DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mochiki (JP H05/225832 A, published 03 Sep. 1993, hereinafter Mochiki) in view of Ito et al. (WO 2019/244694 A1, published 26 Dec. 2019, hereinafter Ito).
Regarding claims 1-5 and 13-20, Mochiki teaches an insulated wire in which the insulating coating is 0.5 mm or less thick, and the coating is a resin mixture of 90 to 50 wt.% polyetheretherketone resin and 10 to 50 wt.% etherimide resin (Abstract).
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have selected a layer thickness from the overlapping portion of the range taught by Mochiki because overlapping ranges have been held to be prima facie obviousness.
Mochiki does not teach the claimed cured product.
Ito teaches the claimed curable polyetheretherketone with a number average molecular weight of 1,000-15,000, a solvent solubility at 25°C of at least 1 g/100 g of solvent, and a 5% weight loss temperature of at least 300°C measured at a temperature heating rate of 10°C/min (Abstract). Ito teaches his compound has the structure shown in Formula 1 (paragraph 0010):
[Note the Formula with chemical structures cited below are available in the original WO patent document. These Formulas are not shown in the supplied English Translation.]
With L represents a combination of the two repeat units shown in Formula 2 (paragraph 0010):
With Ar1, Ar2, and Ar3 may be the same or different and represent a group in which two hydrogen atoms have been removed from the structural formula of an aromatic ring, or a group in which two or more aromatic rings are bonded via a single bond or a linking group and two hydrogen atoms have been removed from the structural formula. X represents -CO-, -S-, or -SO2; Y may be the same or different and represents -S- , -SO<sub>2</sub>-, -O-, -CO-, -COO-, or -CONH-, and n represents an integer of 0 or more) (paragraph 0052).
With R1 and R2 represent independently one of the structures shown in Formula 3 or 7 (paragraphs 0012 and 0053):
With Q represents C or Ch, n’ being an integer of 0 to 3, R3-R6 represents a hydrogen atom, a saturated or unsaturated aliphatic hydrocarbon group (preferably an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an alkenyl group having 2 to 10 carbon atoms, or an alkynyl group having 2 to 10 carbon atoms), an aromatic hydrocarbon group (preferably an aryl group having 6 to 10 carbon atoms such as a phenyl group or a naphthyl group), or a group in which two or more groups selected from the saturated or unsaturated aliphatic hydrocarbon group and the aromatic hydrocarbon group are bonded. Two groups selected from R3 to R6 may be bonded to each other to form a ring together with adjacent carbon atoms (paragraph 0054).
With D1 and D2 represent independently one of the structures shown in Formula 4 (paragraph 0013):
With R1-D1 and R2-D2 represent independently one of the structures shown in Formula 10 (paragraph 0068):
Ito teaches that two embodiments of structure L are given by Formula 13 (paragraph 0223):
These formulas represent a polyetheretherketone.
Ito teaches his curable compound has a dielectric constant of 2.52-2.69 (paragraph 0215 and Table 8 [see original WO patent document]), and Ito measured the relative permittivity of his laminates at a frequency of 10 GHz (paragraph 0204).
Ito teaches his curable composition contains 30 wt.% or more of his curable compound (paragraph 0122).
Ito teaches the claimed curable compound has a 5% weight loss temperature of at least 300°C measured at a temperature heating rate of 10°C/min (Abstract). Two of Ito’s curable compounds had 5% weight loss at about 500°C (Figure 15 [see original WO patent document]). Ito does not disclose the 5% weight loss for a heating rate of 20°C/min; however, given the high value at a heating rate of 10°C/min, it is the examiner’s position that Ito’s curable composition would have the claimed 5% weight loss temperature at heating rate of 20°/min.
Ito teaches his curable compound has an exothermic peak temperature of, particularly preferably, 220 to 420°C (paragraph 0115). Ito conducted his DSC measurements in a nitrogen atmosphere (paragraph 0163). Ito does not disclose the heating rate nor the onset temperature (instead of the peak temperature) of his curable compound; however, given the relatively high temperature for the peak and the cured compound of Ito’s is the same as the claimed compound, the exothermic onset temperature would inherently be that of the claimed exothermic onset temperature.
Ito teaches his curable compound has good solvent solubility in ketones, such as cyclohexanone (paragraph 0034), and the solubility of his curable compound at 25°C is preferably 10 grams or more per 100 grams of solvent (paragraph 0035).
Ito does not disclose the solubility of his curable compound in cyclopentanone at 23°C; however, given that cyclohexanone and cyclopentanone are analogous solvents, it is the examiner’s position that Ito’s curable composition would have the claimed solubility in cyclopentanone at the claimed temperature.
Given that Mochiki and Ito are drawn to a polyetheretherketone resin with electrical insulating properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polyetheretherketone composition as taught by Ito as the polyetheretherketone resin in the insulating coating taught by Mochiki. Since Mochiki and Ito both drawn to polyetheretherketone resins with electrical insulating properties, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success in using the polyetheretherketone composition as taught by Ito as the polyetheretherketone in the insulating coating as taught by Mochiki. Further, Ito teaches his curable compound has ultra-high heat resistance, insulating properties, and flame retardancy (paragraph 0038).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04 Sep. 2026 have been fully considered. Examiner has set forth new grounds of rejection above; therefore, this Office Action is non-final.
Applicant did not amend the claims.
Applicant argues that Taguchi teaches a conductive composition; therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine the teachings of Taguchi with the insulating layer taught by Muto.
The previous rejections using Taguchi as a secondary reference have been withdrawn. As presented above, Mochiki teaches an insulated wire, in which the insulation comprises polyetheretherketone.
Applicant argues that applicant’s unexpected and significant results further support nonobviousness.
However, the data is not persuasive given that it is not commensurate in scope with the scope of the present claims. Specifically, the data utilizes a single manifestation of the many compounds represented by Formula (1), whereas the various optional constituent groups on Formula (1) require about 24 lines to enumerate. Further, no comparative examples containing resins that do not satisfy Formula (1) are provided.
Conclusion
/JOHN VINCENT LAWLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787