DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgments
In the reply, filed on September 11, 2026, Applicant amended claims 1, 3, 8-12, 15, 19-20, 22.
Applicant cancelled claims 6-7, 16, and 23.
Applicant added new claims 25-27.
In the non-final rejection of June 11, 2026, Examiner objected to claims 3, 15, and 22. Applicant amended claims 3, 15, and 22. Objection is withdrawn.
Examiner rejected claims 1-24 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Applicant amended claims 1, 8-12, 15, and 19-20, and cancelled claims 6-7; however, Applicant did not address all of the rejections. Rejection is maintained.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In regards to claim 20, line 3, “the outer catheter circumference” should be changed to “an outer catheter circumference”.
In regards to claim 20, lines 4-5, “the inner catheter circumference” should be changed to “an inner catheter circumference”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 12, lines 4-5 recite “the deflectable region of the outer catheter”. First, there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Second, claim 12, lines 1-2 previously recite “the steerable catheter comprises a deflectable region”. It is unclear whether the two recitations are the same component or different components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8, 12-13, 15, 17-18, 21-22, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Hoven et al (US 2019/0321597).
In regards to claim 1, Van Hoven et al teaches a steerable catheter (Figures 6A-6C) comprising:
a first actuation line (1120)
an inner catheter (1020) having an inner catheter proximal end (1024), an inner catheter distal end (1026), an inner catheter outer surface and an inner catheter inner surface defining an inner catheter lumen (1028)
a keyed locking collar (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020) defining a keyway (portion between keys 1400) and coupled to the inner catheter outer surface, the keyed locking collar being removably coupled to the inner catheter outer surface (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020)
an outer catheter (1000) having an outer catheter proximal end (1014), an outer catheter distal end (1016), an outer catheter outer surface, and an outer catheter inner surface defining an outer catheter lumen (1018) and a spline (portion between keyways 1402) that is longitudinally-extending and that projects radially inward into the outer catheter lumen, the outer catheter lumen being operable to receive the inner catheter with the spline of the outer catheter operable to key with the keyway of the keyed locking collar (Figure 6A), the spline defining a spline lumen (1406) operable to receive the first actuation line
In regards to claim 2, Van Hoven et al teaches an outer catheter actuation ring (280) coupled to the outer catheter distal end, the first actuation line (90) being coupled to the outer catheter actuation ring (Figure 2).
In regards to claim 3, Van Hoven et al teaches a second actuation line (1120), wherein the inner catheter defines an inner catheter actuation line lumen (paragraph [0056]: coiled steering lumens) from the inner catheter proximal end to the inner catheter distal end and operable to receive the second actuation line therethrough, the second actuation line extending from the inner catheter proximal end to the inner catheter distal end and coupled to the inner catheter distal end (Figure 5H).
In regards to claim 4, Van Hoven et al teaches an inner catheter actuation ring coupled to the inner catheter distal end (claim 8: a tip ring attached to a distal end of… the inner catheter), the second actuation line being coupled to the inner catheter actuation ring (claim 8: a first pullwire channel).
In regards to claim 5, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein each of the spline and the keyway is parallel with a central axis of the steerable catheter (Figure 6A).
In regards to claim 8, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the spline further defines a plurality of splines (portions between keyways 1402) and the keyway further defines a plurality of respective keyways (portions between keys 1400).
In regards to claim 12, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the steerable catheter comprises a deflectable region at or around the outer catheter distal end (Figures 1A-1C), and wherein the keyway extends along a length of the keyed locking collar and toward the inner catheter distal end and terminates proximate the deflectable region of the outer catheter (Figure 6A).
In regards to claim 13, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the inner catheter is slidably received within the outer catheter along a length of the keyway (Figure 6A).
In regards to claim 15, Van Hoven et al teaches a steerable catheter (Figures 6A-6C) comprising:
a first actuation line (1120) having a proximal portion and a distal portion
an inner catheter defining a first elongated tubular member (1020) having an inner catheter proximal end (1024), an inner catheter distal end (1026), an inner catheter outer surface, and an inner catheter inner surface defining an inner catheter lumen (1028)
a keyed locking collar (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020) comprising a keyway (portion between keys 1400) and removably coupled to the inner catheter (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020)
an outer catheter (1000) having an outer catheter proximal end (1014), an outer catheter distal end (1016), an outer catheter outer surface, and an outer catheter inner surface defining an outer catheter lumen (1018) and a spline (portion between keyways 1402) that is longitudinally-extending and that projects radially inward into the outer catheter lumen, the outer catheter lumen being operable to receive the inner catheter with the spline of the outer catheter operable to key with the keyway of the keyed locking collar (Figure 6A), the spline defining a spline lumen (1406) operable to receive the first actuation line, the first actuation line extending along the outer catheter and the distal portion of the first actuation line being coupled proximate the outer catheter distal end (Figures 1A-1C)
In regards to claim 17, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the keyed locking collar radially extends beyond an outer diameter of the inner catheter (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020).
