DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US 2020/0199406 A1), as evidenced by PubChem (1-Dodecene, 2005-03-26, National Library of Medicine) and NIST (n-Butyl Ether, 2018, NIST Chemistry WebBook, SRD 69).
Regarding Claim 1: Kaneko teaches a curable composition comprising a polysilazane compound, a plurality of solvents having different boiling points, and a curing catalyst (para. 0009-0014). Kaneko further teaches an embodiment (Example 5) having 40 parts of a polysilazane composition (para. 0084) that is a 50:50 blend of polysilazane and dibutyl ether (para. 0076), i.e. 20 parts of dibutyl ether, 3 parts of bis(2-butoxyethyl ether), 57 parts of EXXSOL D40, and 1 part of a catalyst (para. 0084). NIST teaches that dibutyl ether has a boiling point of 415K/142°C (p.2, Phase change data), which reads on component (A) of the instant claims; Kaneko teaches that EXXSOL D40 has an initial boiling point of 166°C, reading on component (B), and bis(2-butoxyethyl ether) has a boiling point of 255°C (para. 0080). Although the boiling point of bis(2-butoxyethyl ether) is outside of the claimed range in component (C), one would find it obvious to substitute it with a solvent such as 1-dodecene, which Kaneko teaches as an equivalent for the same purpose (para. 0054); PubChem teaches that 1-dodecene has a boiling point of 214°C (p.11, section 3.2.4), reading on component (C).
Based on calculations, the composition of Kaneko comprises 25wt% of dibutyl ether (component (A)), 71wt% of EXXSOL D40 (component (B)), and 4wt% of bis(2-butoxyethyl ether) (equivalent to component (C)), based on the total weight of the solvents.
Regarding Claim 4: Example 5 of Kaneko comprises 20 parts of polysilazane and 80 parts of solvent/components (A), (B), and (C) (para. 0084). Based on calculations, the total amount of components (A) to (C) is 40 parts by mass relative to 10 parts by mass of the polysilazane.
Regarding Claim 6: Kaneko teaches that the composition is used for forming a coating on a glass, silicon, metal, or plastic substrate (para. 0071).
Regarding Claim 7: Kaneko teaches that the composition is used as an antifouling coating (para. 0003).
Regarding Claim 8: Kaneko teaches a cured film (para. 0007).
Regarding Claim 9: Kaneko teaches the film is for use on automobile bodies (para. 0002-0003).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US 2020/0199406 A1), as evidenced by PubChem (1-Dodecene, 2005-03-26, National Library of Medicine) and NIST (n-Butyl Ether, 2018, NIST Chemistry WebBook, SRD 69), in view of Ai et al (Synthesis of structured polysiloxazanes via a Piers-Rubinsztajn reaction, 24 October 2019, Chem. Commun., Vol 55, p.14019-14022).
Kaneko, PubChem, and NIST teach all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Kaneko is silent to the polysilazane being a polysiloxazane.
Ai teaches that polysiloxazanes are a class of silicon-containing polymers that exhibit exceptional high-temperature resistance, dielectric properties, and excellent adhesion to different substrates (p.14019, col. 1). Ai and Kaneko are analogous art because they are directed toward the same field of endeavor, namely polysilazane compounds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace at least a portion of the polysilazane structure taught by Kaneko with a polysiloxazane in order to impart the coating with high-temperature resistance, dielectric properties, and excellent adhesion to different substrates.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko (US 2020/0199406 A1), as evidenced by PubChem (1-Dodecene, 2005-03-26, National Library of Medicine), NIST (n-Butyl Ether, 2018, NIST Chemistry WebBook, SRD 69), and Gelest (3-Aminopropyltriethoxysilane Safety Data Sheet, 7 Jan 2015).
Kaneko, Pubchem, and NIST teach all of the limitations of claim 1, as set forth above. Kaneko further teaches that the curing catalyst is an aminosilane such as 3-aminopropyltriethoxysilane (para. 0067, 0084), which Gelest teaches is an organic base (p.5, Section 14.2).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Kaneko is the closest prior art, which teaches the composition of claim 1, as set forth above. However, Kaneko teaches that the high boiling point solvent reading on component (C) must have a dielectric constant of at least 2.1 and that aliphatic hydrocarbons are not suitable for that purpose (para. 0048-0051).One of ordinary skill in the art could not find it obvious to substitute the high boiling point solvent of Kaneko with a C14-C18 isoparaffin or a C13-C17 n-paraffin because Kaneko teaches away from adding isoparaffins or n-paraffins as the high boiling point solvent since they are aliphatic hydrocarbons that do not meet the required dielectric constant.
Correspondence
/C.N.I./Examiner, Art Unit 1767
/MARK EASHOO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1767