DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 25, 31, 37, 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolopoulos (US 2002/0116715 A1) in view of Etwaru (US 2022/0060778 A1).
Regarding Claim 25, Apostolopoulos discloses a computing system (e.g. Fig. 1, and Fig. 3, Fig. 5 include more details of Fig. 1) comprising: a host processor (e.g. Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0096]); a first adaptor (e.g. Fig. 3 Encoder 314); a second adaptor (e.g. Fig. 3 Encoder 316); and memory (e.g. Paragraph [0051], video storage facility) comprising instructions which, when executed by the host processor, cause the computing system to: encode, via the first encoder, an I-frame of a live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0041] for real-time video) and a first subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 314 generates I followed by P odd frames); encode, via the second graphics adapter, a second subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 316 generates P even frames); and combine the encoded video frames from the first adapter and the encoded video frames from the second adapter into an output video bitstream (e.g. Paragraph [0061]).
Although Apostolopoulos discloses two adaptors for processing video; it fails to explicitly disclose such adaptors are graphic adaptors.
However, Etwara teaches graphic adaptors (Paragraph [0153, 0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate such graphic adaptors as taught as Etwara into the system of Apostolopoulos in order to have functionality and features of graphic display with computer storage medium.
Regarding Claim 31, Apostolopoulos discloses to encode, via the first encoder, an I-frame of a live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0041] for real-time video) and a first subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 314 generates I followed by P odd frames); encode, via the second graphics adapter, a second subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 316 generates P even frames); and combine the encoded video frames from the first adapter and the encoded video frames from the second adapter into an output video bitstream (e.g. Paragraph [0061]).
Although Apostolopoulos discloses two adaptors for processing video; it fails to explicitly disclose a semiconductor apparatus comprising: one or more substrates; and logic coupled to the one or more substrates, wherein the logic is implemented at least partly in one or more of configurable logic or fixed-functionality hardware logic; and such adaptors are graphic adaptors.
However, Etwara teaches a semiconductor apparatus (e.g. Paragraph [0124]) comprising: one or more substrates (e.g. Paragraph [0120]); and logic coupled to the one or more substrates, wherein the logic is implemented at least partly in one or more of configurable logic or fixed-functionality hardware logic (e.g. Paragraph [0121, 0123]); and graphic adaptors (Paragraph [0153, 0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate the semiconductor structure and graphic adaptors as taught as Etwara into the system of Apostolopoulos in order to have functionality and features of data processing and graphic display with computer storage medium.
Regarding Claim 37, Apostolopoulos discloses at least one computer readable storage medium (e.g. Paragraph [0003]) comprising a set of instructions which, when executed by a computing system, cause the computing system to:
encode, via the first encoder, an I-frame of a live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0041] for real-time video) and a first subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 314 generates I followed by P odd frames); encode, via the second graphics adapter, a second subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 316 generates P even frames); and combine the encoded video frames from the first adapter and the encoded video frames from the second adapter into an output video bitstream (e.g. Paragraph [0061]).
Although Apostolopoulos discloses two adaptors for processing video; it fails to explicitly disclose such adaptors are graphic adaptors.
However, Etwara teaches graphic adaptors (Paragraph [0153, 0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate such graphic adaptors as taught as Etwara into the system of Apostolopoulos in order to have functionality and features of graphic display with computer storage medium.
Regarding Claim 43, Apostolopoulos discloses a method (e.g. Paragraph [0001]) comprising: encoding, via the first encoder, an I-frame of a live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0041] for real-time video) and a first subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 314 generates I followed by P odd frames); encode, via the second graphics adapter, a second subset of P-frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0059], encoder 316 generates P even frames); and combine the encoded video frames from the first adapter and the encoded video frames from the second adapter into an output video bitstream (e.g. Paragraph [0061]).
Although Apostolopoulos discloses two adaptors for processing video; it fails to explicitly disclose such adaptors are graphic adaptors.
