DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toda et al. (US 2007/0187287). With regard to claim 1 , Toda discloses a fastening arrangement (as seen in Figs. 1-4, 14, etc. ) for fastening two objects (1 and 6 as seen in Fig. 1) to each other (as seen in Fig. 1) , comprising: a plastic flange ( including interrupted flange washer 26 or 30 ) formed on a first object ( portion 21 of 6, which Examiner notes is positively required by this claim for infringement/anticipation to occur) and configured to bear on a second object (1) ; and a screw (3, disclosed as such in the abstract, Fig. 5, etc.) comprising a screw head (19) and a threaded shank (the shaft of 3 as seen in Fig. 5, disclosed as threaded in the abstract, etc.) , wherein the plastic flange comprises a through-opening ( as seen in Figs. 8-13 ) , through which the threaded shank of the screw is guided (as seen in Fig. 3 , 14 , etc.) and is screwed into a corresponding threaded bore (as seen in Fig. 1) in the second object (as seen in Fig. 1) , such that an underside of the screw head (as seen in Fig s . 5, 7, etc. ) bears on a bearing region (at the upper face including elements 27 or 31 respectively ) at an edge of the through-opening on the plastic flange (as seen in Figs. 14 , etc. ) , wherein a first corrugation profile (comprising projecting portions 27 and 3 1 (respectively) ) is defined on the bearing region of the plastic flange (as seen in Figs. 8-9 and 11-12) , wherein a harder, second corrugation profile (25/33, disclosed as harder by virtue of the disclosed materials and that the para. [0053], [0054], etc. disclose that the first corrugation profile is deformed by the second corrugation profile) is defined at the underside of the screw head (as seen in Figs. 5-7, 14, etc.) , and wherein in a screwed state of the screw in the threaded bore (e.g. as would be seen when the portion illustrated in Fig. 14 is installed on 1. Additionally Examiner notes that this limitation does not require the arrangement actually be in the screwed state only that it is capable of such) , on account of a pretensioning force (e.g. the force from the installation of the screw and the corresponding engagement of the corrugated profiles) , the second corrugation profile plastically and elastically deforms the first corrugation profile (Examiner notes this is an intended use/capability of the fastening arrangement and only requires the capability for it to be used in the claimed manner. As para. [0053], [0054], etc. disclose that the second corrugation profile deforms the first corrugation profile there is some amount of compression that would allow for the deformation to move from elastic to plastic deformation. Additionally due to the fact that the compression cannot be completely uniform there is also a point during tightening when there would be both elastic and plastic deformation at the same time, though such is not required by the present claim language) and brings about a force-fit engagement that secures the screw against loosening (as disclosed in para. [0053], etc.) . With regard to claim 4 , Toda discloses that a height of the second corrugation profile is greater than a height of the first corrugation profile ( as seen in Fig. 14 ). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toda et al. (US 2007/0187287) alone . With regard to claim 5 , Toda discloses that the plastic flange is an injection-molded part (Examiner notes this is a product-by-process limitation and i t has been held that the patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe , 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). ), Toda fails to disclose the material of the plastic flange is a fiber-reinforced plastic. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Toda such that the plastic flange is an injection-molded part formed from a fiber-reinforced plastic as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with examples of similar flange portions and other similar plastic elements being an injection-molded part formed from a fiber-reinforced plastic. Such a modification would have provided the expected benefits of providing a stronger flange. Additionally and/or alternatively it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to have modified the device of Toda such that the plastic flange is an injection-molded part formed from a fiber-reinforced plastic as it has been held to be within the general skill in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin , 125 USPQ 416. Such a modification would have provided the expected benefits of providing a stronger flange. With regard to claim 6 , the combination is silent as to the orientation of the fibers and thus fails to disclose that a fiber direction of reinforcing fibers of the fiber-reinforced plastic in the bearing region of the plastic flange extends radially to the through-opening. However it would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have modified the combination such that a fiber direction of reinforcing fibers of the fiber-reinforced plastic in the bearing region of the plastic flange extends radially to the through-opening as Examiner hereby takes Official Notice that the art is replete with fibers being oriented in directions where more strength is desired including oriented such that a fiber direction of reinforcing fibers of the fiber-reinforced plastic in the bearing region of the plastic flange extends radially to the through-opening . Such a modification would provide the expected result of increasing strength around the through-opening. With regard to claim 8 , Toda is silent as to the dimensions of the plastic flange and thus fails to explicitly disclose that t he plastic flange in the bearing region has a thickness from 2 mm to 5 mm. However i t would have been considered an obvious matter of design choice to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed , to have made t he plastic flange in the bearing region has a thickness from 2 mm to 5 mm as such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component, which is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose , 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Such a modification would have provided the expected benefits of providing a flange with sizing to match up with different sized second objects. Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Panis et al. (US 9,649,796) in view of Toda et al. (US 2007/0187287) . With regard to claim 9 , Panis discloses a sensor arrangement ( as seen in Figs. 1d, etc. ) for a vehicle ( Examiner notes Panis discloses this intended use limitation in the preamble (see the background section in col. 1 , etc.) ) comprising : a sensor ( as seen in 1a-c ) as a first object; and a fastening arrangement (including 1 0 as seen in Fig. 1d ) configured to fasten the sensor an d a carrier as a second object to each other (i.e. as seen in Fig. 1d by virtue of its projecting flange shape with through-hole therein it is capable of such) , wherein the fastening arrangement includes a plastic flange (10) formed on the first object (as seen in Fig. 1d) and configured to bear on the second object (i.e. as seen in Fig. 1d by virtue of its projecting flange shape with through-hole therein it is capable of such), wherein the plastic flange comprises a through-opening (as seen in Figs. 1d) , wherein a first corrugation profile (as seen in Figs. 1d) is defined on the bearing region (i.e. the upward facing portion around the through-opening) of the plastic flange (as seen in Fig. 1d) , Panis, though clearly intended for such use and capable of such use , fails to explicitly disclose a carrier (10) as a second object; a screw comprising a screw head and a threaded shank, wherein the threaded shank of the screw is guided through the through-opening and is screwed into a corresponding threaded bore in the second object, such that an underside of the screw head bears on a bearing region at an edge of the through-opening on the plastic flange, a nd wherein a harder, second corrugation profile is defined at the underside of the screw head, and wherein in a screwed state of the screw in the threaded bore, on account of a pretensioning force, the second corrugation profile plastically and elastically deforms the first corrugation profile and brings about a force-fit engagement that secures the screw against loosening and fastens the sensor to the carrier. Toda discloses a fastening arrangement (as seen in Figs. 1-4, 14, etc.) for fastening two objects (1 and 6 as seen in Fig. 1) to each other (as seen in Fig. 1) , comprising: a plastic flange (including interrupted flange washer 26 or 30) formed on a first object (portion 21 of 6, which Examiner notes is positively required by this claim for infringement/anticipation to occur) and configured to bear on a second object (1) ; and a screw (3, disclosed as such in the abstract, Fig. 5, etc.) comprising a screw head (19) and a threaded shank (the shaft of 3 as seen in Fig. 5, disclosed as threaded in the abstract, etc.) , wherein the plastic flange comprises a through-opening (as seen in Figs. 8-13) , through which the threaded shank of the screw is guided (as seen in Fig. 3, 14, etc.) and is screwed into a corresponding threaded bore (as seen in Fig. 1) in the second object (as seen in Fig. 1) , such that an underside of the screw head (as seen in Fig s . 5, 7, etc. ) bears on a bearing region (at the upper face including elements 27 or 31 respectively) at an edge of the through-opening on the plastic flange (as seen in Figs. 14, etc.) , wherein a first corrugation profile (comprising projecting portions 27 and 31 (respectively)) is defined on the bearing region of the plastic flange (as seen in Figs. 8-9 and 11-12) , wherein a harder, second corrugation profile (25/33, disclosed as harder by virtue of the disclosed materials and that the para. [0053], [0054], etc. disclose that the first corrugation profile is deformed by the second corrugation profile) is defined at the underside of the screw head (as seen in Figs. 5-7, 14, etc.) , and wherein in a screwed state of the screw in the threaded bore (e.g. as would be seen when the portion illustrated in Fig. 14 is installed on 1. Additionally Examiner notes that this limitation does not require the arrangement actually be in the screwed state only that it is capable of such) , on account of a pretensioning force (e.g. the force from the installation of the screw and the corresponding engagement of the corrugated profiles) , the second corrugation profile plastically and elastically deforms the first corrugation profile (Examiner notes this is an intended use/capability of the fastening arrangement and only requires the capability for it to be used in the claimed manner. As para. [0053], [0054], etc. disclose that the second corrugation profile deforms the first corrugation profile there is some amount of compression that would allow for the deformation to move from elastic to plastic deformation. Additionally due to the fact that the compression cannot be completely uniform there is also a point during tightening when there would be both elastic and plastic deformation at the same time, though such is not required by the present claim language) and brings about a force-fit engagement that secures the screw against loosening (as disclosed in para. [0053], etc.) . It would have been considered obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, to have modified the device of Panis such that it includes a carrier (10) as a second object; a screw comprising a screw head and a threaded shank, wherein the threaded shank of the screw is guided through the through-opening and is screwed into a corresponding threaded bore in the second object, such that an underside of the screw head bears on a bearing region at an edge of the through-opening on the plastic flange, a nd wherein a harder, second corrugation profile is defined at the underside of the screw head, and wherein in a screwed state of the screw in the threaded bore, on account of a pretensioning force, the second corrugation profile plastically and elastically deforms the first corrugation profile and brings about a force-fit engagement that secures the screw against loosening and fastens the sensor to the carrier as taught by Toda. Such a modification would provide the expected result of more secure mounting of the plastic flange to the second object (i.e. reducing likelihood of the screw backing out, see Toda para. [0053], etc.). With regard to claim 10 , the combination (Panis) discloses that t he plastic flange is configured as part of a fastening module of the sensor (as seen in Fig. 1d) . With regard to claim 1 1 , the combination (Panis) discloses that the fastening module with the plastic flange is molded to a housing (9) of the sensor or connected to the housing of the sensor ( as seen in Figs. 1d and disclosed in the abstract, etc. as the housing is overmolded on the sensor ). Allowable Subject Matter Claims 2, 3 , and 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and provide additional examples of fastening arrangements with corrugated portions on the head of a screw and/or sensors with plastic flanges for attaching to second objects via a fastener. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT NICHOLAS L FOSTER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5354 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 9am-5pm . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Kristina Fulton can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-7376 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /NICHOLAS L FOSTER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3675