DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is a response to applicant’s arguments and amendment filed 03/20/2026. Claims 1, 6-7, 9-12, 17 and 20-22 are amended. Claims 8 and 19 are cancelled. Claim 23 is new. Claims 1-7, 9-18 and 20-23 are currently pending.
The rejection of claims 7 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn due to applicant’s amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-2, 6-13 and 17-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andersen; and claims 3-5 and 14-16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen in view of Heitzmann, have been fully considered but are not persuasive, in combination with the amendments to the claims.
Applicant argues Andersen does not disclose the newly added limitation, specifically the distal cap portion comprising an exterior extending portion, an interior extending portion and an edge, such that the ridges extend continuously over the exterior portion, the interior portion, and the edge (Remarks, pg. 8).
In response to applicant’s argument, it is respectfully submitted the claim language does not preclude the ridges being defined by the exterior and interior extending portions. As discussed below, an annotated figure of Andersen has been provided, depicting an interior portion and exterior portion of the distal cap portion, and ridges extending continuously over the exterior and interior portions of the piercing element. Andersen discloses blades 28 formed by cutting into exterior and interior sides of the piercing element, such that Andersen is considered to disclose the portions as discussed below.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 23 have been fully considered, and new claim 23 has been rejected as discussed below.
Distinctions between the instant application and Andersen include the shape of the distal cap portion, and distal ends of the ridges of the distal cap portion facing a proximal direction of the device (see fig. 3 of instant application).
Claim Objections
Claims 10, 12 and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 10, in the preamble, the phrase “claim 8” appears to not be appropriately deleted. Since claim 8 is a cancelled claim, the claim is interpreted to be dependent on claim 1.
In claim 12, line 16, the phrase “and annular impact end” should read “an annular impact end”.
In claim 23, in the preamble, the phrase “the intravascular catheter” should read “the intravascular apparatus” since the claim is dependent on claim 1.
In claim 23, the phrase “each adjacent ridge” should read “each adjacent ridge of the plurality of ridges” or similar language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-13, 17-18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andersen (US 2014/0214059 A1) (all references previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Andersen discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0061]; figs. 1-5) an intravascular apparatus (10), comprising:
an electrical circuit (52, para. [0054]) configured to generate a series of electrical pulses (para. [0052]); and
an intravascular catheter (12, para. [0033]) that includes:
an elongate catheter body (body of 12) having a distal end portion (14, para. [0032]) and a distal end at a distal terminus of the distal end portion (distalmost end of 12); and
a solenoid-type reciprocating device (includes coil section 16 and piercing element 20, para. [0036]) located at the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (fig. 1), the solenoid-type reciprocating device having a coil (26, para. [0038]) and a distal tip member (20), the coil being electrically coupled to the electrical circuit (para. [0039]), the distal tip member having a proximal armature section (proximalmost end of 20) and a distal working end section (includes tubular form of 20 and 28, para. [0045]), the coil defining a coil aperture (depicted in fig. 3) configured to slidably receive the proximal armature section (fig. 2),
wherein the proximal armature section is configured to axially reciprocate relative to the coil when the coil is energized by the series of electrical pulses generated by the electrical circuit (paras. [0050]-[0051]), and the distal working end section is configured to axially reciprocate from the distal end of the elongate catheter body, in unison with the axial reciprocation of the proximal armature section (paras. [0042] and [0050]-[0051]), wherein:
the distal working end section of the distal tip member has a cylindrical portion (tubular shape of 20, annotated fig. 2), a distal cap portion (includes blades 28), and a plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (sharp distal ends of blades 28, para. [0046]; annotated fig. 2) configured to deliver focused impact when reciprocated (digs into thrombus material, para. [0046]), and
the distal cap portion comprises an exterior extending portion and an interior extending portion (annotated fig. 2), the exterior extending portion and the interior extending portion meet at an edge (apices of blades 28, para. [0046]) that forms an annular impact end (para. [0046]), and the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges extend continuously over both the exterior extending portion, the interior extending portion, and the edge (considered to extend along sides 34 and 32 of the piercing element in a continuous fashion, para. [0046]).
Annotated Figure 2 of Andersen
Regarding claim 2, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body has a side wall (side wall of 12) and a work lumen (lumen of catheter 12, para. [0035]), wherein the coil of the solenoid-type reciprocating device is located on or in the side wall of the elongate catheter body (bonded to catheter 12, considered to be located on side wall, para. [0034]), and the work lumen is configured to slidably carry the distal tip member of the solenoid-type reciprocating device (via tether 24, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal tip member has a guidewire lumen (lumen 30, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 7, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 6. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body comprises a vacuum pathway that extends therethrough and provides a reduced pressure through the guidewire lumen to aspirate a blood vessel lumen (provides aspiration through catheter 24 and/or catheter 12, para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 9, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein the cylindrical portion has a smooth exterior surface (tubular form of 20 considered to be smooth, para. [0042]; fig. 2) and the distal cap portion includes the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (para. [0046]; annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges distally extends to the annular impact end to form a plurality of impact protrusions at the annular impact end (sharp apices of blades 28 considered to be a plurality of impact protrusions, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 23, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1. Andersen further discloses wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges are disposed at an acute angle, respectively, to each adjacent ridge (annotated fig. 2 below).
