DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the other region" in the third line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites the limitation "the other region" in fourth line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 10, 12, 14, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cleary et al. (WO 2019/245819).
Cleary discloses a glass laminate construction with controlled breakage. Concerning claims 1 and 2, Cleary discloses the glass laminate comprises an outer glass sheet having an outer and inner surface, an inner glass sheet having an outer surface and inner surface, and an interlayer disposed between the glass sheets resulting in the inner surfaces facing each other with the interlayer therebetween, wherein at least one of the inner and outer glass sheets has a plurality of fracture initiation points in a predetermined patterned designed to weaken the glass laminate in the event of an external impact (abstract; para. 0049-0054, 0063-0064, and 0086-0096). Given that the fracture initiation points intrinsically reduce the fracture stress by weakening the area, this partial region where the predetermined pattern is disposed would intrinsically be less than the fracture stress than the areas that do not contain the fracture initiation points and said fracture initiation points are the easily breaking means as claimed. With respect to claims 3 and 4, the fracture initiation points can be formed on surface 1 which is the outer glass sheet can have the fracture initiation points and include embodiments that inner glass sheet does not contain the fracture initiation points given that “one or more of surfaces 1-4” includes the embodiment as claimed (para. 0043 and 0049).
In regards to claims 5 and 6, the limitations are not given patentable weight since the preamble states “The windshield” and the limitations of the engine hood and cowl louver do not provide structure to windshield. Nevertheless, the fracture initiation points would face a cowl louver and/or engine hood because a windshield is generally behind the elements as claimed. Concerning claims 10 and 14, the fracture initiation points are formed by a laser and are in pits which are equivalent to the claimed striking member (FIGS. 4 and 5; para. 0064). With respect to claim 12, the fracture initiation points are formed on the surfaces and as such, would have a surface roughness that is greater than areas that do not contain fracture initiation points (para. 0064). Regarding claims 18 and 19, the inner glass sheet has a thickness of 0.7 to 2 mm (para. 0015) and outer glass sheet has a thickness of 1.5 mm (para. 0095).
With respect to claims 20 and 21, the terms “inner” and “outer” are recited in terms of inside and outside a vehicle and also can be reversed in order with respect to the glass sheets (para. 0063); as such, the inner sheet can be considered the outer sheet and vice versa and therefore, the disclosure of the inner sheet can face the interior of a vehicle or the exterior of a vehicle and the laminate as set forth by Clearly would meet the limitations of claims 20 and 21, given the above disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleary et al. (WO 2019/245819) in view of Ota (US 20170241195).
Clearly discloses the above but is silent to a shielding layer as claimed.
Ota discloses a windshield laminate comprising a light shielding film disposed on a light shielding region and a light transmitting region. With respect to the light shielding layer as claimed, Ota discloses an embodiment disposing a black light shielding layer and a light shielding layer disposed in an adjacent area, wherein the thickness of the black light shielding layer is greater than or equal to the thickness of the light shielding layer, which allows for improved protection of the light shielding layer (para. 0063-0071). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the thickness relationship as claimed, in order to prevent peeling of the light shielding layer. With respect to the positioning of the black light shielding layer and light shielding layer on which surface(s) of the glass sheets in the laminate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the claimed positioning based on the desired texture aesthetic desired.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleary et al. (WO 2019/245819).
With respect the fracture stress of the region having the fracture initiation points, since the processing and materials are the same, the region would at a minimum include and encompass the claimed value.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cleary et al. (WO 2019/245819) in view of Alder et al. (US 20160354996).
Cleary discloses the above but is silent to the interlayer not being disposed between the first and second glass sheets at a place corresponding to the partial region.
Alder discloses a glass laminate wherein holes are placed in the glass sheets allowing for dampening the explosive release of internal residual stresses in the event of breakage, wherein the interlayer is trimmed at the holes for minimal visibility (para. 0146, 0150, and 0154). As such, for minimal visibility of the interlayer at the areas where there are fracture initiation points, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to not provide an interlayer section.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Telega (WO 2021/180956) discloses a laminated glazing with holes in the glazing materials.
PRASHANT J. KHATRI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1783
/PRASHANT J KHATRI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783