Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 13-15, 20, 25 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed).
Regarding claim 1, Aubuchon discloses a microscanner (Figs. 3-5) for projecting (para 4, “projection”) electromagnetic radiation (para 58, “electromagnetic” radiation) onto an observation field, wherein the microscanner comprises:
a deflection element (Fig. 3A and para 51, “mirror 48”) for deflecting an incident electromagnetic beam;
a support structures (Fig. 3B and para 55, “central hinge joint 63);
a spring device comprising one or more springs (Fig. 3B and para 55, “each hinge 57 (formed by portions 54, 55 and 58) is provided as a single piece of metal, constrained in the center to act as three separate flexure pieces or deformable member portion”, taking spring definition as torsional spring which is thin beams twisted around the axis, which is supported in para 16, “the micromirrors are supported by hinge structures which allow torsion motion and flexures or cantilever motion”), by means of which the deflection element (48) suspended on the support structure (63) an oscillating manner in such a way that it can simultaneously carry out a first rotational oscillation around a first oscillation axis and a second rotational oscillation around a second oscillation axis orthogonal thereto relative to the support structure (para 65, “because the hinges have been designed to allow both torsion and cantilever, they are also flexible enough to easily permit movement of the mirror in the direction perpendicular to that of the plane of the mirror surface. By providing for multi-axis tilt and vertical motion (relative to the substrate) the devices according to the present invention allow for correction of both tilt and phase”), in order to be able to effectuate a Lissajous projection (projection is formed in Lissajous pattern with two oscillations that are perpendicular to each other) in an observation field by deflection of an electromagnetic beam incident on the deflection element (mirror 48) during the simultaneous oscillations (2D scanner can effect a Lissajous projection);
wherein the support structure (63) has a spring support structure (Fig. 3B and para 56, “hinge center 67) and the spring device (Fig. 3B and para 55, “each hinge 57 (formed by portions 54, 55 and 58)“) has a number N of first springs, wherein N
≥
1 (N is 3 as shown in Fig. 3B) and each of the N first springs is attached to at least one assigned attachment point on the spring support structure (see Fig. 3B, each hinge 57 is attached to the spring support structure 67 at three different spots) , is coupled to the deflection element at at least one assigned coupling point (three 74s as shown in Fig. 3B), and extends between this attachment point and this coupling point (57 extends between three spots of 67 and three 74); and
wherein there are three points on the deflection element (three points on deflection element 48 corresponding to three 74s), which, in its rest position define a Euclidean auxiliary plane (along the deflection surface of 48) and, within the auxiliary plane span a surface or straight line section enclosed by the connecting line between the three points (three 74s form a triangle, see Fig. 3B), on which each of these attachment points or their respective perpendicular projection on to the auxiliary plane lies (the triangle which is defined by connecting three coupling points, 74s, contains the entire spring support structure 67).
Regarding claim 2, the microscanner according to claim 1, wherein the deflection element has rotational symmetry with respect to an axis of symmetry in its rest position and is arranged such that the axis of symmetry extends through the spatial area spanned by the spring support structure (see Fig. 3A, 6-fold rotational symmetry).
Regarding claim 3, the microscanner according to claim 1, wherein the N first springs (57) are each attached to the support structure (63) exclusively on the spring support structure and the deflection element suspended exclusively on these first springs (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 4, the microscanner according to claim 1, wherein the deflection element (48) has a deflection plate with a recess formed therein (para 51, “gaps and openings 50”).
Regarding claim 7, the microscanner according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the N first springs is shaped such that in its rest position its effective spring length between the deflection element and the spring support structure is greater than minimum occurring distance between one of its coupling points on the deflection element, on the one hand, and one of its attachment points on the spring support structure on the other hand (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 8, the microscanner according to claim 1, wherein the spring device has exactly N = 2 first springs, which together form a two-leg suspension of the deflection element on the spring support structure (see Fig. 4B, two 57).
Regarding claim 13, the microscanner according to claim 1, wherein N > 2 and the deflection element (48) extends between the respective coupling points of the N first springs in such a way that it at least partially bridges the spring support structures (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 14, the microscanner according to claim 13, wherein the deflection element (48) has a substrate designed as a deflection plate for deflecting the incident electromagnetic beam, which is connected by means of at least one bond connection (para 55, “serving as a bonding unterface”) to one or more of the first springs or to an intermediate body arranged between one or more of the first springs on the one hand and the deflection plate on the other hand (see Fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 15, the microscanner according to claim 13, wherein the spring device furthermore has a number K of third springs, wherein K > 1 (Fig. 3B shows three springs); wherein each third spring is coupled on the one hand to the respective coupling point (see Fig. 3B) or possibly intermediate body and on the other hand to the frame structure.
Regarding claim 20, the microscanner according to claim 1, furthermore comprising:
a carrier substrate (Figs, 3a, 3B and para 55, ”substate 60”) supporting the spring support structures (see Figs 3A, 3B); and
an actuator (Figs. 3A, 3B and para 59, “electrodes 76”) for driving the first oscillation and/or the second oscillation of the deflection element (48);
wherein the actuator (76) is mechanically coupled to the carrier substrate (60) in order to act on it mechanically during operation of the microscanner and thereby indirectly effectuate a driving effect on the deflection element for driving its first and/or second oscillations, at least via the spring support structure and the first springs (see Figs. 3A, 3B).
Regarding claim 25, the microscanner according to claim 1, comprising an actuator system (Figs. 3A, 3B and para 59, “electrodes 76”) having one or more actuators (three 76s shown in Fig. 3B) for driving the first and second oscillations, wherein the actuator system is configured so that it can set the deflection element into a double-resonant oscillation with respect to the first and second oscillation axes.
