DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6 and 7 recite “the plurality of particles” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in each of the claims. For the purpose of examination, the plurality of particles are interpreted to be the same particles set forth in claim 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco (De Falco et al., A variable stiffness mechanism for steerable percutaneous instruments: integration in a needle, 2018, Medical & Biological Engineering & Computing 56:2185–2199 (Year: 2018)) in view of Gordon et al. (US 2020/0077991).
Regarding claim 1, De Falco discloses a steerable needle (Abstract, ‘variable stiffness needle’ FIG 2, made steerable by the tendons, section 2.1), comprising: a wire (One tendon) extending a predetermined length (FIG 2a); a first region (tip, FIG 2A) of a first material (The tip is made of aluminum, section 2.2) surrounding a first portion of the wire (At least the distal tip of the wire as it attached at the distal rigid plate); a second region (Mechanism portion in FIG 2A) of a second material that is different than the first material (The compliant segments of the variable stiffness mechanism are made of silicone, different form the first material, section 2.2) surrounding a second portion of the wire (FIG 2a shows the wire passing through the mechanism section), wherein the second material is characterized by a rigidity that is variable in response to an external stimulus (Sections 2.1-2.2 disclose that the compliant segments are compressed by retracting the tendons which then increases the stiffness of the section of the needle. The compliant material is described as nonlinear and thereby creates a variable stiffness in the needle which is controllable to direct the device through changing tissue densities).
De Falco is silent regarding an elastomer surrounding the first region and the second region.
Gordon teaches in the same field of endeavor of biopsy needles (302, FIGs 4-5A, [0072]), a needle having a first region (309, FIG 5A) having a first stiffness ([0073]), a second region (310) having a second stiffness ([0073-0075]), and an elastomer (318, [0076] discloses the flexible jacket/sleeve can be made of pebax, an elastomer) surrounding the first region and the second region (FIG 5A shows 318 extending along both sections 310 and 309).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the first region and the second region of De Falco to be surrounded by an elastomer, as taught by Gordon, for the purpose of providing a covering across the sections and connection between segments to create an impervious flexible barrier so that a vacuum can be applied through the lumen and/or fluid can travel therethrough during use of the needle ([0076]).
Claim(s) 2-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco in view of Gordon et al. (US 2020/0077991), further in view of Shan (US 2020/0216630).
Regarding claim 2, De Falco/Gordon discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
De Falco is silent regarding wherein the external stimulus is heat.
However, Shan teaches a material (FIG 1) for use with robotic needles ([0035]) wherein the material has variable mechanical stiffness ([0025-0029]), wherein the rigidity of the material is variable in response to an external stimulus in the form of heat ([0025-0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the compliant segments in the variable stiffness mechanism of De Falco to be made of the material taught by Shan, and thereby being variable in response to heat, for the purpose of utilizing a commonly known stimulus for altering the rigidity of a material and allowing for customized selection of materials to achieved a desired affect for a particular application ([0027]).
Regarding claims 3-5, De Falco/Gordon discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
De Falco is silent regarding the second material comprises an elastomeric matrix having a plurality of particles that are rigid at a first temperature, and flexible at a second, higher temperature, wherein the plurality of particles are formed from a low melting point alloy selected from the group consisting of Field's Metal and Cerrolow 117.
However, Shan teaches a material (FIG 1) for use with robotic needles ([0035]) wherein the material has variable mechanical stiffness ([0025-0029]), wherein the rigidity of the material is variable in response to an external stimulus (In the form of heat, [0025-0029]), and wherein the material comprises an elastomeric matrix (102) having a plurality of particles (104) that are rigid at a first temperature, and flexible at a second, higher temperature ([0027] discloses the tunable particles comprise a material that is rigid at room temperature, but that becomes soft/flexible when heated), wherein the plurality of particles are formed from a low melting point alloy ([0028]) selected from the group consisting of Field's Metal ([0028] discloses the LMPA can be field’s metal) and Cerrolow 117.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the compliant segments in the variable stiffness mechanism of De Falco to be made of the material taught by Shan, and thereby comprising an elastomeric matrix and a plurality of particles formed of Field’s Metal, for the purpose of utilizing variable stiffness material commonly known in the art and thereby allowing for customized selection of materials to achieved a desired affect for a particular application ([0027]).
Regarding claims 6-7, De Falco/Gordon/Shan discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 3. The device as modified by Shan further discloses the plurality of particles are formed by a mixture of nickel coated carbon fibers and low melting point alloy particles or the plurality of particles are formed by a mixture of silver coated carbon fibers and low melting point alloy particles ([0029] discloses the material comprising nickel or silver coated carbon fibers. The fibers exist in material 100 in addition to the LMPA of the particles 104).
Regarding claims 8-11, De Falco/Gordon discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
De Falco is silent regarding the second material comprises an elastomeric matrix and a tunable foam matrix, wherein the elastomeric matrix is selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxanes, platinum-catalyzed silicones, polyurethanes, silicone polymers, and combinations thereof, and wherein the tunable foam matrix includes a low melting point alloy selected from the group including Field's Metal and Cerrolow 117.
