DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The following claim limitations that use the words “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof, as described herein:
in claims 31 and 38-44: “means for receiving”, “means for communicating”, and “means for transmitting” are being interpreted to cover phased array antenna 155 and 155-a, feed element 156, receive antenna element, transmit antenna element, transceiver element, antenna assembly 151 and 151-a, access node terminal 130, user terminal 150, GPS receiver, receive beamforming network 310, transmit beamforming network 360, signal receiver 925, signal transmitter 960, and equivalents thereof (see Figs. 1, 2, 3A-B, and 9; ¶¶0026-0028, ¶0032, ¶0035, ¶0042, ¶¶0051-0054, and ¶¶0109-0131);
in claims 31-37, 39, 44, and 45: “means for determining”, “means for generating”, and “means for scaling” are being interpreted to cover user terminal controller 158, access node controller 135, network device 141, performance mapping component 935, antenna characteristic manager 930, signal quality evaluation component 950, signal quality scaling component 955, and equivalents thereof (see Figs. 1 and 9; ¶0028, ¶0035, and ¶¶0109-0131); and
in claim 38: “means for scheduling” is being interpreted to cover -----access node terminal 130, access node controller 135, network devices 141 (e.g., network operations centers and/or gateway command centers), user terminal 150 or other scheduling entities, communications manager 940, and equivalents thereof (see Figs. 1 and 9; ¶0031, ¶¶0095-0097, and ¶¶0109-0131).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-14, 16-24, 26-29, 31-39, and 41-44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0195340 to Darapu et al. (“Darapu”) in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0167102 to Ray.
As to claim 16 (and similarly applied to claims 1 and 31), Darapu discloses an apparatus for communications in a satellite communication system (Figs. 1 and 9, satellite terminal 150 and 150-a; ¶0022 and ¶0100), the apparatus comprising: an array antenna (Figs. 1 and 9, satellite terminal communications antenna 152 and 152-b; ¶0024 and ¶¶0101-0102; see also claims 1 and 2); and a controller coupled with the array antenna (Figs. 1 and 9, satellite terminal receiver 154 and 154-a, processor 905, satellite communications manager 930, and/or CPE communications manager 925; ¶0030 and ¶0107) and configured to: receive a plurality of signals using the array antenna according to a plurality of beamformed beam orientations of the array antenna; determine a plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the array antenna associated with the plurality of beamformed beam orientations; generate a communications performance map based at least in part on the received plurality of signals and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the array antenna (Figs. 1, 3-5, and 8, step 805; ¶¶0083-0090; ¶0024; and ¶0037); and communicate with a satellite using the array antenna based at least in part on the generated communications performance map (Figs. 1 and 8, steps 825-830; ¶0098).
Darapu does not disclose: that the array antenna is a phased array antenna.
However, Ray discloses: that the array antenna is a phased array antenna (Figs. 1-4; phased array transmitter 102, receiving antenna 118 and first receiver 120, phased array RF transmitter 200, phased array RF transmitter 300, and/or phased array receiver 400; ¶0026, ¶0031, ¶0041, ¶0047, and ¶0048).
Darapu and Ray are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: radio transmission systems, including multi-antenna systems using (e.g., using two or more spaced independent antennas); beam forming; selecting one or more beams from a plurality of beams; transmission in a satellite or space-based system; and/or arrangements for managing radio resources, i.e. for establishing or releasing a connection or handover of resources. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darapu to incorporate the teachings of Ray to include: that the array antenna is a phased array antenna. Doing so would allow for continuous, faster, and more accurate communications performance by reducing or eliminating gain loss and ripples from repeated steering, sampling, and beam adjustment algorithms (Ray, ¶0003 and ¶0040). Additionally, it would be obvious to combine the teachings of Darapu and Ray as there is a reasonable expectation of success and/or because doing so merely combines prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
As to claim 17 (and similarly applied to claims 2 and 32), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to determine the plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna, the controller is configured to: determine, for each beamformed beam orientation of the plurality, an antenna gain of the phased array antenna associated with electronic beamforming along the beamformed beam orientation (Ray, Figs. 5A-B; ¶0051).