Annotated Figure 2 of Andersen
Regarding claim 1, Andersen discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0061]; figs. 1-5), under an alternative interpretation with respect to the cylindrical portion, an intravascular apparatus (10), comprising:
an electrical circuit (52, para. [0054]) configured to generate a series of electrical pulses (para. [0052]); and
an intravascular catheter (12, para. [0033]) that includes:
an elongate catheter body (body of 12) having a distal end portion (14, para. [0032]) and a distal end at a distal terminus of the distal end portion (distalmost end of 12); and
a solenoid-type reciprocating device (includes coil section 16 and piercing element 20, para. [0036]) located at the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (fig. 1), the solenoid-type reciprocating device having a coil (26, para. [0038]) and a distal tip member (20), the coil being electrically coupled to the electrical circuit (para. [0039]), the distal tip member having a proximal armature section (proximalmost end of 20) and a distal working end section (includes tubular form of 20 and 28, para. [0045]), the coil defining a coil aperture (depicted in fig. 3) configured to slidably receive the proximal armature section (fig. 2),
wherein the proximal armature section is configured to axially reciprocate relative to the coil when the coil is energized by the series of electrical pulses generated by the electrical circuit (paras. [0050]-[0051]), and the distal working end section is configured to axially reciprocate from the distal end of the elongate catheter body, in unison with the axial reciprocation of the proximal armature section (paras. [0042] and [0050]-[0051]), wherein:
the distal working end section of the distal tip member has a cylindrical portion (tubular shape of 20, considered to include at least a portion of sides 34 and 32, annotated fig. 2 below), a distal cap portion (includes blades 28), and a plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (sharp distal ends of blades 28, para. [0046]; annotated fig. 2) configured to deliver focused impact when reciprocated (digs into thrombus material, para. [0046]), and
the distal cap portion comprises an exterior extending portion and an interior extending portion (annotated fig. 2), the exterior extending portion and the interior extending portion meet at an edge (apices of blades 28, para. [0046]) that forms an annular impact end (para. [0046]), and the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges extend continuously over both the exterior extending portion, the interior extending portion, and the edge (considered to extend along sides 34 and 32 of the piercing element in a continuous fashion, para. [0046]).
Annotated Figure 2 of Andersen
Regarding claim 10, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1 (see claim objection above). Andersen further discloses wherein the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges extend longitudinally over both the cylindrical portion and the distal cap portion (ridges formed by sides 34 and 32 considered to extend longitudinally by having a longitudinal component proximal of apices of blades 28, annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 12, Andersen discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0061]; figs. 1-5) an intravascular catheter (12, para. [0033]), comprising:
an elongate catheter body (body of 12, para. [0033]) having a distal end portion (14, para. [0032]) and a distal end at a distal terminus of the distal end portion (distalmost end of 12); and
a solenoid-type reciprocating device (includes coil section 16 and piercing element 20, para. [0036]) located at the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (fig. 1), the solenoid-type reciprocating device having a coil (26, para. [0038]) and a distal tip member (20), the distal tip member having a proximal armature section (proximalmost end of 20) and a distal working end section (includes tubular form of 20 and 28, para. [0045]), the coil defining a coil aperture (depicted in fig. 3) configured to slidably receive the proximal armature section (fig. 2), wherein the proximal armature section is configured to axially reciprocate relative to the coil and the distal working end section is configured to axially reciprocate from the distal end of the elongate catheter body (paras. [0042] and [0050]-[0051]), wherein:
the distal working end section of the distal tip member has a cylindrical portion (tubular shape of 20, annotated fig. 2), a distal cap portion (includes blades 28, annotated fig. 2), and a plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (sharp distal ends of blades 28, para. [0046]; annotated fig. 2) configured to deliver focused impact when reciprocated (digs into thrombus material, para. [0046]), and
the distal cap portion comprises an exterior extending portion and an interior extending portion (annotated fig. 2), the exterior extending portion and the interior extending portion meet at an edge (apices of blades 28, para. [0046]) that form an annular impact end (para. [0046]), and the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges extend continuously over both the exterior extending portion, the interior extending portion, and the edge (considered to extend along sides 34 and 32 of the piercing element in a continuous fashion, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 13, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body has a side wall (side wall of 12) and a work lumen (lumen of catheter 12, para. [0035]), wherein the coil of the solenoid-type reciprocating device is located on or in the side wall of the elongate catheter body (bonded to catheter 12, considered to be located on side wall, para. [0034]), and the work lumen is configured to slidably carry the distal tip member of the solenoid-type reciprocating device (via tether 24, para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 17, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the distal tip member has a guidewire lumen (lumen 30, para. [0044]).
Regarding claim 18, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 17. Andersen further discloses wherein the elongate catheter body comprises a vacuum pathway that extends therethrough and provides a reduced pressure through the guidewire lumen to aspirate a blood vessel lumen (provides aspiration through catheter 24 and/or catheter 12, para. [0055]).
