Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,6,7,10,11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by
Seok et al ( US20210168864A1)
Regarding Claim1, Seok teaches, A method for transmitting a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) by a station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
generating a frame including information on an inactive frequency unit; and [61]- FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary EHT RTS frame format 100 for providing a disallowed subchannel bitmap 105 to enable preamble puncturing in a wireless network. The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap 105 indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed in the CTS frame response
transmitting a PPDU including the frame, [68]- The AP can transmit an EHT MU-RTS Trigger frame to solicit simultaneous CTS frame responses from one or more non-AP STAs.
wherein information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an aggregated- control (A-control) field of the frame.[66]- When the RTS frame solicits an immediate response (e.g., in a non-HT duplicate PPDU with preamble puncturing), the RTS frame includes an A-Control field carrying a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Regarding Claim 6, Seok teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit includes a bitmap indicating whether each frequency unit is active. Fig 3[66]- The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed for transmitting the immediate response. In the Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Regarding Claim 7, Seok teaches, The method of claim 6, wherein: the bitmap indicates whether each frequency unit in a same size within a maximum bandwidth is active.[80]- Preamble Puncture Enabled subfield in the Bandwidth Control field is set to 1 (preamble puncturing enabled). The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap field is set to 0001 0000.
Regarding Claim 10, Seok teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit indicates the inactive frequency unit within an operating channel width of up to 320MHz. [101]- FIG. 21 is a flow chart depicting an exemplary EHT RTS/CTS frame exchange sequence 2100 with preamble puncturing for 160+160 MHz/320 MHz channels according to embodiments of the present invention.
Regarding Claim 11, Seok teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: the PPDU is based on a non-HT(high throughput) format or a non-HT duplicate format.[102]- The RTS fame can be transmitted in a non-HT duplicate PPDU or a SU PPDU with a punctured preamble. The RTS frame includes a subchannel bitmap (e.g., an Allowed or Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap).
Regarding Claim 12, Seok teaches, A station (STA) device for transmitting a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the device comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver,
wherein the at least one processor is configured to: generate a frame including information
on an inactive frequency unit; and [61]- FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary EHT RTS frame format 100 for providing a disallowed subchannel bitmap 105 to enable preamble puncturing in a wireless network. The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap 105 indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed in the CTS frame response
transmit a PPDU including the frame through the at least one transceiver, [68]- The AP can transmit an EHT MU-RTS Trigger frame to solicit simultaneous CTS frame responses from one or more non-AP STAs.
wherein information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an aggregated- control (A-control) field of the frame. [66]- When the RTS frame solicits an immediate response (e.g., in a non-HT duplicate PPDU with preamble puncturing), the RTS frame includes an A-Control field carrying a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Regarding Claim 13,A method for performing a channel access operation by a station (STA) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the method comprising:
receiving a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) including a frame including information on an inactive frequency unit; and[61]- FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary EHT RTS frame format 100 for providing a disallowed subchannel bitmap 105 to enable preamble puncturing in a wireless network. The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap 105 indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed in the CTS frame response
performing the channel access operation on an active frequency unit based on information on the inactive frequency unit, [64]- . Because the AP indicates that the upper 20 MHz channel of the secondary 40 MHz channel is the disallowed subchannel (e.g., using a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap), the STA responds with the CTS frame on the allowed subchannels while excluding any disallowed subchannels.
wherein information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an aggregated- control (A-control) field of the frame. . [66]- When the RTS frame solicits an immediate response (e.g., in a non-HT duplicate PPDU with preamble puncturing), the RTS frame includes an A-Control field carrying a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Regarding Claim 14, Seok teaches ,A station (STA) device for performing a channel access operation in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the device comprising: at least one transceiver; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
receive, through the at least one transceiver, a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) including a frame including information on an inactive frequency unit; and [61]- FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary EHT RTS frame format 100 for providing a disallowed subchannel bitmap 105 to enable preamble puncturing in a wireless network. The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap 105 indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed in the CTS frame response
perform the channel access operation on an active frequency unit based on information on the inactive frequency unit, [68]- The AP can transmit an EHT MU-RTS Trigger frame to solicit simultaneous CTS frame responses from one or more non-AP STAs.
