DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response to the Non-Final Office Action dated 01/26/2026, filed with the office on 07/24/2026, has been entered and made of record.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 08/07/2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11, 14-19 are pending. Claims 20-22, and 24-25 are withdrawn. Claims 7, 8, 10, 12-13, 23, and 26-28 are cancelled.
Response to Amendments
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objections of record with respect to the drawing is withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objections of record with respect to the specification is withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendments, the objection of record with respect to claims 2 and 19 has been withdrawn.
In light of Applicant’s amendments of claims independent claim 1 and 19, the 35 U.S.C 101 rejection of record for abstract idea mental process has been withdrawn. Examiner agrees with Applicant’s arguments presented on page 10, 5th paragraph, the claims are directed towards a particular machine that integrates the abstract idea into significantly more.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments of independent claims 1 and 19 which has altered the scope of the claims of the instant application, has necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action with respect to claims of the instant application. Accordingly, in response to Applicant’s arguments that are merely directed to the amended portion of the claims, new analyses have been presented below, which make Applicant’s arguments moot.
Consequently, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider et al. (WO 2011/138744 A2) in view of Arnold et al. (US 2010/0149020 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Bretschneider teaches “A computer implemented method for detecting vessels (Bretschneider page 6 lines 31-33 and page 7 lines 1-2 "The application provides a method for verifying AIS messages. The method includes a step of receiving AIS messages of a vessel. Remote observation information of the vessel is then generated whilst a vessel characteristic is later derived from the remote observation information"), the method comprising:
determining if a match exists between an object detection from each of two or more detectors, based on data obtained by the two or more detectors (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 11 lines 5-14 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic. The verification is performed by one of the observation platforms 14, 15, and 16 or is performed jointly with between observation platforms 14, 15, and 16. Verification mismatches, which can refer to inconsistencies or anomalies, are then raised as alarms and are communicated to the central entity 19 for further verification or action"),
wherein the two or more detectors comprise: (i) and
(Bretschneider page 4 lines 9-13 "The remote sensing refers to observing or sensing of objects from a distance or a remote place. Sensors used for the remote sensing are not in direct contact with the observed objects. Such sensors can include optical, infrared, sonar, or radar means"); and/or
(ii)an Automatic Identification System (AIS) receiver (Bretschneider page 4 lines 18- 20 "The verification of the AIS message serve to identify vessels that pose a possible security threat to other vessels, to man-made installations, to environment, and even to society"), and wherein it is determined that a vessel is detected if it is determined that the match exists (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 11 lines 5-14 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic. The verification is performed by one of the observation platforms 14, 15, and 16 or is performed jointly with between observation platforms 14, 15, and 16. Verification mismatches, which can refer to inconsistencies or anomalies, are then raised as alarms and are communicated to the central entity 19 for further verification or action"), wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises:
(Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-19 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54. Similarly, the extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify vessel feature, such as vessel size and dimensions, as shown in a step 56. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel characteristics, such as vessel speed, as shown in a step 58. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel type, as shown in a step 60").
However, Bretschneider is not relied on to teach “an RF antenna”, “wherein the RF antenna comprises a plurality of RF antennas, and wherein the plurality of RF antennas are arranged with a plurality of adjacent detection ranges”, “determining if an RF signal has been detected in two or more of the plurality of adjacent detection ranges based on the data obtained by the plurality of RF antennas; and identifying a potential vessel track that corresponds to the detected RF signal in the two or more of the plurality of adjacent detection ranges wherein the potential vessel track is indicated by the data obtained by the radar detector”.