In regards to claim 18, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein a length of the keyed locking collar is less than a length of the inner catheter (paragraph [0060]: Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020).
In regards to claim 21, Van Hoven et al teaches a method of treating a patient, the method comprising:
obtaining the steerable catheter of claim 1 (Figures 6A-6C)
advancing the outer catheter into a body lumen (paragraph [0070]: the outer guide catheter 1000 may be tracked over a dilator and guidewire from a puncture in the femoral vein, through the inferior vena cava and into the right atrium)
advancing the inner catheter into the outer catheter (paragraph [0072]: the inner guide catheter 1020 is advanced through the central lumen 1018 of the outer guide catheter 1000) thereby engaging the spline with the keyway (Figure 6A)
actuating the first actuation line to thereby cause movement at the outer catheter distal end (paragraph [0075]: the curvatures in the catheters 1000… are formed by steering mechanisms)
In regards to claim 22, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the steerable catheter further comprises a handle (1056) at the outer catheter proximal end, the handle being operatively coupled to the first actuation line such that actuation of the handle causes actuation of the first actuation line, and wherein the actuating of the first actuation line comprises performing at least one actuation of the handle (Figure 4)(paragraph [0051]: Steering of the outer guide catheter 1000… may be achieved by actuation of one or more steering mechanisms. Actuation of the steering mechanisms is achieved with the use of actuators which are typically located on handles connected with each of the catheters 1000… Handle 1056 includes steering actuator 1050 which may be used to bend, arc or reshape the outer guide catheter 1000, such as to form a primary curve).
In regards to claim 24, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein a position of the keyed locking collar is adjustable along a length of the inner catheter outer surface (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020).
In regards to claim 25, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the keyed locking collar radially extends beyond an outer diameter of the inner catheter (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020).
In regards to claim 26, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein a length of the keyed locking collar is less than a length of the inner catheter (paragraph [0060]: Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020).
In regards to claim 27, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein a position of the keyed locking collar is adjustable along a length of the inner catheter outer surface (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-11 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Hoven et al, as applied to claims 1 and 15 above.
In regards to claim 9, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the spline defines two splines (two portions between keyways 1402) that are located apart on an outer catheter circumference and the keyway further defines two respective keyways (two portions between keys 1400) located apart on an inner catheter circumference; however, Van Hoven et al does not teach that the two splines are located “about 180 degrees” apart on the outer catheter circumference and the two respective keyways are located “180 degrees” apart on the inner catheter circumference, as Van Hoven et al instead teaches that the two splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the two respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference (Figures 6B-6C). But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the two splines and the two respective keyways, of the catheter of Van Hoven et al, to be located about 180 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and located 180 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, respectively, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration of the two splines and the two respective keyways provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the two splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the two respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, as taught by Van Hoven et al, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that either configuration of the two splines and the two respective keyways will allow for maintaining the rotational relationship between the inner catheter and the outer catheter in order to assist in steering capabilities.
In regards to claim 10, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the spline defines three splines (three portions between keyways 1402) that are located apart on an outer catheter circumference and the keyway further defines three respective keyways (three portions between keys 1400) located apart on an inner catheter circumference; however, Van Hoven et al does not teach that the three splines are located “about 90 degrees” apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located “about 90 degrees” apart on the inner catheter circumference, as Van Hoven et al instead teaches that the three splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference (Figures 6B-6C). But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the three splines and the three respective keyways, of the catheter of Van Hoven et al, to be located about 90 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and located about 90 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, respectively, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration of the three splines and the three respective keyways provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the three splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, as taught by Van Hoven et al, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that either configuration of the three splines and the three respective keyways will allow for maintaining the rotational relationship between the inner catheter and the outer catheter in order to assist in steering capabilities.
In regards to claim 11, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the spline defines three splines (three portions between keyways 1402) that are located apart on an outer catheter circumference and the keyway further defines three respective keyways (three portions between keys 1400) located apart on an inner catheter circumference; however, Van Hoven et al does not teach that the three splines are located “about 120 degrees” apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located “about 120 degrees” apart on the inner catheter circumference, as Van Hoven et al instead teaches that the three splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference (Figures 6B-6C). But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the three splines and the three respective keyways, of the catheter of Van Hoven et al, to be located about 120 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and located about 120 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, respectively, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration of the three splines and the three respective keyways provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the three splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, as taught by Van Hoven et al, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that either configuration of the three splines and the three respective keyways will allow for maintaining the rotational relationship between the inner catheter and the outer catheter in order to assist in steering capabilities.
