Status of the Application
2. Claim 1-20 have been examined in this application. This communication is the first action on the merits.
Drawings
3. The drawings filed on 12/22/23 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a acquisition unit configured to acquire, an estimation unit configured to estimate in claim 1, 7, 12;
the estimation unit is configured to in claim 3-4, 8-11, and 15;
an output unit configured to output, the estimation unit in claim 13-14.
Also as noted, the specification (Flowchart of Fig. 13 and descriptions in Para. [0102] of Pub. 2024/0288190) discloses that “The processor 403 includes an acquisition unit 404, an estimation unit 405, and an output unit 406, as a functional configuration that performs the refrigerant amount estimation processing of estimating an amount of refrigerant by a CPU (Central Processing Unit) executing the control program stored in the storage 401” for each of the claimed units and functions that invoked 112f.
Thus, the claimed limitations are supported by the specification and are in accordance with MPEP 2181(II)(B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more as fully discussed below.
7. Regarding Independent claim 1, and 16:
Step 1: Yes
Claim 1 is drawn to an equipment management system, claim 16 is drawn to a refrigerant amount estimation method. Therefore claim 1, and 16 falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter).
Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes
Independent claim 1, and 16 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1, and 16 recites claim limitation of “based on the prediction result, “estimate an amount of the refrigerant in the equipment ….., wherein the equipment installation information includes at least one of a position of an installation location of the equipment, a building specification, and an installation direction” that under their broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates a mental concept. A human can mentally estimate an amount of the refrigerant based on the different information. Thus, these claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than a mental abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Step 2A, Prong 2: No
Claim 1, and 16 recites additional limitation of “acquire measurement information indicating a result of measuring a temperature of the refrigerant in the equipment, electrical characteristics of the equipment, and environmental information around the equipment” are forms of insignificant input or output solution activities (i.e., extra solution), such that acquiring information is necessary for the use of the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g)). The combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Claim 1 further recite additional limitation of "acquisition unit", and “estimation unit”, are considered as do not integrate into practical application and are recited at a high level of generality such that thy amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a
practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: No
The additional limitation that are a form of insignificant extra-solution activities, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because the court decisions have determined that this additional element as discussed above in step 2A of acquiring different information to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a merely generic manner for data collecting (i.e., acquiring) (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) (i: Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015) and Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
As such, claim 1, and 16 are not patent eligible.
8. Dependent claims 2-14, and 17-19:
Step 1: Yes
Claim 2-14 are drawn to an equipment management system, and claim 17-19 are drawn to a refrigerant amount estimation method. Therefore claim 2-14, and 17-19 are falls under one of four categories of statutory subject matter (process/method, machines/products/apparatus, manufactures, and compositions of matter). Nonetheless, dependent claims 2-14, and 17-19 are also ineligible for the same reasons given with respect to claim 1.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes
Dependent claim 2-14, and 17-19 are directed to a judicially recognized exception of an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 3 recites limitation of “calculate the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment ……. based on the temperature of the refrigerant in the equipment and the type of the refrigerant”;
Claim 4 recites limitation of “calculate the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment by adding……… refrigerant”;
Claim 7 recites limitation of “calculate a total amount of the refrigerant in the plurality of equipment’s….”;
Claim 8 recites limitation of “calculate a refrigerant management value indicating a reference amount of the refrigerant for each refrigerant type….”;
Claim 9 recites limitation of “determine whether the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment is excessive or insufficient by comparing the estimated amount of the refrigerant in the equipment with the refrigerant management value….”;
Claim 10 recites limitation of “estimate performance of the equipment based on the….. .….”;
Claim 11 recites limitation of “compare the estimated performance of the equipment with the equipment information, the inspection data, or the catalog information.….”;
Claim 17 recites limitation of “calculating a refrigerant management value indicating a reference amount of the refrigerant for each refrigerant type”
Claim 18 recites limitation of “determining whether the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment is excessive or insufficient by comparing the estimated amount of the refrigerant in the equipment with the refrigerant management value….”;
Claim 19 recites limitation of “estimating performance of the equipment based on the…” that under their broadest reasonable interpretation, enumerates a mental concept. A human can mentally calculate, estimate and determine by comparing data function of the claimed limitation. Thus, these claimed functions are the judicial exceptions that are no more than a mental abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(III)).
