DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 3/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-10, and 12-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed with the Amendment, with respect to rejections under prior art have been fully considered and are moot upon a new ground(s) of rejection, as necessitated by amendment, as outlined below.
Prior Art
Listed herein below are the prior art references relied upon in this Office Action:
Hill et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2012/0297400), referred to as Hill herein [previously cited].
Chen et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0073128), referred to as Chen herein [previously cited].
Casey et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2009/0063645), referred to as Casey herein [previously cited].
Curry et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2015/0040009), referred to as Curry herein [previously cited].
Yoon et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2013/0311942), referred to as Yoon herein [previously cited on 8/12/2025].
Examiner’s Note
Strikethrough notation in the pending claims has been added by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 10, and 12-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Chen in further view of Yoon.
Regarding claim 1, Hill discloses a landscape screen interaction method, comprising (Hill, Figs. 6-7 – video display is in landscape orientation. ¶0023, ¶0033 – orientation of the device is determined):
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target interaction control of a video playing region of a first video in a landscape display page (Hill, Fig. 7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch from full screen to splitscreen mode with resized video display);
in response to the first trigger operation, resizing the video playing region to a first display region of the landscape display page, wherein the first display region and the second display region do not obstruct each other (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch to splitscreen mode with resized video display);
i
However, Hill appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a landscape video display mode (Chen, Abstract with ¶0043), including
wherein the first associated information comprises comment information corresponding to the first video, the comment information comprising a plurality of comments that have been published (Chen, Fig. 3 with ¶0043, ¶0048 and ¶0091-¶0093 – users can send and view comments synchronized with the video source in the landscape display mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the additional information presentation of Hill to include synchronized comments based on the teachings of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user interaction and engagement with the video and other users watching the video (Chen, ¶0091-¶0093).
However, Hill as modified appears not to expressly disclose in response to an adjustment operation for adjusting a seize of the first display region, adjusting a size of the first display region, and adjusting a size of the second display region based on the adjusted size of the first display region. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoon discloses a split screen display including display of images and video (Yoon, Abstract with ¶0033-¶0038), including
in response to an adjustment operation for adjusting a size of the first display region, adjusting a size of the first display region, and adjusting a size of the second display region based on the adjusted size of the first display region (Yoon, Figs. 2-4 with ¶0051-¶0055, ¶0070-¶0085 – the user can direct an input to a region for adjusting the size of the region, and the other region is correspondingly adjusted).
wherein the first display region and the second display region do not obstruct each other (Yoon, Abstract and ¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the split-screen presentation of Hill as modified to include adjusting the sizes of the regions based on the teachings of Yoon. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to more easily view the content in one of the split screen regions (Yoon, ¶0059-¶0060).
Regarding claim 2, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses receiving a second trigger operation for switching the first video; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the first video in the video playing region to a second video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the suggested videos of Hill to include selection for viewing based on the teachings of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduced the time and energy needed to access the desired video (Chen, ¶0003, ¶0032-¶0033).
Regarding claim 3, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 2 above, and further discloses switching the first associated information in the second display region to second associated information corresponding to the second video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Regarding claim 4, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 2 above, and further discloses wherein the receiving a second trigger operation for switching the first video comprises at least one of the following operations:
receiving a slide switching operation acting on a video playing picture of the first video (Hill, ¶0025 – pinch gesture. Chen, Fig. 9 with ¶0084 – sliding expansion operation);
receiving a switching operation acting on a preset video switching control in the video playing region (Hill, ¶0025 – pinch gesture. Chen, Fig. 9 with ¶0084 – sliding expansion operation); and
in a case where the first associated information includes at least one recommended video, receiving a selection operation acting on the recommended video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Regarding claim 5, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses receiving a third trigger operation for stopping displaying the first associated information; and in response to the third trigger operation, stopping displaying the first associated information, and scaling up the video playing region for displaying (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0024, ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the PiP or splitscreen mode to be switched to the full screen video display).
Regarding claim 6, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 5 above, and further discloses wherein the scaling up the video playing region for displaying comprises: scaling up the video playing region to a target display region for displaying, wherein the target display region is determined according to the first display region and the second display region (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0024, ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the PiP or splitscreen mode to be switched to the full screen video display. Applicant’s Specification at ¶0112-¶0113 describes “wherein the target display region is determined according to the first display region and the second display region” as including full-screen presentation or the entire landscape display page).
Regarding claim 10, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the second display region is located in a region outside the first display region in the landscape display page (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch to PiP or splitscreen mode with resized video display).
