DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group A, claims 1-5 and 13-20 without traverse in the reply filed on 29 Jan. 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 29 Jan. 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muto et al. (US Patent Application 2015/0325333 A1, published 12 Nov. 2015, hereinafter Muto) in view of Ito et al. (WO 2019/244694 A1, published 26 Dec. 2019, hereinafter Ito).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 13-20, Muto teaches an enamel resin-insulated wire comprising a surface layer of polyether ether ketone resin (Abstract and paragraph 0031). Muto teaches his surface layer has thickness of 10 to 40 µm (paragraph 0088). Muto teaches that his polymeric varnish for the surface layer is baked (cured) (paragraph 0139).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a layer thickness from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Muto because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Muto does not teach the claimed cured product.
Ito teaches the claimed curable compound with a number average molecular weight of 1,000-15,000, a solvent solubility at 25°C of at least 1 g/100 g of solvent, and a 5% weight loss temperature of at least 300°C measured at a temperature heating rate of 10°C/min (Abstract). Ito teaches his compound has the structure shown in Formula 1 (paragraph 0010):
[Note the Formula with chemical structures cited below are available in the original WO patent document. These Formulas are not shown in the supplied English Translation.]
With L represents a combination of the two repeat units shown in Formula 2 (paragraph 0010):
With Ar1, Ar2, and Ar3 may be the same or different and represent a group in which two hydrogen atoms have been removed from the structural formula of an aromatic ring, or a group in which two or more aromatic rings are bonded via a single bond or a linking group and two hydrogen atoms have been removed from the structural formula. X represents -CO-, -S-, or -SO2; Y may be the same or different and represents -S- , -SO<sub>2</sub>-, -O-, -CO-, -COO-, or -CONH-, and n represents an integer of 0 or more) (paragraph 0052).
With R1 and R2 represent independently one of the structures shown in Formula 3 or 7 (paragraphs 0012 and 0053):
With Q represents C or Ch, n’ being an integer of 0 to 3, R3-R6 represents a hydrogen atom, a saturated or unsaturated aliphatic hydrocarbon group (preferably an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an alkenyl group having 2 to 10 carbon atoms, or an alkynyl group having 2 to 10 carbon atoms), an aromatic hydrocarbon group (preferably an aryl group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms such as a phenyl group or a naphthyl group), or a group in which two or more groups selected from the saturated or unsaturated aliphatic hydrocarbon group and the aromatic hydrocarbon group are bonded. Two groups selected from R3 to R6 may be bonded to each other to form a ring together with adjacent carbon atoms (paragraph 0054).
With D1 and D2 represent independently one of the structures shown in Formula 4 (paragraph 0013):
With R1-D1 and R2-D2 represent independently one of the structures shown in Formula 10 (paragraph 0068):
Ito teaches that two embodiments of structure L are given by Formula 13 (paragraph 0223):
Ito teaches his curable compound has a dielectric constant of 2.52-2.69 (paragraph 0215 and Table 8 [see original WO patent document]), and Ito measured the relative permittivity of his laminates at a frequency of 10 GHz (paragraph 0204).
Ito teaches his curable composition contains, more preferably, 90 wt.% of more of his curable compound (paragraph 0122).
Ito teaches the claimed curable compound has a 5% weight loss temperature of at least 300°C measured at a temperature heating rate of 10°C/min (Abstract). Two of Ito’s curable compounds had 5% weight loss at about 500°C (Figure 15 [see original WO patent document]). Ito does not disclose the 5% weight loss for a heating rate of 20°C/min; however, given the high value at a heating rate of 10°C/min, it is the examiner’s position that Ito’s curable composition would have the claimed 5% weight loss temperature at heating rate of 20°/min.
Ito teaches his curable compound has an exothermic peak temperature of, particularly preferably, 220 to 420°C (paragraph 0115). Ito conducted his DSC measurements in a nitrogen atmosphere (paragraph 0163). Ito does not disclose the heating rate nor the onset temperature (instead of the peak temperature) of his curable compound; however, given the relatively high temperature for the peak and the cured compound of Ito’s is the same as the claimed compound, the exothermic onset temperature would inherently be that of the claimed exothermic onset temperature.
Ito teaches his curable compound has good solvent solubility in ketones, such as cyclohexanone (paragraph 0034), and the solubility of his curable compound at 25°C is preferably 10 grams or more per 100 grams of solvent (paragraph 0035).
Ito does not disclose the solubility of his curable compound in cyclopentanone at 23°C; however, given that cyclohexanone and cyclopentanone are analogous solvents, it is the examiner’s position that Ito’s curable composition would have the claimed solubility in cyclopentanone at the claimed temperature.
Given that Muto and Ito are drawn to polyether ether ketone compositions with electrical insulating properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyether ether ketone curable composition as taught by Ito as the polyether ether ketone in the surface layer as taught by Muto. Since Muto and Ito both drawn to polyether ether ketone compositions with electrical insulating properties, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the polyether ether ketone curable composition as taught by Ito as the polyether ether ketone in the surface layer as taught by Muto. Further, Ito teaches his curable compound has ultra-high heat resistance, insulating properties, and flame retardancy (paragraph 0038).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Abe et al. (US Patent Application 2011/0192632 A1, published 11 Aug. 2011, hereinafter Abe) teaches an insulated wire comprising PEEK, in which the PEEK layer has a thickness of 20 to 300 µm. Louis and El-Hibri (US Patent Application 2021/0179777 A1, published 17 Jun. 2021, hereinafter Louis) teaches a PEEK-PEMEK copolymer for use as a wire coating, in which the thickness of the coating layer is 25 to 3000 µm. Lubowitz and Sheppard (US Patent 4,980,481, published 25 Dec. 1990, hereinafter Lubowitz) teaches the end capping of imide groups onto oligomers with aryl ketone repeat units (Abstract and col. 43, lines 43-48). Pagliuca and Caswell (US Patent Application 2011/0100674 A1, published 05 May 2011, hereinafter Pagliuca) teaches a wire with a PEEK layer wrapped around the wire, in which the thickness of the PEEK layer is 10-100 µm. Saito et al. (JP 2020/017430 A, published 30 Jan. 2020, hereinafter Saito) teaches an insulated wire in which the insulating layer comprises PEEK, and this layer has a thickness of 10 to 500 µm. Yang et al. (US Patent Application 2020/0079726 A1, published 12 Mar. 2020, hereinafter Yang) teaches the claimed curable composition as an insulating material.
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787