Step 2A, Prong 2: No
Claim 2 recites additional limitation of “wherein the equipment information includes at least information”, Claim 6 recites additional limitation of “wherein the environmental information around the equipment”, and Claim 7 recites additional limitation of “acquire the measurement information from each of a plurality of equipment’s including the equipment”, Claim 11 recites additional limitation of “wherein the equipment information includes inspection data or catalog information of the equipment under a specific inspection condition before shipping of the equipment”; Claim 12 recites additional limitation of “an external terminal or a group of arithmetic processing devices that can communicate with the equipment”, Claim 13 recites additional limitation of “an output unit configured to output information providing visual or auditory guidance or warning”, Claim 14 recites additional limitation of “an output unit configured to output information on a fault or maintenance of the equipment” . The functions of acquire the measurement information, output information providing visual or warning or auditory is forms of insignificant input or output solution activities (i.e., extra solution), such that acquiring and collecting of data and data outputting (i.e., displaying) are necessary for the use of the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Claim 7, 12 further recite additional limitation of "acquisition unit", and Claim 3-4, 7-14 recites “estimation unit”, Claim 13-14 recites “output unit”, Claim 15 recites “processor” are considered as do not integrate into practical application and are recited at a high level of generality such that thy amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component (MPEP 2106.05(f)).
In addition, Claim 5 recites additional limitation “wherein in the equipment, an outdoor unit including a compressor, an outdoor heat exchanger, and an expansion valve, and an indoor unit including an indoor heat exchanger are connected by a connection pipe through which the refrigerant flows” to the technological environment of a equipment management system by generally linking the use of the judicial exception to the recited equipment. Therefore, this general equipment information recitation does not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. See MPEP 2106.05(h). Therefore, it can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular field of use or a technological environment.
The combination of these additional elements does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Step 2B: No
The additional limitation that are a form of insignificant extra-solution activities, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea because the court decisions have determined that this additional element as discussed above in step 2A of acquiring and outputting to be well-understood, routine, and conventional when claimed in a merely generic manner for data receiving (i.e., acquiring, and collecting) and data outputting (i.e., displaying) (See MPEP § 2106.05(d)(II) (i: Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (See Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015) and Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 119 USPQ2d 1739 (Fed. Cir. 2016)).
As such, dependent claim 2-14, and 17-19 are not patent eligible.
9. Dependent claim 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 101 abstract idea due to their direct/indirect dependency over the claim 1, and 16 respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
11. Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12-14, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) (1) as being anticipated by Ochiai (US PG Pub: 2015/0176880).