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Arnold teaches “an RF antenna (Arnold paragraph [0067] "Signal generator 12 can be a radio frequency ("RF") generator that generates RF signals. For example, signal generator 12 can generate a frequency modulated continuous wave ("FMCW") RF signal. The FMCW RF signal can be generated via direct digital synthesis and frequency multiplication. In these embodiments, circuitry 11 includes RF circuitry having RF switches. The RF switches are used to switch the transmission path for an RF signal to each (e.g., transmitting) antenna in the antenna array 31 in sequence"); and (Arnold paragraph [0070] "radar vehicular traffic sensors that use multiple radar beams to cover a (potentially wide) detection area and create position information within that detection area. Using a multiple radar beam system vehicle movements can be tracked as the vehicle position moves across the different beams")”, “wherein the RF antenna comprises a plurality of RF antennas, and wherein the plurality of RF antennas are arranged with a plurality of adjacent detection ranges (Arnold paragraph [0071] "FMCW RF radar systems can measure the range to the targets in the radar beam. Each beam in a multiple beam system can overlap to some extent with adjacent beams. In some embodiments, this results in there being no gaps in coverage. The system can measure the distance to targets in each of the beams")”, and “determining if an RF signal has been detected in two or more of the plurality of adjacent detection ranges based on the data obtained by the plurality of RF antennas (Arnold paragraph [0080] "When the magnitude of identified energy from a specified range bin indicates a potential target, sensor 20 can then determine whether or not the magnitude of identified energy from the specified range bin is an energy peak. That is, whether or not the magnitude of the specified range bin is greater than the magnitude of the identified energy in any surrounding adjacent range bins. In some embodiments, a target or at least a larger portion ( or largest portion of) a target is assumed to be located in a range bin that is an energy peak"); and
identifying a potential vessel track that corresponds to the detected RF signal in the two or more of the plurality of adjacent detection ranges (Arnold paragraph [0082] "When a target is detected (i.e., when the magnitude of identified energy in a specified range bin is greater than a threshold and greater than any surrounding adjacent range bins), sensor 20 can use the magnitude of the identified energy in the specified range bin and the magnitude of the energy in any surrounding adjacent range bins to compute the position of the target. In some embodiments, a two-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system is used to more precisely represent positions on a roadway. For example, a Cartesian coordinate system can be used to represent positions in intersection 41. As such, identified energy magnitudes from grid 42 can be used to calculate the position (e.g., X and Y coordinates) of targets in intersection 41"), wherein the potential vessel track is indicated by the data obtained by the radar detector (Arnold paragraph [0083] "FIG. 2C depicts a detected target within the plurality of beams of the traffic sensor 20. FIG. 3 illustrates an example flow chart of a method 300 for filtering computed target positions across a plurality of beams of a multiple beam radar system in a roadway”)”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection as taught by Bretschneider to include an RF antenna and radar detection as taught by Arnold.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been “an act an act of identifying an energy peak within the multi-beam image (act 403). For example, sensor 20 can identify an energy peak in range bin D6 (as indicated by cross-hatching in range bin D6). Identifying an energy peak can include for a specified range bin in one of the beams of the sub-plurality of beams, an act of determining that the magnitude of the identified energy in the specified range bin is above a specified threshold (act 404). Identifying an energy peak can also include for the specified range bin, an act of determining that the magnitude of the identified energy in the specified range bin is greater than the magnitude of the identified energy in any of the surrounding adjacent range bins within the grid of range bin (act 405)" as noted by the Arnold disclosure in paragraph 88. It would be obvious to use adjacent range bins as the pins provide location information of the target.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider with the Arnold disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 19 recites a system with elements corresponding to the method with steps
recited in claim 1. Therefore, the recited elements of this claim are mapped to the
proposed combination in the same manner as the corresponding steps of method
claim 1. Additionally, the rationale and motivation to combine the Bretschneider and Arnold references, presented in rejection of claim 1 apply to this claim. The additional of claim 19 “a processor (is taught by Bretschneider page 10 lines 7-10 “The authentication device 30 includes a processing unit 32 that is connected to a memory unit 34, to a remote sensing device 36, to an AIS receiver 37,and to a communication port 38”)”.
Claims 2, 13-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider and Arnold, in further view of Kellner et al. (EP 3 467 545 A1).
Regarding claim 2, the combination Bretschneider and Appel teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the match is in respect of position, bearing relative to the two or more detectors (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 11 lines 5-14 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic. The verification is performed by one of the observation platforms 14, 15, and 16 or is performed jointly with between observation platforms 14, 15, and 16. Verification mismatches, which can refer to inconsistencies or anomalies, are then raised as alarms and are communicated to the central entity 19 for further verification or action") speed, (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-19 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54. Similarly, the extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify vessel feature, such as vessel size and dimensions, as shown in a step 56. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel characteristics, such as vessel speed, as shown in a step 58. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel type, as shown in a step 60"), and/ or
However, the combination Bretschneider and Arnold is not relied on to teach matching with respect to track and heading of the object.
