DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-3, 6-9, 16-17 and 25 are rejected.
Claims 4-5, 10-15, 18-24 and 26 have been canceled.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 6-9 and 17, in the reply filed on April 20, 2026, is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the uncanceled claims of Group III (claims 16 and 25) are essentially identical to the claims upon which they depend and there will be no search or examination burden. This is found persuasive, and claims 16 and 25 will be hereby examined.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-9, 16-17 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dooley, Jr. et al. (US 6,095,343) [hereinafter Dooley].
With respect to claim 1, Dooley discloses a gravity liquid filtration apparatus 10 (filtration arrangement), as shown in Fig. 1, having: a housing 20 (filtration vessel), as shown in Fig. 1; a filter media 64 (continuous filtering element) for removing particles from liquid passing therethrough, as shown in Fig. 4, the filtering element 64 being arranged to move along a path into the filtration vessel 20 and out from the filtration vessel 20, as shown in Fig. 1; and two discs 46, 48, (wheels) sealingly engaging the filtering element 64 on opposite sides thereof inside the filtration vessel 20, as shown in Figs. 1-4, where each of the two wheels 46, 48, is rotatable relative to the filtration vessel 20 along with movement of the filtering element 64, as shown in Fig. 4, wherein the filtration vessel 20 comprises two circular portions, said two circular portions being each of the ends of belt 60, as shown in Figs. 3-4, wherein the two wheels 46, 48, are forced into a respective of the circular portions with the filtering element 64 therebetween, as shown in Fig. 4, and wherein the filtration arrangement 10 further comprises at least one seal ring 54 (stationary wheel sealing member) arranged to seal between the filtering element 64 and a respective of the circular portions, as shown in Fig. 4.
With respect to claim 2, Dooley discloses wherein the two wheels 46, 48, are vertically movable relative to the filtration vessel 20, (with tensioner assembly 44), as shown in Figs. 1 and 5 (see col. 3, lines 26-51).
With respect to claim 3, Dooley discloses wherein each wheel 46, 48, comprises at least one peripheral edge 50 (seat), as shown in Fig. 4, and wherein the filtering element 64 is received in the seats 50, as shown in Fig. 4.
With respect to claim 6, Dooley discloses wherein each stationary wheel sealing member 54 is received in a respective of the seat 50, as shown in Fig. 4
With respect to claim 7, Dooley discloses wherein the at least one stationary wheel sealing member 54 is made of plastic material (see col. 2, lines 61-63).
With respect to claim 8, Dooley discloses wherein the filtration vessel 20 comprises two cavities, formed by walls 26, 28, laterally outside the respective wheels 46, 48, as shown in Fig. 2.
With respect to claim 9, Dooley discloses a stationary cavity sealing member 54 in a bottom of each cavity, as shown in Figs. 2-4.
With respect to claim 16, Dooley discloses a filtration apparatus for filtrating liquid, the filtration apparatus comprising a filtration arrangement 10, as shown in Fig. 1.
With respect to claim 17, Dooley discloses a gravity liquid filtration apparatus 10 (filtration arrangement), as shown in Fig. 1, having: a filtration vessel 20, as shown in Fig. 1; a continuous filtering element 64 for removing particles from liquid passing therethrough, as shown in Fig. 4, the filtering element 64 being arranged to move along a path into the filtration vessel 20 and out from the filtration vessel 20, as shown in Fig. 1; and two wheels 46, 48, sealingly engaging the filtering element 64 on opposite sides thereof inside the filtration vessel 20, as shown in Fig 3, where each of the two wheels 46, 48, is rotatable relative to the filtration vessel 20 along with movement of the filtering element 64, as shown in Fig. 3, wherein the filtration vessel 20 comprises two cavities, formed by wall 26, 28, laterally outside the respective wheels 46, 48, as shown in Fig. 2, and wherein the filtration arrangement 10 further comprises a stationary cavity sealing member 54 in a bottom of each cavity, as shown in Figs. 2-4.
With respect to claim 25, Dooley discloses a filtration apparatus for filtrating liquid, the filtration apparatus comprising a filtration arrangement 10, as shown in Fig. 1.
Conclusion
/MADELINE GONZALEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773