12. Regarding claim 1, Ochiai discloses:
An equipment management system comprising: an equipment having a refrigerant (e.g., An object of the present invention is to provide a refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus, a refrigerant leakage detection device, and a refrigerant leakage detection method) (Para. [0021]);
an acquisition unit configured to acquire measurement information indicating a result of measuring a temperature of the refrigerant in the equipment (e.g., Gas-side temperature sensors (temperature sensors 33f (mounted in the indoor unit 4A) and 33i (mounted in the indoor unit 4B)) for detecting the temperature of a refrigerant (that is, a refrigerant temperature corresponding to a condensing temperature Tc for a heating operation or an evaporating temperature Te for a cooling operation) are provided on the gas-side of the indoor heat exchangers 42. Liquid-side temperature sensors (temperature sensors 33e (mounted in the indoor unit 4A) and 33h (mounted in the indoor unit 4B)) for detecting the temperature Teo of a refrigerant are provided on the liquid-side of the indoor heat exchangers 42) (Para. [0051]), electrical characteristics of the equipment (e.g., Next, the controller 3 collects the current operation data (step S102). The operation data to be collected is data indicating the operation state quantity of the refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus 1. More specifically, the operation data includes the frequencies of the compressor 21 and fans (the indoor fans 43A and 43B and the outdoor fan 27), which are actuators) (Para. [0139]), and environmental information around the equipment (e.g., and an outdoor temperature sensor 33c which is installed on the suction side of outdoor air of the outdoor unit 2 and which detects the temperature of outdoor air flowing inside the unit are installed) (Para. [0068]);
and an estimation unit configured to estimate an amount of the refrigerant in the equipment based on the measurement information acquired by the acquisition unit (e.g., The refrigerant amount calculation unit 3b has a function for calculating the amount of refrigerant in the refrigerant circuit 10 except for the amount of excess liquid refrigerant in the liquid reserve container 24, on the basis of the information measured at the measurement unit 3a, and the like) (Para. [0078]), equipment information on the equipment (e.g., First, in device information acquisition in step S101, the controller 3 acquires from the storage unit 3e the internal volume of each component element in the refrigerant circuit 10 necessary for calculation of the amount of refrigerant. More specifically, the controller 3 acquires the internal volumes of the individual pipes and individual devices (the indoor heat exchangers 42A and 43B) in the indoor units 4A and 4B, the internal volumes of the individual pipes and individual devices (the compressor 21 and the outdoor heat exchanger 23) in the outdoor unit 2, and the internal volumes of the liquid-side extension pipe 6 and the gas-side extension pipe 7. The above internal volume data is stored in advance in the storage unit 3e of the controller 3. The above internal volume data may be input to the storage unit 3e by an installation contractor through the input unit 3g. Alternatively, when the outdoor unit 2 and the indoor units 4A and 4B are installed and communication settings are done, the controller 3 may automatically communicate with an external management center or the like to acquire the internal volume data) (Para. [0138]) and equipment installation information on an installation environment of the equipment (e.g., when the refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus 1 is installed at an installation place, such as a building) (Para. [0071]),
the equipment information and the equipment installation information being preset
(e.g., The above internal volume data is stored in advance in the storage unit 3e of the controller 3. The above internal volume data may be input to the storage unit 3e by an installation contractor through the input unit 3g) (Para. [0138]),
wherein the equipment installation information includes at least one of a position of
an installation location of the equipment, a building specification, and an installation direction (e.g., The indoor units 4 are installed to be embedded in or suspended from the ceiling of a room, to be hung on the wall of the room, or the like in a building or the like) (Para. [0046]).
13. Regarding claim 2, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, wherein the equipment information includes at least information on a volume of a space in which the refrigerant can flow in the equipment (e.g., First, in device information acquisition in step S101, the controller 3 acquires from the storage unit 3e the internal volume of each component element in the refrigerant circuit 10 necessary for calculation of the amount of refrigerant. More specifically, the controller 3 acquires the internal volumes of the individual pipes and individual devices (the indoor heat exchangers 42A and 43B) in the indoor units 4A and 4B, the internal volumes of the individual pipes and individual devices (the compressor 21 and the outdoor heat exchanger 23) in the outdoor unit 2, and the internal volumes of the liquid-side extension pipe 6 and the gas-side extension pipe 7. The above internal volume data is stored in advance in the storage unit 3e of the controller 3. The above internal volume data may be input to the storage unit 3e by an installation contractor through the input unit 3g. Alternatively, when the outdoor unit 2 and the indoor units 4A and 4B are installed and communication settings are done, the controller 3 may automatically communicate with an external management center or the like to acquire the internal volume data) (Para. [0138]) and a type of the refrigerant that the equipment has (e.g., As a refrigerant filled in the refrigerant circuit 10, an azeotropic refrigerant whose saturated gas temperature and saturated liquid temperature are equal to each other or a near-azeotropic refrigerant whose saturated gas temperature and saturated liquid temperature are substantially equal to each other, is used. Alternatively, as a refrigerant filled in the refrigerant circuit 10, a zeotropic refrigerant may be used) (Para. [0043]-[0044]).