Regarding claim 27, Aubuchon discloses a method for producing a microscanner according to claim 1, wherein the method comprises:
providing a plate-shaped substrate (substate of 48) having two opposing main surfaces;
structuring the substrate from a first of the main surfaces to the at least partial formation of the deflection element (top surface of 48), the support structure (63) and the spring (57);
selectively, at least partially exposing the deflection element and the spring device, each formed by means of the structuring, from the other main surface (bottom surface of 48); and
fastening the microscanner arrangement resulting from the exposure on a carrier substrate (substrate 60).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11, 19 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed) in view of Hofmann et al (US 9,753,280 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Aubuchon discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the spring device has N = 4 first springs, wherein these four first springs together provide a cross-shaped suspension of the deflection element on the spring support structure.
Hofmann et al discloses the spring device has N = 4 first springs, wherein these four first springs together provide a cross-shaped suspension of the deflection element on the spring support structure (see Fig. 1, spring elements 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to have 4 springs as taught by Hofmann et al for the purpose of providing symmetry and mode separation, lower dynamic deformation of the mirror, higher mechanical robustness and shock/vibration resistance and better thermal stability.
Regarding claim 10, Hofmann et al discloses the microscanner according to claim 9, wherein two at a time of the four first springs form a respective spring pair of springs of the same spring stiffness (Fig. 1, springs 2), while the respective spring stiffnesses for the first springs of the two spring pairs differ (springs 4).
Regarding claim 11, Hofmann et al discloses the microscanner according to claim 9, wherein the support structure furthermore has a frame structure (Fig. 1, frame 5) which surrounds the deflection element (mirror plate 1) at least on two sides and is fixed with respect to the first and second rotational oscillations of the deflection element (see Fig.1), on which the deflection element additionally suspended by means of a number M of second springs, wherein M > 1 (four spring 4).
Regarding claim 19, Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed) in view of Hofmann et al (US 9,753,280 B2) discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for wherein the quality factor of the microscanner with respect to at least one of the two oscillations is at least 1000.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to choose the claimed value to be the quality factor for the purpose of providing high quality mircoscanner.
Regarding claim 23, Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed) in view of Hofmann et al (US 9,753,280 B2) discloses one or more actuators (Hofmann et al, drive arrangement 11), and further disclose one or more actuators (11) or which are connected to one or more signal or power supply lines (see the lines connecting 11 and 4 in Fig. 1), which overall extend at least in some sections through one or more openings provided in the spring support structure (see the spaces formed among 1, 3 and 5).
Regarding claim 24, Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed) in view of Hofmann et al (US 9,753,280 B2) discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for the conditional equation with respect to the slower of the two oscillation axes: fi/f2 = F + v, wherein F is a natural number (F = 1,2,3,...) and the following applies to the detuning v: v = (f1-f2)/f2 with (fi-f2) < 200 Hz, wherein v is not an integer.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to form the claimed conditional equation, since the claimed equation is achievable with numerous/routine experiments and discovering conditional relationship involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 16 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed) in view of Hofmann et al (US 9,753,280 B2) as applied to claims above, and further in view of Quenzer et al (US 2020/0159006 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Aubuchon (US 2004/0165249 A1 from IDS filed) in view of Hofmann et al (US 9,753,280 B2) discloses the claimed invention as set forth above except for further comprising an encapsulation by means of which at least the deflection element and the springs of the spring device are encapsulated hermetically sealed in such a way that the deflection element is suspended on the spring device in a manner capable of carrying out the oscillations; wherein the encapsulation has a capsule section bridging the deflection element, through which the radiation to be deflected can be radiated into the spatial area encapsulated by the encapsulation and, after it is deflected at the deflection element, can be emitted therefrom again.
Quenzer et al discloses an encapsulation by means of which at least the deflection element and the springs of the spring device are encapsulated hermetically sealed in such a way that the deflection element is suspended on the spring device in a manner capable of carrying out the oscillations; wherein the encapsulation has a capsule section bridging the deflection element, through which the radiation to be deflected can be radiated into the spatial area encapsulated by the encapsulation and, after it is deflected at the deflection element, can be emitted therefrom again (see Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention before the effective filing date to an encapsulation by means of which at least the deflection element and the springs of the spring device are encapsulated hermetically sealed in such a way that the deflection element is suspended on the spring device in a manner capable of carrying out the oscillations; wherein the encapsulation has a capsule section bridging the deflection element, through which the radiation to be deflected can be radiated into the spatial area encapsulated by the encapsulation and, after it is deflected at the deflection element, can be emitted therefrom again for the purpose of obtaining dust proof microscanner.
Regarding claim 28, the method according to claim 27 in combination, furthermore comprising at least one of the following processes:
applying a reflection layer to a surface section provided for forming the deflection element on a main side of the substrate (Aubuchon, the deflection surface of 48);
hermetically encapsulating the microscanner arrangement attached to the carrier substrate by means of an encapsulation (Quenzer et al, Fig. 1);
bonding at least two adjacent substrates within a layer stack used to construct the microscanner by means of an anodic, eutectic, or direct bonding method (Aubuchon, para 55, bonding) or a thermocompression method;
creating one or more actuators (Aubuchon, Fig. 3B, three electrodes 76) or sensors on the spring support structure or the spring device; and
creating one or more signal or power supply lines (Hofmann et al, Fig. 1, lines between 4 and 11) which, at least in some sections, extend through one or more openings provided in the spring support structure and to which the actuators or sensors are connected.
Conclusion
12/9/2025
/EUNCHA P CHERRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872