Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 16 April 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the unity breaking reference does not teach the common technical feature as amended. This is not found persuasive for the reasons discussed below under the prior art rejection of claim 1.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 8-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-8 of copending Application No. 18573664 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the copending claim teaches 0.05-10% branching agent while the instant claim is 0.05-5%. It has been held that overlapping ranges are prima facie obvious.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the impact modifiers" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 / 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious Smith (US 2017/0253710) as evidenced by NPL1 (Reactive extrusion of PLA, PBAT with a multi-functional epoxide: Physico-chemical and rheological properties).
Smith is directed to a compound which can be extruded into a pellet (¶52). The compound is formed from a chain extender and a base polymer. In example 7, the base polymer is PA12 and the chain extender is Joncryl ADR 4368C in an amount of 1.5% based on 100% of the base polymer which is about 1.5% based on the total of the constituents. Joncryl 4368 is an epoxyide branching agent with functionality of about 9 and EEW of 285 g/mol (see NPL1).
Smith fails to teach the property recited in claim 1.
However, given Smith uses the same polymer (PA12) as taught as suitable in the instant application and a branching agent which meets the limitations of claims 1, 4, and 5 it is reasonable to conclude the properties of claim 1 are inherent to the prior art. In particular in light of the closeness of Smith to example 2 and the significantly higher amounts of branching agents in all of the CE of the instant application.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977); see also In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ([p]roducts of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.”). In addition, the presently claimed properties would obviously have been present once the Smith product is provided. Note In re Best, 195 USPQ at 433, footnote 4 (CCPA 1977).
Smith anticipates or renders obvious claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7
As to claim 2, the claim is a product claim not defined by the process by which is it made. “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Crevecoeur (US 20050004312).
Crevecoeur is directed to a chain branching agent and polyamide composition comprising the agent. The agent is included in an amount from 0.01-6% relative to the PA and the composition may include only the agent and polyamide (see e.g., claim 17). Crevecoeur exemplifies PA6 but teaches PA 11 or 12 may also be used (see e.g., ¶22) and properties of the PA in the subsequent paragraphs. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use as the PA of Crevecoeur PA12 or 11 as both are taught as suitable. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976).
Crevecoeur does not teach the property in claim 1 however, given the similarity of the Crevecoeur and the instant application it is reasonable to conclude the properties of claim 1 are inherent to the prior art. In particular in light of the closeness of Crevecoeur to example 1 and the significantly higher amounts of branching agents in all of the CE of the instant application.
Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
Crevecoeur renders obvious claims 1, 3, 6, 7.
As to claim 2, the claim is a product claim not defined by the process by which is it made.
“[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.” In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Conclusion
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781