Regarding claim 12, Hill discloses an electronic device, comprising: at least one processor; and a storage apparatus, configured to store at least one program; when executed by the at least one processor, the at least one program causing the least one processor to implement a landscape screen interaction method comprising the following operations (Hill, Figs. 6-7 – video display is in landscape orientation. ¶0023, ¶0033 – orientation of the device is determined. ¶0021-¶0022 – processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory):
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target interaction control of a video playing region of a first video in a landscape display page (Hill, Fig. 7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch from full screen to splitscreen mode with resized video display);
in response to the first trigger operation, resizing the video playing region to a first display region of the landscape display page (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch to splitscreen mode with resized video display), and
presenting first associated information corresponding to the first video in a second display region of the landscape display page, wherein the first display region and the second display region do not obstruct each other ((Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch to splitscreen mode with resized video display. ¶0025, ¶0031, ¶0033 – suggestions presented based partly on the metadata of the currently playing movie); and
However, Hill appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a landscape video display mode (Chen, Abstract with ¶0043), including
wherein the first associated information comprises comment information corresponding to the first video, the comment information comprising a plurality of comments that have been published (Chen, Fig. 3 with ¶0043, ¶0048 and ¶0091-¶0093 – users can send and view comments synchronized with the video source in the landscape display mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the additional information presentation of Hill to include synchronized comments based on the teachings of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user interaction and engagement with the video and other users watching the video (Chen, ¶0091-¶0093).
However, Hill as modified appears not to expressly disclose in response to an adjustment operation for adjusting a seize of the first display region, adjusting a size of the first display region, and adjusting a size of the second display region based on the adjusted size of the first display region. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoon discloses a split screen display including display of images and video (Yoon, Abstract with ¶0033-¶0038), including
in response to an adjustment operation for adjusting a size of the first display region, adjusting a size of the first display region, and adjusting a size of the second display region based on the adjusted size of the first display region (Yoon, Figs. 2-4 with ¶0051-¶0055, ¶0070-¶0085 – the user can direct an input to a region for adjusting the size of the region, and the other region is correspondingly adjusted).
wherein the first display region and the second display region do not obstruct each other (Yoon, Abstract and ¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the split-screen presentation of Hill as modified to include adjusting the sizes of the regions based on the teachings of Yoon. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to more easily view the content in one of the split screen regions (Yoon, ¶0059-¶0060).
Regarding claim 13, Hill discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program, the program, when executed by a processor, implementing a landscape screen interaction method comprising the following operations (Hill, Figs. 6-7 – video display is in landscape orientation. ¶0023, ¶0033 – orientation of the device is determined. ¶0021-¶0022 – processor executing instructions stored in hardware memory):
receiving a first trigger operation acting on a target interaction control of a video playing region of a first video in a landscape display page (Hill, Fig. 7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch from full screen to splitscreen mode with resized video display);
in response to the first trigger operation, resizing the video playing region to a first display region of the landscape display page (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch to splitscreen mode with resized video display), and
presenting first associated information corresponding to the first video in a second display region of the landscape display page, wherein the first display region and the second display region do not obstruct each other ((Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0023, ¶0028 and ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the landscape video display to switch to splitscreen mode with resized video display. ¶0025, ¶0031, ¶0033 – suggestions presented based partly on the metadata of the currently playing movie); and
However, Hill appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Chen discloses a landscape video display mode (Chen, Abstract with ¶0043), including
wherein the first associated information comprises comment information corresponding to the first video, the comment information comprising a plurality of comments that have been published (Chen, Fig. 3 with ¶0043, ¶0048 and ¶0091-¶0093 – users can send and view comments synchronized with the video source in the landscape display mode).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the additional information presentation of Hill to include synchronized comments based on the teachings of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve user interaction and engagement with the video and other users watching the video (Chen, ¶0091-¶0093).
However, Hill as modified appears not to expressly disclose in response to an adjustment operation for adjusting a seize of the first display region, adjusting a size of the first display region, and adjusting a size of the second display region based on the adjusted size of the first display region. However, in the same field of endeavor, Yoon discloses a split screen display including display of images and video (Yoon, Abstract with ¶0033-¶0038), including
in response to an adjustment operation for adjusting a size of the first display region, adjusting a size of the first display region, and adjusting a size of the second display region based on the adjusted size of the first display region (Yoon, Figs. 2-4 with ¶0051-¶0055, ¶0070-¶0085 – the user can direct an input to a region for adjusting the size of the region, and the other region is correspondingly adjusted).
wherein the first display region and the second display region do not obstruct each other (Yoon, Abstract and ¶0053).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the split-screen presentation of Hill as modified to include adjusting the sizes of the regions based on the teachings of Yoon. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable the user to more easily view the content in one of the split screen regions (Yoon, ¶0059-¶0060).
Regarding claim 14, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 12 above, and further discloses the landscape screen interaction method further comprising: receiving a second trigger operation for switching the first video; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the first video in the video playing region to a second video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the suggested videos of Hill as modified to include selection for viewing based on the teachings of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduced the time and energy needed to access the desired video (Chen, ¶0003, ¶0032-¶0033).