As to claim 18 (and similarly applied to claims 3 and 33), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to determine the plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna, the controller is configured to: determine, for each beamformed beam orientation of the plurality, an antenna noise metric of the phased array antenna associated with electronic beamforming along the beamformed beam orientation (Darapu, ¶0037).
As to claim 19 (and similarly applied to claims 4 and 34), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to determine the plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna, the controller is configured to: determine, for each beamformed beam orientation of the plurality, a beamwidth of the phased array antenna associated with electronic beamforming along the beamformed beam orientation (Darapu, ¶0037).
As to claim 20 (and similarly applied to claims 5 and 35), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to generate the communications performance map, the controller is configured to: determine, for each received signal of the plurality, a respective signal quality metric for the received signal (Darapu, ¶0037); and scale, for each received signal of the plurality, the respective signal quality metric for the received signal based at least in part on the directional antenna characteristic of the phased array antenna associated with the beamformed beam orientation corresponding to the received signal (Darapu, ¶0070).
As to claim 21 (and similarly applied to claims 6 and 36), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to generate the communications performance map, the controller is configured to: determine a blockage map associated with a location of the phased array antenna based at least in part on the received plurality of signals and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna (Darapu, Figs. 5-6 and 8, step 820; ¶0038 and ¶0095).
As to claim 22 (and similarly applied to claims 7 and 37), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to generate the communications performance map, the controller is configured to: determine a boundary of beamformed beam orientations for communications using the phased array antenna based at least in part on the received plurality of signals and the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna (Darapu, Figs. 3-7, boundary 312 and 312-a; ¶0053, ¶0060, ¶0066, ¶0073, and ¶0080).
As to claim 23 (and similarly applied to claims 8 and 38), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to communicate with the satellite, the controller is configured to: schedule a handoff to the satellite from another satellite based at least in part on the generated communications performance map (Darapu, Fig. 8, step 835; ¶0098).
As to claim 24 (and similarly applied to claims 9 and 39), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to: determine to perform a beam scanning operation based at least in part on a periodic interval or an event trigger; and receive the plurality of signals based at least in part on determining to perform the beam scanning operation (Darapu, Fig. 8, step 805; ¶0090).
As to claim 26 (and similarly applied to claims 11 and 41), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein, to receive the plurality of signals, the controller is configured to: receive ambient signals not associated with a transmitting device (Darapu, ¶0026, ¶0037, ¶0054, ¶0084, ¶0087; Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that calculating a signal-to-noise ratio would require reception of ambient signals (i.e., noise) not associated with a transmitting device).
As to claim 27 (and similarly applied to claims 12 and 42), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 26, wherein, to receive the ambient signals, the controller is configured to: receive the ambient signals over a frequency not used for the communicating with the satellite (Darapu, ¶0026, ¶0037, ¶0054, ¶0084, ¶0087; Examiner notes that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that calculating a signal-to-noise ratio would require reception of ambient signals (i.e., noise) over a frequency not used for the communication with the satellite).
As to claim 28 (and similarly applied to claims 13 and 43), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the controller is further configured to: transmit the generated communications performance map to a network scheduling entity (Darapu, Fig. 8, step 830; ¶0097); and receive, from the network scheduling entity, an instruction to communicate with the satellite based at least in part on transmitting the generated communications performance map (Darapu, Fig. 8, step 835; ¶0098).
As to claim 29 (and similarly applied to claims 14 and 44), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the plurality of signals are received with a first physical orientation of the phased array antenna, and the controller is further configured to: receive a second plurality of signals at the phased array antenna according to a second plurality of beamformed beam orientations of the phased array antenna, wherein the second plurality of signals are received with a second physical orientation of the phased array antenna; determine a second plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna associated with the second plurality of beamformed beam orientations; and generate the communications performance map based at least in part on the received second plurality of signals and the determined second plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna (Darapu, Fig. 8, step 805; ¶0090).
Claims 10, 25, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darapu in view of Ray and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0396305 to Dutta et al. (“Dutta”).