In regards to claim 19, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the spline defines two splines (two portions between keyways 1402) that are located apart on an outer catheter circumference and the keyway further defines two respective keyways (two portions between keys 1400) located apart on an inner catheter circumference; however, Van Hoven et al does not teach that the two splines are located “about 180 degrees” apart on the outer catheter circumference and the two respective keyways are located “about 180 degrees” apart on the inner catheter circumference, as Van Hoven et al instead teaches that the two splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the two respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference (Figures 6B-6C). But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the two splines and the two respective keyways, of the catheter of Van Hoven et al, to be located about 180 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and located about 180 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, respectively, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration of the two splines and the two respective keyways provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the two splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the two respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, as taught by Van Hoven et al, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that either configuration of the two splines and the two respective keyways will allow for maintaining the rotational relationship between the inner catheter and the outer catheter in order to assist in steering capabilities.
In regards to claim 20, Van Hoven et al teaches wherein the spline defines three splines (three portions between keyways 1402) that are located apart on the outer catheter circumference and the keyway further defines three respective keyways (three portions between keys 1400) located apart on the inner catheter circumference; however, Van Hoven et al does not teach that the three splines are located “about 90 degrees” apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located “about 90 degrees” apart on the inner catheter circumference, as Van Hoven et al instead teaches that the three splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference (Figures 6B-6C). But before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the three splines and the three respective keyways, of the catheter of Van Hoven et al, to be located about 90 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and located about 90 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, respectively, as Applicant has not disclosed that such a configuration of the three splines and the three respective keyways provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Applicant’s invention to perform equally well with the three splines are located about 30 degrees apart on the outer catheter circumference and the three respective keyways are located about 30 degrees apart on the inner catheter circumference, as taught by Van Hoven et al, as a person having ordinary skill in the art would have realized that either configuration of the three splines and the three respective keyways will allow for maintaining the rotational relationship between the inner catheter and the outer catheter in order to assist in steering capabilities.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Hoven et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Westlund et al (US 2003/0105451).
In regards to claim 14, Van Hoven et al is silent about a hemostatic seal between the outer catheter inner surface and the inner catheter outer surface. Westlund et al teaches a steerable catheter (Figure 4A) comprising a hemostatic seal (401) between an outer catheter (102) inner surface and an inner catheter (101) outer surface. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the steerable catheter, of Van Hoven et al, with a hemostatic seal between the outer catheter inner surface and the inner catheter outer surface, as taught by Westlund et al, as such will prevent leakage of fluid and blood under venous or arterial pressure (paragraph [0048]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed September 11, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive:
In regards to claim 1, Applicant argued: Claim 1 is amended to include, subject to its additional limitations, the keyed locking collar being removably coupled to the inner catheter outer surface. Van Hoven fails to anticipate such features. The Office Action cites the "separate cylindrical layer" in Para. [0060] of Van Hoven as anticipating features of the keyed locking collar. However, Van Hoven is silent toward the separate cylindrical layer being removably coupled to the inner catheter. Instead, Para. [0060] discloses: "It may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may be incorporated into the wall of the catheter 1020, such as by extrusion, may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020, or the keys 1400 may be individually adhered to the outer surface of the catheter 1020." (emphasis added.) This suggests a permanent coupling, not a removable coupling as claimed. Para. [0062] of Van Hoven further discloses "In preferred embodiments, the plastic keys 1400 are chemically compatible with the catheter (e.g., inner guide catheter 1000) such that the keys 1400 are able to be thermally welded to the catheter so as to form a chemical bond with the catheter." (emphasis added.) As such, Van Hoven instead appears to favor embodiments in which are keys are fixed in position to the outer surface (e.g., via adhesive, thermal welding, and others), and not where a keyed locking collar is removably coupled to the inner catheter outer surface as claimed. For at least these reasons, Van Hoven fails to anticipate all features of claim 1 (Remarks, page 8). Examiner disagrees. First, Van Hoven et al teaches the keyed locking collar being removably coupled to the inner catheter outer surface (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020). Second, while Van Hoven et al recites extrusion between the keys and the wall of the inner catheter, the keys adhered to the outer surface of the inner catheter, and thermal welding of the keys to the inner catheter, Van Hoven et al does not recite a permanent coupling to the inner catheter when the keys are included in a separate cylindrical layer. Thus, it is understood that when the keys are included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the inner catheter, said separate cylindrical layer is a keyed locking collar removably coupled to the inner catheter outer surface.
In regards to claim 15, Applicant argued: Claim 15 is amended to include similar features as claim 1, including a keyed locking collar comprising a keyway and removably coupled to the inner catheter. For at least similar reasons as discussed above with respect to claim 1, Van Hoven fails to anticipate all features of claim 15 (Remarks, page 9). Van Hoven et al teaches a keyed locking collar (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020… Further, it may be appreciated that the keys 1400 may extend… one or more portions of the length of the catheter 1020, including simply a small strip at a designated location along the length of the catheter 1020) comprising a keyway (portion between keys 1400) and removably coupled to the inner catheter (1020) (paragraph [0060]: It may be appreciated that the keys 1400… may be included in a separate cylindrical layer on the outer surface of the catheter 1020). And the rejection of claim 15 under Van Hoven et al is maintained for the same reasons as provided above with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHEFALI D PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783