Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Regarding claim 5, claim 5 recites “wherein the patient electrode is affixed to a patient” which positively recites human organism of “patient”; a suggested edit is to use intended use type language such as “adapted to be” or “configured to be”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the ECG processing circuit" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Note that claim 1 recites “ECG processing circuitry”; it is unclear and thus indefinite as to whether “the ECG processing circuit” is the same as “ECG processing circuitry”. For examination purposes below, it will be assumed they are the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Acquista (US 20170258402 A1; 9/14/2017; cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Acquista teaches an electrocardiogram (ECG) measurement node for a patient electrode (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0046]-[0048]), comprising
an electrode interface electrically and removably coupled to the patient electrode (Fig. 2A; Fig. 6; [0011]; [0013]; [0060]; [0131]); and
ECG processing circuitry electrically coupled to the electrode interface, wherein the ECG processing circuitry is configured to generate an ECG signal (Fig. 2A; Fig. 6; [0011]; [0013]; [0041]; [0046]-[0047]; [0050]; [0131]).
Regarding claim 2, Acquista teaches further comprising a battery ([0013] “battery”).
Regarding claim 3, Acquista teaches wherein the ECG processing circuit comprises one or more amplifiers, one or more filters, and/or one or more analog-to-digital converters (Fig. 2A; [0050]).
Regarding claim 4, Acquista teaches further comprising a transceiver configured to wirelessly transmit the ECG signal and/or a control signal (Fig. 2A; Fig. 18-20; [0050] “antenna”; [0083] “wireless”).
Regarding claim 5, Acquista teaches wherein the patient electrode is affixed to a patient (Fig. 3; Fig. 10-12; Fig. 14).
Regarding claim 7, Acquista teaches an ECG measurement network (Fig. 1-2A; Fig. 3; [0046]-[0048]), comprising:
a first ECG measurement node for a first patient electrode (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0046]-[0048]), comprising:
a first electrode interface electrically and removably coupled to the first patient electrode (Fig. 2A; Fig. 6; [0011]; [0013]; [0060]; [0131]); and
first ECG processing circuitry electrically coupled to the first electrode interface, wherein the first ECG processing circuitry is configured to generate a first ECG signal (Fig. 2A; Fig. 6; [0011]; [0013]; [0041]; [0046]-[0047]; [0050]; [0131]); and
a second ECG measurement note for a second patient electrode (10b) (Fig. 1; Fig. 3; [0046]-[0048]), comprising:
a second electrode interface electrically and removably coupled to the second patient electrode (Fig. 2A; Fig. 6; [0011]; [0013]; [0060]; [0131]); and
second ECG processing circuitry electrically coupled to the second electrode interface, wherein the second ECG processing circuitry is configured to generate a second ECG signal (Fig. 2A; Fig. 6; [0011]; [0013]; [0041]; [0046]-[0047]; [0050]; [0131]);
wherein the first ECG measurement node and the second ECG measurement node are communicatively coupled to a patient monitor (Fig. 1; [0043]; [0045]; [0055]; [0058]; [0080]).
Regarding claim 8, Acquista teaches further comprising a central access point communicatively coupled to the first ECG measurement node, the second ECG measurement node, and the patient monitor (Fig. 1; [0043]; [0055]; [0058]).
Regarding claim 9, Acquista teaches wherein the central access point is wirelessly coupled to the patient monitor (Fig. 1; [0043]; [0055]; [0058]).
Regarding claim 11, Acquista teaches wherein the first ECG measurement node is wirelessly coupled to the patient monitor (Fig. 1; Fig. 2A; Fig. 18-20; [0050] “antenna”; [0083] “wireless”; [0043]-[0044]; [0055]; [0058])
Regarding claim 12, Acquista teaches wherein the first ECG measurement node is communicatively coupled to the second ECG measurement node (Fig. 1; [0043]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 13, Acquista teaches wherein the first ECG measurement node is wirelessly coupled to the second ECG measurement node (Fig. 1; [0043]; [0055]).
Regarding claim 14, Acquista teaches wherein the first ECG measurement node is communicatively coupled to the second ECG measurement node via a central access point (Fig. 1; [0043]; [0055]; [0058]).
Regarding claim 15, Acquista teaches wherein the first ECG measurement node and the second ECG measurement node form a local mesh network (Fig. 1; [0043]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Acquista as applied to claim(s) 1, 8 above, in view of Nazeri (US 20060167353 A1; 7/27/2006).
Regarding claim 6, Acquista does not teach further comprising a fiber optic interface configured to transmit the ECG signal and/or a control signal via a fiber optic link. However, Nazeri teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; [0006]) further comprising a fiber optic interface configured to transmit the ECG signal and/or a control signal via a fiber optic link ([0017] “fiber optic”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Acquista to include this feature as taught by Nazeri because this is a suitable structure to transmit signals ([0017]); MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 10, Acquista does not teach wherein the first ECG measurement node is communicatively coupled to the central access point via a fiber optic link. However, Nazeri teaches in the same field of endeavor (Abstract; [0006]) wherein the first ECG measurement node is communicatively coupled to the central access point via a fiber optic link ([0017] “fiber optic”). Thus it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching of Acquista to include this feature as taught by Nazeri because this is a suitable structure to transmit signals ([0017]); MPEP 2144.07.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN T KUO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3792