wherein information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an aggregated- control (A-control) field of the frame. [66]- When the RTS frame solicits an immediate response (e.g., in a non-HT duplicate PPDU with preamble puncturing), the RTS frame includes an A-Control field carrying a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Regarding Claim 15, A processing apparatus configured to control a station (STA) which transmits a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system, the processing apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one computer memory operably connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed by the at least one processor,
perform operations, wherein the operations include: generating a frame including information on an inactive frequency unit; and [61]- FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary EHT RTS frame format 100 for providing a disallowed subchannel bitmap 105 to enable preamble puncturing in a wireless network. The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap 105 indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed in the CTS frame response
transmitting a PPDU including the frame, wherein information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an aggregated- control (A-control) field of the frame.[66]- When the RTS frame solicits an immediate response (e.g., in a non-HT duplicate PPDU with preamble puncturing), the RTS frame includes an A-Control field carrying a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Regarding Claim 16, Seok teaches ,A At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium storing at least one instruction,
wherein: the at least one instruction controls a device which transmits a physical protocol data unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network (WLAN) system by being executed by at least one processor to: generate a frame including information on an inactive frequency unit; and transmit a PPDU including the frame, [61]- FIG. 1 is a block diagram of an exemplary EHT RTS frame format 100 for providing a disallowed subchannel bitmap 105 to enable preamble puncturing in a wireless network. The Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap 105 indicates which 20 MHz subchannels and which 242-tone RUs are disallowed in the CTS frame response
wherein information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an aggregated- control (A-control) field of the frame. [66]- When the RTS frame solicits an immediate response (e.g., in a non-HT duplicate PPDU with preamble puncturing), the RTS frame includes an A-Control field carrying a Disallowed Subchannel Bitmap.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Seok et al ( US20210168864A1) in view of Jian et al. (WO2021228046A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Seok does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein:
information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an operating mode (OM) control subfield including a channel width extension subfield in the A-control field.
Jian teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an operating mode (OM) control subfield including a channel width extension subfield in the A-control field. Pg 3 para 4- In an implementation manner, the control information corresponding to the control subfield carries the OMI, and the OMI includes a content channel mode indicator, and the content channel mode indicator is used to indicate a content channel mode for transmitting the signaling field.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seok, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit is included in an operating mode (OM) control subfield including a channel width extension subfield in the A-control field as taught by Jian to add sub channel information in control field.
Claim(s) 3,4,5,8,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Seok et al ( US20210168864A1) in view of Asterjadhi et al. (US20200015219A1)
Regarding Claim 3, Seok does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit is included in a control information field corresponding to one value of channel ID values 10 to 14 in the A-control field.
Asterjadhi teaches, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit is included in a control information field corresponding to one value of channel ID values 10 to 14 in the A-control field.[87-88]- The 2 bit structure of the channel width subfield may correspond to a bitmap 500-b that includes 4 bit combination values (for example, 0, 1, 2, or 3) associated with reporting the operating bandwidth width, as shown in FIG. 5B.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seok, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit is included in a control information field corresponding to one value of channel ID values 10 to 14 in the A-control field. as taught by Asterjadhi to add sub channel information in control field.
Regarding Claim 4, Seok does not teach, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit includes an inactive pattern for a non- orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) in an entire PPDU bandwidth
Asterjadhi teaches,The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit includes an inactive pattern for a non- orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) in an entire PPDU bandwidth. [81]- For example, for an EHT supported operating bandwidth allocation of 320 MHz, each bit field of the 8 bit channel bitmap may represent a sub-channel allocation of 40 MHz, respectively. In other examples, for an EHT supported operating bandwidth allocation of 80 MHz, each bit field of the 8 bit channel bitmap may represent a sub-channel allocation of 10 MHz, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seok, The method of claim 1, wherein: information on the inactive frequency unit includes an inactive pattern for a non- orthogonal frequency division multiple access (OFDMA) in an entire PPDU bandwidth as taught by Asterjadhi to add sub channel information in control field.
