DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 ,10/14/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202110738081.5 filed on 06/30/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recite “a reselection determination“. Based on the language of claim 1 it is unclear to the Examiner what “a reselection determination ” correspond to . For example, is it correspond to the same “reselection determination” or is it correspond different “reselection determination”
Claims 2-20, dependent claims are rejected based on their dependency from the rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-7, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sang (US 20210176656 A1), hereinafter Sang.
Regarding to claim 1,
Sang teaches a method for determining a reselection determination parameter, comprising:
([0295] a uniform UE measurement framework .. for ... handover, “S”, or “R” criterion ... uniform framework and mobility scheme applies to ... BWP selection ... in a wideband carrier cell or among neighboring cells. ... [0296] BWP parameters that are signaled (implicitly by RSs between a UE and network entity or explicitly by RRC or SI signaling) may be utilized to scale measurements (such as RSRP, RSRQ, SINR, SNR, RSSI, and so on) ... similar to mobility speed scaling of measurements... (re)selection scheme to harmonize the cell or BWP level decisions and reduce handover ping-pong behavior due to inconsistent measurements of cell vs. BWP level channel quality ... [0298] mobility scaling scheme and metric based on target BWP parameters is provided... or by selection (S) or reselection (R) criterion))
acquiring measurement information of a neighboring cell of a cell where a user equipment (UE) is currently camping (fig. 9a-9c, [0166] UE performs cell selection or reselection, camps on the (re)selected cell, and starts neighboring cell measurements and monitoring and acquiring system information ... [0122] the network may configure the UE to perform the following NR measurements (based on different RS types ...) ...measurements at SSB(s) of neighbour cell(s) that have different center frequency (or frequencies) ... compared to the serving ... measurements at CSI-RS(s) resource(s) of configured neighbour cell(s) whose bandwidth(s) are not within the bandwidth(s) or having different subcarrier spacing compared to the CSI-RS resource(s) on the serving cell(s) configured for measurements)
performing normalization processing of a predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information (fig. 9a-9c, [0309] UE is configured to measure reference signals for mobility, the UE makes measurements of the reference signals ... S1 measurement results ... scaling of measurements or mobility decisions based on BWP parameters ... [0333] using BWP-level measurement scaling to derive normalized CH metrics (or similarly, measurement gap))
obtaining a reselection determination parameter that meets a predetermined requirement, wherein a reselection determination parameter obtained by performing the normalization processing of the predetermined rule on cell data of at least one system meets the predetermined requirement (fig. 9a-9c, [0333] measurement framework and mobility scheme involves steps S1 and S2 inputs ... and then combines the normalized CH metrics with initial step S1 and S3 decisions hierarchically ... or final decisions in “S”, “R”, or mobility ... step S1 measure a cell-specific RS .... Then, for the S1 selected cells... with higher priority to scale or refine the channel measurements at the BWP-level are used... step S3 derives the final mobility results).
Regarding to claim 2,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 1,
Sang further teaches wherein acquiring measurement information of the neighboring cell of a cell where the UE is currently camping comprises: acquiring frequency points to be measured from system information of a system information block (SIB) of the cell where the UE is currently camping ([0170-0176] Absolute priorities of different NR frequencies or inter-RAT frequencies may be provided to the UE in the system information and [0166] UE performs cell selection or reselection, camps on the (re)selected cell, and starts neighboring cell measurements and monitoring and acquiring system information)
taking a valid frequency point configured with a priority from the frequency points to be measured as a target frequency point ([0170-0176] The UE shall only perform cell reselection evaluation for NR frequencies and inter-RAT frequencies that are given in SI and for which the UE has a priority provided)
determining, from measurement information of the target frequency point, the measurement information of the neighboring cell of the cell where the UE is currently camping ([0176-0177] cells are picked by a “R” criterion must meet cell selectability (referred to herein as an “S” criterion) as a prerequisite. Cell reselection criterion “R” defines that, including standardized mobility state parameter scaling ... SIB3 defines absolute priority for the current LTE RF carrier, and similarly SIB5˜8 for other RAT carriers... intra-frequency, the (RSRP) cell-ranking criterion Rs for serving cell and Rn for neighboring cells).
