DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) has been considered. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1, 2, 11, 13, 14, 18, 20, 21, 24, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strasser et al. (U.S. 5984055). Regarding claim 1 , Strasser discloses (fig. 4) A brake pad unit (40) for a disc brake assembly (e.g. fig. 1) , the brake pad unit comprising a backing plate (44) and a friction pad (42) , wherein: the backing plate comprises: a first side and a second side; wherein the first side defines an engagement surface for engaging with the disc brake assembly (top side of 44 in fig. 4) ; the second side defines a friction material mounting surface (bottom side of 44 touching 42) ; and the backing plate is formed from a composite material comprising reinforcement fibres (see col. 4 lines 15-47 at least) , wherein the composite material is present throughout an entirety of the backing plate (as described) ; and wherein the backing plate comprises a layer of reinforcement fibres which are provided as continuous reinforcement fibres such that they extend from a first location on an edge wall of the backing plate to a second location on the edge wall (“ continuous due to the fibers typically running the entire length of the structure ”) ; and the friction pad comprises a friction material provided on the friction material mounting surface of the backing plate (see col. 7 lines 29-51 at least) . Regarding claim 2 , Strasser discloses (fig. 4) all of the fibres in the continuous reinforcement fibre layer are aligned in a same direction (see col. 7 line 66 – col. 8 line 35: “ The woven fiber system is embodied in a preform made from stacked, woven, fiber sheets which has been formed into the desired shape of the finished part, and which has all of the fibers in each fiber sheet oriented in the longitudinal direction of the preform. ”) Regarding claim 11 , Strasser discloses the composite material of the backing plate and the composite material of the friction material further comprises a binder material (e.g. “pre-ceramic resin”, see col. 10 lines 1-22) ; and the binder material of the backing plate has molecular continuity with the binder material of the friction material to thereby form a bond between the backing plate and the friction material (the materials are successfully bonded at the end of the manufacturing process so the binder materials are deemed to “have molecular continuity”) ; wherein, optionally: the backing plate and friction material are co-moulded from an assembly of a backing plate pre-cursor and a friction pad pre-cursor. Regarding claim 13 , Strasser discloses the composite material of the backing plate further comprises a first binder material (col. 4 lines 15-47, can have alumina silicate resin) ; the composite material of the friction material further comprises a second binder material (col. 3 line 46 – col. 4 line 14, can have silicon-carboxyl resin) , the first binder material being different to the second binder material (see selections above) ; and the friction material being bonded to the friction material mounting surface of the backing plate (after assembly they are bonded). Regarding claim 14 , Strasser discloses the reinforcement fibres comprise at least one of glass S-glass E-glass, carbon, aramid, other types of mineral fibre (col. 6 line 56- col. 7 line 15, carbon at least) . Regarding claim 18 , Strasser discloses the backing plate has a thickness of 2-10 mm (col. 9 lines 1-22, .125 inches, which is 3.175 mm). Regarding claim 20 , Strasser discloses A method of manufacture of a brake pad unit for a disc brake assembly comprising: forming a composite backing plate pre-cursor (see col. 4 lines 15-47 at least) formed from a composite material comprising reinforcement fibres (sheets of woven continuous fibers) , wherein the composite material is present throughout an entirety of the backing plate (as described) ; and wherein the backing plate pre-cursor comprises a layer of reinforcement fibres which are provided as continuous reinforcement fibres such that they extend from a first location on an edge wall of the composite backing plate to a second location on the edge wall (“ continuous due to the fibers typically running the entire length of the structure ”) ; and forming a friction pad pre-cursor from a friction material (col. 3 line 46 – col. 4 line 14) . Regarding claim 21 , Strasser discloses co-moulding the pre-cursors to form the brake pad unit (step 520) , wherein, optionally: the method comprises the steps of: arranging the pre-cursors in a mould tool; locating the mould tool in a heated press set at a temperature high enough to induce flow in a binder; compressing the arranged pre-cursors to provide flow of the binder and compaction of the moulding such that the pre-cursors are co-moulded; and subjecting the arrangement to a post-curing heating profile, wherein, optionally: a post-curing profile comprising a schedule of repeatedly increasing the temperature and holding the condition at the higher temperature for a predetermined amount of time. Regarding claim 24 , Strasser discloses forming a composite backing plate from the composite backing plate pre-cursor (see col. 4 lines 15-47 at least) ; forming a friction pad from the friction pad pre-cursor (see col. 3 line 46 to col. 4 line 14 at least) ; and bonding the composite backing plate and friction pad to form the brake pad unit (step 520) . Regarding claim 25 , Strasser discloses forming a composite backing plate from the composite backing plate pre-cursor; and forming a friction pad by moulding the friction pad pre-cursor onto the composite backing plate (step 510 and 520 at least) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103, which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. Claims 3 , 5 -7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasser et al. (U.S. 5984055) in view of Hanasato (JP 2015-121299 A) Regarding claim 3 , Strasser does not appear to disclose fibers of the back plate being perpendicular to one another. In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Hanasato teaches (see fig. 5a or 5 c ) layers of lattice for the back plate, where within a given layer some of the fibers are perpendicular to other fibers. (“parallel to the longitudinal and lateral directions of the back plate”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a perpendicular orientation of fibers as suggested by Hanasato to have both longitudinal strength and lateral strength. Regarding claim 5 , Strasser does not appear to disclose fibers of the back plate being at an angle less than 90 degrees relative to one another . In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Hanasato teaches (see fig. 5a ) layers of lattice for the back plate, where some fibers extend in the lateral or longitudinal direction of the back plate, while other are inclined at 45 degrees with respect to the longitudinal and lateral directions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided fibers at an angle of less than 90 degrees from one another, such as 45 degrees, as suggested by Hanasato to increase strength in directions that are not merely longitudinal or lateral, as well as preventing adjacent grids from inadvertently