DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant's election with traverse of Group 1, claims 1, 3 and 6-13 in the reply filed on 7/23/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that special technical feature did not remove unity of invention. This is not found persuasive because the invention was found to lack unity as evidenced by the enclosed action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023, 3/19/2026 and 4/30/2026 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0166673 A1) to Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang) in view of the teachings of (US 2002/0165324 A1) to Bowers et al. (hereinafter Bowers).
Huang is directed toward contact lenses formed from hydrophilized polydiorganosiloxane crosslinked materials. Huang discloses at paragraph [0099] that the composition is used to form a silicone hydrogel contact lens. Huang discloses at paragraph [0100] that the preferred hydrophilic monomer is a methacrylic acid. Huang discloses at paragraph [0063] that the crosslinker is formula 1:
The above noted formula 1 reads on Applicants covalent bond of Formula 1 that contains an epoxy group that reacts with the methacrylic acid hydrophilic polymer.
Bowers is directed toward contact lens compositions containing methacrylic acid polymers. Huang and Bowers are both directed toward contact lens compositions containing methacrylic acid polymers and therefore are analogous art. Bowers teaches at paragraph [0004] that the comonomers have improved transparency and swellability when used in a contact lens and would motivate one skilled in the art to combine teachings for reaction with a hydrophilic monomer for the contact lens may be a methacrylic acid.
Bowers teaches at paragraph [0092] that a preferred comonomer is Compound C:
Compound C reads on Applicants comonomer (4)
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Huang in the view of the teachings of Bowers to produce a crosslinked contact lens having improved transparency and swellability that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 3 and 8-11.
7. Claims 1, 3 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2017/0166673 A1) to Huang et al. (hereinafter Huang) in view of the teachings of (US 2002/0165324 A1) to Bowers et al. (hereinafter Bowers) in further view of (JP 2017146334 A) to Masatomo et al. (hereinafter Masatomo).
Huang is directed toward contact lenses formed from hydrophilized polydiorganosiloxane crosslinked materials. Huang discloses at paragraph [0099] that the composition is used to form a silicone hydrogel contact lens. Huang discloses at paragraph [0100] that the preferred hydrophilic monomer is a methacrylic acid. Huang discloses at paragraph [0063] that the crosslinker is formula 1:
The above noted formula 1 reads on Applicants covalent bond of Formula 1 that contains an epoxy group that reacts with the methacrylic acid hydrophilic polymer.
Bowers is directed toward contact lens compositions containing methacrylic acid polymers. Huang and Bowers are both directed toward contact lens compositions containing methacrylic acid polymers and therefore are analogous art. Bowers teaches at paragraph [0004] that the comonomers have improved transparency and swellability when used in a contact lens and would motivate one skilled in the art to combine teachings for reaction with a hydrophilic monomer for the contact lens may be a methacrylic acid.
Bowers teaches at paragraph [0092] that a preferred comonomer is Compound C:
Compound C reads on Applicants comonomer (4)
Masamoto is directed toward contact lens compositions containing methacrylic acid polymers. Huang and Masamoto are both directed toward contact lens compositions containing methacrylic acid polymers and therefore are analogous art. Masamoto provides examples of contacts using hydrophilic material examples of both methacrylic acid and aminoethyl methacrylate and therefore one skilled in the art would be motivated to use either as an obvious functionally equivalent monomer.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Huang in the view of the teachings of Bowers and Masamoto to produce a crosslinked contact lens having improved transparency and swellability that forms a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1, 3 and 6-13.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766