14. Regarding claim 3, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 2, wherein the estimation unit is configured to calculate the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment based on the volume of the space in which the refrigerant can flow in the equipment (Refer to Para. [0138]-[0139]), and a refrigerant density determined based on the temperature of the refrigerant in the equipment and the type of the refrigerant (e.g., More specifically, the controller 3 first calculates the density of refrigerant in the individual elements by using stable data (operation data) acquired in step S103 (step S104). That is, basically, the density of a single-phase portion in which a refrigerant is either liquid or gas can be calculated from pressure and temperature. For example, in a portion from the compressor 21 to the outdoor heat exchanger 23, a refrigerant is in a gas state, and the density of the gas refrigerant in this portion can be calculated from the discharge pressure detected by the discharge pressure sensor 34b and the discharge temperature detected by the discharge temperature sensor 33b.
[0145] Furthermore, regarding the density of a two-phase portion such as a heat exchanger or the like in which a state changes in the two-phase state, the two-phase density average is calculated on the basis of the device outlet/inlet state quantity by using an approximation. The approximation and the like necessary for the above calculations are stored in advance in the storage unit 3e. The refrigerant amount calculation unit 3b calculates the refrigerant densities of the component element parts of the refrigerant circuit 10 other than the liquid reserve container 24 by using the operation data acquired in step S103 and data of the approximation and the like stored in advance in the storage unit 3e) (Para. [0144]-[0145]).
15. Regarding claim 5, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, wherein in the equipment, an outdoor unit including a compressor, an outdoor heat exchanger, and an expansion valve, and an indoor unit including an indoor heat exchanger are connected by a connection pipe through which the refrigerant flows (e.g., The outdoor unit 2 mainly includes an outdoor-side refrigerant circuit 10c which constitutes part of the refrigerant circuit 10. The outdoor-side refrigerant circuit 10c is formed by mainly connecting a compressor 21, a four-way valve 22 as a flow switching device, an outdoor heat exchanger 23 as a heat-source-side heat exchanger, a liquid reserve container 24, an opening and closing valve 28, and an opening and closing valve 29 in series to one another) (Para. [0055], Fig. 2), and the equipment installation information includes at least information on a volume of the connection pipe (Refer to Para. [0138]-[0139]).
16. Regarding claim 6, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, wherein the environmental information around the equipment includes at least information on an ambient temperature of the equipment (e.g., That is, the state of the refrigerant circuit 10 varies according to the operation state of cooling or heating and the ambient environment, such as the outside air temperature and the indoor temperature, and the amount of required refrigerant in the refrigerant circuit 10 varies accordingly) (Para. [0104]).
17. Regarding claim 7, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, wherein the acquisition unit is configured to acquire the measurement information from each of a plurality of equipments including the equipment (e.g., Furthermore, a refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus including a plurality of outdoor units and a plurality of indoor units is also possible) (Para. [0176]), and the estimation unit is configured to calculate a total amount of the refrigerant in the plurality of equipments based on the measurement information acquired by the acquisition unit from each of the plurality of equipments (e.g., The refrigerant amount calculation unit 3b has a function for calculating the amount of refrigerant in the refrigerant circuit 10 except for the amount of excess liquid refrigerant in the liquid reserve container 24, on the basis of the information measured at the measurement unit 3a, and the like) (Para. [0078]), equipment information on the equipment (e.g., First, in device information acquisition in step S101, the controller 3 acquires from the storage unit 3e the internal volume of each component element in the refrigerant circuit 10 necessary for calculation of the amount of refrigerant. More specifically, the controller 3 acquires the internal volumes of the individual pipes and individual devices (the indoor heat exchangers 42A and 43B) in the indoor units 4A and 4B, the internal volumes of the individual pipes and individual devices (the compressor 21 and the outdoor heat exchanger 23) in the outdoor unit 2, and the internal volumes of the liquid-side extension pipe 6 and the gas-side extension pipe 7. The above internal volume data is stored in advance in the storage unit 3e of the controller 3. The above internal volume data may be input to the storage unit 3e by an installation contractor through the input unit 3g. Alternatively, when the outdoor unit 2 and the indoor units 4A and 4B are installed and communication settings are done, the controller 3 may automatically communicate with an external management center or the like to acquire the internal volume data) (Para. [0138]), and the equipment installation information (e.g., when the refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus 1 is installed at an installation place, such as a building) (Para. [0071]).