Regarding to claim 6,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sang further teaches wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises an original reselection threshold ([0298] measurement metrics (e.g., RSRP or its threshold)) the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized reselection threshold, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original reselection threshold comprises: adding the original reselection threshold with a third offset to obtain the normalized reselection threshold, wherein the normalized reselection threshold has a positive value, and cells of different systems correspond to the same third offset ([0166-0168 ] For LTE ... cell selection criterion “S” defines that a cell is selectable only if it meets below conditions ... Srxlev>0 AND Squal>0 ... RSRP Srxlev=Qrxlevmeas−(Qrxlevmin+Qrxlevminoffset) ... [0318 ] the scaling also allows for the normalization of channel metrics ... Scale its offset, ... [0328] S2 scales the CH metrics using BWP parameters ... the SSB measurement metrics (RSRP and its threshold) ... scaling is performed using RSRP's BW on the RSRP threshold for cell reselection ... The scaling function (RSRP, BWP parameters )... they can be summed, linearly combined, proportionally weighted, and so on).
Regarding to claim 7,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 6,
Sang further teaches wherein the original reselection threshold comprises: a co-frequency original reselection threshold and/or an inter-frequency original reselection threshold ([0328-0331] the SSB measurement metrics (RSRP and its threshold) ... follow the inter-frequency or IRAT absolute-priority based “R” criterion with scaling likewise. ... for example, instead of multiplying RSRP by BW_of_BWP, they can be summed, linearly combined, proportionally weighted).
Regarding to claim 14,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 1,
Sang further teaches an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors: a memory having one or more programs stored thereon which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method according to claim 1; and one or more I/O interfaces connected between the processors and the memory, and configured to enable information interaction between the processors and the memory ([0054] and [0374]).
Regarding to claim 15,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 1,
Sang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program thereon which, when executed by a processor, causes the method according to claim 1 to be implemented ([0054] and [0374]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang in view of Lieshout (US 20150139053 A1), hereinafter Lieshout.
Regarding to claim 3,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sang does not explicitly teach wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises original evaluation time, the reselection determination parameter comprises normalized evaluation time, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original evaluation time comprises: scaling the original evaluation time by a first predetermined multiple to obtain the normalized evaluation time, wherein cells of different systems have the same accuracy grade of normalized evaluation time.
Lieshout teaches wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises original evaluation time ([0082] UE 100 receives a relaxed detection allowed indication ... mean that the minimum time that the UE should take for detecting a cell on a specified frequency)
the reselection determination parameter comprises normalized evaluation time, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original evaluation time comprises: scaling the original evaluation time by a first predetermined multiple to obtain the normalized evaluation time, wherein cells of different systems have the same accuracy grade of normalized evaluation time ([0081] measurement configuration message ... could be sent to the UE to trigger measurements ... Such an indication is sent to the UE as soon as the UE enters into a macro cell that has overlapping pico cells ... [0082] example for scaling factor, the network can provide a value as 2X and leave the time value to be associated for the variable X to the UE or the network could also provide the X value. The value of X can also be a preconfigured minimum detection time which could be the same time as specified for normal detection).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Lieshout to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to minimize the battery power consumption ([0001] Lieshout).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang in view of Fonseca (US 20200059837 A1), hereinafter Fonseca.
Regarding to claim 4,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sang further teaches added with a first offset ([0166 ] For LTE (3GPP TS 36.304) or NR (3GPP TS 36.308), cell selection criterion “S” defines that a cell is selectable only if it meets below conditions ... Srxlev>0 AND Squal>0 ... RSRP Srxlev=Qrxlevmeas−(Qrxlevmin+Qrxlevminoffset) ... [0328] S2 scales the CH metrics using BWP parameters .... , instead of multiplying RSRP by BW_of_BWP,they can be summed, linearly combined, proportionally weighted, and so on).
