DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/25/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 10, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunatori (CA 2341071 C) in view of Moskowitz (US 2021/0009402) and Burrows (US 2015/0157168).
Regarding claim 1, Sunatori discloses a coffee machine (“Dual electric coffee/tea making device [Title]) comprising
a first brewing chamber (9) (see annotated Fig. 2) and a second brewing chamber (10) (see annotated Fig. 2) arranged in a housing (8);
a first heating plate (13) (see annotated Fig. 2, “electric warmer plate 2-1” [page 3]) arranged at the bottom of the first brewing chamber (9) (see annotated Fig. 2);
a first brewing compartment (11) (see annotated Fig. 2) located in the first brewing chamber (9) and aligned on the first heating plate (13) (see annotated Fig. 2);
a second brewing compartment (12) (see annotated Fig. 2) located in the second brewing chamber (10) (see annotated Fig. 2);
a second heating plate (14) (see annotated Fig. 2, “electric warmer plate 2-1” [page 3])located at a bottom of the second brewing compartment (12) (see annotated Fig. 2);
a switch (24) (see annotated Fig. 2, “on/off switches 5-2 [page 4]) configured to transmit mains power to the first heating plate (13) when a brewing mode (16) is on and to disconnect the mains power from the first heating plate (13) when the brewing mode (16) is off (“Each on/off switches 5-2 of the control assembly 5-0 is electrically connected to the electric warmer plate 2-1 and to the electric heater element 5-3” [page 4]); and
a control panel (15) for selecting the brewing mode (16) (see annotated Fig. 2, control panel allows for selecting between strong tea, weak tea, coffee; “Horizontal movements of the arm 4-6 of the hot liquid valve of each filter assembly 4-0 is capable of variably setting the flow rate of coffee/tea liquid into the carafe 1-0 in order to vary the steeping time and thus the strength of coffee/tea so that the electric coffee/tea making device can make one of the following combinations in the two carafes: coffee and coffee, coffee and tea, tea and tea. The flow rate control setting may include "Off", "Strong Tea", "Medium Tea", "Weak Tea", "Coffee", etc.” [page 5]).
Sunatori does not expressly disclose:
a level sensor (20) configured to detect a threshold of the liquid level in a brewing mode of the second brewing compartment (12);
one or more brewing buttons (26) (28) (30) (32) (34) located thereon,
wherein it is comprised of a controller (18) having a processor (36), a memory module (40) and a speaker (42) associated with a signal transmission from the first brewing chamber (9) and the second brewing chamber (10);
being the controller (18) configured to receive a notification signal by tripping the thermostat switch (24) set to transmit a signal from the first brewing chamber (9), and to wait for 5 minutes and then to play a brewing completed notification sound file (44) stored in a memory module (40) of the controller (18) through a speaker (42); and
being the controller (18) also configured to play a brewing completed notification sound file (44) stored in the memory module (40) of the controller through the speaker (42) with a notification signal from the level sensor (20) set to transmit a signal from the second brewing chamber (10) to the controller (18).
Moskowitz is directed to a beverage dispenser [Abstract]. Moskowitz discloses:
a level sensor (20) configured to detect a threshold of the liquid level in a mode of a compartment (12) (Fig. 2, “Beverage-level sensor 170 may be a non-contact sensor, such that sensor 170 can determine beverage level 503 within the beverage container 500 without physically contacting the beverage 550 within beverage container 500” [0046]);
one or more buttons (26) (28) (30) (32) (34) located thereon (Fig. 2, buttons / “actuators 182, 183”; “beverage dispenser 100 includes a user interface 180 for receiving a beverage selection of a consumer. User interface 180 may include one or more actuators 182, 183, such as buttons, …” [0039]; “user interface 180 may include one or more groups of actuators, such as a first group of actuators 183 for selecting a base liquid, such as water, carbonated water, or milk, among others, and a second group of actuators 182 for selecting a beverage flavoring or enhancement, including but not limited to a fruit flavor, such as a lemon-lime flavor, an orange flavor, a cola flavor, or a grape flavor, coffee or tea flavors, chocolate or vanilla flavors, sweeteners, or the like” [0039]),
