Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 is considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hagimoto et al. (US 2021/0001945) in view of .Winter (US Pat 3,870,340).
Regarding claim 1, Hagimoto et al. disclose a straddle type vehicle, comprising:
a taillight arranged on a rear-carriage a support bracket mounted to the rear-carriage and arranged above said taillight, wherein the support bracket is shaped to define at least one grip portion for a passenger; a radar arranged on the rear-carriage ([0020]) and configured to detect the presence of other vehicles in a rear area of said straddle type vehicle wherein said radar is connected directly or indirectly to said support bracket and is arranged, according to a side view of the vehicle, in a position, below said support bracket, between said support bracket ([0026]- [0027].
However, Hagimoto et al. is silent about the taillight, cantilevered with respect to the taillight in a longitudinal extension direction towards the rear-carriage.
In the same field of endeavor, Winter (US Pat 3,870,340) discloses taillight, cantilevered with respect to the taillight in a longitudinal extension direction towards the rear-carriage (column 9, lines 16-43).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to cantilever the taillight as taught by Winter in the system of Hagimoto et al. in order to support various range of the angles for various vehicles.
Regarding claim 2, for the same motivation as above, Hagimoto et al. disclose straddle type vehicle wherein the cantilevered position of the radar with respect to the taillight defines an open space below said radar ([0020]), which extends:- in said longitudinal direction ([0026]) between a distal end of said taillight and a distal end( of said radar and in a vertical direction orthogonal to said longitudinal direction (Winter Column 12, lines 1-30) between a lower end( of said radar up to extending to at least a lower end( of said taillight...
Regarding claim 3, Hagimoto et al. disclose a straddle type vehicle, wherein said radar is arranged onboard the support bracket (figure 1, element A).
Regarding claim 8, Hagimoto et al. disclose a straddle type vehicle wherein damping means are provided adapted to damp the vibrations during driving [0025].
Regarding claim 9, for the same motivations as in claim 1, Hagimoto et al. in view of Winter disclose a straddle type vehicle wherein the radar position means are provided wherein the position means comprise sliding guides which allow movement in horizontal and vertical direction (Winter, column 9, lines 46-67).
Regarding claim 10, for the same motivation as in claim 1, Hagimoto et al.in view of Winter disclose straddle type vehicle wherein said adjusting means comprises an actuator controlled by a control unit, which allows adjusting the position of the radar moving along said sliding guides (Winter, column 9, lines 46-67).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Sing, Jasvir (US 20190198986 discloses a a Radar support Structure.
Yu Chen-Chih (EP 2397366 A1) discloses a structure of motorcycle taillight.
Nishijima Tomok (WO 2019064912) discloses a support member structure for saddled vehicles.
Lin,Sunkg-Kun et al. (TM M669390 U) discloses a motorcycle with a Radar sensor.
/JAYANTI K PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2485 February 17, 2026