Sang does not explicitly teach wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises a plurality of original first parameters, the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized first increment parameter, each original first parameter is used for calculating an initial S value of the target frequency point, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original first parameters comprises: adding all the original first parameters to obtain a first parameter sum, which is then ... obtain the normalized first increment parameter, wherein the normalized first increment parameter has a positive value, and cells of different systems correspond to the same first offset.
Fonseca teaches wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises a plurality of original first parameters ([0053] UE 120 may measure signal parameters of the NC 305 and the SC 310 over time ... first time t1, a second time t2, a third time t3, an nth time tn, and so on)
the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized first increment parameter, each original first parameter is used for calculating an initial S value of the target frequency point, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original first parameters comprises: adding all the original first parameters to obtain a first parameter sum, which is then([0054] the UE 120 may calculate the SC variation value ΔSn-1 and the NC variation value ΔTn-1 as follows, where St1 represents an SC reference measurement ... at time t1.. Tt1 represents an NC reference measurement ... t time t1, Stn represents an SC measurement at time tn, and Ttn represents an NC measurement at time tn.
)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Fonseca to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to compare variations of measurements over time ([0055] Fonseca).
Regarding to claim 5,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sang further teaches added with a second offset ([0166 ] For LTE (3GPP TS 36.304) or NR (3GPP TS 36.308), cell selection criterion “S” defines that a cell is selectable only if it meets below conditions ... Srxlev>0 AND Squal>0 ... RSRP Srxlev=Qrxlevmeas−(Qrxlevmin+Qrxlevminoffset) ... [0328] S2 scales the CH metrics using BWP parameters .... , instead of multiplying RSRP by BW_of_BWP,they can be summed, linearly combined, proportionally weighted, and so on).
Sang does not explicitly teach wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises a plurality of original second parameters, the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized second increment parameter, each original second parameter is used for calculating an initial R value of the target frequency point, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original second parameters comprises: adding all the original second parameters to obtain a second parameter sum, which is then ... to obtain the normalized second increment parameter
Fonseca teaches wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises a plurality of original second parameters ([0053] UE 120 may measure signal parameters of the NC 305 and the SC 310 over time ... first time t1, a second time t2, a third time t3, an nth time tn, and so on)
the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized second increment parameter, each original second parameter is used for calculating an initial R value of the target frequency point, and in the operation of performing normalization processing of the predetermined rule on the acquired measurement information, the normalization processing on the original second parameters comprises: adding all the original second parameters to obtain a second parameter sum, which is then ([0054] the UE 120 may calculate the SC variation value ΔSn-1 and the NC variation value ΔTn-1 as follows, where St1 represents an SC reference measurement ... at time t1.. Tt1 represents an NC reference measurement ... t time t1, Stn represents an SC measurement at time tn, and Ttn represents an NC measurement at time tn.
)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Fonseca to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to compare variations of measurements over time ([0055] Fonseca).
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang in view of Jing (CN 110831084 A), hereinafter Jing.
Regarding to claim 8,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sang further teaches wherein for each target frequency point, the measurement information comprises original priority ([0170-0176] Absolute priorities of different NR frequencies or inter-RAT frequencies may be provided to the UE in the system information and [0166] UE performs cell selection or reselection, camps on the (re)selected cell, and starts neighboring cell measurements and monitoring and acquiring system information).
Sang does not explicitly teach scaling the original priority by a second predetermined multiple to obtain a normalized priority, wherein cells of different systems correspond to the same second predetermined multiple, and have the same accuracy grade of normalized priority.
Jing teaches scaling the original priority by a second predetermined multiple to obtain a normalized priority, wherein cells of different systems correspond to the same second predetermined multiple, and have the same accuracy grade of normalized priority (page 7, Manner 2, wherein the normalization processing method includes, but is not limited to, dividing the priority of the neighboring cell by the highest priority of the cell of the first system, where the first system is a system to which the neighboring cell belongs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jing to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to meet the resident requirements and avoids the problem of unstable terminal connection after cell reselection (page 2, Jing).
