DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8-10, 12, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behal et al. (US 2009/0203570 A1).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-6, 8 and 16-19, Behal teaches a fabric treatment composition (i.e. laundry); [9, 15], comprising; (i); 0.1-20% cationic fabric conditioner (cationic quaternary ammonium compounds are also classified a biocides) such as instantly claimed formula-I with R1-R2 = C1-C3 alkyl group (R7 of reference), R3, R4 = C8-C24 (R5, R6 of reference) alkyl or alkenyl groups (including diester quats & straight chain; instant claim 16); [25-37, 30, 46], wherein X- (instant claims 17, 19) is Cl-, Br-, I-, NO3- ; [27]. Behal teaches the instant formula (ii); with instant R1-R2 = C1-C3 alkyl group (R4 of reference) and instant R3= C6-C18 (R2 of reference) alkyl or alkenyl group (including straight chain; instant claims 2 and 18), instant R4 (R3 of reference) a methyl substituted benzyl group; [38-43], and (iii); 0.1-10% C4-C8 organic tricarboxylic (with significant overlap instant claims 1, 5-6) acid such as citric acid; [47-49], wherein the citric acid (instant claim 3) is the only acid present; [Tables 1-3]. The composition is construed (instant claim 8) as not comprising any further quaternary ammonium compound; [Tables 2-3].
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Behal’s teaching on the amounts of the quaternary ammonium biocidal compounds of formula (i) and (ii) is in total of about 5% which has considerable overlap with the teaching of Behal (01-20%). Behal does not teach the individual amounts of (i) and (ii), however this is construed as an obvious laboratory experimentation practice with the motivation of obtaining a required biocidal efficiency due to each formula’s specific activity. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to select the instantly claimed amounts of each quaternary ammonium biocide with the motivation of enhancing the combined efficacy.
Regarding claims 9-10, 12 and 20-21, Behal teaches presence of no bleach; [Tables 2-3], wherein the pH of composition is in the range of 6.9 to 8.9; [Tables 2, 4, Column 65]. For claim 12 the dimethyldialkyl ammonium chloride (DDAC) and alkyldimrthyl benzalkonium chloride are taught by formulas (i) and (ii) as discussed above. Water is taught by Behal; [53].
Regarding claim 14, Behal teaches a method of sanitizing a laundry washing by adding 2.5 grams of composition to a liter of aqueous liquor of an automatic washing machine for a certain period of time. At the time before the effective filing date of invention to add any amount of liquid biocidal composition as intended for disinfecting and removal of contaminating agents from the fabric substrates.
Claims 4, 7, 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Behal et al. (US 2009/0203570 A1) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of Eppler et al. (US 2018/0289601 A1).
Regarding claims 4, 7, 11 and 22, Behal’s does not teach the tricarboxylic acid salts with the instantly claimed anions. However, the analogous art of Eppler et al. teaches a similar sanitizing laundry treatment composition (10, 50, 57, 80, claims 19, 39) comprising citric acid, NaOH and thus its sodium salts ( as pH adjusting or buffering agent) in the amounts 0.1-10%; [66]. At the time before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to add the NaOH of Eppel to Behal’s composition with the motivation of stabilizing the pH of solution for a further synergistic biocidal activity of the composition, as taught by Eppler above. Note that (instant claim 11) water of the composition is taught by Behal; [53].
Correspondence
/M.R.A./
Examiner, Art Unit 1767
2026/02/15
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767