DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has complied with all of the conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e).
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings received on 12/22/2023 were reviewed and are acceptable.
Specification
The specification filed on 12/22/2023 was reviewed and is acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “a metal oxide layer situated…over one of opposite surfaces of the metal layer…the one being a surface opposite to a surface of the metal layer on a side of the porous base material” in lines 6-10. It is unclear whether the metal oxide layer, when only one layer is required, is disposed over the metal layer opposite of the porous base material, consistent with Instant Fig 1, or disposed between the metal layer and the porous base material, consistent with “the one a surface…on a side of the porous base material” (but opposite to a surface of the metal layer). For purposes of this Office Action, it will be assumed that the metal oxide layer is intended to be disposed over the metal layer opposite of the porous base material, consistent with Instant Fig 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 2020/0303706 A1; hereinafter “Smith”).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a separator (Title) comprising:
a porous base material (microporous PP membrane, [0034]);
a metal layer (Al layer, [0034]) situated over either or both of opposite surfaces of the porous base material (as shown in Fig 11); and
a metal oxide layer (Al2O3 layer, [0028, 0034]) situated either over one of opposite surface of the metal layer or over both of the opposite surfaces of the metal layer, the one being a surface opposite to a surface of the metal layer on a side of the porous base material (as shown in Fig 11).
With respect to the limitation “A separator for a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery…” (emphasis added), it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which the claimed article is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed article from a prior art article satisfying the claimed structural limitations (see MPEP 2114(II)). Therefore, while the intended use language of the claim has been considered, it is noted that the prior art separator is capable of performing the functions as claimed because Smith discloses a separator for lithium batteries (Title), which allows for the prior art to perform the functions as claimed.
Regarding claim 2, Smith discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Smith further discloses that a thickness of the metal oxide layer is from 3 nm through 100 nm (20 nm Al2O3, [0020], which falls within the recited range).
Regarding claim 5, Smith discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Smith further discloses that the metal layer contains Al (Al layer, [0034]).
Regarding claim 6, Smith discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Smith further discloses that the metal oxide layer contains an oxide of Al (Al2O3 layer, [0028, 0034]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2020/0303706 A1; hereinafter “Smith”), as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 3, Smith discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Smith does not explicitly disclose the recited ratio being 1.40 or greater.
Smith is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely separators for lithium batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the separator of Smith would reasonably exhibit at least an overlapping ratio as recited, and to routinely select the overlapping portions of the disclosed ranges because selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05 (I)), because the disclosed separator has the recited metal layer and metal oxide layer (as noted above), which the Instant Specification evidences results in the recited ratio (see e.g. Instant Specification [0056]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2020/0303706 A1; hereinafter “Smith”), as applied to claim 3 above, in view of Shi et al. US 2017/0025658 A1; hereinafter “Shi”).
Regarding claim 4, Smith discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Smith discloses that the coatings may be a metal or metal oxide ([0005]) does not explicitly disclose that the metal and metal oxide are copper and copper oxide.
Shi teaches separators for batteries (Title). Shi teaches a substantially similar separator to that of Smith (see e.g. [0093]). Shi teaches that the metal for deposition may be a reactive metal, e.g. aluminum, nickel, or copper ([0095]).
Shi is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely separators for lithium batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to routinely utilize copper and copper oxide as the metal and metal oxide coatings for the separator of Smith, as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use a known material for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result, as suggested by Shi.
The skilled artisan would accordingly find the recited areas of peaks obvious because the metal and metal oxides are the same, namely Cu and CuO (as noted above).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 2020/0303706 A1; hereinafter “Smith”), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Chizawa (US 2020/0051755 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Smith discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above.
Smith discloses that the separator is used in a secondary battery ([0002]), which necessarily comprises a pair of electrodes and the recited separator situated between the pair of electrodes in order to function as a battery, but does not explicitly disclose the secondary battery being a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery.
Chizawa teaches a nonaqueous electrolyte energy storage device (Title).
Chizawa is analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely lithium secondary batteries.
Before the effective filing date of the current invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art that the secondary battery of Smith must actually utilize some electrolyte, and would thus find it obvious to routinely design the battery of Smith to be a nonaqueous electrolyte battery, as doing so would amount to nothing more than to use known materials for their intended uses in a known environment to accomplish an entirely predictable result, as suggested by Chizawa.
Conclusion
/JAMES M ERWIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725 06/15/2026