Regarding Claim 5, Seok does not teach, The method of claim 4, wherein: the inactive pattern indicates an inactive pattern of frequency units in a first size within a bandwidth exceeding a predetermined threshold and indicates an inactive pattern of frequency units in a second size within a bandwidth equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, and the second size is smaller than the first size.
Asterjadhi teaches,The method of claim 4, wherein: the inactive pattern indicates an inactive pattern of frequency units in a first size within a bandwidth exceeding a predetermined threshold and indicates an inactive pattern of frequency units in a second size within a bandwidth equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, and the second size is smaller than the first size.[86]- For example, for an EHT supported operating bandwidth allocation of 320 MHz, one or more bit fields of a channel bitmap associated with the BQR indication may represent a sub-channel allocation of a first 160 MHz sub-channel of the 320 MHz channel. In addition, one or more bit fields of a channel bitmap associated with the second BQR indication may represent a sub-channel allocation of a second 160 MHz sub-channel of the 320 MHz channel.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seok, The method of claim 4, wherein: the inactive pattern indicates an inactive pattern of frequency units in a first size within a bandwidth exceeding a predetermined threshold and indicates an inactive pattern of frequency units in a second size within a bandwidth equal to or less than the predetermined threshold, and the second size is smaller than the first size.as taught by Asterjadhi to add sub channel information in control field.
Regarding Claim 8, Seok does not teach, The method of claim 6, wherein: the bitmap indicates whether each frequency unit in a first size within a bandwidth exceeding a predetermined threshold is active and indicates whether each frequency unit in a second size within a bandwidth equal to or less than the predetermined threshold is active, and the second size is smaller than the first size.
Asterjadhi teaches,The method of claim 6, wherein: the bitmap indicates whether each frequency unit in a first size within a bandwidth exceeding a predetermined threshold is active and indicates whether each frequency unit in a second size within a bandwidth equal to or less than the predetermined threshold is active, and the second size is smaller than the first size. [86]- For example, for an EHT supported operating bandwidth allocation of 320 MHz, one or more bit fields of a channel bitmap associated with the BQR indication may represent a sub-channel allocation of a first 160 MHz sub-channel of the 320 MHz channel. In addition, one or more bit fields of a channel bitmap associated with the second BQR indication may represent a sub-channel allocation of a second 160 MHz sub-channel of the 320 MHz channel.
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seok, The method of claim 6, wherein: the bitmap indicates whether each frequency unit in a first size within a bandwidth exceeding a predetermined threshold is active and indicates whether each frequency unit in a second size within a bandwidth equal to or less than the predetermined threshold is active, and the second size is smaller than the first size. as taught by Asterjadhi to add sub channel information in control field.
Regarding Claim 9, Seok does not teach, The method of claim 8, wherein: the method further includes a 1-bit indicator indicating whether it exceeds or is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold
Asterjadhi teaches,The method of claim 8, wherein: the method further includes a 1-bit indicator indicating whether it exceeds or is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold.[77]- For example, the BQR indication within the control information subfield may include an available channel bitmap spanning 8 bits, for indication of which sub-channels of the operating bandwidth are available at the STA. Each bit in the channel bitmap may correspond to a particular sub-channel within the operating bandwidth width of the BSS with which the STA is associated
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Seok, The method of claim 8, wherein: the method further includes a 1-bit indicator indicating whether it exceeds or is equal to or less than the predetermined threshold as taught by Asterjadhi to add sub channel information in control field.
Conclusion
/ANINDITA SEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2478
/JOSEPH E AVELLINO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2478