wherein it is comprised of a controller (18) having a processor (36), a memory module (40) and a speaker (42) associated with a signal transmission from a chamber (10) (Fig. 9, “control unit 150,” “processor 904,” “Audio device 149 may include, for example, a memory for storing an audible sound or alert, and a speaker for playing the sound or alert”: “FIG. 9 illustrates an exemplary computer system 900 in which embodiments, or portions thereof, may be implemented as computer-readable code. Control unit 150 as discussed herein may be computer systems having all or some of the components of computer system 900 for implementing processes discussed herein” [0067]; “Beverage-level indicating system 190 may further include an audio device 149 configured to emit a tone, sound, or verbal message that indicates fill level 503 of beverage container 500 to a consumer (see FIG. 4). Audio device 149 may include, for example, a memory for storing an audible sound or alert, and a speaker for playing the sound or alert. In some embodiments, audio device 149 may be configured to produce a sound (e.g., a chime or bell) to indicate that beverage container 500 has been filled to a certain predetermined level. Further, in some embodiments, audio device 149 may play a message that announces to the user that beverage container 500 is full, or that beverage container 500 is 25% full, 50% full, or 75% full, etc. Alternatively, audio device 149 may play a series of tones during filling of beverage container, wherein the tones increase in pitch or frequency during filling, such that rapid and/or higher pitched tones indicate the filling of beverage container 500” [0060]);
being the controller (18) configured to then to play a preparation completed notification sound file (44) stored in a memory module (40) of the controller (18) through a speaker (42) (described above with reference to paragraph [0060]); and
being the controller (18) also configured to play a brewing completed notification sound file (44) stored in the memory module (40) of the controller through the speaker (42) with a notification signal from the level sensor (20) set to transmit a signal from the brewing chamber (10) to the controller (18) (described above with reference to paragraph [0060]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a level sensor (20) configured to detect a threshold of the liquid level in a brewing mode of the second brewing compartment (12); one or more brewing buttons (26) (28) (30) (32) (34) located thereon, wherein it is comprised of a controller (18) having a processor (36), a memory module (40) and a speaker (42) associated with a signal transmission from the first brewing chamber (9) and the second brewing chamber (10); being the controller (18) configured to then to play a brewing completed notification sound file (44) stored in a memory module (40) of the controller (18) through a speaker (42); and being the controller (18) also configured to play a brewing completed notification sound file (44) stored in the memory module (40) of the controller through the speaker (42) with a notification signal from the level sensor (20) set to transmit a signal from the second brewing chamber (10) to the controller (18). This advantageously allows for audibly notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Moskowitz does not expressly disclose wherein the controller (18) is configured to receive a notification signal by tripping the switch (24) set to transmit a signal from a chamber (9), and to wait for 5 minutes and then to play a completed notification sound file (44).
Additionally, Sunatori / Moskowitz does not expressly disclose wherein the switch is a thermostat switch.
Burrows is directed to a coffee brewer [Title]. Burrows discloses wherein a controller (18) is configured to receive a notification signal by tripping the switch (24) set to transmit a signal from a chamber (9), and to wait for 1 minute and then to play a completed notification sound file (44), and wherein the switch is a thermostat switch (“brewer 100 further includes a bimetal check switch or thermostat 216, as shown in FIG. 17, coupled to the heating unit 160” [0154]; see also [0154]-[0156]; “The TRIAC may take various voltage measurements during the course of a brew cycle and update the control circuit 166 accordingly. … The end cycle may also be delayed (e.g., 30 seconds or more depending on the measured voltage) for a predetermined during after a low or no water condition is identified by one of the sensors described herein. Alternatively, once the low or out of water condition is met, the control circuit 166 may delay initiation of the end cycle by some duration (e.g., 1 minute)” [0160]; “An end tone may be sounded by the brewer 100 when the water reservoir 122 is in an empty state and the brew cycle has finished in its entirety” [0167]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the controller (18) is configured to receive a notification signal by tripping the switch (24) set to transmit a signal from a chamber (9), and to wait for 5 minutes and then to play a completed notification sound file (44). This advantageously allows for turning off the heater when brewing is complete, and providing additional time for any remaining liquid to be moved into the cup receiving the brewed liquid. Additionally, while Burrows discloses waiting for 1 minute and then playing a completed notification sound file, Burrows does not expressly disclose waiting for 5 minutes. However, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include waiting for 5 minutes, because the courts have held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. MPEP § 2144.05-II-A.
Fig. 2 of Sunatori, annotated
Regarding claim 2, Sunatori does not expressly disclose wherein the level sensor (20) in the second brewing chamber (10) comprises a light sensor (22) that senses the level change with the rise of the liquid level of the hot beverage in the brewing mode (16).
