DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “the guidewire lumen” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a guidewire lumen has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a guidewire lumen.
Regarding claim 18, the claim recites “the guidewire lumen” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since a guidewire lumen has not been previously introduced. Therefore, the scope of the claim is indefinite. For examination purposes, the phrase is interpreted to refer to a guidewire lumen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-13 and 17-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andersen (US 2014/0214059 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Andersen discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0061]; figs. 1-5) an intravascular apparatus (10), comprising:
an electrical circuit (52, para. [0054]) configured to generate a series of electrical pulses (para. [0052]); and
an intravascular catheter (12, para. [0033]) that includes:
an elongate catheter body (body of 12) having a distal end portion (14, para. [0032]) and a distal end at a distal terminus of the distal end portion (distalmost end of 12); and
a solenoid-type reciprocating device (includes coil section 16 and piercing element 20, para. [0036]) located at the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (fig. 1), the solenoid-type reciprocating device having a coil (26, para. [0038]) and a distal tip member (20), the coil being electrically coupled to the electrical circuit (para. [0039]), the distal tip member having a proximal armature section (portion proximal of blades 28) and a distal working end section (28, para. [0045]), the coil defining a coil aperture (depicted in fig. 3) configured to slidably receive the proximal armature section (fig. 2),
wherein the proximal armature section is configured to axially reciprocate relative to the coil when the coil is energized by the series of electrical pulses generated by the electrical circuit (paras. [0050]-[0051]), and the distal working end section is configured to axially reciprocate from the distal end of the elongate catheter body, in unison with the axial reciprocation of the proximal armature section (paras. [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 2, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body has a side wall (side wall of 12) and a work lumen (lumen of catheter 12, para. [0035]), wherein the coil of the solenoid-type reciprocating device is located on or in the side wall of the elongate catheter body (bonded to catheter 12, considered to be located on side wall, para. [0034]), and the work lumen is configured to slidably carry the distal tip member of the solenoid-type reciprocating device (via tether 24, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal tip member has a guidewire aperture (lumen 30, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 6. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body comprises a vacuum pathway that extends therethrough and provides a reduced pressure through the guidewire lumen to aspirate a blood vessel lumen (provides aspiration through catheter 24 and/or catheter 12, para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section of the distal tip member has a plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (ridges of blades 28, fig. 2) configured to deliver focused impact when reciprocated (para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 9, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 8. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section has a cylindrical portion (rounded cutting elements, para. [0046]) and a distal cap portion (sharp distal ends), therein the cylindrical portion has a smooth exterior surface (rounded surface considered to be smooth) and the distal cap portion includes the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (para. [0046]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 10, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 8. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section has a cylindrical portion (rounded cutting elements, para. [0046]) and a distal cap portion (blades 28), therein both the cylindrical portion and the distal cap portion includes the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (sharp apices produced by beveling sides 34, considered to include ridges in cutting elements, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 11, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 8. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section has an annular impact end (distal end including 28, fig. 2), and wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges distally extends to the annular impact end to form a plurality of impact protrusions at the annular impact end (sharp apices of blades 28 considered to be a plurality of impact protrusions, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Andersen discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0061]; figs. 1-5) an intravascular catheter (12, para. [0033]), comprising:
an elongate catheter body (body of 12, para. [0033]) having a distal end portion (14, para. [0032]) and a distal end at a distal terminus of the distal end portion (distalmost end of 12); and
