NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
This non-final Office action addresses U.S. Application Serial No. 18/573,714, entitled ULTRA-SLIM MAGNETIC COUPLING DEVICE.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected.
Claim 2 is objected to.
I. PRIORITY
Examiner acknowledges that the present application is a national stage of PCT/KR2022/009277, filed December 22, 2023. Examiner further acknowledges the claim of foreign priority to KR10-2021-0084735, filed June 29, 2021.
II. CLAIM INTERPRETATION
After careful review of the original specification, the prosecution history, and unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiner, the Examiner is unable to locate any lexicographic definitions (either express or implied) with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision with regard to pending and examined claims. Because the Examiner is unable to locate any lexicographic definitions with the required clarity, deliberateness, and precision, the Examiner concludes that Applicant is not his own lexicographer for the pending and examined claims. See MPEP §2111.01(IV).
The Examiner further finds that because the pending and examined claims herein recite neither “step for” nor “means for” nor any substitute therefore, the examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I). Because all examined claims fail Prong (A) as set forth in MPEP §2181(I), the Examiner concludes that all examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f). See also Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207, 1215-16 (B.P.A.I. 2008)(precedential)(where the Board did not invoke 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) because “means for” was not recited and because applicant still possessed an opportunity to amend the claims).
Because of the Examiner’s findings above that Applicant is not his own lexicographer and the pending and examined claims do not invoke 35 U.S.C. §112(f) the pending and examined claims will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification since patentee has an opportunity to amend claims. See MPEP §2111, MPEP §2111.01 and In re Yamamoto et al., 222 USPQ 934 (Fed. Cir. 1984). Under a broadest reasonable interpretation, words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. See MPEP §2111.01(I). It is further noted it is improper to import claim limitations from the specification, i.e., a particular embodiment appearing in the written description may not be read into a claim when the claim language is broader than the embodiment. See MPEP §2111.01(II).
III. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. §102
III.A. Anticipation Rejections Applying Grader
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, 10, 15, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,349,743 to Gideon Grader et al., issued on September 27, 1994 (hereinafter “Grader”).
Regarding claim 1, Grader discloses:
1. A magnetic coupling device comprising:
See Grader FIGS. 14 and 15, reprinted below:
Grader FIG. 14 Grader FIG. 15
a first substrate;
See Grader FIGS. 14 and 15 above, substrate 1504.
a magnetic core unit disposed on the first substrate;
See FIGS. 14 and 15 above and FIG. 29, reprinted below, illustrating core 1514 as shown in FIG. 15 but in the modified embodiment of FIG. 29, the core is divided into
Grader FIG. 29
first and second cores in the y-direction.
a second substrate disposed on the magnetic core unit; and
See FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, second substrate 1502.
a conductive wire unit conductively connecting the first substrate to the second substrate,
See FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, note conductive wire unit comprising vias 1513/296 connecting the first substrate 1504 and the second substrate 1502.
wherein the magnetic core unit comprises a first core and a second core spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction, and wherein the conductive wire unit extends from the first substrate toward the second substrate and is disposed between the first core and the second core.
See FIG. 29 above, note first core and second core are spaced apart with a gap 293 there between and the conductive wire unit comprising vias 1513/296 are provided between the first and second core.
Regarding claim 3, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
3. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first substrate and the second substrate comprises a plurality of through-holes facing each other.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, note second substrate 1502 and first substrate 1504 have via holes facing each other.
Regarding claim 4, Grader discloses the device of claim 3 and further wherein:
4. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 3, wherein the conductive wire unit interconnects the through-holes in the first substrate and the through-holes in the second substrate.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, note second substrate 1502 and first substrate 1504 have via holes facing each other and the vias 1513/296 interconnect the via holes and the substrates.
Regarding claim 5, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
5. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive wire unit interconnects the first substrate and the second substrate in a form of a plurality of closed loops.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, note vias 1513/296 and conductive patterns on substrates 1502/1504 form closed conductive loops.
Regarding claim 6, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
6. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first substrate and the second substrate comprises a plurality of coil patterns plated thereon.
See FIGS. 14 and 15, note conductive patterns 1411/1412/1525/1526/1511/1512 printed/plated on substrates to form windings.
Regarding claim 7, Grader discloses the device of claim 6 and further wherein:
7. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of coil patterns comprises a plurality of 1-1st coil patterns and a plurality of 1-2nd coil patterns plated on the first substrate and a plurality of 2-1st coil patterns and a plurality of 2-2nd coil patterns plated on the second substrate, wherein the conductive wire unit comprises a plurality of first conductors conductively interconnecting the 1-1st coil patterns and the 2-1st coil patterns and a plurality of second conductors conductively interconnecting the 1-2nd coil patterns and the 2-2nd coil patterns, wherein a coil unit comprises a first coil and a second coil, wherein the first coil comprises the 1-1st coil patterns, the 2-1st coil patterns, and the first conductors and wherein the second coil comprises the 1-2nd coil patterns, the 2-2nd coil patterns, and the second conductors.
See FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, note first and second windings formed via conductive patterns on the first substrate 1504 and the second substrate 1502 and are interconnected with vias 1513/296 to form first and second coils shown in IFG. 15.
Regarding claim 9, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
9. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive wire unit is connected to the first substrate and the second substrate through soldering.
See FIGS. 14/ 15 and 29 above, note vias 1513/296 are formed by soldering, i..e., holes filled with conductive material. Note also this claim is a product-by-process limitation which is limited by its corresponding structures, not how it is made.
Regarding claim 10, Grader discloses the device of claim 9 and further wherein:
10. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 9, wherein the conductive wire unit is soldered to a surface of each of the substrates formed opposite the core.
See FIGS. 14/ 15 and 29 above, note vias 1513/296 are formed by soldering, i.e., holes filled with conductive material. Note also this claim is a product-by-process limitation which is limited by its corresponding structures, not how it is made.
Regarding claim 15, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
15. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the core is fixed so as to be restricted in movement between the substrates.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 wherein the core 291 is fixed between substrates.
Regarding claim 17, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
17. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein a periphery of the conductive wire unit is molded with a resin.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above, wherein the substrates are made by layering ceramic powder and binder (resin). Further, the conductive wire unit, i.e., vias 1513/296 are surrounded by such substrates. Note also this claim is a product-by-process limitation which is limited by its corresponding structures, not how it is made, i.e., molding.
Regarding claim 18, Grader discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
18. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, further comprising a bobbin surrounding the periphery of the conductive wire unit.
See Grader FIGS. 15 and 29 above, note bobbin made from substrate layers 1521-1523.
IV. CLAIM REJECTIONS – 35 U.S.C. §103
IV.A. Obviousness Rejections Applying Grader and Worthington
Claims 1, 3-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Grader in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0207767 to Kenneth Worthington (hereinafter “Worthington”).
Regarding claim 1, Grader teaches the features as discussed above and further teaches a modification of the transformer shown in FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 wherein the core is an e-core and the windings are wound around the center leg of the e-core. Specifically, see additionally Grader FIG. 30, reprinted below, which shows the
Grader FIG. 30
modification of the general transformer of FIGS. 14 and 15, but with an e-core 301 with concentric windings around the center leg.
However, Grader does not teach a two piece core, i.e., a first core and second core. Nevertheless, Worthington discloses a transformer (See Worthington FIGS. 3D below) having an e-core comprising first core 12 and second core 12b with windings
Worthington FIG. 3D
around the center leg, and a gap between the legs.
It would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to use a gapped e-core for the core of FIG. 30 of Grader as taught by Worthington. One having ordinary skill in the art would do so to control the inductance of the transformer with such a gap and to improve coupling between the windings. See Worthington ¶0001 and ¶0015.
In view of this combination, Grader and Worthington teach:
1. A magnetic coupling device comprising:
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above.
a first substrate;
See Grader FIGS. 14 and 15 above, top substrate 309.
a magnetic core unit disposed on the first substrate;
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30, reprinted below, illustrating e-core 301 which would be a gapped e-core in the y-direction as taught by Worthington.
a second substrate disposed on the magnetic core unit; and
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, bottom substrate 309.
a conductive wire unit conductively connecting the first substrate to the second substrate,
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, note conductive wire unit comprising vias 306 connecting the top substrate and the bottom substrate 309.
wherein the magnetic core unit comprises a first core and a second core spaced apart from each other in a horizontal direction, and wherein the conductive wire unit extends from the first substrate toward the second substrate and is disposed between the first core and the second core.
Note combination proposed above. With the gapped e-core in the y-direction, the conductive wire unit and conductive traces would form windings 304/306 wrapped around the center leg as shown in Grader FIG. 30 above and would be disposed between the first core and second core as shown in Worthington FIG. 3D above.
Regarding claim 3, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
3. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first substrate and the second substrate comprises a plurality of through-holes facing each other.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, note top substrate and bottom substrate 309 have via holes facing each other.
Regarding claim 4, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 3 and further wherein:
4. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 3, wherein the conductive wire unit interconnects the through-holes in the first substrate and the through-holes in the second substrate.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, note top substrate and bottom substrate 309 have via holes facing each other and the vias interconnecting the substrates.
Regarding claim 5, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
5. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the conductive wire unit interconnects the first substrate and the second substrate in a form of a plurality of closed loops.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, note vias and conductive patterns on substrates form concentric closed conductive loops.
Regarding claim 6, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
6. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein each of the first substrate and the second substrate comprises a plurality of coil patterns plated thereon.
See Grader FIGS. 14 and 15, note conductive patterns printed/plated on substrates to form windings.
