 g of an aqueous solution containing 3% of gum Arabic ([0146-0148]).
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims
(MPEP 2141.02)
The difference between the instant application and Yamazaki is not specific enough for anticipation.
Finding of prima facie obviousness
Rational and Motivation (MPEP 2142-2143)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce the instant invention.
Regarding claims 1, 4-5, 7-9 and 15, Yamazaki teaches an aqueous suspension (dispersion) comprising Microcapsules (component A) each containing a core including at least one organic compound such as fragrance, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, in which the first shell encapsulating the core includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 5 to 20 nm; the second shell encapsulating the first shell includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 10 to 100 nm; and the microcapsules have an average particle size of 0.5 to 50 μm; and cationic guar gum (component B).
Regarding the ratio of component B to component A, Yamazaki teaches tetraalkoxysilane (silica precursor) is 30-50% of encapsulated organic compound, and cationic polymer such as cationic guar gum is 0.2-3% of organic compound, when tetraalkoxysilane (silica precursor) is about 40% of organic compound, the ratio of component B to component A (total mass of organic compound and silica) can be calculated roughly as: (0.2-3%)/ (1+40%) = 0.14% - 2.1% =0.14 to 2.1 parts by 100 parts of component A.
Regarding claim 2, Yamazaki teaches cationic polymer with cation charge density 1-10 meq/g.
Regarding claims 3 and 13-14, Yamazaki teaches cationic guar gum, cation starch and cationic galactomannan are just another cationic polysaccharide alternative to cationic guar gum (examiner’s position).
Regarding claims 6 and 10-11, Yamazaki teaches in one working example in first step, a suspension from an aqueous solution (196.52g+3.48g=200g) + 80g fragrance + 20G TEGS =300g; a second suspension from 130g of resulting first suspension (aqueous part =130x (2/3)=86.67, fragrance =130 x (80/300)=34.67, TEOS= 130x (20/300)= 8.66) and 5.1g TEOS, then the total amount of fragrance and TEOS for microcapsule is 34.67+8.66+5.1=48.43g, thus, the percentage of microcapsule is 48.43 / (130+5.1)=35.8%; the final step, the 2 g of 2nd suspension is mixed with 0.5g aqueous solution to form the final suspension, then the percentage of microcapsule is (35.8% x2) / (2+0.5) = 28.64% in the aqueous suspension. According to the calculated ratio of component B (0.14% - 2.1% of component A), the component B in the aqueous dispersion is 28.64% x0.14% to 28.64%x2.1% =0.04% to 0.60% by weight. The mixing of component A and component B is obvious.
Regarding claim 12, Yamazaki teaches silica shell form a sol-gel reaction using tetraalkoxysilane (alkoxysilane).
In light of the forgoing discussion, the Examiner concludes that the subject matter defined by the instant claims would have been obvious within the meaning of 35 USC 103.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Argument:
Applicants argue that there is no teaching of narrow range of 0.03 to 3, it should be broad 0.111 to 24.9; and optimal range of 0.03 to 3 according to applicant’ specification.
In response to this argument: this is not persuasive. The examiner’s calculation is based on one number to show prior art range is overlap with encompassing applicant’s claimed range of 0.03 to 3. Just as applicants admitted that prior art teaches broad range encompassing claimed range of 0.03 to 3. MPEP 2144.05, In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Applicant’s specification in [0040] at best recites the ration of 0.03 to 3 as preferred embodiment, and it is not sufficient to show criticality of claimed range of 0.03 to 3 because there is not enough test in and out of claimed range to show criticality. MPEP 716.02(d), To establish unexpected results over a claimed range, applicants should compare a sufficient number of tests both inside and outside the claimed range to show the criticality of the claimed range. In re Hill, 284 F.2d 955, 128 USPQ 197 (CCPA, 1960). Therfore, prior art teaches applicant’s claimed range of 0.03 to 3 and the 103 rejection is still proper.
Applicants argue about claim 15.
In response to this argument: this argument is not persuasive since the new ground of 103 rejection necessitated by amendment teaches claim 15.