18. Regarding claim 8, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, wherein the estimation unit is configured to, based on the equipment information, calculate a refrigerant management value indicating a reference amount of the refrigerant for each refrigerant type (e.g., Occurrence or non-occurrence of refrigerant leakage can be identified by setting reference operation conditions, identifying the liquid level position in the liquid reserve container 24 at that time, periodically allowing the operation state of the refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus 1 to be equal to the reference conditions, and measuring a change in the liquid level in the liquid reserve container 24) (Para. [0172], also refer to Claim 7).
19. Regarding claim 9, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 8, wherein the estimation unit is configured to determine whether the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment is excessive or insufficient by comparing the estimated amount of the refrigerant in the equipment with the refrigerant management value (e.g., The controller identifies the liquid level position inside the liquid reserve container, based on a measured value of the temperature sensor, and detects refrigerant leakage by calculating a total amount of refrigerant filled in the refrigerant circuit, based on an amount of refrigerant in the refrigerant circuit other than a refrigerant reserved in the liquid reserve container and an amount of refrigerant reserved in the liquid reserve container, and comparing the total amount of refrigerant with an initial amount of refrigerant) (Para. [0023], Fig. 9).
20. Regarding claim 12, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, comprising: an external terminal or a group of arithmetic processing devices that can communicate with the equipment, wherein the acquisition unit and the estimation unit are provided in the external terminal or the group of arithmetic processing devices (e.g., The output unit 3h may function as a communication unit to communicate with an external apparatus through a telephone line, a LAN circuit, wireless communication, or the like. Accordingly, the refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus 1 is able to transmit refrigerant leakage occurrence/non-occurrence data indicating a determination result of refrigerant leakage, and the like to a remote management center and the like through a communication line or the like. Thus, a remote monitoring function can be provided for allowing the remote management center to always detect whether or not an abnormality has occurred and for immediately performing maintenance when an abnormality has occurred.) (Para. [0084]).
21. Regarding claim 13, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, comprising: an output unit configured to output information providing visual or auditory guidance or warning via an external device, based on a result of the estimation by the estimation unit (e.g., The output unit 3h has a function for displaying a measured value measured by the measurement unit 3a, a determination result obtained by the determination unit 3d, and the like on an LED, a monitor, or the like and outputting the measured value, the determination result, and the like to the outside) (Para. [0084]).
22. Regarding claim 14, Ochiai discloses:
The equipment management system according to claim 1, comprising: an output unit configured to output information on a fault or maintenance of the equipment via an external device, based on a result of the estimation by the estimation unit (e.g., The output unit 3h has a function for displaying a measured value measured by the measurement unit 3a, a determination result obtained by the determination unit 3d, and the like on an LED, a monitor, or the like and outputting the measured value, the determination result, and the like to the outside. The output unit 3h may function as a communication unit to communicate with an external apparatus through a telephone line, a LAN circuit, wireless communication, or the like. Accordingly, the refrigeration and air-conditioning apparatus 1 is able to transmit refrigerant leakage occurrence/non-occurrence data indicating a determination result of refrigerant leakage, and the like to a remote management center and the like through a communication line or the like. Thus, a remote monitoring function can be provided for allowing the remote management center to always detect whether or not an abnormality has occurred and for immediately performing maintenance when an abnormality has occurred) (Para.[0084]) .
23. Regarding claim 16, Claim 16 recites a refrigerant amount estimation that implement the equipment management system of claim 1, with substantially the same limitations. Therefore the rejection applied to claim 1 also applies to claim 16 respectively.