However, Shan teaches a material (FIG 4) for use with robotic needles ([0035]) wherein the material has variable mechanical stiffness ([0031-0035]), wherein the rigidity of the material is variable in response to an external stimulus (In the form of heat, [0032]), and wherein the material comprises an elastomeric matrix (202) and a tunable foam matrix (204), wherein the elastomeric matrix is selected from the group consisting of polydimethylsiloxanes, platinum-catalyzed silicones, polyurethanes, silicone polymers, and combinations thereof ([0031] discloses 202 formed of PDMS), and wherein the tunable foam matrix includes a low melting point alloy selected from the group including Field's Metal and Cerrolow 117 ([0033-0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the compliant segments in the variable stiffness mechanism of De Falco to be made of the material taught by Shan, and thereby comprising an elastomeric matrix and a tunable foam matrix formed of Field’s Metal, for the purpose of utilizing variable stiffness material commonly known in the art and thereby allowing for customized selection of materials to achieved a desired affect for a particular application ([0033-0035]).
Claim(s) 1 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco in view of Chautems (Chautems et al., Magnetic Continuum Device with Variable Stiffness for Minimally Invasive Surgery, 2020, Advanced Intelligent Systems, 2:1900086 (Year: 2020)), in further view of Gordon et al. (US 2020/0077991).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, De Falco discloses a steerable needle (Abstract, ‘variable stiffness needle’ FIG 2, made steerable by the tendons, section 2.1), comprising: a first region (tip, FIG 2A) of a first material (The tip is made of aluminum, section 2.2); a second region (Mechanism portion in FIG 2A) of a second material that is different than the first material (The compliant segments of the variable stiffness mechanism are made of silicone, different form the first material, section 2.2), wherein the second material is characterized by a rigidity that is variable in response to an external stimulus (Sections 2.1-2.2 disclose that the compliant segments are compressed by retracting the tendons which then increases the stiffness of the section of the needle. The compliant material is described as nonlinear and thereby creates a variable stiffness in the needle which is controllable to direct the device through changing tissue densities).
De Falco is silent regarding a wire extending a predetermined length through the first and second region, and wherein the external stimulus comprises an activation voltage coupled to the wire that is sufficient to induce an increase in temperature in the wire.
However, Chautems teaches in the same field of endeavor a steerable device (FIG 1A and 2A) comprising a wire (Heater, FIG 2A, section 2.1), a first region surrounding a first portion of the wire (Base, FIG 2A), a second region surrounding a second portion of the wire (LMPA, FIG 2A, section 2.1) wherein the second material is characterized by a rigidity that is variable in response to an external stimulus (Section 2.1, the LMPA section reduces in rigidity upon application of a current transferred thereto form the copper wire), wherein the external stimulus comprises an activation voltage coupled to the wire that is sufficient to induce an increase in temperature in the wire (Section 2.1, current/voltage is applied through the heater/copper wire, to increase the temperature of the LMPA. This application of voltage and therefore heat decreases the rigidity of the second material).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the device of De Falco to have the wire and second material taught by Chautems, in order to achieve the predictable result of varying the rigidity of the second material using an activation voltage applied to the wire instead of a force applied to the wire.
De Falco is silent regarding an elastomer surrounding the first region and the second region.
Gordon teaches in the same field of endeavor of biopsy needles (302, FIGs 4-5A, [0072]), a needle having a first region (309, FIG 5A) having a first stiffness ([0073]), a second region (310) having a second stiffness ([0073-0075]), and an elastomer (318, [0076] discloses the flexible jacket/sleeve can be made of pebax, an elastomer) surrounding the first region and the second region (FIG 5A shows 318 extending along both sections 310 and 309).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the first region and the second region of De Falco to be surrounded by an elastomer, as taught by Gordon, for the purpose of providing a covering across the sections and connection between segments to create an impervious flexible barrier so that a vacuum can be applied through the lumen and/or fluid can travel therethrough during use of the needle ([0076]).
Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco in view of Gordon et al. (US 2020/0077991), further in view of Dillard et al. (US 2013/0225997).
Regarding claim 13, De Falco/Gordon discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
De Flaco is silent regarding the material of the wire, specifically the wire comprising nitinol.
However, Dillard teaches a steerable biopsy needle (600A, abstract, [0104]) controlled by a pull wire (604A, [0103-0105]), wherein the wire comprises nitinol ([0105]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wire of De Falco to comprise nitinol, as taught by Dillard, for the purpose of selecting a material commonly known in the art for having the desired structural and flexibility properties for functioning as a pull wire to steer an elongate medical device inserted within the body, with the added function of being able to use a heating element to actuate the wire ([0105]).
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Falco in view of Gordon et al. (US 2020/0077991), further in view of van der Linde et al. (US 2017/0361066).
Regarding claim 14, De Falco/Gordon discloses the invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for claim 1.
De Flaco is silent regarding the material of the wire, specifically the wire comprising a polymer.
However, van der Linde teaches a steerable elongate medical device (abstract, FIG 1) controlled by pull wires (108, [0038, 0047-0049]), wherein the wire comprises a polymer ([0047]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the wire of De Falco to comprise a polymer, as taught by van der Linde, for the purpose of selecting a material commonly known in the art for having the desired structural and flexibility properties for functioning as a pull wire to steer an elongate medical device inserted within the body.
Conclusion
/BROOKE LABRANCHE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771