Regarding claim 15, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 14 above, and further discloses the landscape screen interaction method further comprising: switching the first associated information in the second display region to second associated information corresponding to the second video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Regarding claim 16, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 14 above, and further discloses wherein the receiving a second trigger operation for switching the first video comprises at least one of the following operations: receiving a slide switching operation acting on a video playing picture of the first video (Hill, ¶0025 – pinch gesture. Chen, Fig. 9 with ¶0084 – sliding expansion operation);
receiving a switching operation acting on a preset video switching control in the video playing region (Hill, ¶0025 – pinch gesture. Chen, Fig. 9 with ¶0084 – sliding expansion operation); and
in a case where the first associated information includes at least one recommended video, receiving a selection operation acting on the recommended video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Regarding claim 17, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 12 above, and further discloses receiving a third trigger operation for stopping displaying the first associated information; and in response to the third trigger operation, stopping displaying the first associated information, and scaling up the video playing region for displaying (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0024, ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the PiP or splitscreen mode to be switched to the full screen video display).
Regarding claim 18, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 13 above, and further discloses receiving a second trigger operation for switching the first video; and in response to the second trigger operation, switching the first video in the video playing region to a second video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the suggested videos of Hill to include selection for viewing based on the teachings of Chen. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduced the time and energy needed to access the desired video (Chen, ¶0003, ¶0032-¶0033).
Regarding claim 19, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 18 above, and further discloses switching the first associated information in the second display region to second associated information corresponding to the second video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Regarding claim 20, Hill as modified discloses the elements of claim 18 above, and further discloses wherein the receiving a second trigger operation for switching the first video comprises at least one of the following operations:
receiving a slide switching operation acting on a video playing picture of the first video (Hill, ¶0025 – pinch gesture. Chen, Fig. 9 with ¶0084 – sliding expansion operation);
receiving a switching operation acting on a preset video switching control in the video playing region (Hill, ¶0025 – pinch gesture. Chen, Fig. 9 with ¶0084 – sliding expansion operation); and
in a case where the first associated information includes at least one recommended video, receiving a selection operation acting on the recommended video (Chen, Fig. 7 with ¶0084-¶0086 – video recommendation list is shown in landscape display mode. Recommendations are relevant to the initial video. An operation on the recommended list switches the target video to the selected video. Recommended list is updated in response to the new video selected).
Regarding claim 21, Hill discloses the elements of claim 13 above, and further discloses the landscape screen interaction method further comprising: receiving a third trigger operation for stopping displaying the first associated information; and in response to the third trigger operation, stopping displaying the first associated information, and scaling up the video playing region for displaying (Hill, Figs. 6-7 with ¶0024, ¶0043-¶0044 – trigger can include gestures input at the display to cause the PiP or splitscreen mode to be switched to the full screen video display).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Chen in further view of Yoon in further view of Casey.
Regarding claim 7, Hill discloses the elements of claim 1 above. However, Hill appears not to expressly disclose wherein the target interaction control comprises a comment identifier in the landscape display page; and wherein the presenting first associated information corresponding to the first video in a second display region of the landscape display page comprises: presenting first comment information corresponding to the first video in the second display region of the landscape display page.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Casey discloses a video interface, including a chat portion (Casey, Abstract), including
wherein the target interaction control comprises a comment identifier in the landscape display page; and wherein the presenting first associated information corresponding to the first video in a second display region of the landscape display page comprises: presenting first comment information corresponding to the first video in the second display region of the landscape display page (Casey, Figs. 3e and 3f with ¶0050 – selection at the expand icon of the comment identifier results in expanding the chat session interface and resizing the video interface).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the web content region of Hill to include a trigger for displaying comments based on the teachings of Casey. The motivation for doing so would have been to improve interaction between video program users, by simplifying the process and devices required (Casey, ¶0007-¶0008, ¶0010).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Chen in further view of Yoon in further view of Curry.
Regarding claim 8, Hill discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the target interaction control comprises
However, Hill appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Curry discloses resizing a video player (Curry, Abstract), including
the target interaction control comprises a publisher identifier of the first video in the landscape display page; and wherein the presenting first associated information corresponding to the first video in a second display region of the landscape display page comprises: presenting video information published by a publisher corresponding to the first video in the second display region of the landscape display page (Curry, Fig. 6A-7B with ¶0029, ¶0075-¶0077 – resized video interface includes selection of publisher (channel) page, including videos presented by the same publisher. Figs. 5A-5B – links for related movies during full size playback include “suggested videos” and “more from channel”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the interface of Hill to include an interface for selecting suggestion categories including a publisher channel based on the teachings of Curry. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable users to focus suggestions to a channel which they’re interested in (Curry, ¶0029).
Regarding claim 9, Hill discloses the elements of claim 1 above, and further discloses wherein the second display region
However, Hill appears not to expressly disclose the limitations in strikethrough above. However, in the same field of endeavor, Curry discloses resizing a video player (Curry, Abstract), including
a home page jump identifier (Curry, Fig. 6A-7B with ¶0029, ¶0075-¶0077 – resized video interface includes selection of publisher (channel) page, including videos presented by the same publisher. Figs. 5A-5B – links for related movies during full size playback include “suggested videos” and “more from channel”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the interface of Hill to include an interface for selecting suggestion categories including a publisher page based on the teachings of Curry. The motivation for doing so would have been to enable users to focus suggestions to a channel which they’re interested in (Curry, ¶0029).
Conclusion
/DANIEL W PARCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2174