DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for priority to Application No. (SG10202107470S) filed on the July 07, 2021.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species (a) in the reply filed on July 06, 2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 7-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species (b)-(e).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 2-6, "A patient interface according to claim," should read as "The patient interface according to claim".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scheiner et al. (US 20150352306 A1), hereafter as Scheiner, in view of Galgali et al. (US 20180256844 A1), hereafter as Galgali.
Regarding Claim 1, Scheiner discloses a patient interface (Fig. 71-73) comprising:
a plenum chamber (Fig. 71-73; 3200) pressurisable to a therapeutic pressure of at least 4 cmH20 above ambient air pressure (para. 0071, claim 143),
a seal-forming structure (Fig. 71; 3100) constructed and arranged to form a seal with a region of the patient's face surrounding an entrance to the patient's airways (Fig. 71; para. 0380-0382), the seal-forming structure constructed and arranged to maintain said therapeutic pressure in the plenum chamber throughout the patient's respiratory cycle in use (claim 143);
and a positioning and stabilising structure (Fig. 71-7; 330, 3316, 3315, 3317) to provide a force to hold the seal-forming structure in a therapeutically effective position on the patient's head (para. 0542);
wherein the patient interface is configured to leave the patient's mouth uncovered (Fig. 71-73; Examiner notes: this limitation is functional however the mouth is uncovered),
Scheiner does not specifically disclose wherein the positioning and stabilising structure has an expanded configuration and a compact configuration that is more compact in at least one dimension than the expanded configuration, and comprises one or more resilient structures for transforming from the compact configuration to the expanded configuration.
Galgali teaches wherein the positioning and stabilising structure (Fig 38A-38D; 130, 118) has an expanded configuration (Fig 38A-38D; 130, with 710) and a compact configuration (Fig 38A-38D; 130, 712, 714) that is more compact in at least one dimension than the expanded configuration (examiner notes: the spring portion 710 is able to extend and contract), and comprises one or more resilient structures (712, 714 are the resilient members) for transforming from the compact configuration to the expanded configuration (para. 0417-0418).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the straps of Scheiner to include to have an expanded configuration and a compact configuration that is more compact in at least one dimension than the expanded configuration, and comprises one or more resilient structures for transforming from the compact configuration to the expanded configuration as taught by Galgali for the purpose of the spring portion being about to absorb at least a portion of and does not transfer an entirety of the momentary external horizontal force to the seal such that the position of the seal on the user's face remains undisturbed or is disturbed less than with other frame designs and to also to accommodate a wider range of facial geometries as well as to account for blow off force in the mask (para. 0417-0418).
Regarding Claim 2, Modified Scheiner discloses the patient interface according to claim 1, wherein the expanded configuration is a substantially in-use configuration (para. 0417-0418: Examiner notes: the mask interface can be in expanded configuration in use, making “substantially” in use configuration; Galgali).
Regarding Claim 3, Modified Scheiner discloses the patient interface according to claim 1, wherein the compact configuration(Fig 38A-38D; 130, 712, 714) is flattened and/or folded relative to the expanded configuration (Fig. Fig. 38C; Galgali).
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Scheiner discloses the patient interface according to claim 1, wherein the positioning and stabilising structure (Fig 38A-38D; 130, 71-) comprises one or more straps (Fig. 38A-38D; Galgali), and wherein at least one of said one or more resilient structures (710, 712, 714; Galgali) is attached to and/or integrated in the one or more straps (Examiner notes: Galgali teaches 710 may be unitarily-formed as integral one-piece side arms; para. 0417).
Regarding Claim 5, Modified Scheiner discloses the patient interface according to claim 4, wherein the one or more resilient structures (Fig. 38A-38D; 710) impart a predetermined curvature to the one or more straps (para. 0417-0418; Galgali).
Regarding Claim 6, Modified Scheiner discloses patient interface according to claim 4, wherein at least one of said one or more resilient structures (Fig. 38A-38D; 710).
Modified Scheiner does not specifically disclose that the strip of material having a different elasticity than that of the one or more strap.
However, Galgali teaches that spring portion (Fig. 38A-38D; 710) deforms to provide a temporary shape change and is formed as a series of straight segments 712 connected by bends 714. The bends 714 may form an acute angle between the straight segments 712 as to allow the spring portion 710 to bend, shorten in length or extend in length.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to configure the spring portion and the straps side arms (130; Galgali) to have different elasticities because the components perform different mechanical functions. The spring portion is intended to flex an accommodate relative movement , and the ends (130A, 130B) are intended to provide support and restraint. Accordingly one of the ordinary skill in the art world be able to recognize that selecting the different elastic properties for these components would enable each to perform its intended function and support/load transport.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, see PTO-892 for additional attached references. Other prior art of particular note include:
Amarasinghe et al. (EP 3865166 A1; Figs. 6-10, 6134, 6146) teaches arm that have intended that generally evenly spaced apart from one another, and include similar widths and depths into the thickness of the arm. However, it should be appreciated that the slots 6146 may include other suitable arrangements and configurations to modify the location and flexibility characteristics of the arm 6134, e.g., number of slots, slots on one or both sides of the arm (anterior and/or posterior sides), spacing between slots, width, depth, orientation or angle of slot on the arm.
Busch et al. (US 20130008449 A1; Figs. 4/5; 72/92) teaches pliable insert 72/92 is structured to flex, bend and/or twist in response to applied forces and hold the resulting shape when the forces are removed.
MAAP A. ELLABIB
Examiner
Art Unit 3785
/M.A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/KENDRA D CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785