DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 11 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-10 and 19-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11 June 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 22 December 2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Office.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1: The claim recites the limitation “z is an integer between 0 and 2”. However, the only integer between 0 and 2 is 1. It is unclear if the claim is intended to mean z is 1; or z can be 0, 1, or 2; or that z is selected from 0 and 2. As all the examples are drawn to z = 1 that is what the limitation was considered as for the purpose of further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fontanelli et al. (cited in the previous correspondence).
As to Claims 1-3: Fontanelli teaches a perfluoropolyether with the composition:
(Pg. 2, Lines 5-10). Fontanelli further teaches an example wherein Y is C3F7 (which reads on B and the (CF2)z wherein z = 1 and B is C2F5) and X (which reads on A) is CF3 (Pg. 10, Lines 25-30) and that P+Q is about 7.
Fontanelli does not teach an example wherein n/m is 2-30.
However, Fontanelli teaches a desired ratio for Q/P is 1 to 0.02 (Pg. 2, Lines 10-15) which is the same as a ratio of n/m of 1-50. At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to select a n/m ratio from within the range taught by Fontanelli including 2-30 because Fontanelli teaches that this ratio results in a favorable combination of properties (Pg. 2, Lines 5-10).
As to Claim 4: Fontanelli renders obvious the composition of claim 1 (supra). Fontanelli does not recite the presence of a diol compound.
As to Claims 5 and 6: Fontanelli renders obvious the composition of claim 1 (supra). The instant claims are drawn to intended use of the composition and as Fontanelli teaches the composition it is considered to be capable of the same use.
Correspondence
/Andrew J. Oyer/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767