However, Moskowitz discloses wherein a level sensor (20) comprises a light sensor (22) that senses the level change with the rise of the liquid level of the hot beverage in the brewing mode (16) (“beverage-level sensor 170 may be … an optical sensor” [0046]; an optical sensor is a type of light sensor).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the level sensor (20) in the second brewing chamber (10) comprises a light sensor (22) that senses the level change with the rise of the liquid level of the hot beverage in the brewing mode (16). The use of level sensor, such as a light sensor, allows for determining when the beverage preparation is complete, and ultimately allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 3, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a filter coffee brewing button (28) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a filter coffee brewing program in the memory module (40) when pressed.
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons provided as externally accessible on the control panel as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Burrows discloses wherein “the brewer 100 may include a "tea" or "coffee" selector button 366” [0183], and wherein the brewer comprises “mesh filter screens 134” for “controlled filtration of ground coffee or tea” [0140].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a filter coffee brewing button (28) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a filter coffee brewing program in the memory module (40) when pressed. This allows for selecting a desired beverage to be prepared.
Regarding claim 5, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a tea brewing button (26) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a tea brewing program in the memory module (40) when pressed.
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons provided as externally accessible on the control panel as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Burrows discloses wherein “the brewer 100 may include a "tea" or "coffee" selector button 366” [0183], and wherein the brewer comprises “mesh filter screens 134” for “controlled filtration of ground coffee or tea” [0140].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a tea brewing button (26) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a tea brewing program in the memory module (40) when pressed. This allows for selecting a desired beverage to be prepared.
Regarding claim 8, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the first brewing chamber (9) by a filter coffee brewing signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the filter coffee brewing button (28) is pressed and then plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) 5 minutes after tripping the thermostat switch (24) when the filter coffee is ready in the first brewing compartment (11).
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons for receiving a beverage selection, as well as playing a preparation completed notification sound file, as described the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Burrows discloses tripping a switch when a beverage is ready and playing a tone, as well as waiting for a predetermined time, as described the rejection of claim 1. Furthermore, Burrows discloses brewing filter coffee, as described the rejection of claim 3.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the first brewing chamber (9) by a filter coffee brewing signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the filter coffee brewing button (28) is pressed and then plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) 5 minutes after tripping the thermostat switch (24) when the filter coffee is ready in the first brewing compartment (11). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 10, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the first brewing chamber (9) by a tea brewing signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the tea brewing button (26) is pressed and then plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) 5 minutes after tripping the thermostat switch (24) when the tea is ready in the first brewing compartment (11).
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons for receiving a beverage selection, as well as playing a preparation completed notification sound file, as described the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Burrows discloses tripping a switch when a beverage is ready and playing a tone, as well as waiting for a predetermined time, as described the rejection of claim 1. Furthermore, Burrows discloses brewing tea, as described the rejection of claim 5.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the first brewing chamber (9) by a tea brewing signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the tea brewing button (26) is pressed and then plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) 5 minutes after tripping the thermostat switch (24) when the tea is ready in the first brewing compartment (11). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 13, Sunatori does not expressly disclose wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a filter brewing completed information (29).
However, Moskowitz discloses playing a notification sound file as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Burrows discloses brewing filter coffee, as described the rejection of claim 3.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a filter brewing completed information (29). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 15, Sunatori does not expressly disclose wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a tea brewing completed information (27).
However, Moskowitz discloses playing a notification sound file as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Burrows discloses brewing tea, as described the rejection of claim 5.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a tea brewing completed information (27). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Claims 4, 9, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunatori (CA 2341071 C) in view of Moskowitz (US 2021/0009402) and Burrows (US 2015/0157168), further in view of Atilla (US 2017/0258262).
Regarding claim 4, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a Turkish coffee on the cinder brewing button (34) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a Turkish coffee on the cinder brewing program in the memory module (40) when pressed.
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons provided as externally accessible on the control panel as described in the rejection of claim 1.
Atilla is directed to a coffee machine [Abstract]. Atilla discloses a coffee maker that brews Turkish coffee (“at least one cup button providing determination of the number of beverage receptacles the Turkish coffee will be served thereto” [0036].
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a Turkish coffee on the cinder brewing button (34) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a Turkish coffee on the cinder brewing program in the memory module (40) when pressed. This allows for selecting a desired beverage to be prepared.
Regarding claim 9, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the second brewing chamber (10) by a brewing signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the button for brewing Turkish coffee on the cinder (34) is pressed and plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) with the notification signal from the level sensor (20) to the processor (36) when Turkish coffee on the cinder is ready in the second brewing compartment (12).
