Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 & 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yasushi et al. (JP2011204414)
With respect to claim 1, Yasushi et al. discloses a cylindrical battery [Figure 2], comprising:
a wound electrode assembly 200 having a positive electrode and a negative electrode wound via a separator and having a hollow extending in an axial direction [Figure 2; 0023-0030]; and
a current collector plate 120 that has a protrusion portion having an apex housed in the hollow and a groove portion integrally provided with the protrusion portion on an outer side of the protrusion portion in a radial direction to define a groove and that is provided outward of the wound electrode assembly in the axial direction [Figure 9], wherein
a core exposed portion NB/Pz/Py/Px in which a mixture layer is not provided on a core of at least one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode is joined to a core joining portion of the current collector plate, and the core joining portion includes a facing portion that faces, in the radial direction, an integrated structure constituted of the protrusion portion and the groove portion. [Figures 10-11; 0060-0074; 0034-0035]
With respect to claim 2, Yasushi et al. discloses wherein the integrated structure is annular. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 3, Yasushi et al. discloses a bottomed tubular exterior can, wherein the current collector plate includes a lower current collector plate 120 joined to a plate joining portion of a bottom plate portion of the exterior can, and a place that is positioned on the most bottom plate portion side in the axial direction in the groove portion of the lower current collector plate is positioned, in the axial direction, between the core joining portion of the lower current collector plate and the plate joining portion. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 4, Yasushi et al. discloses wherein a tip of the protrusion portion is positioned, in the axial direction, between the core joining portion of the current collector plate that includes the protrusion portion and the mixture layer that is provided in the core exposed portion joined to the core joining portion. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 5, Yasushi et al. discloses a bottomed tubular exterior can, wherein the current collector plate includes a lower current collector plate 120 joined to a plate joining portion of a bottom plate portion of the exterior can, and the integrated structure of the lower current collector plate 120 is positioned outward of the plate joining portion in the radial direction. [Figure 2]
With respect to claim 7, Yasushi et al. discloses wherein a surface, of the protrusion portion, that is outward in the radial direction has an inward displacing portion that is displaced more inward in the radial direction as going to a tip of the protrusion portion. [Figure 2]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasushi et al. (JP2011204414) as applied to claim 1 above in further view of Kozuki et al. (US 2010/0316897)
With respect to claim 6, Yasushi et al. discloses a sealing assembly 102, wherein the current collector plate includes an upper current collector plate 110 connected to the sealing assembly 102 via a connection lead, and the upper current collector plate has a through hole inward of the integrated structure in the radial direction.
Yasushi et al. does not disclose wherein an upper current collector plate is connected to the sealing assembly via a connection lead, and the upper current collector plate has a through hole inward of the integrated structure in the radial direction.
Kozuki et al. discloses a cylindrical battery, comprising: a wound electrode assembly having a positive electrode and a negative electrode wound via a separator and having a hollow extending in an axial direction [Figures 1-5] and a current collector plate 10/20,
The battery comprising a sealing assembly 8/9, wherein the current collector plate 10 includes an upper current collector plate 10 connected to the sealing assembly 8/9 via a connection lead 7, and the upper current collector plate 10 has a through hole 10a inward of the integrated structure in the radial direction. [Figure 5; 0098; Figure 2]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the battery of Yasushi et al. to include the sealing assembly of Kozuki et al., in order to allow for improved charge/discharge performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yaginuma et al. (US 2011/0086258)
/KIRAN QURAISHI AKHTAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751