24. Regarding claim 17-18, as to claim 17-18, the applicant is directed to citation of claim 8-9, respectively, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
26. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai in view of Ochiai (Hereinafter Known as “Ochiai 1”) (Pub: 2012/0318011).
27. Regarding claim 4, Ochiai teaches the equipment management system according to claim 3 but does not specifically teach wherein the estimation unit is further configured to calculate the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment by adding an amount of the refrigerant dissolved in a refrigerating machine oil used in the equipment and an amount of the refrigerant in a liquid retention portion to the calculated amount of the refrigerant.
Ochiai 1 teaches wherein the estimation unit is further configured to calculate the amount of the refrigerant in the equipment by adding an amount of the refrigerant dissolved in a refrigerating machine oil used in the equipment and an amount of the refrigerant in a liquid retention portion to the calculated amount of the refrigerant (e.g., (5) Calculation of Amount M.sub.rOIL of Refrigerant Solved in Refrigeration Oil
The amount M.sub.rOIL [kg] of refrigerant solved in refrigeration oil is expressed by the following Expression (42).
M.sub.rOIL=V.sub.OIL.times..rho..sub.OIL.times..phi..sub.OIL (42)
Note that V.sub.OIL denotes the volume [m.sup.3] of the refrigeration oil existing in the refrigerant circuit and is known because it is a device specification. .rho..sub.OIL denotes the density [kg/m.sup.3] of the refrigeration oil and .phi..sub.OIL denotes the solubility [-] of the refrigerant in the oil. Assuming that most of the refrigeration oil exists in the compressor and the accumulator, the refrigeration oil density .rho..sub.OIL can be regarded as a constant value. Furthermore, the solubility .phi. [-] of the refrigerant in the oil is calculated on the basis of the suction temperature Ts and the suction pressure Ps as expressed by the following Expression (43).
.phi..sub.OIL=f(T.sub.s, P.sub.s) (43)
[0205] As described above, (1) the condenser refrigerant amount M.sub.rc, (2) the extension-pipe refrigerant amount M.sub.P (the sum of the liquid-refrigerant extension-pipe refrigerant amount M.sub.rPL and the gas-refrigerant extension-pipe refrigerant amount M.sub.rpG), (3) the evaporator refrigerant amount M.sub.re, (4) the accumulator refrigerant amount M.sub.rACC, and (5) the oil-solved refrigerant amount M.sub.rOIL can be calculated. All of these refrigerant amounts are summed up, so that the total refrigerant amount M.sub.r can be obtained) (Para. [0203]-[0205]).
Because Ochiai is also directed to a a method of calculating the amount of refrigerant in a split refrigerating and air-conditioning apparatus (Para. [0002]), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Ochiai and Ochiai 1 before him/her, to modify the teachings of Ochiai to include the adding an amount of the refrigerant dissolved in a refrigerating machine oil used in the equipment and an amount of the refrigerant in a liquid retention portion to the calculated amount of the refrigerant” teaching of Ochiai 1 in order to accurately performing calculation of the total amount of refrigerant in a refrigerant circuit (Para. [0005]).
28. Claim 10-11, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai in view of Fukui (Pub: 2013/0167567).
29. Regarding claim 10, Ochiai teaches the equipment management system according to claim 1 but does not specifically teach wherein the estimation unit is configured to estimate performance of the equipment [based on the equipment information, the equipment installation information, and the estimated amount of the refrigerant in the equipment].
Fukui teaches estimate performance of the equipment [based on the equipment information, the equipment installation information, and the estimated amount of the refrigerant in the equipment] (e.g., the performance characteristic of the compressor 1 may be determined by actual measurement, simulation, or the like, and the amount G.sub.r of the circulating refrigerant may be determined using a table, an approximate expression, or the like created on the basis of the determined results on the characteristics. In this case, because the performance characteristic of the compressor 1 depends on the operation frequency of the compressor 1, the degree of superheat of compressor suction, the condensing temperature, and the evaporating temperature (that is, because the performance value of the compressor 1 can be calculated from the operation frequency of the compressor 1, the degree of superheat of compressor suction, the condensing temperature, and the evaporating temperature), the operation frequency of the compressor 1, the degree of superheat of compressor suction, the condensing temperature, and the evaporating temperature can be used as parameters used in the table, approximate expression, or the like for use in determining the amount G.sub.r of the circulating refrigerant) (Para. [0051]).