Kellner teaches matching with respect to “track (Kellner paragraph [0039] "A tracking filter, e.g., a Kalman filter, maintains tracks associated with detected objects based on sensor signals received from the sensor systems. Each object track is associated with an object state. The object state comprises an object motion state which describes a set of physical parameters related to the tracked object. For instance, object motion state may comprise a position in relative or absolute coordinates, a heading vector, a velocity vector, and an acceleration vector") […] and/ or heading of the object (Kellner paragraph [0061] "one or more of the received sensor signals 110 comprises detection information associated with a first object, the detection information comprising any of; position coordinates relative to a sensor, position coordinates in an absolute coordinate system, a velocity vector, an acceleration vector, a bearing relative to a sensor, a heading").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine
a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection with verification by matching extracted features as taught by Bretschneider and Arnold to include the comparison of trajectory and heading of the object as taught by Kellner.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been "determining of object classification is enhanced since additional information related to the classification is extracted from the existing object state of the first object and used in the determining. A more stable and accurate determining of object state is obtained, as will be explained below" as noted by the Kellner disclosure in paragraph 12.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider and Arnold with the Kellner disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 2 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner teaches “The method of claim [[13]]1, wherein the step of identifying a potential vessel track that corresponds to the detected RF signal in the two or more of the plurality of adjacent detection ranges comprises: determining that the potential vessel track corresponds to a time and/ or a position of the detection (Kellner paragraph [0003] "Reflection points or groups of reflection points observed over time can be used to track the motion of an object over time. Such a determination over time is referred to as the track of an object" of the RF signal in each of the two or more of the plurality of adjacent detection ranges (Arnold paragraph [0082] “When a target is detected (i.e., when the magnitude of identified energy in a specified range bin is greater than a threshold and greater than any surrounding adjacent range bins), sensor 20 can use the magnitude of the identified energy in the specified range bin and the magnitude of the energy in any surrounding adjacent range bins to compute the position of the target. In some embodiments, a two-dimensional Cartesian coordinate system is used to more precisely represent positions on a roadway. For example, a Cartesian coordinate system can be used to represent positions in intersection 41. As such, identified energy magnitudes from grid 42 can be used to calculate the position (e.g., X and Y coordinates) of targets in intersection 41”).”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner references presented in the rejection of claim 2, applies to claim 14. Finally the method recited in claim 14 is met by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein, having detected the vessel, the method further comprises: instructing the two or more detectors to obtain further data on the vessel (Bretschneider page 11 lines 1-8 "The flow chart 45 includes a step 47 of an AIS receiver receiving AIS messages from a vessel. The AIS messages are then extracted, as shown in a step 47. A remote sensing device provides observations in a step 50. The image geo-references or extracted characteristics are then produced from the observations, as shown in a step 52"); and
verifying the detection of the vessel (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 11 lines 5-14 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic. The verification is performed by one of the observation platforms 14, 15, and 16 or is performed jointly with between observation platforms 14, 15, and 16. Verification mismatches, which can refer to inconsistencies or anomalies, are then raised as alarms and are communicated to the central entity 19 for further verification or action") and/ or tracking movement of the detected vessel based on the obtained further data (Kellner paragraph [0039] "A tracking filter, e.g., a Kalman filter, maintains tracks associated with detected objects based on sensor signals received from the sensor systems. Each object track is associated with an object state. The object state comprises an object motion state which describes a set of physical parameters related to the tracked object. For instance, object motion state may comprise a position in relative or absolute coordinates, a heading vector, a velocity vector, and an acceleration vector"); and/ or
instructing a further detector positioned in the trajectory (Kellner paragraph [0039] "A tracking filter, e.g., a Kalman filter, maintains tracks associated with detected objects based on sensor signals received from the sensor systems. Each object track is associated with an object state. The object state comprises an object motion state which describes a set of physical parameters related to the tracked object. For instance, object motion state may comprise a position in relative or absolute coordinates, a heading vector, a velocity vector, and an acceleration vector") of the vessel to obtain subsequent data in respect of the vessel, and tracking movement of the detected vessel based on the subsequent data (Bretschneider page 4 lines 9-13 "The remote sensing refers to observing or sensing of objects from a distance or a remote place. Sensors used for the remote sensing are not in direct contact with the observed objects. Such sensors can include optical, infrared, sonar, or radar means").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner references presented in the rejection of claim 2, applies to claim 17. Finally the method recited in claim 17 is met by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner.