As to claim 25 (and similarly applied to claims 10 and 40), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 16.
Darapu in view of Ray does not disclose: wherein the controller is further configured to: transmit a second plurality of signals using the phased array antenna, wherein, to receive the plurality of signals, the controller is configured to receive reflections of the transmitted second plurality of signals.
However, Dutta discloses: wherein the controller is further configured to: transmit a second plurality of signals using the phased array antenna, wherein, to receive the plurality of signals, the controller is configured to receive reflections of the transmitted second plurality of signals (Fig. 10 and ¶¶0117-0121).
Darapu, Ray, and Dutta are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: radio transmission systems, including multi-antenna systems using (e.g., using two or more spaced independent antennas); beam forming; selecting one or more beams from a plurality of beams; transmission in a satellite or space-based system; and/or arrangements for managing radio resources, i.e. for establishing or releasing a connection or handover of resources. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darapu in view of Ray to incorporate the teachings of Dutta to include: wherein the controller is further configured to: transmit a second plurality of signals using the phased array antenna, wherein, to receive the plurality of signals, the controller is configured to receive reflections of the transmitted second plurality of signals. Doing so would improve wireless communications by allowing "the transmitter UE [to be] able to perform self-interference measurements…which enhance network resource usage and spectral efficiency" (Dutta, ¶0125).
Claims 15, 30, and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darapu in view of Ray and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0204250 to Ravishankar et al. (“Ravishankar”).
As to claim 30 (and similarly applied to claims 15 and 45), Darapu in view of Ray discloses the apparatus of claim 29, wherein, to generate the communications performance map, the controller is configured to: generate a first performance map in a global coordinate system based at least in part on the received plurality of signals, the determined plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna, and a first transformation from an antenna coordinate system in the first physical orientation to the global coordinate system (Darapu, ¶0088); generate a second performance map in the global coordinate system based at least in part on the received second plurality of signals, the determined second plurality of directional antenna characteristics of the phased array antenna, and a second transformation from the antenna coordinate system in the second physical orientation to the global coordinate system (Darapu, ¶¶0088-0090).
Darapu in view of Ray does not disclose: generate the communications performance map based at least in part on the first performance map and the second performance map.
However, Ravishankar discloses: generate the communications performance map based at least in part on the first performance map and the second performance map (Figs. 2-4; ¶0031 and ¶¶0043-0046).
Darapu, Ray, and Ravishankar are considered to be similar to the claimed invention because they are in one or more of the same fields of: radio transmission systems, including multi-antenna systems using (e.g., using two or more spaced independent antennas); beam forming; selecting one or more beams from a plurality of beams; transmission in a satellite or space-based system; and/or arrangements for managing radio resources, i.e. for establishing or releasing a connection or handover of resources. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Darapu in view of Ray to incorporate the teachings of Ravishankar to include: generate the communications performance map based at least in part on the first performance map and the second performance map. Doing so would improve wireless communications by "mitigat[ing] blockage effects and the duration of interruptions associated with satellite communication systems" (Ravishankar, ¶0002).
References Cited
Dutta, Sourjya et al. (2023). Self-interference management measurements for single frequency full duplex (sffd) communication (US 2023/0396305 A1). Filed 2020-12-10.
Darapu, Ramanamurthy V. et al. (2020). Determining an attenuation environment of a satellite communication terminal (US 2020/0195340 A1). Filed 2020-02-24.
Ravishankar, Channasandra et al. (2020). Systems for mitigating service interrupts in satellite systems (US 2020/0204250 A1). Filed 2019-12-18.
Ray, Gary A. (2018). Phased array beam tracking using beam gain coding (US 2018/0167102 A1). Filed 2016-12-09.
Other Pertinent References
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
Bennett, ANDREW (2018). Methods and systems using networked phased-array antennae applications to detect and/or monitor moving objects (US 20180170514 A1). Filed 2017-02-20.
Brillant, Avigdor et al. (2024). Devices having a phased-array antenna and calibration method therefor (US 20240145912 A1). Filed 2022-02-08.