Regarding claim 20, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the cylindrical portion has a smooth exterior surface (tubular form of 20 considered to be smooth, para. [0042]; fig. 2) and the distal cap portion includes the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (para. [0046]; annotated fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein each of the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges distally extends to the annular impact end to form a plurality of impact protrusions at the annular impact end (sharp apices of blades 28 considered to be a plurality of impact protrusions, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, Andersen discloses (see abstract; paras. [0029]-[0061]; figs. 1-5), under an alternative interpretation with respect to the cylindrical portion, an intravascular catheter (12, para. [0033]), comprising:
an elongate catheter body (body of 12, para. [0033]) having a distal end portion (14, para. [0032]) and a distal end at a distal terminus of the distal end portion (distalmost end of 12); and
a solenoid-type reciprocating device (includes coil section 16 and piercing element 20, para. [0036]) located at the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (fig. 1), the solenoid-type reciprocating device having a coil (26, para. [0038]) and a distal tip member (20), the distal tip member having a proximal armature section (proximalmost end of 20) and a distal working end section (includes tubular form of 20 and 28, para. [0045]), the coil defining a coil aperture (depicted in fig. 3) configured to slidably receive the proximal armature section (fig. 2), wherein the proximal armature section is configured to axially reciprocate relative to the coil and the distal working end section is configured to axially reciprocate from the distal end of the elongate catheter body (paras. [0042] and [0050]-[0051]), wherein:
the distal working end section of the distal tip member has a cylindrical portion (tubular shape of 20, considered to include at least a portion of sides 34 and 32, see annotated fig. 2 above), a distal cap portion (includes blades 28, annotated fig. 2), and a plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges (sharp distal ends of blades 28, para. [0046]; annotated fig. 2) configured to deliver focused impact when reciprocated (digs into thrombus material, para. [0046]), and
the distal cap portion comprises an exterior extending portion and an interior extending portion (annotated fig. 2), the exterior extending portion and the interior extending portion meet at an edge (apices of blades 28, para. [0046]) that form an annular impact end (para. [0046]), and the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges extend continuously over both the exterior extending portion, the interior extending portion, and the edge (considered to extend along sides 34 and 32 of the piercing element in a continuous fashion, para. [0046]).
Regarding claim 21, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12. Andersen further discloses wherein the plurality of circumferentially spaced ridges extend longitudinally over both the cylindrical portion and the distal cap portion (ridges formed by sides 34 and 32 considered to extend longitudinally by having a longitudinal component proximal of apices of blades 28, annotated fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andersen in view of Heitzmann (US 2004/0087988 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Andersen discloses the apparatus of claim 1.
However, Andersen fails to disclose comprising an anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body.
Heitzmann teaches (paras. [0138]-[0139]; fig. 12), in the same field of endeavor, an intravascular apparatus (abstract, para. [0143]) comprising an anchor balloon (150) affixed to a distal end portion of an elongate catheter body (para. [0138]; fig. 12), for the purpose of providing lateral displacement of the cutter tip away from the central axis of the artery (para. [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Andersen to further include an inflatable anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the catheter, in order to provide the capability of lateral displacement of blades 28 of Andersen away from the central axis of the artery or blood vessel, based on the teachings of Heitzmann (para. [0139]).
Regarding claim 4, Andersen (as modified) teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the anchor balloon is configured to surround at least a portion of the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (considered to extend around a circumference of the catheter, para. [0139] of Heitzmann).
Regarding claim 5, Andersen (as modified) teaches the apparatus of claim 3. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the elongate catheter body has an inflation lumen (154, para. [0142] of Heitzmann) that is in fluid communication with the anchor balloon (para. [0142]).
Regarding claim 14, Andersen discloses the catheter of claim 12.
However, Andersen fails to disclose comprising an anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body.
Heitzmann teaches (paras. [0138]-[0139]; fig. 12), in the same field of endeavor, an intravascular apparatus (abstract, para. [0143]) comprising an anchor balloon (150) affixed to a distal end portion of an elongate catheter body (para. [0138]; fig. 12), for the purpose of providing lateral displacement of the cutter tip away from the central axis of the artery (para. [0139]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Andersen to further include an inflatable anchor balloon affixed to the distal end portion of the catheter, in order to provide the capability of lateral displacement of blades 28 of Andersen away from the central axis of the artery or blood vessel, based on the teachings of Heitzmann (para. [0139]).
Regarding claim 15, Andersen (as modified) teaches the catheter of claim 14. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the anchor balloon is configured to surround at least a portion of the distal end portion of the elongate catheter body (considered to extend around a circumference of the catheter, para. [0139] of Heitzmann).
Regarding claim 16, Andersen (as modified) teaches the catheter of claim 14. Andersen (as modified) further teaches wherein the elongate catheter body has an inflation lumen (154) that is in fluid communication with the anchor balloon (para. [0142]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIGID K BYRD/Examiner, Art Unit 3771