Regarding to claim 13,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 10,
Sang does not explicitly teaches wherein when a plurality of candidate cells are obtained, the operation of determining the reselected cell from the candidate cells comprises: taking a cell with a highest normalized priority as the reselected cell.
Jiang further teaches wherein when a plurality of candidate cells are obtained, the operation of determining the reselected cell from the candidate cells comprises: taking a cell with a highest normalized priority as the reselected cell (page 7, Manner 2, wherein The normalization processing method includes, but is not limited to, dividing the priority of the neighboring cell by the highest priority of the cell of the first system, where the first system is a system to which the neighboring cell belongs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jing to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to meet the resident requirements and avoids the problem of unstable terminal connection after cell reselection (page 2, Jing).
Claims 9-10, 16-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang in view of Edara (US 20140171088 A1), hereinafter Edara.
Regarding to claim 9,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 1,
Sang does not explicitly teach performing data assembly on reselection determination parameters of respective frequency points, to store the reselection determination parameters in a cache.
Edara teaches performing data assembly on reselection determination parameters of respective frequency points, to store the reselection determination parameters in a cache ([0049] The mobility module 150 is coupled to a data store 350. The data store 350 may be a memory (e.g., random access memory), a cache, a drive (e.g., a hard drive), a flash drive, a database system, or another type of component or device capable of storing data. The data store 350 may also include multiple storage components (e.g., multiple drives or multiple databases) that may also span multiple computing devices (e.g., multiple server computers). The data store 305 includes location information 351, measurement data 353, and neighbor data 355).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Edara to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform more measurements and will reselect or handover faster ([0013] Edara).
Regarding to claim 10,
Sang teaches a method for cell reselection, comprising: acquiring a reselection determination parameter of each target frequency point, wherein the reselection determination parameter is a reselection determination parameter obtained in the method for determining a reselection determination parameter according to claim 1.
Sang does not explicitly teach calculating, according to the reselection determination parameter, an evaluation value of each target frequency point; evaluating the evaluation value of the target frequency point according to a predetermined determination rule, and determining candidate cells for each target frequency point; and determining a reselected cell from the candidate cells.
Edara teaches calculating, according to the reselection determination parameter, an evaluation value of each target frequency point; evaluating the evaluation value of the target frequency point according to a predetermined determination rule, and determining candidate cells for each target frequency point (abstract, user device evaluates the power levels of radio signals from neighbor base stations using one or more measurement parameters that are scaled of offset based on the mobility state); and determining a reselected cell from the candidate cells (fig. 2, [0030] a reselection process).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Edara to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform more measurements and will reselect or handover faster ([0013] Edara).
Regarding to claim 16,
Sang and Edara teach the method according to claim 10 ,
Sang further teaches an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors: a memory having one or more programs stored thereon which, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to implement the method according to claim 10; and one or more I/O interfaces connected between the processors and the memory, and configured to enable information interaction between the processors and the memory ([0054] and [0374]).
Regarding to claim 17,
Sang and Edara teach the method according to claim 10,
Sang further teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a computer program thereon which, when executed by a processor, causes the method according to claim 10 to be implemented ([0054] and[0374]).
Regarding to claim 20,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 2,
Sang does not explicitly teaches comprising: performing data assembly on reselection determination parameters of respective frequency points, to store the reselection determination parameters in a cache.
Edara teaches comprising: performing data assembly on reselection determination parameters of respective frequency points, to store the reselection determination parameters in a cache ([0049] The mobility module 150 is coupled to a data store 350. The data store 350 may be a memory (e.g., random access memory), a cache, a drive (e.g., a hard drive), a flash drive, a database system, or another type of component or device capable of storing data. The data store 350 may also include multiple storage components (e.g., multiple drives or multiple databases) that may also span multiple computing devices (e.g., multiple server computers). The data store 305 includes location information 351, measurement data 353, and neighbor data 355).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Edara to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform more measurements and will reselect or handover faster ([0013] Edara).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang in view Edara and further in view of Fonseca.