Beeler, Michael et al. (2014). System and method for satellite link budget analysis (lba) optimization (US 20140233611 A1). Filed 2014-04-28.
Buer, Kenneth V. et al. (2020). Dynamic signal quality criteria for satellite terminal installations (US 20200267575 A1). Filed 2020-01-21.
Capet, Nicolas et al. (2023). Relay platform for transmitting positioning signals to rovers with an optimized radiation pattern (US 11543536 B2). Filed 2018-12-14.
Choi, Thomas Kyo (2021). Radio transceiver with antenna array formed by horn-antenna elements (US 20210313687 A1). Filed 2020-04-06.
Cummings, Nathan et al. (2018). Phased array antenna pointing direction estimation and control (US 20180115062 A1). Filed 2015-03-24.
Durvasula, Bhanu et al. (2016). Apparatus and method for monitoring operations in a satellite communication system (US 20160165456 A1). Filed 2014-12-09.
Ghassemzadeh, Saeed et al. (2021). Phased array mobile channel sounding system (US 20210036421 A1). Filed 2019-07-31.
Hou, Fenglong et al. (2024). Method capable of reducing frequency interference, and communication satellite system (US 20240137110 A1). Filed 2021-09-29.
Ibanez-Meier, Rodrigo et al. (1999). Method and apparatus to respond to a blockage environment in a communication system (US 5946603 A). Filed 1997-04-25.
Jalali, Ahmad et al. (2016). Beam forming and pointing in a network of unmanned aerial vehicles (uavs) for broadband access (US 20160134358 A1). Filed 2015-02-19.
Kang, Youngmyoung (2020). Optimum beam display and guidance method and apparatus (US 20200007209 A1). Filed 2018-02-06.
Khalil, Ahmed I. et al. (2018). Antenna array calibration systems and methods (US 20180062260 A1). Filed 2017-06-01.
Lier, Erik et al. (2015). Receiver dual-reflector antenna system for interference suppression onboard satellite (US 20150123843 A1). Filed 2013-11-06.
Oxford, Thaddeus Dylan et al. (2017). Multiple-assembly antenna positioner with eccentric shaft (US 20170077585 A1). Filed 2015-09-16.
Ramachandran, Iyappan et al. (2022). Techniques for in-orbit calibration of phased array antenna (US 11322838 B1). Filed 2020-05-04.
Salamat, Bahman et al. (2017). Apparatus and method for generating boundaries of satellite coverage beams (US 20170012688 A1). Filed 2015-07-09.
Srinivas, Sharanya et al. (2022). Hybrid in-situ and signal of opportunity calibration for antenna arrays (US 20220247501 A1). Filed 2022-01-31.
Struhsaker, Paul et al. (2020). Methods for formation of antenna array from sub-arrays (US 10756443 B1). Filed 2019-08-30.
Tsuboi, Hideyuki et al. (2022). Interference power estimation method, interference power estimation apparatus and program (US 20220035043 A1). Filed 2019-09-02.
Tang, Yi et al. (2024). Measurement method and device (US 11933828 B2). Filed 2020-12-10.
Tsui, Ernest (2022). Method and system for user equipment (ue) management based on user separability (US 20220279535 A1). Filed 2021-07-15.
Valdes Garcia, ALBERTO et al. (2018). In-field millimeter-wave phased array radiation pattern estimation and validation (US 20180115065 A1). Filed 2016-10-26.
Wang, Arthur W. (2004). Method and apparatus for providing wideband services using medium and low earth orbit satellites (US 6678520 B1). Filed 1999-07-01.
Wang, Jibing et al. (2024). Cellular api for satellite configurations (US 20240188031 A1). Filed 2022-03-09.
Yerramalli, Srinivas et al. (2024). Basis function based beam shape assistance for downlink angle of departure positioning (US 20240063884 A1). Filed 2023-03-09.
Zheng, Jiayu et al. (2023). Communication apparatus and system (US 20230223685 A1). Filed 1900-01-00.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL H. LEONARD/Examiner, Art Unit 2649 /YUWEN PAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649