Regarding claim 7, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 6 and further wherein:
7. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of coil patterns comprises a plurality of 1-1st coil patterns and a plurality of 1-2nd coil patterns plated on the first substrate and a plurality of 2-1st coil patterns and a plurality of 2-2nd coil patterns plated on the second substrate, wherein the conductive wire unit comprises a plurality of first conductors conductively interconnecting the 1-1st coil patterns and the 2-1st coil patterns and a plurality of second conductors conductively interconnecting the 1-2nd coil patterns and the 2-2nd coil patterns, wherein a coil unit comprises a first coil and a second coil, wherein the first coil comprises the 1-1st coil patterns, the 2-1st coil patterns, and the first conductors and wherein the second coil comprises the 1-2nd coil patterns, the 2-2nd coil patterns, and the second conductors.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, note first and second windings formed via conductive patterns on the top substrate 309 and the bottom substrate 309 and are interconnected with vias to form first and second coils shown in FIG. 30.
Regarding claim 8, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 7 and further wherein:
8. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 7, wherein the second coil is disposed so as to surround the first coil, wherein the 1-1st coil patterns and the 1-2nd coil patterns are disposed on different layers on the first substrate, and wherein the 2-1st coil patterns and the 2-2nd coil patterns are disposed on different layers on the second substrate.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 above, note first and second windings formed via conductive patterns on different layers of the top substrate 309 and the bottom substrate 309 and are interconnected with vias to form first and second concentric coils shown in FIG. 30.
Regarding claim 13, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
13. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the core comprises at least one E-shaped core comprising a pair of outer legs and a center leg.
See Grader FIG. 30, showing e-core 301 and Worthington FIG. 3D showing e-core 12a/12b.
Regarding claim 14, Grader and Worthington teach the device of claim 13 and further wherein:
14. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 13, wherein the E-shaped core has an E-shaped cross-section in a direction perpendicular to the first substrate and the second substrate.
See Grader FIG. 30, showing e-core 301 and Worthington FIG. 3D showing e-core 12a/12b.
Regarding claim 15, Grader and Worthington teach discloses the device of claim 1 and further wherein:
15. The magnetic coupling device according to claim 1, wherein the core is fixed so as to be restricted in movement between the substrates.
See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 30 wherein the core 301 is fixed between substrates.
IV.B. Obviousness Rejections Applying Grader and Kneller
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Grader in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0316872 to Quinn Kneller et al. (hereinafter “Kneller”).
Regarding these claims, Grader teaches the use of vias 1513/296 to connect the conductive traces on the first substrate and second substrate to form the first and second windings as shown above in FIGS. 14, 15 and 29. However, Grader does not disclose using pins. Nevertheless, Kneller teaches a transformer structure and method of making such a transformer using vias, but further discloses at ¶0086 that “[a]lthough reference is made to conductive vias throughout the present application, it should be noted that any conductive connecting element or component, for example, conductive pins, cab be included in place of any one or more of the conductive vias.” It would thus have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to use pins in lieu of the vias of Grader as taught by Kneller. One having ordinary skill in the art would do so because as noted in Kneller quoted above, such pins can be used in place of vias when constructing transformers. In view of this modification of Grader, the vias 1513/296 shown in FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above would be replaced with pins such that the conductive wire unit comprises pins and each of the pins comprises both ends at least partially inserted into the first substrate and the second substrate. As shown in FIGS. 14 and 15, the vias are partially inserted into the substrates 1502 and 1504 and thus if replaced by pins, such pins would similarly be inserted into such substrates.
IV.C. Obviousness Rejections Applying Grader and Yu
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over Grader in view of European Patent Application Publication No. EP2105937 to Yuan Yuan Yu et al. (hereinafter “Yu”). Regarding this claim, Grader teaches the features of claim 15 and further the core and substrates in a state wherein the core is inserted between the substrates. See Grader FIGS. 14, 15 and 29 above. However, Grader does not teach a tape. Nevertheless, Yu teaches a transformer shielding method comprising “winding a primary winding using an insulated wire around a toroidal core at one side, winding a secondary winding using an insulated wire around the toroidal core at the other side opposite to the primary winding, mounting the toroidal core onto a base by an epoxy resin, wrapping the primary winding and the secondary winding by a protection tape, enclosing the protection tape by a metal foil.” It would have been obvious at the time the invention was filed to provide wrap the transformer structure of Grader with a sheet of tape as taught by Yu. One having ordinary skill in the art would do so to provide protection and shielding for the transformer.
V. ALLOWABLE SUBJECT MATTER
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding this claim, the prior art of record in this application does not shown or teach “a width of at least one side of the core unit is greater than a width of a corresponding side of the first substrate or the second substrate” as recited in the claim and in combination with the other features of the claim.
VI. INFORMATION MATERIAL TO PATENTABILITY
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 C.F.R. §1.56 to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this application.
VII. CONCLUSION
Claims 1 and 3-18 are rejected.
Claim 2 is objected to.
The prior art made of record which is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure is listed on the document titled ‘Notice of Reference Cited’ (“PTO-892”). Unless expressly noted otherwise by the Examiners, all documents listed on the PTO-892 are cited in their entirety.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Andrew J. Fischer, SPE Art Unit 3992, can be reached at (571) 272-6779. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-9900.
/KENNETH WHITTINGTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3992