Regarding to claim 11 ,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 10,
Sang further teaches calculating the normalized S value from the adding the ([0318-0320] the scaling also allows for the normalization of channel metrics .. Scale its offset, absolute thresholds, +/− hysteresis similarly; and [0328] S2 scales the CH metrics using BWP parameters ... the SSB measurement metrics (RSRP and its threshold) ... scaling is performed using RSRP's BW on the RSRP threshold for cell reselection ... they can be summed, linearly combined, proportionally weighted, and so on).
Sang does not explicitly teach wherein the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized first increment parameter, a normalized evaluation time, and a normalized reselection threshold, and the evaluation value comprises a normalized S value, and ... for any target frequency point, evaluating the evaluation value of the target frequency point according to the predetermined rule comprises: determining whether a value of a neighboring cell exceeds a corresponding normalized reselection threshold within the normalized evaluation time; and taking the neighboring cell with the normalized S value exceeding the corresponding normalized reselection threshold as one of the candidate cells
Edara teaches wherein the reselection determination parameter comprises ([0051] The measurement data 353 may include values for measurement parameters, values for offsets, values for scaling factors, and values for time periods. The measurement parameters, values for offsets, values for scaling factors, and values for time periods may be used by the user device 120 when evaluating power levels of radio signals from base stations (as illustrated in FIG. 3), when determining whether criteria for reselection have been met (as illustrated in FIG. 2), or when sending measurement reports)
for any target frequency point, evaluating the evaluation value of the target frequency point according to the predetermined rule comprises: determining whether a value of a neighboring cell exceeds a corresponding normalized reselection threshold within the normalized evaluation time; and taking the neighboring cell with the normalized S value exceeding the corresponding normalized reselection threshold as one of the candidate cells ([0022] user device may scale or offset measurement parameters (e.g., a power level of a serving cell, a power level of a neighbor cell, a time period that the power level of the neighbor cell should be better than a power level of the serving cell, etc.) that are used by the user device when measuring radio signals... [0037] a scaling factor may be applied to minimum threshold (e.g., an S criterion based on the mobility state of the user device ...).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Edara to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform more measurements and will reselect or handover faster ([0013] Edara).
Sang and Edara does not explicitly teach a normalized first increment parameter
Fonseca teaches a normalized first increment parameter ([0053] UE 120 may measure signal parameters of the NC 305 and the SC 310 over time ... first time t1, a second time t2, a third time t3, an nth time tn, and so on ... [0054] the UE 120 may calculate the SC variation value ΔSn-1 and the NC variation value ΔTn-1 as follows, where St1 represents an SC reference measurement ... at time t1.. Tt1 represents an NC reference measurement ... t time t1, Stn represents an SC measurement at time tn, and Ttn represents an NC measurement at time tn.
)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Fonseca to the teaching of Sang and Edara. The motivation for such an addition would be to compare variations of measurements over time ([0055] Fonseca ).
Regarding to claim 12,
Sang teaches the method according to claim 10,
Sang further teaches calculating the normalized R value from the normalized adding the normalized value to obtain the normalized R value ([0318-0320] the scaling also allows for the normalization of channel metrics ... Scale its offset, absolute thresholds, +/− hysteresis similarly; and [0328] S2 scales the CH metrics using BWP parameters ... the SSB measurement metrics (RSRP and its threshold) ... scaling is performed using RSRP's BW on the RSRP threshold for cell reselection ... they can be summed, linearly combined, proportionally weighted, and so on).
Sang does not explicitly teach wherein the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized second increment parameter, a normalized evaluation time, and a normalized reselection threshold, and the evaluation value comprises a normalized R value, and ...for any target frequency point, evaluating the evaluation value of the target frequency point according to the predetermined rule comprises: determining whether a normalized R value of a neighboring cell exceeds a corresponding normalized reselection threshold within the normalized evaluation time; and taking a neighboring cell with the normalized R value exceeding the corresponding normalized reselection threshold as one of the candidate cells.