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons for receiving a beverage selection, as well as playing a preparation completed notification sound file, as described the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Atilla discloses brewing Turkish coffee as described in the rejection of claim 4.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the second brewing chamber (10) by a brewing signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the button for brewing Turkish coffee on the cinder (34) is pressed and plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) with the notification signal from the level sensor (20) to the processor (36) when Turkish coffee on the cinder is ready in the second brewing compartment (12). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 14, Sunatori does not expressly disclose wherein the brewing completed notification sound (44) file contains a Turkish coffee brewing completed information (35).
However, Moskowitz discloses playing a notification sound file as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Atilla discloses brewing Turkish coffee as described in the rejection of claim 4.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the brewing completed notification sound (44) file contains a Turkish coffee brewing completed information (35). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Claims 6, 7, 11, 12, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sunatori (CA 2341071 C) in view of Moskowitz (US 2021/0009402) and Burrows (US 2015/0157168), further in view of Yun et al. (US 2022/0338662).
Regarding claim 6, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a milk heating brewing button (30) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a milk heating program in the memory module (40) when pressed.
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons provided as externally accessible on the control panel as described in the rejection of claim 1.
Yun is directed to a coffee machine [Abstract]. Yun discloses a coffee machine that brews a milk heated beverage (“The use of a coffee machine on coffee capsules or coffee pods and a container for powder milk with a dispenser allows cooking coffee and coffee beverages without direct contact of the coffee server (operator) with the product (coffee and powder milk)” [0016]; “control buttons for turning on the coffee machine, selecting a drink, choosing a portion of milk powder” [0010]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a milk heating brewing button (30) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a milk heating program in the memory module (40) when pressed. This allows for selecting a desired beverage to be prepared.
Regarding claim 7, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a milk beverage preparation button (32) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a milk beverage preparation program in the memory module (40) when pressed.
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons provided as externally accessible on the control panel as described in the rejection of claim 1.
Yun discloses a coffee machine that brews a milk beverage (“The use of a coffee machine on coffee capsules or coffee pods and a container for powder milk with a dispenser allows cooking coffee and coffee beverages without direct contact of the coffee server (operator) with the product (coffee and powder milk)” [0016]; “control buttons for turning on the coffee machine, selecting a drink, choosing a portion of milk powder” [0010]).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a milk beverage preparation button (32) provided as externally accessible on the control panel (15) so as to initiate a milk beverage preparation program in the memory module (40) when pressed. This allows for selecting a desired beverage to be prepared.
Regarding claim 11, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the second brewing chamber (10) by a milk heating signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the milk heating button (30) is pressed and plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) with the notification signal from the level sensor (20) to the processor (36) when milk is ready in the second brewing compartment (12).
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons for receiving a beverage selection, as well as playing a preparation completed notification sound file, as described the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses a coffee machine that brews a milk heated beverage, as described in the rejection of claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the second brewing chamber (10) by a milk heating signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the milk heating button (30) is pressed and plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) with the notification signal from the level sensor (20) to the processor (36) when milk is ready in the second brewing compartment (12). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 12, Sunatori does not expressly disclose a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the second brewing chamber (10) by a milk beverage preparation signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the milk beverage preparation button (32) is pressed and plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) with the notification signal from the level sensor (20) to the processor (36) when milk beverage is ready in the second brewing compartment (12).
However, Moskowitz discloses one or more buttons for receiving a beverage selection, as well as playing a preparation completed notification sound file, as described the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses a coffee machine that brews a milk beverage, as described the rejection of claim 7.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a brewing mode (16) that is activated in the second brewing chamber (10) by a milk beverage preparation signal transmitted to the controller (18) when the milk beverage preparation button (32) is pressed and plays the brewing completed notification sound file (44) in the memory module (40) through the speaker (42) with the notification signal from the level sensor (20) to the processor (36) when milk beverage is ready in the second brewing compartment (12). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 16, Sunatori does not expressly disclose wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a milk heating completed information (31).
However, Moskowitz discloses playing a notification sound file as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses a coffee machine that brews a milk heated beverage, as described in the rejection of claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a milk heating completed information (31). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Regarding claim 17, Sunatori does not expressly disclose wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a milk beverage brewing completed information (33).
However, Moskowitz discloses playing a notification sound file as described in the rejection of claim 1. Additionally, Yun discloses a coffee machine that brews a milk beverage, as described the rejection of claim 7.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the brewing completed notification sound file (44) contains a milk beverage brewing completed information (33). This allows for preparing a desired beverage, and allows for notifying a user when brewing / filling is complete, such that the user need not wait near the beverage-making device while the beverage is being prepared.
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH M KERR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761