a solenoid-type reciprocating device (includes coil section 16 and piercing element 20, para. [0036]) located at the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (fig. 1), the solenoid-type reciprocating device having a coil (26, para. [0038]) and a distal tip member (20), the distal tip member having a proximal armature section (portion proximal of blades 28) and a distal working end section (28, para. [0045]), the coil defining a coil aperture (depicted in fig. 3) configured to slidably receive the proximal armature section (fig. 2), wherein the proximal armature section is configured to axially reciprocate relative to the coil and the distal working end section is configured to axially reciprocate from the distal end of the elongate catheter body (paras. [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 13, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body has a side wall (side wall of 12) and a work lumen (lumen of catheter 12, para. [0035]), wherein the coil of the solenoid-type reciprocating device is located on or in the side wall of the elongate catheter body (bonded to catheter 12, considered to be located on side wall, para. [0034]), and the work lumen is configured to slidably carry the distal tip member of the solenoid-type reciprocating device (via tether 24, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal tip member has a guidewire aperture (lumen 30, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 17. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body comprises a vacuum pathway that extends therethrough and provides a reduced pressure through the guidewire lumen to aspirate a blood vessel lumen (provides aspiration through catheter 24 and/or catheter 12, para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 19, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section of the distal tip member has a plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (ridges of blades 28, fig. 2) configured to deliver focused impact when reciprocated (para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 20, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 19. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section has a cylindrical portion (rounded cutting elements, para. [0046]) and a distal cap portion (sharp distal ends), therein the cylindrical portion has a smooth exterior surface (rounded surface considered to be smooth) and the distal cap portion includes the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (para. [0046]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 21, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 19. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section has a cylindrical portion (rounded cutting elements, para. [0046]) and a distal cap portion (blades 28), wherein both the cylindrical portion and the distal cap portion includes the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (sharp apices produced by beveling sides 34, considered to include ridges in cutting elements, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 22, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 19. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal working end section has an annular impact end (distal end including 28, fig. 2), and wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges distally extends to the annular impact end to form a plurality of impact protrusions at the annular impact end (sharp apices of blades 28 considered to be a plurality of impact protrusions, para. [0046]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen in view of Heitzmann (US 2004/0087988 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Andersen fails to disclose comprising an anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body.
Heitzmann teaches (paras. [0138]-[0139]; fig. 12), in the same field of endeavor, an intravascular apparatus (abstract, para. [0143]) comprising an anchor balloon (150) affixed to a distal end portion of an elongate catheter body (para. [0138]; fig. 12), for the purpose of providing lateral displacement of the cutter tip away from the central axis of the artery (para. [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Andersen to further include an inflatable anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the catheter, in order to provide the capability of lateral displacement of blades 28 of Andersen away from the central axis of the artery or blood vessel, based on the teachings of Heitzmann (para. [0139]).
Regarding claim 4, Andersen (as modified) teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the anchor balloon is configured to surround at least a portion of the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (considered to extend around a circumference of the catheter, para. [0139] of Heitzmann).
Regarding claim 5, Andersen (as modified) teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the elongate catheter body has an inflation lumen (154, para. [0142] of Heitzmann) that is in fluid communication with the anchor balloon (para. [0142]).
Regarding claim 14, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12.
However, Andersen fails to disclose comprising an anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body.
Heitzmann teaches (paras. [0138]-[0139]; fig. 12), in the same field of endeavor, an intravascular apparatus (abstract, para. [0143]) comprising an anchor balloon (150) affixed to a distal end portion of an elongate catheter body (para. [0138]; fig. 12), for the purpose of providing lateral displacement of the cutter tip away from the central axis of the artery (para. [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Andersen to further include an inflatable anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the catheter, in order to provide the capability of lateral displacement of blades 28 of Andersen away from the central axis of the artery or blood vessel, based on the teachings of Heitzmann (para. [0139]).
Regarding claim 15, Andersen (as modified) teaches the catheter of claim 14. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the anchor balloon is configured to surround at least a portion of the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (considered to extend around a circumference of the catheter, para. [0139] of Heitzmann).
Regarding claim 16, Andersen (as modified) teaches the catheter of claim 14. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the elongate catheter body has an inflation lumen (154) that is in fluid communication with the anchor balloon (para. [0142]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0217275 A1 to Carmeli, disclosing a device for inducing vibrations in a guidewire.
US 2011/0196397 A1 to Frantz, disclosing a device for penetrating occlusions.
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771