Edara teaches wherein the reselection determination parameter comprises a normalized ([0051] The measurement data 353 may include values for measurement parameters, values for offsets, values for scaling factors, and values for time periods. The measurement parameters, values for offsets, values for scaling factors, and values for time periods may be used by the user device 120 when evaluating power levels of radio signals from base stations (as illustrated in FIG. 3), when determining whether criteria for reselection have been met (as illustrated in FIG. 2), or when sending measurement reports) for any target frequency point, evaluating the evaluation value of the target frequency point according to the predetermined rule comprises: determining whether a normalized R value of a neighboring cell exceeds a corresponding normalized reselection threshold within the normalized evaluation time; and taking a neighboring cell with the normalized R value exceeding the corresponding normalized reselection threshold as one of the candidate cells ([0022] user device may scale or offset measurement parameters (e.g., a power level of a serving cell, a power level of a neighbor cell, a time period that the power level of the neighbor cell should be better than a power level of the serving cell, etc.) that are used by the user device when measuring radio signals... [0037] a scaling factor may be applied to minimum threshold (e.g., an S criterion based on the mobility state of the user device ...).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Edara to the teaching of Sang. The motivation for such an addition would be to perform more measurements and will reselect or handover faster ([0013] Edara).
Sang and Edara do not explicitly teach a normalized second increment parameter.
Fonseca teaches a normalized second increment parameter ([0053] UE 120 may measure signal parameters of the NC 305 and the SC 310 over time ... first time t1, a second time t2, a third time t3, an nth time tn, and so on ... [0054] the UE 120 may calculate the SC variation value ΔSn-1 and the NC variation value ΔTn-1 as follows, where St1 represents an SC reference measurement ... at time t1.. Tt1 represents an NC reference measurement ... t time t1, Stn represents an SC measurement at time tn, and Ttn represents an NC measurement at time tn.
)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Fonseca to the teaching of Sang and Edara. The motivation for such an addition would be to compare variations of measurements over time ([0055] Fonseca).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sang and Edara and Fonseca and further in view of Jing.
Regarding to claim 18,
Sang and Edara and Fonseca teach the method according to claim 11,
Sang and Edara and Fonseca do not explicitly teach wherein when a plurality of candidate cells are obtained, the operation of determining the reselected cell from the candidate cells comprises: taking a cell with a highest normalized priority as the reselected cell.
Jing teaches wherein when a plurality of candidate cells are obtained, the operation of determining the reselected cell from the candidate cells comprises: taking a cell with a highest normalized priority as the reselected cell (page 7, Manner 2, wherein The normalization processing method includes, but is not limited to, dividing the priority of the neighboring cell by the highest priority of the cell of the first system, where the first system is a system to which the neighboring cell belongs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jing to the teaching of Sang and Edara and Fonseca. The motivation for such an addition would be to meet the resident requirements and avoids the problem of unstable terminal connection after cell reselection (page 2, Jing).
Regarding to claim 19,
Sang and Edara and Fonseca teach the method according to claim 12,
Sang and Edara and Fonseca do not explicitly teach wherein when a plurality of candidate cells are obtained, the operation of determining the reselected cell from the candidate cells comprises: taking a cell with a highest normalized priority as the reselected cell.
Jing teaches wherein when a plurality of candidate cells are obtained, the operation of determining the reselected cell from the candidate cells comprises: taking a cell with a highest normalized priority as the reselected cell (page 7, Manner 2, wherein The normalization processing method includes, but is not limited to, dividing the priority of the neighboring cell by the highest priority of the cell of the first system, where the first system is a system to which the neighboring cell belongs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Jing to the teaching of Sang and Edara and Fonseca. The motivation for such an addition would be to meet the resident requirements and avoids the problem of unstable terminal connection after cell reselection (page 2, Jing).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465