However, Etwara teaches graphic adaptors (Paragraph [0153, 0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate such graphic adaptors as taught as Etwara into the system of Apostolopoulos in order to have functionality and features of graphic display with computer storage medium.
Claims 26-27, 32-33, 38-39, 44-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolopoulos (US 2002/0116715 A1) in view of Etwaru (US 2022/0060778 A1) and Grigorian (US 2008/0063362 A1).
Regarding Claims 26, 32, 38, 44, Apostolopoulos discloses divide frames of the live video signal (e.g. Paragraph [0055]) into the first subset of P-frames and the second subset of P-frames on an alternating frame basis (e.g. paragraph [0059, 0060]); wherein to encode the first subset of P-frames and to encode the second subset of P-frames (e.g. paragraph [0059, 0060]); wherein to encode the first subset of P-frames and to encode the second subset of P-frames is to occur essentially in parallel (e.g. Fig. 3 and Paragraph [0049]).
Although Apostolopoulos discloses to encode with the same I-frame (e.g. Paragraph [0059]); It fails to explicitly disclose to copy the I-frame prior to encoding the second subset of P-frames.
However, Grigorian teaches to copy the I-frame (e.g. Paragraph [0015]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate such frame copying as taught as Grigorian prior encoding the second subset of P-frames of the system of Apostolopoulos in view of Etwara in order to efficiently search video data and provide fast playback without burdening the system.
Regarding Claims 27, 33, 39, 45, Apostolopoulos discloses the first subset of P-frames has frame dependencies only on frames in the first adapter (e.g. Paragraph [0057]), and wherein the second subset of P-frames has frame dependencies only on frames in the second adapter (e.g. Paragraph [0058]).
Claims 28, 34, 40, 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolopoulos (US 2002/0116715 A1) in view of Etwaru (US 2022/0060778 A1), and further in view of Grigorian (US 2008/0063362 A1) and Pichumani (US 2015/0373383 A1).
Regarding Claims 28, 34, 40, 46, although Apostolopoulos further discloses divide the live video signal with different frame rate on an alternating frame basis (e.g. paragraph [0059, 0060]);
It fails to explicitly disclose dividing into a plurality of layers, copy the I-frame from the first graphics adapter to the second graphics adapter prior to encoding, via the second graphics adapter, the second subset of P-frames; and copy at least one encoded reference P-frame per cluster between the first graphics adapter and the second graphics adapter.
However, Grigorian teaches to copy the I-frame (e.g. Paragraph [0015]); and Pichumani teaches dividing into a plurality of layers (e.g. Fig. 2 and Paragraph [0013, 0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate such frame copying as taught as Grigorian prior encoding the second subset of P-frames of the system of Apostolopoulos in view of Etwara in order to efficiently search video data and provide fast playback without burdening the system; and to incorporate multiple layers of stream content as taught as Pichumani with the system of Apostolopoulos in view of Etwara in order for scalable coding.
Claims 29, 30, 35, 36, 41, 42, 47, 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Apostolopoulos (US 2002/0116715 A1) in view of Etwaru (US 2022/0060778 A1) and Pichumani (US 2015/0373383 A1).
Regarding Claims 29, 35, 41, 47, although Apostolopoulos in view of Etwaru discloses to encode the first subset of P-frames, via the first graphics adapter; and wherein to encode the second subset of P-frames, via the second graphics adapter;
It fails to explicitly discloses to perform content adaptive bitrate encoding on each P-frame of the subset.
However, Pichumani teaches to perform content adaptive bitrate encoding on each P-frame of the subset (e.g. abstract, Paragraph [0016]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate content adaptive bitrate coding as taught as Pichumani with the system of Apostolopoulos in view of Etwara in order for scalable coding.
Regarding Claims 30, 36, 42, 48, Pichumani further teaches to perform content adaptive bitrate encoding includes use of one or more hardware-generated quality metrics (e.g. Paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hassier (US 2020/0304849 A1), discloses content delivery;
Poola (US 2010/0302985 A1), discloses transmission based on interframe.
/YULIN SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485