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider and Arnold, in view of Iida (US 2020/0276983 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bretschneider and Arnold teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises: determining an object position associated with each object detection based on the data obtained by the respective detector of the two or more detectors (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-11 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54); and
determining if two or more of the determined object positions (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-11 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54) associated with
However, the combination of Bretschneider and Arnold is not relied on to teach “each object detection correspond to within a predetermined position threshold level”.
Iida teaches “each object detection correspond to within a predetermined position threshold level (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine
a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection as taught by Bretschneider and Arnold to include thresholds to determine when each sensor has detected the same object as taught by Iida.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been "The sensors mounted on a vehicle are, for example, a camera, a millimeter-wave radar, a laser radar, an ultrasonic sensor, and an infrared sensor. When a plurality of sensors detect the same object, a detection error (hereinafter referred to as "bias error") occurs among the plurality of sensors depending on the types of those sensors. The bias error sometimes changes temporarily due to a travel environment of the vehicle, and thus it is difficult to estimate the bias error. The related-art obstacle recognition device does not assume this bias error. As a result, the related-art obstacle recognition device has a problem in that, even when the plurality of sensors have actually detected the same object, the plurality of sensors erroneously recognize the same object as separate objects due to the bias error among those sensors" as noted by the Iida disclosure paragraph 6 and 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider and Arnold with the Iida disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Iida teaches “The method of claim 3, wherein the predetermined position (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-11 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54) threshold level is 500m (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bretschneider, Arnold, and Iida references presented in the rejection of claim 3, applies to claim 4. Finally the method recited in claim 4 is met by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Iida.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Iida teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises: determining an object speed associated with each object detection based on the data obtained by the respective detector of the two or more detectors (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 15-17 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel characteristics, such as vessel speed, as shown in a step 58"); and
determining if two or more of the determined object speeds (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 15-17 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel characteristics, such as vessel speed, as shown in a step 58") associated with each object detection correspond to within a speed threshold level (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bretschneider, Arnold, and Iida references presented in the rejection of claim 3, applies to claim 5. Finally the method recited in claim 5 is met by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Iida.
Claims 7,9, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner in view of Iida.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises: determining an object heading (Kellner paragraph [0061] "one or more of the received sensor signals 110 comprises detection information associated with a first object, the detection information comprising any of; position coordinates relative to a sensor, position coordinates in an absolute coordinate system, a velocity vector, an acceleration vector, a bearing relative to a sensor, a heading") associated with each object detection based on the data obtained by the respective detector of the two or more detectors (Bretschneider page 11 lines 5-8 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic"); and
determining if two or more of the determined object headings (Kellner paragraph [0061] "one or more of the received sensor signals 110 comprises detection information associated with a first object, the detection information comprising any of; position coordinates relative to a sensor, position coordinates in an absolute coordinate system, a velocity vector, an acceleration vector, a bearing relative to a sensor, a heading") associated with ”.”
However, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner does not explicitly teach “each object detection correspond to within a predetermined heading threshold level”.
Iida teaches “each object detection correspond to within a predetermined heading threshold level (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine
a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection with verification by matching extracted features as taught by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner to include thresholds to determine when each sensor has detected the same object as taught by Iida.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been "The sensors mounted on a vehicle are, for example, a camera, a millimeter-wave radar, a laser radar, an ultrasonic sensor, and an infrared sensor. When a plurality of sensors detect the same object, a detection error (hereinafter referred to as "bias error") occurs among the plurality of sensors depending on the types of those sensors. The bias error sometimes changes temporarily due to a travel environment of the vehicle, and thus it is difficult to estimate the bias error. The related-art obstacle recognition device does not assume this bias error. As a result, the related-art obstacle recognition device has a problem in that, even when the plurality of sensors have actually detected the same object, the plurality of sensors erroneously recognize the same object as separate objects due to the bias error among those sensors" as noted by the Iida disclosure paragraph 6 and 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner with the Iida disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Iida teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises: determining an object bearing (Kellner paragraph [0061] "one or more of the received sensor signals 110 comprises detection information associated with a first object, the detection information comprising any of; position coordinates relative to a sensor, position coordinates in an absolute coordinate system, a velocity vector, an acceleration vector, a bearing relative to a sensor, a heading") associated with each object detection based on the data obtained by the respective detector of the two or more detectors, wherein the object bearing is relative to the two or more detectors (Bretschneider page 11 lines 5-8 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic"); and