Because Fukui is also directed to a refrigeration cycle apparatus that supplies a cooling target fluid cooled to an intended temperature, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Ochiai and Fukui before him/her, to use the equipment information, the equipment installation information, and the estimated amount of the refrigerant in the equipment teachings of Ochiai to include estimate performance of the equipment teaching of Fukui in order to perform operational control of the refrigeration cycle apparatus (Para. [0087]).
30. Regarding claim 11, the combined teaching of Ochiai and Fukui teaches the equipment management system according to claim 10, wherein Fukui further teaches the equipment information includes inspection data or catalog information of the equipment under a specific inspection condition before shipping of the equipment (e.g., The storage unit 33 can store the results from the computing unit 32, a given constant, an approximate expression and a table for use in calculating a refrigerant physical property value (saturation pressure, saturation temperature, enthalpy, or other values), a formula for use in computation, specifications of each device included in the refrigeration cycle apparatus 100, standard operational data, and other information) (Para. [0039]), and the estimation unit is configured to compare the estimated performance of the equipment with the equipment information, the inspection data, or the catalog information (e.g., A determining unit 34 compares the above-described computational results stored in the storage unit 33 with a flow-rate fault determining criterion value, determines "the presence or absence of a flow-rate fault" of the cooling target fluid, and inputs the result of the determination into a control unit 35. The control unit 35 controls at least one of the compressor 1, pressure-reducing means 3, and cooling target fluid sending means 5 (for example, stops an operation or reduces the speed of the compressor 1) on the basis of the result of the determination by the determining unit 34. When a flow-rate fault occurs, an alert is issued by a notifying unit 36. That is, the control unit 35 corresponds to control means in the present invention, and the notifying unit 36 corresponds to notifying means in the present invention) (Para. [0040]).
31. Regarding claim 19, as to claim 19, the applicant is directed to citation of claim 10, above.
32. Claim 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai in view of Fukui, and further in view of Peck (Pub: 2019/0178505).
33. Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ochiai and Fukui teaches the equipment management system according to claim 10 but does not specifically teach comprising: a processor configured to cause the equipment to perform pre-cooling or pre-warming operation, based on the performance of the equipment estimated by the estimation unit.
Peck teaches a processor configured to cause the equipment to perform pre-cooling or pre-warming operation, based on the performance of the equipment estimated by the estimation unit (e.g., The free cooling assembly 252 may also be configured to pre-cool the coolant prior to the compressor 246 cooling the coolant when the ambient temperature 306 is within a range of the threshold outside temperature. Pre-cooling saves energy and enhances efficiency of the conditioning system 100, because the compressor 246 will be cooling coolant at a lower temperature, thus the compressor 246 will be using less energy to cool the coolant. In one example, the free cooling assembly 252 may pre-cool the coolant when the outside ambient temperature 306 is within +/−10 degrees of the threshold outside temperature. In other words, the coolant will circulate and pre-cool in the second cooling coil 240 of the free cooling assembly 252, then circulate to the compressor 246, where the compressor 246 will provide additional cooling as required) (para. [0042]).
Because Peck is also directed to air conditioning systems, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having teachings of Ochiai, Fukui and Peck before him/her, to modify the combined equipment performance estimation teachings of Ochiai, and Fukui to include pre-cooling or pre-heating teaching of Peck in order to enhances efficiency of the conditioning system (Para. [0042]).
34. Regarding claim 20, as to claim 20, the applicant is directed to citation of claim 15, above.
Conclusion
/JIGNESHKUMAR C PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2116