DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 7-9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paulsen et al. “Geometry-driven folding of a floating annular sheet”. Physical review letters 118.4 (2017): 048004.
Regarding claims 1 and 2: Paulsen et al. teaches a film/sheet comprising a axisymmetric shell (fig. 1(a)) formed from the polymer polystyrene (pg. 048004-1, second column). Paulsen et al. teaches the film modifies the surface energy of the exposed liquid interfaces (pg. 048004-3, first column), which is at least one property of a surface of a liquid.
Regarding claims 7 and 14: Paulsen et al. teaches a pressure difference/different tensions across the shell (abstract).
Regarding claims 8 and 9: Paulsen et al. teaches a system comprising a film/sheet comprising a axisymmetric shell (fig. 1(a)) formed from the polymer polystyrene (pg. 048004-1, second column) on the surface of a liquid (abstract). Paulsen et al. teaches the film modifies the surface energy of the exposed liquid interfaces (pg. 048004-3, first column), which is at least one property of a surface of a liquid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-6, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulsen et al. “Geometry-driven folding of a floating annular sheet”. Physical review letters 118.4 (2017): 048004 as applied to claims 1 and 8 set forth above.
Regarding claims 3 and 10: Paulsen et al. teaches a Young’s modulus E of 3.4 GPa, which overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP 2144.05 I). Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have an overlapping Young’s modulus and would have been motivated to do so since Paulsen et al. teaches this is an acceptable value to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claims 4 and 11: Paulsen et al. teaches a thickness of about 20-500 nm (fig. 3 (b)), which overlaps the claimed range. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the overlapping thickness and would have been motivated to do so since Paulsen et al. teaches it is an acceptable thickness to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claims 5 and 12: Paulsen et al. teaches a radius of curvature/Rout of 6.5-10.5 mm (pg. 048004-1, second column), which overlaps the claimed range. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the overlapping radius of curvature and would have been motivated to do so since Paulsen et al. teaches it is an acceptable curvature to achieve the disclosed invention.
Regarding claims 6 and 13: Paulsen et al. teaches a boundary radius/Rin of 1.2-5.7 mm (pg. 048004-1, second column), which overlaps the claimed range. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to use the overlapping boundary radius and would have been motivated to do so since Paulsen et al. teaches it is an acceptable radius to achieve the disclosed invention.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulsen et al. “Geometry-driven folding of a floating annular sheet”. Physical review letters 118.4 (2017): 048004 as applied to claim 8 set forth above and in view of Kumar, Deepak, et al. "Wrapping with a splash: High-speed encapsulation with ultrathin sheets." Science 359.6377 (2018): 775-778.
Regarding claim 15: Paulsen et al. teaches the basic claimed system as set forth above. Not disclosed is the oil on the shell. However, Kumar et al. teaches oil dropped on the film (abstract). Paulsen et al. and Kumar et al. are analogous art since they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely thin films on liquid interfaces. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention a person having ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to put the oil on the film of Paulsen et al. as in Kumar et al. and would have been motivated to do so in order to enclose the oil in the film.
Contact Information
/MEGAN MCCULLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767