DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2. Claims 5, 7, 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
3. In claims 5, 7, 9-10, 13, it is unclear which claim, claims 5, 7, 9-10, 13 depends from since no claim had been identified. For examining purpose, claims 5, 7, 9-10, 13 will be dependent on claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Midolo et al (WO2017148937A1).
6. As to claim 1, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) a photon detector system (200) for detecting photons (245) emitted (emits) from an optical fiber (240), the photon detector system (200) comprising: a receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism) for receiving the optical fiber (240); a photon detector (280) comprising a superconducting element (270), wherein the photon detector (280) is aligned with the receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism), the photon detector (280) having an active area (superconductor nanowire) for detecting photons (245) emitted (emits) from an end-face of the optical fiber (240) received in the receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism); an urging mechanism (236) for, in use, urging (move) together the photon detector (280) and the optical fiber (240), (page 12, lines 29-36, page 13, lines 1-7).
7. As to claim 2, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the urging mechanism (236) comprises a spring-loaded mechanism (237, 238), (page 12, lines 34-36).
8. As to claim 3, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the urging mechanism (236) comprises a piezo electric actuator (actuator), (page 12, lines 34-36).
9. As to claim 4, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the photon detector (280) further comprises a spacer element (210) arranged between the photon detector (280) and the optical fiber (240) for spacing the end-face of the optical fiber (240) from the active area (superconductor nanowire) of the photon detector (280), (page 12, lines 29-36, page 13, lines 1-7).
10. As to claim 5, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the urging mechanism (236) is configured such that in use the optical fiber (240) is urged (moves) to abut onto the spacer element (210), (page 12, lines 29-36).
11. As to claim 6, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the photon detector (280) and the spacer element (210) are fixedly connected together and the urging mechanism (236) is configured to urge (move) the optical fiber (240) towards the photon detector (280) and the spacer element (210), (page 12, lines 29-36, page 13, lines 1-7).
12. As to claim 7, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the photon detector system (200) comprises a body (on-chip), wherein the photon detector (280) and the spacer element (210), and optionally the receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism), are mounted fixed on the body (on-chip), (page 12, lines 29-36).
13. As to claim 8, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the spacer element (210) is a spacer layer (filter layer) deposited on the photon detector (280), (page 12, lines 29-36).
14. As to claim 9, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the spacer layer (filer layer) is deposited on the photon detector (280) leaving an empty space at its center, (page 12, lines 29-36).
15. As to claim 10, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the empty space in the spacer layer (filter layer) covers substantially the active area (superconductor nanowire), (page 12, lines 29-36, page 13, lines 1-7).
16. As to claim 11, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system wherein the spacer layer (210 filter layer) is made of one of a dielectric material, (page 12, lines 29-36).
17. As to claim 12, Midolo et al discloses (fig. 3) the photon detector (200) wherein the urging mechanism (236) is configured to engage a ferrule (coupler) mounted at an extremity of the optical fiber (240), (page 12, lines 29-34).
18. As to claim 13, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the urging mechanism (236) is configured to engage a flange of the ferrule (coupler, connector), the flange extending parallel to the active area (270), (page 13, lines 1-7).
19. As to claim 14, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism) is an alignment sleeve configured to receive a ferrule (coupler, connector) mounted at the extremity of the optical fiber (240), (page 12, lines 29-36).
20. As to claim 15, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the superconducting element (270) is a superconducting layer (superconductor nanowire), (page 13, lines 1-7).
21. As to claim 16, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the superconducting layer (superconductor nanowire) is a superconducting nanowire layer (superconductor nanowire), (page 13, lines 1-7).
22. As to claim 17, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the superconducting element (270) comprises the active area (superconductor nanowire), (page 13, lines 1-7).
23. As to claim 18, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) a method for detecting photons (245) emitted (emits) from an optical fiber (240), the method comprising: arranging a receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism) for receiving the optical fiber (240), (page 12, lines 29-36); arranging a photon detector (280) aligned with the receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism), the photon detector (280) having an active area (superconductor nanowire) for detecting (detects) photons (245) emitted (emits) from an end-face of the optical fiber (240) received in the receiving mechanism (input optical fiber 240 coupled into the input waveguide of the tuneable optical filter 210 defines a receiving mechanism); urging (moves) together the photon detector (280) and the optical fiber (240), detecting (detects) photons (245) emitted (emits) from the end-face of the optical fiber (240) using the photon detector (280), (page 12, lines 29-36, page 13, 1-7).
24. As to claim 19, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) a photon detector system (200) for detecting (detects) photons (245) emitted (emits) from an optical fiber (240), the photon detector system (200) comprising: a single photon detector (280) comprising a superconducting element (270), the single photon detector (280) having an active area (superconductor nanowire) for detecting (detects) photons (245) emitted (emits) from an end-face of the optical fiber (240), wherein the superconducting element (270) is a superconducting nanowire layer (superconductor nanowire); an urging mechanism (236) for, in use, urging (moves) together the single photon detector (280) and the optical fiber (240), (page 12, lines 29-36, page 13, lines 1-7).
25. As to claim 20, Midolo et al disclose (fig. 3) the photon detector system (200) wherein the urging mechanism (236) comprises at least one of a piezo electric actuator (actuator), (page 12, lines 29-36).
Conclusion
/DON J WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2878
/GEORGIA Y EPPS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2878