MPEP 2141 III states: “The proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts.” Respectfully, after weighing all the evidence, the Examiner has reached a determination that the instant claims are not patentable in view of the preponderance of evidence and consideration of all the facts which is more convincing than the evidence which has been offered in opposition to it.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12491487 in view of Wu et al. (US20190255502) and Yamazaki (US20160303531). The reference patent teaches microcapsule comprising silica as shell and fragrance as core, but silent about a cationic polysaccharide, in view of Wu et al. teaching an aqueous dispersion of microcapsule and cationic polymer such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic guar gum) or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether (cationic galactomannan), starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic starch), Yamazaki teaching Microcapsules (component A) each containing a core including at least one organic compound such as fragrance, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, in which the first shell encapsulating the core includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 5 to 20 nm; the second shell encapsulating the first shell includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 10 to 100 nm; and the microcapsules have an average particle size of 0.5 to 50 μm; it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12448571 in view of Wu et al. (US20190255502) and Yamazaki (US20160303531). The reference patent teaches microcapsule comprising silica as shell and fragrance as core, but silent about a cationic polysaccharide, in view of Wu et al. teaching an aqueous dispersion of microcapsule and cationic polymer such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic guar gum) or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether (cationic galactomannan), starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic starch), Yamazaki teaching Microcapsules (component A) each containing a core including at least one organic compound such as fragrance, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, in which the first shell encapsulating the core includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 5 to 20 nm; the second shell encapsulating the first shell includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 10 to 100 nm; and the microcapsules have an average particle size of 0.5 to 50 μm; it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 10046291 in view of Wu et al. (US20190255502). The reference patent teaches microcapsule comprising silica as shell and fragrance as core, Microcapsules each comprising a core comprising at least one organic compound, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, wherein the first shell encapsulating the core comprises silica and has a thickness of not less than 5 nm and not more than 20 nm; wherein the second shell encapsulating the first shell comprises silica and has a thickness of not less than 10 nm and not more than 100 nm; and wherein the microcapsules have an average particle size of not less than 0.5 μm and not more than 50 μm (claim 13),
but silent about a cationic polysaccharide, in view of Wu et al. teaching an aqueous dispersion of microcapsule and cationic polymer such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic guar gum) or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether (cationic galactomannan), starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic starch), it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18573451 in view of Wu et al. (US20190255502) and Yamazaki (US20160303531). The copending application teaches an aqueous dispersion comprising microcapsule comprising silica as shell and fragrance as core, but silent about a cationic polysaccharide, in view of Wu et al. teaching cationic polymer such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic guar gum) or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether (cationic galactomannan), starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic starch) and Yamazaki teaching Microcapsules (component A) each containing a core including at least one organic compound such as fragrance, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, in which the first shell encapsulating the core includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 5 to 20 nm; the second shell encapsulating the first shell includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 10 to 100 nm; and the microcapsules have an average particle size of 0.5 to 50 μm; it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 17-26 of copending Application No. 17789104 in view of Wu et al. (US20190255502) and Yamazaki (US20160303531). The copending application teaches an aqueous dispersion comprising microcapsule comprising silica as shell and fragrance as core, but silent about a cationic polysaccharide, in view of Wu et al. teaching cationic polymer such as guar hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic guar gum) or polygalactomannan 2-hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium chloride ether (cationic galactomannan), starch hydroxypropyltrimonium chloride (cationic starch), Yamazaki teaching Microcapsules (component A) each containing a core including at least one organic compound such as fragrance, a first shell encapsulating the core, and a second shell encapsulating the first shell, in which the first shell encapsulating the core includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 5 to 20 nm; the second shell encapsulating the first shell includes silica as a constitutional component thereof and has a thickness of 10 to 100 nm; and the microcapsules have an average particle size of 0.5 to 50 μm; it is obvious to produce applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Response to Argument:
Applicants argue the same argument in 103 rejection that there is no teaching of ration of 0.03 to 3.
In response to this argument: this is not persuasive. As discussed in the above 103 rejection and response to argument: both Wu et al. (US20190255502) and Yamazaki (US20160303531) teaches the claimed ratio of 0.03 to 3 and double patenting rejections are still proper.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANFENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613