DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The action is in response to amendments filed on 04/15/2026. Claims 15-17, 19 have been amended. 1-4, 6-9, 11-17, 19-21, 23-25 are pending and examined below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 7-8, 13-14, 16-17, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20190216380 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Ivosevic”).
Regarding claim 1, Ivosevic, a device for obtaining a blood samples, teaches a device for obtaining a blood sample (abstract), the device comprising:
a holder for receiving a sample source (12; paragraph [0060]; Figures 1-7B), the holder having an actuation portion (24; paragraph [0060]; Figures 1-7B) and a port (26; paragraph [0060]; Figures 1-7B);
a blood collector attachment removably connected to the holder (72; paragraph [0080]; Figure 8); and
a collection container removably connected to the blood collector attachment (16; paragraphs [0080]-[0084]; Figures 8-10), the container defining a collection cavity (paragraphs [0080]-[0084]; Figures 8-10),
wherein a collection container detachment member (32; Figures 8, 27-30) is provided between the blood collector attachment and the collection container to releasably attach the collection container to the blood collector attachment (paragraphs [0062], [0074], [0082], [0085], [0087]).
Regarding claim 2, Ivosevic teaches wherein the collection container comprises a lid including a release tab that releases the collection container from the blood collector attachment when pressed (76; paragraph [0080], [0090]; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 4, Ivosevic teaches wherein the lid is connected to the collection container via a living hinge, and wherein the living hinge has a reduced thickness or at least one cutout (as shown in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 7, Ivosevic teaches wherein the lid includes at least one guide tab to ensure a desired orientation of the lid on the collection container when closing the lid (76; paragraph [0080], [0090]; as shown in Figures 8, 27-30).
Regarding claim 8, Ivosevic teaches wherein the collection container comprises an aligning protrusion extending from an outer surface of the collection container and the blood collector attachment defines an aligning slot on an inner surface of the blood collector attachment to orient the collection container in a desired position when inserted into the blood collector attachment (paragraph [0080]; as shown in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 13, Ivosevic, a device for obtaining a blood samples, teaches a device for obtaining a blood sample (abstract), the device comprising:
a blood collector attachment (72; paragraph [0080]; Figure 8); and
a collection container removably connected to the blood collector attachment (16; paragraphs [0080]-[0084]; Figures 8-10), the container defining a collection cavity (paragraphs [0080]-[0084]; Figures 8-10),
wherein a collection container detachment member (32; Figures 8, 27-30) is provided between the blood collector attachment and the collection container to releasably attach the collection container to the blood collector attachment (paragraphs [0062], [0074], [0082], [0085], [0087]).
Regarding claim 14, Ivosevic teaches wherein the collection container comprises a lid including a release tab that releases the collection container from the blood collector attachment when pressed (76; paragraph [0080], [0090]; Figure 8).
Regarding claim 16, Ivosevic teaches wherein the lid is connected to the collection container via a living hinge having a reduced thickness or at least one cutout (76; paragraph [0080], [0090]; as shown in Figures 8, 27-30).
Regarding claim 17, Ivosevic teaches wherein the blood collector attachment comprises a protrusion and the lid defines a recess to receive the protrusion to lock the collection container into the blood collector attachment (76; paragraph [0080], [0090]; as shown in Figures 8, 27-30).
Regarding claim 19, Ivosevic teaches wherein the lid includes at least one guide tab to ensure a desired orientation of the lid on the collection container when closing the lid (76; paragraph [0080], [0090]; as shown in Figures 8, 27-30).
Regarding claim 20, Ivosevic teaches wherein the collection container comprises an aligning protrusion extending from an outer surface of the collection container and the blood collector attachment defines an aligning slot on an inner surface of the blood collector attachment to orient the collection container in a desired position when inserted into the blood collector attachment (paragraph [0080]; as shown in Figure 8).
Regarding claim 21, Ivosevic teaches wherein the blood collector attachment defines a relief recess to provide a location for a user's hand to grip when using the device, or a recess is defined in the blood collector attachment above the release tab to receive a user's thumb when using the device (paragraph [0080]; as shown in Figure 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ivosevic as applied to claims 1 and 14 above, and further in view of US 20080262421 A1 (hereinafter referred to as “Schraga”).
Regarding claim 3, Ivosevic teaches a lid, but does not explicitly teach wherein the lid comprises an elastomer that acts as a spring pre-loading a locking feature to create resistance with the collection container.
However, Schraga teaches wherein the lid comprises an elastomer that acts as a spring pre-loading a locking feature to create resistance with the collection container (a rubber stopper; paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ivosevic, to have an elastic lid, as taught by Schraga, because making this modification merely combines prior art elements according to known methods well known in the industry (see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Regarding claim 15, Ivosevic teaches a lid, but does not explicitly teach wherein the lid comprises an elastomer that acts as a spring pre-loading a locking feature to create resistance with the collection container.
However, Schraga teaches wherein the lid comprises an elastomer that acts as a spring pre-loading a locking feature to create resistance with the collection container (a rubber stopper; paragraph [0005]). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ivosevic, to have an elastic lid, as taught by Schraga, because making this modification merely combines prior art elements according to known methods well known in the industry (see MPEP 2143, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 23, and 24, and claims dependent thereof, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art does not teach or suggest “wherein the blood collector attachment comprises a protrusion and the lid defines a recess to receive the protrusion to lock the collection container into the blood collector attachment” in combination with the other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art does not teach or suggest “wherein a rotatable connection assembly is provided between the holder and the blood collector attachment and is configured to permit the collection container to rotate between a filling position and a stored position relative to the holder” in combination with the other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 23, the prior art does not teach or suggest “wherein, when the collection container is held in the blood collector attachment, the lid is held under pretension in the blood collector attachment” in combination with the other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 24, the prior art does not teach or suggest “wherein the collection container detachment member provides haptic feedback when the collection container has been removed from the blood collector attachment” in combination with the other limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 04/15/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/15/2026 with regards to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant traverses the prior art rejections of claims 1 and 13.
Specifically, Applicant argues that the prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation of “wherein a collection container detachment member is provided between the blood collector attachment and the collection container to releasably attach the collection container to the blood collector attachment”. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Ivosevic teaches wherein a collection container detachment member (32; Figures 8, 27-30) is provided between the blood collector attachment and the collection container to releasably attach the collection container to the blood collector attachment (paragraphs [0062], [0074], [0082], [0085], [0087]). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation the locking portion 32 meets the limitation of the collection container detachment member and is further positioned between the blood collector attachment and the collection container. As such Applicant’s arguments are found to be unpersuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABID A MUSTANSIR/ Examiner, Art Unit 3791