determining if two or more of the determined object bearings (Kellner paragraph [0061] "one or more of the received sensor signals 110 comprises detection information associated with a first object, the detection information comprising any of; position coordinates relative to a sensor, position coordinates in an absolute coordinate system, a velocity vector, an acceleration vector, a bearing relative to a sensor, a heading") associated with each object detection correspond to within a predetermined bearing threshold level (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Iida references presented in the rejection of claim 7, applies to claim 9. Finally the method recited in claim 9 is met by Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Iida.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Iida teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises: determining an object track (Kellner paragraph [0039] "A tracking filter, e.g., a Kalman filter, maintains tracks associated with detected objects based on sensor signals received from the sensor systems. Each object track is associated with an object state. The object state comprises an object motion state which describes a set of physical parameters related to the tracked object. For instance, object motion state may comprise a position in relative or absolute coordinates, a heading vector, a velocity vector, and an acceleration vector") associated with each object detection based on the data obtained by the respective detector of the two or more detectors (Bretschneider page 11 lines 5-8 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic"); and
determining if two or more of the determined object tracks (Kellner paragraph [0039] "A tracking filter, e.g., a Kalman filter, maintains tracks associated with detected objects based on sensor signals received from the sensor systems. Each object track is associated with an object state. The object state comprises an object motion state which describes a set of physical parameters related to the tracked object. For instance, object motion state may comprise a position in relative or absolute coordinates, a heading vector, a velocity vector, and an acceleration vector") associated with each object detection correspond to within a predetermined track threshold level (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object") during a predetermined time interval (Kellner paragraph [0003] "Reflection points or groups of reflection points observed over time can be used to track the motion of an object over time. Such a determination over time is referred to as the track of an object").”
The proposed combination as well as the motivation for combining Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Iida references presented in the rejection of claim 7, applies to claim 11. Finally the method recited in claim 11 is met by Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Iida.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner in view of Akagunduz (US 2018/0150966 A1).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the two or more detectors comprise: the light sensor (Bretschneider page 4 lines 9-13 "The remote sensing refers to observing or sensing of objects from a distance or a remote place. Sensors used for the remote sensing are not in direct contact with the observed objects. Such sensors can include optical, infrared, sonar, or radar means"); and
the AIS receiver (Bretschneider page 4 lines 18- 20 "The verification of the AIS message serve to identify vessels that pose a possible security threat to other vessels, to man-made installations, to environment, and even to society"),
wherein the step of determining if a match exists comprises: (Kellner paragraph [0061] "one or more of the received sensor signals 110 comprises detection information associated with a first object, the detection information comprising any of; position coordinates relative to a sensor, position coordinates in an absolute coordinate system, a velocity vector, an acceleration vector, a bearing relative to a sensor, a heading"); and
determining if the estimation of the object size matches a vessel size of the object as indicated by the data obtained by AIS receiver (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-19 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54. Similarly, the extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify vessel feature, such as vessel size and dimensions, as shown in a step 56. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel characteristics, such as vessel speed, as shown in a step 58. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel type, as shown in a step 60").”
However, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner is not relied on to teach “estimating an object size based on a pixel width of the object in image data captured by the light sensor”.
Akagunduz teaches “estimating an object size based on a pixel width of the object in image data captured by the light sensor (Akagunduz paragraph [0034] "a grey level image of the scene under consideration is received together with the coordinates of a pixel on the object on this image. […] Therefore, the size of the imaginary window around the object, for which the pixel standard deviation is maximum, can be assumed as a good estimate for the window size that encapsulates the whole object with minimum possible number of background pixels, i.e. the object size")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine
a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection with verification by matching extracted features as taught by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner to include extracting object size from sensor data as taught by Akagunduz.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been such methods already exist " It is known that there are systems that use methods and models to estimate the position and size of an object in a still image or a video frame. Infrared search and track (IRST) systems, in which infrared images of a scene are acquired and converted into grayscale format, are good examples of such systems. The acquired images consist of a two-dimensional array of pixel values which represent infrared intensities at these locations" as noted by the Akagunduz disclosure paragraph 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner with the Akagunduz disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 15 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Akagunduz in view of Iida.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Akagunduz teaches “The method of claim 15, wherein the step of determining if the estimation of the object size matches the vessel size as indicated by the AIS receiver comprises determining if the estimation of the object size corresponds to the vessel size as indicated by the AIS receiver (Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 12 lines 10-19 "The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify location of the vessel, as shown in a step 54. Similarly, the extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to verify vessel feature, such as vessel size and dimensions, as shown in a step 56. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel characteristics, such as vessel speed, as shown in a step 58. The extracted AIS messages are compared with the extracted characteristics to determine vessel type, as shown in a step 60") to within a predetermined vessel size threshold level.”
However, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Akagunduz does not explicitly teach “each object detection correspond to within a predetermined heading threshold level”.
Iida teaches “within a predetermined vessel size threshold level (Iida paragraph [0048] "The determination unit 10b is configured to compare the index value calculated by the calculation unit 10a with a threshold value condition set in advance, to thereby determine whether a selected pair of objects is the same object").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before
effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine
a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection with verification by matching extracted features as taught by Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Akagunduz to include thresholds to determine when each sensor has detected the same object as taught by Iida.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been "The sensors mounted on a vehicle are, for example, a camera, a millimeter-wave radar, a laser radar, an ultrasonic sensor, and an infrared sensor. When a plurality of sensors detect the same object, a detection error (hereinafter referred to as "bias error") occurs among the plurality of sensors depending on the types of those sensors. The bias error sometimes changes temporarily due to a travel environment of the vehicle, and thus it is difficult to estimate the bias error. The related-art obstacle recognition device does not assume this bias error. As a result, the related-art obstacle recognition device has a problem in that, even when the plurality of sensors have actually detected the same object, the plurality of sensors erroneously recognize the same object as separate objects due to the bias error among those sensors" as noted by the Iida disclosure paragraph 6 and 7.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Akagunduz with the Iida disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 16 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner, in view of Daniel et al. (US 8,994,562 B1), in further view of Walsh et al. (US 2021/0070441 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bretschneider, Appel, and Kellner teaches “The method of claim 17, wherein, upon detecting the vessel, the method further comprises: triggering an audible and/ or visual alert (Bretschneider page 5 lines 4-7 "Any verification mismatch is raised as alarms or alerts and can be communicated to a central entity for further verification or action");
tasking another detector to search for the vessel (Bretschneider page 4 lines 9-13 "The remote sensing refers to observing or sensing of objects from a distance or a remote place. Sensors used for the remote sensing are not in direct contact with the observed objects. Such sensors can include optical, infrared, sonar, or radar means" and Bretschneider Figure 3 and page 11 lines 5-14 "The method includes a step of extracting a characteristic of the observed vessel 12 from the objective observation. The AIS message is verified using the extracted characteristic. The verification is performed by one of the observation platforms 14, 15, and 16 or is performed jointly with between observation platforms 14, 15, and 16. Verification mismatches, which can refer to inconsistencies or anomalies, are then raised as alarms and are communicated to the central entity 19 for further verification or action); and/ or
However, the combination Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner does not teach “sending a message to an operator” and “instructing a drone to investigate the vessel”.
Daniel teaches “sending a message to an operator (Daniel column 2 lines 59-62 "As an example, for each detected event, the boat monitoring element 22 may transmit a message for notifying the controller 25 of the occurrence of the event")”.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection as taught by Bretschneider, Arnold, and Kellner and sending messages when an event is detected as taught by Daniel because such features is the result of applying known techniques to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, sending messages when an event is detected allows the ability for an operator to determine next course of action, such as for security purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection to include sending message when an event is detected would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the reference applied shows the ability to incorporate a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection and the ability to send messages when an event is detected and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
However, the combination of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Daniel does not teach “instructing a drone to investigate the vessel”.
Walsh teaches “instructing a drone to investigate the vessel (Walsh paragraph [0079] "drone launch station 54 can be fastened on top of sensor unit 52 to charge and release drone( s) 56 in response to maritime security threats").”
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention of the instant application to combine a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection as taught by Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Daniel and sending a drone in response to a detected vessel as taught by Walsh because such features is the result of applying known techniques to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, sending a drone in response to a detected vessel allows the ability to gather more information on the vessel such as suspicious activity for security purposes. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection to include sending a drone in response to a detected vessel would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the reference applied shows the ability to incorporate a multi-sensor fusion vessel detection and the ability to sending a drone in response to a detected vessel and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine the disclosure of Bretschneider, Arnold, Kellner, and Daniel with the Walsh disclosure to obtain the invention as specified in claim 18 as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASPREET KAUR/Examiner, Art Unit 2662
/AMANDEEP SAINI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2662