aligning, thereby improving overall strength. Regarding claim 6 , Strasser as modified teaches the fibres extending in the first direction are provided in a first layer and the fibres extending in the second direction are provided in a second layer, wherein the first layer and the second layer are integrally formed (see fig. 5c, once the back plate is formed , they are functionally integrally formed with one another). Regarding claim 7 , Strasser as modified teaches the fibres extending in the first direction and the fibres extending in the second direction are woven together (see abstract at least , within a given sheet the fibers are woven as shown ) . Regarding claim 19 , Strasser does not appear to disclose fibers extending in 3 different directions relative to one another. In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Hanasato teaches (see fig. 5a) layers of lattice for the back plate, where some fibers extend in the lateral direction, some extend in the longitudinal direction, while other are inclined at 45 degrees to the left or to the right with respect to the longitudinal and lateral directions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided fibers in 3 different directions from one another, such as along the lateral, longitudinal and 45 degrees, as suggested by Hanasato to increase strength in directions that are not merely longitudinal or lateral, as well as preventing adjacent grids from inadvertently aligning, thereby improving overall strength. Claims 8, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasser et al. (U.S. 5984055) in view of Durrieu et al. (U.S. 4173681 ). Regarding claim 8 , Strasser does not appear to disclose reinforcement fibers randomly oriented. In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Durrieu teaches a brake pad with fibers (see table beginning in column 2 at least), where the material is made by putting the ingredients in a mixer 11 and then laminated out and ultimately forming the backing plate. The mixing of this process is deemed to place the fibers in a “randomly oriented fibre lay-up pattern” as claimed, as the mixer does not intentionally place fibers in one location or orientation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the fibers as randomly oriented to provide for an even distribution of fibers throughout the component, thereby ensuring that the component is not weak in any particular area. Regarding claim 10 , Strasser as modified teaches a continuous reinforcement fibre layer defines the engagement surface and/or the friction material mounting surface (abstract of Durrieu, materials can be the same and each uses the same resin); and the continuous reinforcement fibre layer is integrally formed with the or each other layers of the backing plate (after formation, see claim 1 at least). Regarding claim 15 , Strasser does not appear to disclose the claimed type of binder material. In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Durrieu teaches a resin used for the friction material and back plate to bind the two elements together (thus a binder material), where the resin can be at least polyimide or polyester. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a common resin binder for both layers and for binding the backing plate to the friction pad to reuse the same material for all three purposes, thereby simplifying the construction of the brake pad by minimizing the number of extra materials needed to make it. Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strasser et al. (U.S. 5984055) in view of Inokuchi et al. (U.S. 2015/0275990). Regarding claim 16 , Strasser does not appear to disclose the flexural properties of the backing plate. In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Inokuchi teaches utilizing a material for the back plate including fibers (see abstract at least), wherein the flexural modulus of the backing plate is at least 24 GPa and a flexural strength of the backing plate is at least 250 MPa (see table 4, examples 1-5, 7-10, 12-14 all have a rating of B or better for both of these properties. A rating of B or better for bending modulus indicates a bending modulus of 25 GPa or higher (see pgh. 0199-0201) and a rating of B or better for bending strength indicates a bending strength of 280 MPa or more). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a material having the claimed properties for flexural modulus and flexural strength in order to provide a material capable of high mechanical strength while also allowing for good molding properties (see pgh. 0002-0005 of Inokuchi ). Regarding claim 1 7 , Strasser does not appear to disclose the compressive strength properties. . In the same field of endeavor of brake pads, Inokuchi teaches utilizing a material for the back plate including fibers (see abstract at least), with a compressive modulus of over 350 MPa (examples 1-14 in table 4 are rated A or B, and all of these ratings correspond to a minimum compressive strength of 350MPA, see pgh. 0206-0209). The test area was 10x10x6 mm, so the top surface area is 100 mm^2. If the compressive strength was 350 MPa subject to this area, the component experienced a force of 35000 N. Since the disclosed ISO 604 test exerted this amount of force on the component, the claimed 3000 N is far less force than this, such that the deflection would be minimal. Further, since the part is only 4mm thick, a deflection of 0.7mm would be 17.5% of the thickness of the component, which would likely result in permanent deformation or breakage, so a force over ten times less than the force used to determine the compressive strength experienced would produce less deflection tha n 0.7mm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a material having the claimed properties for compressive strength under a given load to ensure that the component is strong enough to support braking forces experienced by the backing plate, which often fall on the order of tens of thousands of Newtons of force. Further, it is noted that the combination of Strasser and Inokuchi teach a material that substantially matches the claimed material, so accordingly a substantially similar material will have substantially similar properties including properties of compressive strength. Lastly, the deflection is determined “up to 250°C” , which can include any ambient temperature for purposes of testing, so accordingly testing can be performed by one of ordinary skill in the art up to this temperature range, since brakes also need to adequately function at ambient temperature prior to warming up. Prior Art The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. The documents listed on the PTO-892 disclose various composite materials for brake pads. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT DAVID MORRIS whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-3595 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT Monday thru Friday; 8:30 AM - 5:00 PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Robert Siconolfi can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 272-7124 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT /DAVID MORRIS/ Primary Examiner Art Unit 3616 /DAVID R MORRIS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616